why get nintendo DS?

TSfroz3nnoob
post Sep 22 2007, 05:08 PM, updated 19y ago

Defeat is not the worst of failures. Not to have tried is the tr
837 posts

sweat.gif sweat.gif my friend keep on asking me to buy a NDSL =.= but i duno why la i also kind like the game in DS too.. yet i duno all the system work out and any feature too

so anyone mind to explain what NDSL can do ? and the ahem ahem game how to work with firmare what ? want to do some research before i buy please and thx Q
penman
post Sep 22 2007, 05:12 PM

142 posts

perhaps you would like to read:

this & THIS first.

icon_rolleyes.gif
hafez13
post Sep 22 2007, 05:12 PM

excited nintendo switch fanboi
1,274 posts

u can check the faqs..
bidfordun
post Sep 22 2007, 05:13 PM

2,234 posts

i think u have to figure the answer out urself la.....
TSfroz3nnoob
post Sep 22 2007, 05:18 PM

837 posts

=.= if i know what the DSlite could do i won't not have asked here =_=! whoever has DSLite mind share what the best part of the DSlite can do? it seem to me that PSP can play movie while DSlite can't= ="
dokidoki
post Sep 22 2007, 05:38 PM

I am not War machine~
4,630 posts

QUOTE(froz3nnoob @ Sep 22 2007, 05:18 PM)
=.= if i know what the DSlite could do i won't not have asked here =_=! whoever has DSLite mind share what the best part of the DSlite can do? it seem to me that PSP can play movie while DSlite can't= ="
u are wrong!!!!really wrong!!!!!with homebrew..ds can play movie as well.
Chihuahua
post Sep 22 2007, 05:44 PM

133 posts

Oh crap >_<

PSP is an entertainment device.

NDSL is a gaming device.

Entertainment include music, movie, gaming and etc...

Gaming is purely literally gaming...

And you could read the links penman posted for a rough idea about the NDSL.

In general, PSP is an all-rounder being able to listen music, watch movie/clips and play games (with good graphic most times). However, I personally find PSP not so practical, it's for flaunting purpose only.

NDSL is designed for gaming, unique dual-screen with a touch screen. Initially, it was created with the mindset of letting EVERYONE enjoy gaming; from young to old, men and women..
And that is why the NDSL has a great arsenal of games.
With the help of stuff like R4, the NDSL can be an entertainment device too; but will never be as good as PSP.

If you see no reason to like the NDSL and could not appreciate its simplicity; then by all means get the oh-so-more sophisticated PSP biggrin.gif

Good luck! rclxms.gif I still don't have a NDSL lol rclxub.gif
penman
post Sep 22 2007, 05:49 PM

142 posts

well to be frank with you, like what bid had mentioned... you have to figure out yourself~loh.

'cos ppl can't decide for you. And it's subjective to individual's preferences.

For instance, I think NDS is the best, however, you might disagree.

The only thing you can do is do some research yourself. There's a FAQ located on the Nintendo Index page, and I believed there's a FAQ on PSP on the PS section.

Make some comparisons, no one will know what kind of games/tastes/choices you like...

IMO, I believed you are not doing enough research. You are just too comfortable not to surf the web or do a search on google/wikipedia, waiting for people to spoon feed and decide for you. We might feeding you with the wrong spoon with wrong food... you know?

On top of that, there are passionate fella forumers, make effort to prepare these FAQs for ppl to read, perhaps by reading these FAQs, will enlighten your knowledge/choices.

I guess you probably think LYN Ninty ppl ain't friendly+not helpful, after reading these replies. Well, again... the fact is no one can decide for you what is best for you.

Your friend keep asking you to buy, why not you check with him/her? Try out his/her DS... and see if DS is what you want.

If we know which system suits you best, then we wouldn't post these replies either~loh. =_="

PhoenixByte
post Sep 22 2007, 06:31 PM

No school like the oldschool
798 posts

You can also try to come at the shop and try (but make sure u contact the seller first). Most shop listed in LYN usually give u a chance to test drive the console u wanna buy. So yeah...my suggestion, contact one of the sellers here and ask for their advice or try b4 buy service.

You can tell them that u can't decide between a ndsl and a psp...I'm sure they'll give u a trial run at the shop...coz that's what I did at SCE. happy.gif And also...it would help if u really...really want to buy one of the console.

This post has been edited by PhoenixByte: Sep 22 2007, 06:32 PM
TSfroz3nnoob
post Sep 22 2007, 08:12 PM

837 posts

act, i know not say spoon feeding is that ... ermm i want to know what NDSL can do ... watch movie and ?
SUSmssv19
post Sep 22 2007, 08:24 PM

3,511 posts

If you're 12 & below, get a DS lite. It's fun games for Mario etc. If you want multimedia capabilities, browsing Internet, GPS, camera, TV tuner, good graphics game, mature games etc go for PSP(it's almost as powerful as the PS2 or so I heard). I would buy DS lite for my kids and PSP for myself. Not to dish the DS, I feel PSP offer more "values" with their price range now. The core set is only about >+RM100~200 about more expensive then the DS. During launch PSP was expensive as hell!! now with Slim version and they very competitive price. The thing that ACE IT for me is the maturity of the homebrew scene for the PSP & market of the "ahem" games. I support originals and do have those GB, GB advance but now migrated to PSP. If those don't convince you, Crisis Core, Metal Gear, Jeane D'Arc, GTA etc hopefully will. As I said, it's a matter of preference....Mario vs the Rest....I love Mario, currently playing N64 emulator version in PSP. That says a lot...
nub
post Sep 22 2007, 09:04 PM

265 posts

QUOTE(froz3nnoob @ Sep 22 2007, 08:12 PM)
act, i know not say spoon feeding is that ... ermm i want to know what NDSL can do ... watch movie and ?
The DS has no multimedia capability out of the box. A first party multimedia software exists, which brings limited multimedia functions to the DS. Music playback should work well enough, but if video is what you want(either using the first party Play-Yan or a 3rd party homebrew player), get a PSP. The limited hardware power doesn't do much to help multimedia stuff on the DS, but that's just it, the DS is a handheld gaming device, no more, no less.

If you want multimedia, stop asking stupid questions and go buy yourself a PSP.
Lynixx
post Sep 22 2007, 10:09 PM

Gooner
1,916 posts

y get DS???
the reason following....

Reason 1
Reason 2
Reason 3
Reason 4
And finally
Reason 5

i think u will automatically know wat to do after seeing these reason tongue.gif
Dyna-Storm
post Sep 22 2007, 10:25 PM

292 posts

Here's an easier way to make your decision easier, just answer us this.

putting aside from technological difference and functionality (mp3, video) ...

What sort of games are u into? What genre?
firstknight
post Sep 22 2007, 11:40 PM

2,681 posts

hoho.. i thin, you buy two... hehe... DS graphic wise not as good as PSP.... especially in 3D.... one more thing... PSP games are usually bigger in size.... DS is way smaller...

DS canplay video after some conversion using R4DS... it has moonshell.. i am using it... remember the screensize is smaller compare to PSP....

Tell you wat.. dun buy NDSL... screw your frien... buy PSP for yourself and save you the trouble of asking wtr can play video and music....
SUSblackorange
post Sep 23 2007, 12:39 AM

186 posts

what DS can do? you can poke the screen like mad. LOL.

actually, the touchscreen provide different level of experience in gaming.
TSfroz3nnoob
post Sep 23 2007, 09:12 AM

837 posts

i act own a xbox 360 previous de so i love a game call castle crasher ~ u can found that game on ign or gamespot! i love that kind of game ~
darquarma
post Sep 23 2007, 09:15 AM

83 posts

I own both.

My advice: Buy both.
TSfroz3nnoob
post Sep 23 2007, 02:22 PM

837 posts

i see =.=.. what the difference of NDSL and PSP?
Lynixx
post Sep 23 2007, 03:03 PM

Gooner
1,916 posts

QUOTE(darquarma @ Sep 23 2007, 09:15 AM)
I own both.

My advice: Buy both.
both = PS3 liao..
buy PS3 la..

0.2608sec    0.80    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 01:01 AM