China Top U vs Singapore public U, Tsinghua/Peking vs NUS/NTU

TSamdxp
post Feb 24 2022, 10:56 AM, updated 4y ago

239 posts

My son's UEC results has been pretty closed to top notch. He had applied to these 4 top Universities in Asia. That being Tsinghua U, Peking U (the top 2 best uni in China) and also Singapore's public NUS and NTU.

Fortunately for him, both Tsinghua U and Peking U had given him provisional admission, but currently the central government of China does not issue student visa to overseas students in their own combat with Covid.

As for the 2 Uni in Singapore, we will know it in Mar/Apr. My son's ex-teacher said he stands a good chance as the top science student from the high school.

Personally I ( and my side of family) feel China will give him bigger potential in future, but wife (and her side) thinks Singapore gives better "Stability". What do you guys think is the better ones ?
COOLPINK
post Feb 24 2022, 11:03 AM

3,666 posts

go singapore.

now with the covid its easier to go singapore than china in case of emergencies.

iSean
post Feb 24 2022, 11:16 AM

iz old liao.
4,498 posts

Better stay in Singapore for NTU and NUS than China.
but then can he cope everything in English?
TSamdxp
post Feb 24 2022, 11:36 AM

239 posts

QUOTE(iSean @ Feb 24 2022, 11:16 AM)
Better stay in Singapore  for NTU and NUS than China.
but then can he cope everything in English?
Tsinghua actually teaches in English and Chinese dual language, quite international than I initially thought.

My son has his SPM, UEC, 1119 English with A score. Surely no problem la
iSean
post Feb 24 2022, 12:26 PM

iz old liao.
4,498 posts

QUOTE(amdxp @ Feb 24 2022, 11:36 AM)
Tsinghua actually teaches in English and Chinese dual language, quite international than I initially thought.

My son has his SPM, UEC, 1119 English with A score.  Surely no problem la
Actually what he plans to study ?
well English Classes all International students with custom syllabus compared to the Mandarin Syllabus.

again PRC Chinese people with English accent, might be more difficult to understand. Unless the lecturer is an angmo.

NTU NUS atleast you can get local Singlish Malaysian accent if the lecturer is Singaporean la.

Just Visiting By
post Feb 24 2022, 09:29 PM

1,846 posts

QUOTE(amdxp @ Feb 24 2022, 10:56 AM)
My son's UEC results has been pretty closed to top notch.  He had applied to these 4 top Universities in Asia.  That being Tsinghua U, Peking U (the top 2 best uni in China) and also Singapore's public NUS and NTU.

Fortunately for him, both Tsinghua U and Peking U had given him provisional admission, but currently the central government of China does not issue student visa to overseas students in their own combat with Covid.

As for the 2 Uni in Singapore, we will know it in Mar/Apr.  My son's ex-teacher said he stands a good chance as the top science student from the high school.

Personally I ( and my side of family) feel China will give him bigger potential in future, but wife (and her side) thinks Singapore gives better "Stability".  What do you guys think is the better ones ?
What course is he applying for?

Singapore is a better choice because the certificate is globally recognised while China's not. But it's dependent on what course he's going for.

Medicine? Engineering? Singapore is better. China isn't bad, just isn't better.
PV boy
post Feb 25 2022, 01:55 PM

181 posts

Higher education not only to train your professional skill, and also to broaden you mind of thinking. If I were given a chance again, I would go those can give me different culture places so that I can experience other than what I have now. If only Singapore and China to be chosen, I would definitely go to China.
thedannyguy
post Feb 25 2022, 10:13 PM

78 posts

where does he want to work? I think Singapore uni is more globally recognized than China uni even if China uni like Tsinghua is higher ranking than SG. I think main reason is even though courses in Tsinghua can be in English, but companies know SG high level of English proficiency. Also SG A-Level is much harder than UEC and UK A-Level. So sgreans get used to studying really hard. I have yet to encounter a Malaysia who gets first class honours in NUS. And gaokao I heard is even harder than SG A-Level. So you will face really stiff competition from China very best and brightest. If can afford, maybe study in Aus top uni? stress level lower. Because NUS and Tsinghua use bell curve. So u need to be top 3-7% to be first class. Aus as long as you score above 80% is first class. UK is above 70%. The proportion of first class in Aus/UK is higher. ard 10-15%
hellothere131495
post Feb 26 2022, 07:56 AM

473 posts

All elite uni. I don't know which one better.

But for the sake of environment/atmospheric experience, I will go China probably.
TSamdxp
post Mar 2 2022, 09:06 AM

239 posts

Ok, after much research and in contact with many friends and relatives we know, included Malaysian turned Singaporean, Malaysian professors working in China U, Malaysian businessman, Malaysian businessman returned from Shanghai and closed friends in China.

The conclusion is that both Tsinghua and NUS are great Uni to go. Either one won't go wrong. However, as China central govt does not issue any student visa right now, we have to hold our final decision until June / July.

If son does manage to go Beijing to attend the Tsinghua U, we would get him to complete his undergraduate in Tsinghua, and get a Master degree in NUS.

If he can't go Tsinghua due to Visa not available, then he shall study in NUS/NTU, get bonded to work in SG for 3 years then only try to get a Master degree in Tsinghua, hopefully.
TSamdxp
post Mar 2 2022, 09:11 AM

239 posts

QUOTE(thedannyguy @ Feb 25 2022, 10:13 PM)
where does he want to work? I think Singapore uni is more globally recognized than China uni even if China uni like Tsinghua is higher ranking than SG. I think main reason is even though courses in Tsinghua can be in English, but companies know SG high level of English proficiency. Also SG A-Level is much harder than UEC and UK A-Level. So sgreans get used to studying really hard. I have yet to encounter a Malaysia who gets first class honours in NUS. And gaokao I heard is even harder than SG A-Level. So you will face really stiff competition from China very best and brightest. If can afford, maybe study in Aus top uni? stress level lower. Because NUS and Tsinghua use bell curve. So u need to be top 3-7% to be first class. Aus as long as you score above  80% is first class. UK is above 70%. The proportion of first class in Aus/UK is higher. ard 10-15%
NUS / NTU are actually ranked slightly higher than Tsinghua, as I read the details probably due to Tsinghua facilities for foreigners are not as comprehensive and got lower score on that aspect. But for post graduate education, Tsinghua commands high respect in academic circles apparently (among the professors).

Where would my son want to work, haha at age of 19 he is probably not certain yet. Of course as parent we would like him to work in China or Singapore, as they give better future than our own country to be honest.
PV boy
post Mar 2 2022, 02:00 PM

181 posts

QUOTE(amdxp @ Mar 2 2022, 09:06 AM)
Ok, after much research and in contact with many friends and relatives we know, included Malaysian turned Singaporean, Malaysian professors working in China U, Malaysian businessman, Malaysian businessman returned from Shanghai and closed friends in China.

The conclusion is that both Tsinghua and NUS are great Uni to go.  Either one won't go wrong.  However, as China central govt does not issue any student visa right now, we have to hold our final decision until June / July.

If son does manage to go Beijing to attend the Tsinghua U, we would get him to complete his undergraduate in Tsinghua, and get a Master degree in NUS.

If he can't go Tsinghua due to Visa not available, then he shall study in NUS/NTU, get bonded to work in SG for 3 years then only try to get a Master degree in Tsinghua, hopefully.
Good choice.
TSamdxp
post Mar 3 2022, 09:39 AM

239 posts

Applied for 4 U, now we got the 3rd one sending in their offer.

Peking U, Tsinghua U, Nanyang Technological U Pending NUS

Wah, dilemma already. Wish I had 1 more son biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by amdxp: Mar 3 2022, 09:39 AM
nexona88
post Mar 3 2022, 08:36 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,543 posts

Whatever..
Singapore one is better...
More exposure & recognized by many countries
TSamdxp
post Mar 4 2022, 10:39 AM

239 posts

QUOTE(Just Visiting By @ Feb 24 2022, 09:29 PM)
What course is he applying for?

Singapore is a better choice because the certificate is globally recognised while China's not. But it's dependent on what course he's going for.

Medicine? Engineering? Singapore is better. China isn't bad, just isn't better.
Engineering course.

Well, for Singapore he applied Civil Engineering - Environmental Engineering major for both the NUS & NTU. He got his first choice approved by NTU. For NUS, I think the admission or notification will come in next month. He did apply Computer Engineering as his second choice. Now wife & I actually hope he get this Computer Engineering from NUS.

As for Tsinghua U, he applied and admitted for Mechanical, Aerespace & Power Engineering faculty, where he get to choose his major after year 1. The major he can choose before Year 2 are Dept of Mechanical Eng, Dept of Precision Instrument, Dept of Energy & Power Eng, Dept Automotive Eng, Dept Industrial Eng, Dept of Aerospace Eng.

From my checking with friends and network in China, this particular faculty is the most sought-after for the locals and is the hottest in town. Therefore comparing Tsinghua and NTU, the course admitted by Tsinghua has much much better future to be honest. As I knew it from a friend, changing major in NTU and NUS is not permitted, so he will have to stick with Environmental Engineering.

Peking U is being sidelined for the time being, mainly because in term of Science courses, Tsinghua is the gold standard in China, or the MIT of China .

This post has been edited by amdxp: Mar 4 2022, 10:42 AM
Username is for the weak
post Mar 4 2022, 11:45 AM

301 posts

Seriously ? environmental engineering??? doh.gif

This post has been edited by Username is for the weak: Mar 4 2022, 12:08 PM
Just Visiting By
post Mar 4 2022, 07:08 PM

1,846 posts

QUOTE(amdxp @ Mar 4 2022, 10:39 AM)
Engineering course. 

Well, for Singapore he applied Civil Engineering - Environmental Engineering major for both the NUS & NTU.  He got his first choice approved by NTU.  For NUS, I think the admission or notification will come in next month.  He did apply Computer Engineering as his second choice. Now wife & I actually hope he get this Computer Engineering from NUS.

As for Tsinghua U, he applied and admitted for Mechanical, Aerespace & Power Engineering faculty, where he get to choose his major after year 1.  The major he can choose before Year 2 are Dept of Mechanical Eng, Dept of Precision Instrument, Dept of Energy & Power Eng, Dept Automotive Eng, Dept Industrial Eng, Dept of Aerospace Eng.

From my checking with friends and network in China, this particular faculty is the most sought-after for the locals and is the hottest in town.  Therefore comparing Tsinghua and NTU, the course admitted by Tsinghua has much much better future to be honest.  As I knew it from a friend, changing major in NTU and NUS is not permitted, so he will have to stick with Environmental Engineering.

Peking U is being sidelined for the time being, mainly because in term of Science courses, Tsinghua is the gold standard in China, or the MIT of China .
Seems like very different courses he applied for, civil engineering as first, computer science as 2nd, and mechanical at other uni.

As a practising civil engineer, I can tell you university ranking really isn't something people care about. I can't say about other courses, but I was told university rankings play very little relevance anymore.

If he goes for precision or aerospace, your son likely will have to stay in China. This isn't a field that's hot in both Malaysia and Singapore.

As for civil engineering, it's very localised. Every country has different practices and different codes. If he studies in China, he'll likely stay in China. If he comes back to Malaysia or goes to Singapore, he'll have to adapt. Not a big deal, he won't be the first, but he must expect this phase.

In the end, nobody really put very heavy emphasis on university ranking. Singapore is full of Malaysian graduates from Malaysian universities that are ranked much lower than NUS and NTU, and it hasn't been a real issue so far. In fact, Singaporeans are complaining that local graduates are being discriminated against, with employers largely preferring to hire foreigners who would not need to pay CPF and would normally accept a lower salary than what the locals deem acceptable. That being said, graduating from higher-ranked universities have not been shown to be advantageous in terms of employability.

For example: in the recent tightening of Singapore's employment pass rules, Singapore's Manpower Minister said 'Instead, it is part of MOM’s regular updates to ensure that our qualifying salary keeps pace with local wage growth, so that foreigners are not coming in just because they are cheaper than local PMETs.'

If I were you, if all options are already very good, I wouldn't fret which is better in terms of ranking. If they're all good, I'll look at other factors - environment, cost, geography, weather, cost of living etc.

This post has been edited by Just Visiting By: Mar 4 2022, 07:13 PM
Username is for the weak
post Mar 4 2022, 08:49 PM

301 posts

If you look closely at how TS replies you'd know he is not really here for answers sweat.gif
Just Visiting By
post Mar 4 2022, 09:18 PM

1,846 posts

QUOTE(Username is for the weak @ Mar 4 2022, 08:49 PM)

If you look closely at how TS replies you'd know he is not really here for answers sweat.gif
Yeah I've the feeling he's simply seeking agreement/validation and like he's looking for reasons so that his son's entering to a Singaporean university can be treated as a consolation to deal with the disappointment of not being enrolled into the Chinese university.

Nevertheless, I felt obliged to share. He could ignore everything I said if he wants.
Username is for the weak
post Mar 4 2022, 09:55 PM

301 posts

QUOTE(Just Visiting By @ Mar 4 2022, 09:18 PM)
Yeah I've the feeling he's simply seeking agreement/validation and like he's looking for reasons so that his son's entering to a Singaporean university can be treated as a consolation to deal with the disappointment of not being enrolled into the Chinese university.

Nevertheless, I felt obliged to share. He could ignore everything I said if he wants.
seems like we are on the same page here thumbsup.gif

0.0313sec    0.71    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 12:29 AM