Diets & Supplements Post Your Supplement Stash, Picture of Your Supplement Stash

darklight79
post Feb 4 2008, 09:39 PM

I'll eat your food
9,006 posts

QUOTE(redline666 @ Feb 4 2008, 08:09 PM)
hello everyone, im a lost noob trying to gain muscle mass. my vital stat is  :-

age    : 18
body    : ectomorph
height  : 174cm
weight  : 64kg

any advices from the seasoned bodybuilders mind to spare me some info for my supplements to have a descent gain?

is Optimum Nutrition's whey protein, multi-vitamin from pharmacy and kept on eating on both natural proteins and carbs good enough? i dont have a big budget.

and what do the 5lb for the Optimum Nutrition's whey protein 5lb means?
Yes. =) All you need is whey, a good multivitamin, fish oil and maybe creatine. These are all I'm using. Other supplements are overrated unless you're a very, very advanced trainee. And good food.
darklight79
post Feb 4 2008, 11:59 PM

I'll eat your food
9,006 posts

QUOTE(redline666 @ Feb 4 2008, 10:58 PM)
i see, thanks guys. btw we do still need to have proper calories intake right? i need advice how to get above 2000 calories a day and alternative way ( naturally ) to get creatine rather than buying the it from pharmacy
Creatine is optional. Don't fret about it. It's found naturally in red meat but then you'd need to consume a lot. Just eat healthy and make sure your protein intake is up to mark.
darklight79
post Feb 5 2008, 10:11 PM

I'll eat your food
9,006 posts

QUOTE(hasyir @ Feb 5 2008, 09:47 PM)
hello evryone..
between lipo6, HH and AMP, which one u guys think is d best for losing fats?
need some advice coz im thinking of buying a fat loss supplement..
None. =) Fat burners are overrated. I lost 13 kg without the help of any of them. You'd put the money on them for better use.
darklight79
post Feb 6 2008, 01:46 AM

I'll eat your food
9,006 posts

QUOTE(jamis @ Feb 5 2008, 11:20 PM)
hehe, i lost 3 kg when i get sick for 2 days and cant eat anything other than porridge but my muscle shrink and bcomes really ugly ><.
When i get sick, i make myself eat more. I know my body's going into a catabolic phase and i obviously need the extra nutrients to replenish damaged tissue.

QUOTE(hasyir @ Feb 5 2008, 11:31 PM)
so...r u suggesting me to get sick? lol
Lol...

QUOTE(registryeditor @ Feb 6 2008, 01:35 AM)
caloric deficit in other words. hagaga. ryte?
Yeah.
darklight79
post Feb 6 2008, 02:08 AM

I'll eat your food
9,006 posts

QUOTE(jamis @ Feb 6 2008, 02:00 AM)
but when u get sick, there is owas some food restriction... so how can i manage tat? any suggestion ?
Haha. I don't care. I just force myself to eat, unless i have severe gastrointestinal obstruction. Protein shakes help.
darklight79
post Feb 6 2008, 02:37 AM

I'll eat your food
9,006 posts

QUOTE(mthc @ Feb 6 2008, 02:22 AM)
Im 175cm and 65kg. Have been going gym for 4 months and feel like taking some supplements. Any good intro? Is whey protein good?
I repeat, all you need is whey protein, fish oil, a good multivitamin and maybe creatine.
darklight79
post Feb 13 2008, 01:33 PM

I'll eat your food
9,006 posts

QUOTE(redline666 @ Feb 12 2008, 11:52 PM)
hey~so many supplement which to choose? which is for beginner with a body of ectomorph?

this?
WHEY PROTEIN
OPTIMUM NUTRITION – 100% Gold Standard Whey (Rocky Road, Banana Cream, Tropical Punch) 5Ibs RM190
(Vanilla Ice, French Vanilla, Double Rich Chocolate, Extreme Chocolate, Cookies n cream, Chocolate Mint and Strawberry)
CHAMPION NUTRITION - Pure Whey Protein (Banana Scream) 5IbsRM185
(Cookies n Cream, Cocoa Mochaccino, Strawberry & Vanilla)
MUSCLE TECH - Nitro Tech (Chocolate, Vanilla & Strawberry) 4Ibs RM265
MUSCLE TECH - Whey Protein Hardcore(Chocolate & Vanilla) 5Ibs RM234

or this?
ERGOPHARM – GF Pro Whey Isolate (Orange Cream, Raspberry Lemonade, Cherry Blast) 2.81Ibs
SYNTRAX – Nectar Whey Isolate (Fuzzy Navel) 2.14Ibs RM168
You're a beginner bro. What you need is maximum results with lowest cost. Do you think I'm a beginner? =) And i've been using the same basic stuff all this while. No fancy stuff mate. I will always repeat, you just need whey, a good multivitamin, fish oil and maybe creatine (optional). Things like preworkout volumizers and other supplements, consider them only when you are much, much more advanced. Nutrient timing is way more important than supplementation itself. If you have just essential basic supplements, you combine it with the use of nutrient timing, plain hard work, consistency and dedication, you will obtain more optimal results than any trainee on a dozen supplements, period.

All that stuff like weightgainers you can replicate by adding milk, peanut butter, etc. PM me and i will teach you how to make your own mass gainer protein shakes with just whey and natural foods if you need guidance on that.

For whey, i would suggest Optimum Nutrition/EAS/Dymatize 100% Whey. Gold standard stuff for any bodybuilder.

This post has been edited by darklight79: Feb 13 2008, 01:36 PM
darklight79
post Feb 14 2008, 06:49 PM

I'll eat your food
9,006 posts

QUOTE(XCcude @ Feb 14 2008, 04:11 PM)
darklight im an ecto too and i just started about a month ago and im currently taking a weight gainer with whey+carbo and watching my diet, ie no mcdonalds and fatty food + no alcohol.. and going to the gym of course.. will be good if you could give some recipes on some natural mass gainer whatever u just said =D
This is the standard template I use for a protein shake:-

1-2 scoops whey
1 cup oats
16 ounces of milk

Now add variety. Your options can include:-
1 tablespoon all natural peanut butter
or
1 banana
or
1 cup raisins
or
Some cottage cheese
or
1 can of tuna

If I'm on the move and i have nothing else but whey, i usually keep a jar of natty peanut butter in my car, i'd mix 2 scoops whey with water and swallow down 1-2 tablespooms of peanut butter.

I'm kidding about the can of tuna in the protein shake btw.

Added on February 14, 2008, 6:51 pmPost workout Drink, you don't have to do this everytime, and it's usually recommended for those who're bulking :-

2 bananas
1/2 cup of cottage cheese
vanilla whey protein
cup of milk
some Ice
1/2 a teaspoon of brown sugar.

Added on February 14, 2008, 6:53 pm1/4 cup granola bars (you crunch them up first)
1 cup low fat plain yogurt
1 cup strawberries- sliced or whatever fruits (I'm a sucker for strawberries)
1 tbsp brown sugar
1 scoop protein powder- vanilla

Added on February 14, 2008, 6:56 pmThis is a serious bulking shake (strictly for ectomorphs only imo)
16 oz whole milk
6 tbsp Peanut butter
2 scoops of whey protein powder

Calories: 1090
Protein: 83 g
Carbs: 49 g
Fat: 67 g

Added on February 14, 2008, 7:03 pm1/2 cup yogurt
1/2 cup Cottage cheese
1 scoop of whey protein
1 tblsp peanut butter
10-12 ice cubes

Put into a blender and you have a high protien frozen yogurt that tastes great.

Cals= 335
Protein = 50g
Carbs = 16
Fat = 8

This post has been edited by darklight79: Feb 14 2008, 07:03 PM
darklight79
post Feb 14 2008, 07:09 PM

I'll eat your food
9,006 posts

That's it for now. I feel so generous sharing my recipes. Some are thought up on the spot but they're pretty effective. I'm off to lift. Let's do a 500 pound deadlift for reps today. =) Not attempting any PRs these few months for deadlifts. This is gonna be so fun.

This post has been edited by darklight79: Feb 14 2008, 07:10 PM
darklight79
post Feb 14 2008, 09:26 PM

I'll eat your food
9,006 posts

QUOTE(redline666 @ Feb 14 2008, 07:18 PM)
thanks that helped alot,  i'll stick to the ecto formula. Been drinking 1 litre of milk everyday and other high calories diet, timing for every meal not so accurate, arm size increment but stomach always bloated with wind.
my current supplement is vitamin C, B, multivitamin, fish oil. not yet taking whey
Go for it. But NEVER neglect real, wholesome food. If you cannot afford whey and have to sacrifice a protein rich diet for it, you have no business buying whey in the first place.
Whey is an awesome supplement, it helps a lot but don't neglect priorities when it comes to nutrition.

I just deadlifted 500 pounds, 3 x 3. =)

This post has been edited by darklight79: Feb 14 2008, 09:27 PM
darklight79
post Feb 15 2008, 03:10 PM

I'll eat your food
9,006 posts

QUOTE(breakdown47500 @ Feb 15 2008, 01:51 PM)
hey darklight79, where you get cottage cheese from? I reside in KL by the way. I have`t been able to find it. Thanks bro.
Not really practical cos it's expensive and not many Asians would like the taste but I'm crazy over it, so once in a while i make a shake with that as an ingredient as a treat. Mostly found in supermarts, not small convenience stores.
darklight79
post Feb 15 2008, 09:23 PM

I'll eat your food
9,006 posts

QUOTE(Disciple @ Feb 15 2008, 09:12 PM)
fuu lamak....500 pounds...thats about 3 times my max lol laugh.gif i dont think i cant ever deadlift that heavy lol...respect darkie notworthy.gif  rclxms.gif
Thanks buddy. But it's not my heaviest. The heaviest was 510lb but i had to take a 5 month layoff from deadlifting due to lower back injury from trying too many reps for my own good. Now i'm taking a way more conservative approach, deadlifting only every 2-3 weeks. Back from rehabilitation initially, deadlifting even 225lb was difficult. Thn i started high rep deadlifting, like building up to 225lb x 15 reps like that. To improve neuromuscular efficiency in that lift, less wear and tear. It helped to build up to this poundage again. No lower back pain so far, just nice soreness. =)
darklight79
post Feb 15 2008, 10:40 PM

I'll eat your food
9,006 posts

QUOTE(kianweic @ Feb 15 2008, 10:31 PM)
Good lord, 500lbs? That's almost 230 kg.

I remember darklight, you said u are something like 84kg, that's very close to 3 times your body weight.

I only dreamt about lifting twice my body weight and still nowhere near that.....long long way to go, let me sleep on it first.
I still lift by instinctive training. I don't have any fixed deadlifting program. I'm not a powerlifter. If i feel i can do it, i just try going for it, all within the boundaries of safety of course. =)
Patience is the key, trying going up too fast and we pay the price for it. Been there. Take your time, just be consistent.
darklight79
post Feb 16 2008, 10:53 PM

I'll eat your food
9,006 posts

QUOTE(breakdown47500 @ Feb 16 2008, 08:34 PM)
presario69, i suggest that you try ON's whey protein. That's the best so far. They have a wide range of flavors to choose from and not to worry they stock chocolate. I`am currently on their double rich chocolate. Its alright, not too shabby.  The price for ON is the best so far, I get mine at RM210 from www.egonutritions.com.
Hey bro, thanks. Are you on bb.com's bodyspace?
Yeah. I am.
darklight79
post Feb 17 2008, 04:25 PM

I'll eat your food
9,006 posts

QUOTE(breakdown47500 @ Feb 17 2008, 03:11 PM)
Same here bro. What's your profile name? I`ll add you as one of my peeps.
Same as here.
darklight79
post Feb 17 2008, 10:27 PM

I'll eat your food
9,006 posts

QUOTE(cicada73 @ Feb 17 2008, 06:39 PM)
My supplements :

On Whey,
Ultimate Nutrition Isocool
Muscletech Nitrotech
Controlled Labs Green Magnitude ---My Fav, Great Pump
Controlled Labs White Flood --- Works on me, get a very high feeling the energy is unbelievable, and i only take half of the serving
Controlled Labs Orange Triad -- Multi vits plus joint support
Controlled Labs Purple Wrath --- very good amino, fast recovery
Creakic ---- disapointed which is why still left half bottle of it
No explode --- No luck with this one, worked the first 3 times luckily i am going to finish it tomorrow morning
Fish oil

that's about it, going to try out size on, superpump Scivation Vasocharge in future, but think i still have too many tubs with me smile.gif
I will upload the pic later when i got it  rclxm9.gif
With so many supplements you're taking, you must be huge! Post some pics please.
darklight79
post Feb 20 2008, 03:10 PM

I'll eat your food
9,006 posts

QUOTE(hasyir @ Feb 20 2008, 03:03 PM)
so...is thre anyone goin to giv their piece of mind here?
which is more effective?ON or CN whey?
Whey is whey. Just get more bang for your buck by looking at the amount per serving and the price.
darklight79
post Feb 21 2008, 12:05 AM

I'll eat your food
9,006 posts

QUOTE(free_enuf @ Feb 20 2008, 11:11 PM)
Creat monohydrate? Or creat AKG etc? I assume its creat monohydrate, you will have to load for 5 days, 4 servings a day each shaked with 75g of dextrose (most cost-effective one being glucoline, original flavor). Dun mind the calorie, you can easily use them up during workout. Subsequently you can take 1 serving pre and another post WO, each with 75g dextrose again. If its too much for you post WO alone should do just fine. Personal experience tells me 2 servings a day does better. Remember to cycle though, off for 2 weeks after 8 weeks of continuous uses.
Imo, after doing some research and through experience, a loading phase may not be necessary/
darklight79
post Feb 21 2008, 12:46 AM

I'll eat your food
9,006 posts

QUOTE(free_enuf @ Feb 21 2008, 12:10 AM)
^ I agree with you to some extent. If you choose not to load, the intramuscular cellular level of creatine phosphate will equate the level of which case you load, on day 20. If one doesnt mind lagging for a mere 15 days for maximum effect, ya, loading really is totally not necessary. I chose to have mine on day 5 though.
The intracellular level would be the same if you take it pre and postworkout without loading. Old school bbers did it that way. To think i wasted all that precious creatine loading just because the supp companies want us to consume it at a faster rate.
darklight79
post Mar 11 2008, 09:12 PM

I'll eat your food
9,006 posts

QUOTE(jones007 @ Mar 11 2008, 08:53 PM)
i thought cookie and cream taste like vagina?
Who said that??

0.0390sec    0.98    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 02:27 AM