Do you all prefer to buy from Ikea or Furniture sh, As above, furniture shop recommendations

TSmiyakochan89
post Feb 22 2022, 02:08 PM, updated 4y ago

Wut?
6,724 posts

I'm looking for some nice sideboards and computer desks.

Of course the first place i browse is Ikea. But i find that they can get quite pricey and on top of that i have to heave the boxes and assemble them myself.

Do you all have any furniture shops recommendations in KV? Don't give me high-end shops la, no budgets, something in between middle would be perfect. Fully assembled.

zero5177
post Feb 22 2022, 02:17 PM

Sixth Sense Unlocked
1,552 posts

You can actually pay Ikea to get it assembled for you.
mirzan007
post Feb 22 2022, 02:18 PM

501 posts

What's your budget
IMF2025
post Feb 22 2022, 02:37 PM

202 posts

Actually ikea quality pretty good if u ask me. U basically get what u pay for.

But nowadays everything also out of stock
TSmiyakochan89
post Feb 22 2022, 02:50 PM

Wut?
6,724 posts

QUOTE(zero5177 @ Feb 22 2022, 02:17 PM)
You can actually pay Ikea to get it assembled for you.
the price is about 10% per piece. They have to assemble at your home right? I live in condo, where got space for them to assemble.
mini orchard
post Feb 22 2022, 03:32 PM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(miyakochan89 @ Feb 22 2022, 02:50 PM)
the price is about 10% per piece. They have to assemble at your home right? I live in condo, where got space for them to assemble.
The space where you put the furniture is the place they will assermble.
TSmiyakochan89
post Feb 22 2022, 03:45 PM

Wut?
6,724 posts

QUOTE(mini orchard @ Feb 22 2022, 03:32 PM)
The space where you put the furniture is the place they will assermble.
urgh. i think i best assemble myself. 10 years ago i would be very excited to do that now i'm too old for this shit.
mini orchard
post Feb 22 2022, 03:48 PM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(miyakochan89 @ Feb 22 2022, 03:45 PM)
urgh. i think i best assemble myself. 10 years ago i would be very excited to do that now i'm too old for this shit.
Retest your assembling skill again .....lol
TSmiyakochan89
post Feb 22 2022, 03:54 PM

Wut?
6,724 posts

QUOTE(mini orchard @ Feb 22 2022, 03:48 PM)
Retest your assembling skill again .....lol
Is ikea quality that better? Some of the ikea furnitures I had in the past already cracked or broke down. Whereas those I got from random furniture shops seem to be better.
Samumir_85 P
post Feb 22 2022, 03:56 PM

Probation

From IKEA probably, as I need not have headache going different places to shop for furniture. Well, IKEA does sometimes give inspirational ideas as well.

Just to add, I have TV shelf, Sofa and some other smaller items from IKEA that I have been using for the last 20 over years now, and it's still in good condition till now.
mini orchard
post Feb 22 2022, 03:59 PM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(miyakochan89 @ Feb 22 2022, 03:54 PM)
Is ikea quality that better? Some of the ikea furnitures I had in the past already cracked or broke down. Whereas those I got from random furniture shops seem to be better.
60% of my furnitures from Ikea. All my stand and table lamp from ikea also. I have about 15 of those.

Quality depends on price also. They have low and high range to cater to different ikea customers.

Another place you can try is Homepro. Bought 2 study table from there.

This post has been edited by mini orchard: Feb 22 2022, 04:25 PM
zero5177
post Feb 22 2022, 04:22 PM

Sixth Sense Unlocked
1,552 posts

For similar type of furniture, IKEA feels more solid.

I recently just assembled a few MDF Board based furniture, I can tell the Ikea board is harder to penetrate with screw because its denser, I need to turn higher torque of 3-4nm to have the screw penetrate in to the Board, while those I bought online only require 1-2nm torque to penetrate in to the board. But those I bought online are cheaper than Ikea. Another bonus to note is the instruction is clearer with the Ikea's
TSmiyakochan89
post Feb 23 2022, 03:34 PM

Wut?
6,724 posts

QUOTE(IMF2025 @ Feb 22 2022, 02:37 PM)
Actually ikea quality pretty good if u ask me. U basically get what u pay for.

But nowadays everything also out of stock
QUOTE(mini orchard @ Feb 22 2022, 03:59 PM)
60% of my furnitures from Ikea. All my stand and table lamp from ikea also. I have about 15 of those.

Quality depends on price also. They have low and high range to cater to different ikea customers.

QUOTE(zero5177 @ Feb 22 2022, 04:22 PM)
For similar type of furniture, IKEA feels more solid.

I recently just assembled a few MDF Board based furniture, I can tell the Ikea board is harder to penetrate with screw because its denser, I need to turn higher torque of 3-4nm to have the screw penetrate in to the Board, while those I bought online only require 1-2nm torque to penetrate in to the board. But those I bought online are cheaper than Ikea. Another bonus to note is the instruction is clearer with the Ikea's
wanna check if you guys know if their one time off delivery fee is per package or one time off? It's RM75 - RM95!
mini orchard
post Feb 23 2022, 03:46 PM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(miyakochan89 @ Feb 23 2022, 03:34 PM)
wanna check if you guys know if their one time off delivery fee is per package or one time off? It's RM75 - RM95!
One time.

Plan your purchase and buy in bulk.
jadejade283 P
post Feb 24 2022, 04:37 PM

Probation

Middle range furniture shops pricing can be similar to IKEA.
I got the basic furniture for my condo (renting out) in IKEA, including kitchen top.
It takes at least two strong people (and perhaps another one helping to grab nails etc) to assemble three bed frames, three cupboards, one dining table, 8 chairs. They're very heavy. Can't remember how much IKEA charges for the assembling service, but if it doesn't go beyond 10%, why not engaged them if you like the furniture?

One thing to note if you're buying the bed frame. The size doesn't really fit Malaysian made mattress nicely, will have a gap (i.e. our mattresses are shorter).

Another thing to note, if you're getting their kitchen top but not getting their sink & tap (very expensive), they might not let you claim warranty if there is leaking etc.
SUSceo684
post Feb 25 2022, 03:34 AM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

It depends on what exactly you're buying.
The elcheapo series basically paper roll or compressed sawdust.
The solid wood stuff easily lasted 20years..eg Ingo table..from CRT monitor era till today i still use the same desk.

QUOTE(mini orchard @ Feb 22 2022, 03:59 PM)

Yup. Check BOM made from.

QUOTE(miyakochan89 @ Feb 23 2022, 03:34 PM)
Per trip charge. Else you can rent a lalamove 4x4 and sendiri angkat.
Truck roadtax, GDL license, worker fees, driver salary, tolls also have to consider leh. I used to do pickup truck moving services also charge per load min 80-90 depending on location and distance.
TSmiyakochan89
post Feb 25 2022, 08:06 AM

Wut?
6,724 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ Feb 25 2022, 03:34 AM)
It depends on what exactly you're buying.
The elcheapo series basically paper roll or compressed sawdust.
The solid wood stuff easily lasted 20years..eg Ingo table..from CRT monitor era till today i still use the same desk.
Yup. Check BOM made from.
Per trip charge. Else you can rent a lalamove 4x4 and sendiri angkat.
Truck roadtax, GDL license, worker fees, driver salary, tolls also have to consider leh. I used to do pickup truck moving services also charge per load min 80-90 depending on location and distance.
okie la fair enough. Yesterday while i was browsing around I managed to revamp my idea and the cost has dropped significantly. I think i will just pay them to assemble as well.
Mel2
post Feb 25 2022, 07:37 PM

861 posts

I like ikea furniture. Simple and practical. I stopped buying from other furniture shops when they either insist me to take the display unit or wait for new units from their factory. And don't know how long to wait.

Ikea ones. We can plan, can measure accurately what to put where. Assembling part, not my problems. I pass it to my husband. 🤭

I'm currently trying to makeover my old place, which I abandoned many years ago. I have a few book cases and some cabinets from ikea. All white colour, still in good condition.

Most of them I bought 15 to 20 years ago.

I only remember throwing away 1 broken chair. The rest all still can be used.

Now, I'm thinking using what type of paint to refurbish them.

Anyone here, repainted your ikea book racks?
ar188
post Feb 25 2022, 10:52 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(Mel2 @ Feb 25 2022, 07:37 PM)
I like ikea furniture. Simple and practical. I stopped buying from other furniture shops when they either insist me to take the display unit or wait for new units from their factory. And don't know how long to wait.

Ikea ones. We can plan,  can measure accurately what to put where. Assembling part,  not my problems. I pass it to my husband. 🤭

I'm currently trying to makeover my old place,  which I abandoned many years ago. I  have a few book cases and some cabinets from ikea. All white colour, still in good condition.

Most of them I bought 15 to 20 years ago.

I only remember throwing away 1 broken chair. The rest all  still can be used.

Now,  I'm thinking using what type of paint to refurbish them.

Anyone here,  repainted your ikea book racks?
wah mel ..use solid wood furniture le. haha
ar188
post Feb 25 2022, 10:58 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(miyakochan89 @ Feb 25 2022, 08:06 AM)
okie la fair enough. Yesterday while i was browsing around I managed to revamp my idea and the cost has dropped significantly. I think i will just pay them to assemble as well.
get solid wood sideboard. did this for client 2mths ago.. biggrin.gif

0.0215sec    0.32    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 04:57 AM