Working at Marcus Evans

TSadrianc84
post Sep 21 2007, 02:35 PM, updated 19y ago

I was wondering how is it like working at marcus evans? I heard the basic pay is low...
work conditions? etc etc
Drian
post Sep 21 2007, 02:50 PM

4,999 posts

You can sell training packages you can earn money if you cannot , you don't get money. it's as simple as that.
Zzz...
post Sep 21 2007, 02:58 PM

456 posts

Most sales-oriented job also like tat wan.....basic low but they make up 4 it in terms of commission if u can sell.

For extreme cases, if u r a good seller, the basic is negligible as the commission forms the bulk of the paycheck.
TSadrianc84
post Sep 21 2007, 03:09 PM

how bad is the basic? any range?
NeoŽ
post Sep 21 2007, 07:21 PM

39 posts

The fella from Marcus Evans told me "the basic income is not important in M.E bcoz we work hard for the commision. The basic is just something like a small allowance". I got more or less this answer when i ask how much is the basic.
AsiaPartTime
post Sep 21 2007, 09:42 PM

311 posts

If you wanna know more about "How is the working life in Marcus Evans" check this out : http://company.asiasalary.com/marcus-evans-sales/
mickeywjy
post Sep 21 2007, 11:51 PM

407 posts

So the pay is low???? Anyway i got a call and they ask me to arrange for an interview on the sale position now don know wheter to sccept or not hahaha.
ZiyiIsmyIdol
post Sep 22 2007, 01:00 PM

112 posts

i worked there once.... highly pressurized working environment... survival of the fittest.... number game..... ppl smoke non-stop lol.... make sure u r mentally very strong n prepared if u were to work there....

The pay is good only if u r in top ten of the ppl making it there... i was around 15th to 20th rank... out out around 100... n i still earn zit....

u heard of 80/20 rule?

well... its 90/10 here...
Drian
post Sep 24 2007, 10:10 AM

4,999 posts

I think this is pretty normal for sales job. You can sell you earn money, you cannot sell you don't earn money, as simple as that.
surf-it
post Apr 18 2008, 11:39 PM

Landlord
1,747 posts

I have just gotten a call from them, but from all the comments above, it sounds real scary, REAL!
alxcnq
post May 6 2008, 08:13 PM

25 posts

I also got a call from them. Sounds scary... I heard the basic is only around RM500 ? @@ how to survive... I think i'm not going for the interview already.. ==
ronaldoo
post May 7 2008, 09:35 AM

526 posts

EVENT job salary is low . Is already expected from this kind of industry. Turnover is high . I heard from friend saying event job customer payment is very slow and dragging. Some smaller event companies force to close down .

Many youngsters like event job. freedom and can travel around frequently.
How2Success
post May 8 2008, 03:21 PM

26 posts

QUOTE(ronaldoo @ May 7 2008, 09:35 AM)
EVENT job salary is low . Is already expected from this kind of industry. Turnover is high . I heard from friend saying event job  customer payment is very slow and dragging. Some smaller event companies force to close down .

Many youngsters like event job. freedom and can travel around frequently.
You can try UNI strategc. Go find at jobstreet.

1. less pressure than marcus
2. a singapore company with high basic salary, already come to kl malaysia
3. it's much better in terms of leads allocation...

Btw, for those young who plan to do big business, go for entrepreneur line, or learn sales in short time frame, it's definitely a good experience for you.

Don't think anyone have the courage to talk to ceo, cto, cfo, cio, cmo, president and etc... But once you become familiar, it's your lifetime benefit.

This kind of event telesales company sometimes is better than other telesales.
example:

you need to do market research on web for the big companies, .... and call in, go thru secretary, handle objection etc.
it involve a lot of skill set. It's better than some other telesales company that they ask you to find yellow pages and blindly call.

For this kind of telesales, you have the specific focus, for every event, they will tell you focus on what kind of top management....

If you are weak in sales, and want to increase your skills in very short time, this is a good place. Tele sales no need to go out meet client and traffic jam... so you get to talk much more ... in the phone compare to outdoor.

Of course you will be able to see clearly what are the business that really consider big business, and how big they are, what's the thing behind the scene. You will learn to think like c level....

My sharing, thanks.

alxcnq
post May 8 2008, 08:41 PM

25 posts

Nowadays people has been complaining that they receive tons and tons of cold calls asking them to go to this workshop and that workshop, bla bla bla (especially those extreme Marcus Evans guys). Even the operator has now been trained/requested to verify the caller first before they put through any call. Even if you can bypass those secretary/operator by lying or anyhow, chances are the person that you actually spoke to wont want to listen to you and will have very negative feelings towards your company because they have already ask you NOT TO CALL! If they are to entertain each and every of them, they would be sitting in their place all day long just to answer these ppl calls! So what makes you think this type of cold calling still works? Do you think working in this area still a wise idea? I doubted it.

Feel free to comment if you think I'm wrong.
rida.b
post May 9 2008, 01:52 AM

126 posts

I had the opportunity to join ME or THG once. 2 weeks training. But I lasted on sales floor less than a month. The job doesn't suits me. 1- I have to sell using cold calls method (i prefer walk in than cold calls...) 2- I hv to act like I'm a some project manager (mcm bagus), 3- rm500 for a basic,...rm250 per sales commision...if I able to sell one..
How2Success
post May 9 2008, 10:58 AM

26 posts

alxcnq, this is why I say the skill sets really needed.

It's not easy to gone thru to reach top management, alarm will always created if your call have some words that let them think of it's a sales call. A lot of creativity needed.

Yes, even can by pass, there's still a challenge. It's whether you are able to build instant rapport with the people you are talking with, then is whether you able to probe enough information on what they needs, from there you have to stand at their point of view....

This is why i say, when you able to successfully get through all this process in the sales step, your selling skill will actually go to the next level already. There's some telesales after speak to the person, the person sleeping dreaming also can see the person ....

While some other telesales after speak to the person, the person directly getting alarm that 'this telesales is coming to sold me, a totally cold call...'

As always, they ask you not to call, doesn't mean anything, you can go for the next.

If let's say a big company having 27k employee, surely there are a lot of departments inside, and in each department, they will have senior 1, senior 2, normal employee etc. You can go top down or bottom up also. Many ways actually.

If it's not working, then telesales's boss won't open so much branches and hire so much telesales.. haha.

This is my opinion. Feel free to correct me.

zenwell
post May 9 2008, 11:56 AM

1,749 posts

QUOTE(adrianc84 @ Sep 21 2007, 02:35 PM)
I was wondering how is it like working at marcus evans? I heard the basic pay is low...
work conditions? etc etc
QUOTE(mickeywjy @ Sep 21 2007, 11:51 PM)
So the pay is low???? Anyway i got a call and they ask me to arrange for an interview on the sale position now don know wheter to sccept or not hahaha.
QUOTE(ZiyiIsmyIdol @ Sep 22 2007, 01:00 PM)
i worked there once.... highly pressurized working environment... survival of the fittest.... number game..... ppl smoke non-stop lol.... make sure u r mentally very strong n prepared if u were to work there....

The pay is good only if u r in top ten of the ppl making it there... i was around  15th to 20th rank... out out around 100... n i still earn zit....

u heard of 80/20 rule?

QUOTE(surf-it @ Apr 18 2008, 11:39 PM)
I have just gotten a call from them, but from all the comments above, it sounds real scary, REAL!
QUOTE(alxcnq @ May 6 2008, 08:13 PM)
I also got a call from them. Sounds scary... I heard the basic is only around RM500 ? @@ how to survive... I think i'm not going for the interview already.. ==
QUOTE(rida.b @ May 9 2008, 01:52 AM)
I had the opportunity to join ME or THG once. 2 weeks training. But I lasted on sales floor less than a month. The job doesn't suits me. 1- I have to sell using cold calls method (i prefer walk in than cold calls...) 2- I hv to act like I'm a some project manager (mcm bagus), 3- rm500 for a basic,...rm250 per sales commision...if I able to sell one..
How about selling education packages to adults? Totally on your own free time. Commission per sale range from RM230 to RM920, PM me if interested. Somehow selling education package sounds more acceptable right? compared to MLM and others.
abubin
post May 9 2008, 02:13 PM

10,429 posts

ME is not such a good company. It's not too bad either. Maybe if you are young, you can go in and learn something. They do offer very competitive package that actually benefit themselves and they are very budget conscious as well.

@zenwell, please stop spamming.
lwb
post May 9 2008, 04:26 PM

1,504 posts

my former tenant worked for marcus evans.. she's korean and she worked there for nearly 2.5years.

she shared alot about her jobs/roles there while she was there. from what i gather, there're better ways to earn good money than in marcus evans.

your pay will start to improve once you begin to have leadership roles.. for freshie, it's going to be tough muddling in the mud for awhile.

zenwell
post May 9 2008, 04:42 PM

1,749 posts

QUOTE(abubin @ May 9 2008, 02:13 PM)
ME is not such a good company. It's not too bad either. Maybe if you are young, you can go in and learn something. They do offer very competitive package that actually benefit themselves and they are very budget conscious as well.

@zenwell, please stop spamming.
Does that consider as spamming blink.gif I'm just suggesting alternatives, not trying to fool anyone. Sorry if I offended anyone.

Anyway my sister almost joined Marcus Evans Few years back. Got to know them through Job fair. I think they are at every job fair right? It is a event company right. She got called for interview. Then offered but in the end she didn't accept. From what I remember she told me the sales and marketing are mostly through calls, seldom need to go out. I don't true or not.
lwb
post May 9 2008, 04:57 PM

1,504 posts

oh, my former tenant was a conference producer.
there's a lot of research work done with this role.
alxcnq
post May 11 2008, 11:56 AM

25 posts

How2Success, I believe to reach to those top management would involves a lot of lying+bullshit. I don't think there is much use of developing this kind of skill set as I believe this way would eventually destroy your company reputation. But I do agree with you there's some selling skills you can learn from there. However, if you are talking selling training events here, I think nowadays there're too much of training events in the market, its very congested. Company are receiving tons of calls, e-mails and faxes, I think a lot of time chances of you getting deals would be just by luck not by skills, because I think there's ntg much u cn do to show that your events are different from others because it's not.

So the thing you can do would be just, bullshit to get to those top management, talk a little bit(you wont event come to the phase of persuasion as they receive the same hundred calls selling same types of events everyday) and hope they give you their email or whatever, send over to them, and hope that they will chose your training instead of others, not much by persuasion skills because there isin't much of space for you to persuade, unless you lie to them or your event is really something special, than that's a different story.

This post has been edited by alxcnq: May 11 2008, 12:02 PM
tiffany_sle
post May 12 2008, 10:05 PM

32 posts

i quit after 2 weeks~~
it is sucks~~
my team has 10 ppl at first..now everyone left..
damn high turnover
smuxsmux
post May 13 2008, 09:59 AM

162 posts

QUOTE(ZiyiIsmyIdol @ Sep 22 2007, 02:00 PM)

The pay is good only if u r in top ten of the ppl making it there... i was around  15th to 20th rank... out out around 100... n i still earn zit....

u heard of 80/20 rule?

Been there.. and done that;)
Shi
post May 13 2008, 03:33 PM

110 posts

QUOTE(zenwell @ May 9 2008, 04:42 PM)
Does that consider as spamming  blink.gif  I'm just suggesting alternatives, not trying to fool anyone. Sorry if I offended anyone.

Anyway my sister almost joined Marcus Evans Few years back. Got to know them through Job fair. I think they are at every job fair right? It is a event company right. She got called for interview. Then offered but in the end she didn't accept. From what I remember she told me the sales and marketing are mostly through calls, seldom need to go out. I don't true or not.
Wah...ME people call veli veli annoiying... they bug bug bug to buy
xcutelilgal
post May 13 2008, 10:40 PM

261 posts

My friend is in marketing in Marcus Evans.
commission very high if can sell. They only sell by emails. Good commission can earn up to 15K

Vengeance_Mad
post Jul 14 2008, 02:44 PM

Aston-ishing
797 posts

QUOTE(smuxsmux @ May 13 2008, 09:59 AM)
Been there.. and done that;)
How tough is that?
elv2k
post Jul 14 2008, 05:11 PM

388 posts

Marcus Evans ..

The interviewer told me:
1. Everything is through phone. You don't need to meet your customer. However, exception is given under special circumstances.
2. You need to close the deal in 2 days maximum.
3. You will work in a team of 5 normally.
4. The basic probably low, but commission is attractive.
5. You will not call those middle management people that drive Saga, Wira, Vios etc. But those driving BMW, Merz etc.

Questions during interview:
1. Why I should hire you instead of the other applicant? What make you stand out?
2. What do you know about this company?
3. Do you think you can cope with this kind of job, fast pace and stressful?

My comment:
1. The receptionist working there is very rude.
2. I only see young people working there.
3. You must have very good English, communication skills.

This post has been edited by elv2k: Jul 14 2008, 05:12 PM
mcbarney666
post Jul 14 2008, 05:29 PM

405 posts

I managed to bullcrap my way into gettting the job thinking I would do well. How naive I was.

If you have the tenacity of a terrier and the never say die attitude of Phua Chu Kang, this is the place to be. But be prepared to face unhelpful colleagues, back-stabbing beeyotches and even worse managers.
Vengeance_Mad
post Jul 14 2008, 05:55 PM

Aston-ishing
797 posts

QUOTE(mcbarney666 @ Jul 14 2008, 05:29 PM)
I managed to bullcrap my way into gettting the job thinking I would do well. How naive I was.

If you have the tenacity of a terrier and the never say die attitude of Phua Chu Kang, this is the place to be. But be prepared to face unhelpful colleagues, back-stabbing beeyotches and even worse managers.
Wow, understood that its a survival "free for all" between colleagues, but tenacity of a terrier ? A dog I assume ?
=.="
Thought of going for this job, now I have to think THRICE. Hahaha. laugh.gif

This post has been edited by Vengeance_Mad: Jul 14 2008, 05:56 PM
elv2k
post Jul 14 2008, 09:13 PM

388 posts

You can try and learn icon_rolleyes.gif

Maybe the job suits you..
Vengeance_Mad
post Jul 15 2008, 05:53 PM

Aston-ishing
797 posts

Wanted to try buy my sis asked me don't.. She say I sure can't tahan.. LOL~
elv2k
post Jul 16 2008, 10:39 PM

388 posts

You knows yourself better, what do you think. Marcus Evans is International Company blush.gif
SUS2HK
post Jul 17 2008, 07:58 PM

404 posts

Becarefull of the building' security ' guard , F'g damn rude.
slidewave22
post Jul 23 2008, 03:14 AM

73 posts

QUOTE(elv2k @ Jul 14 2008, 05:11 PM)
Marcus Evans ..

The interviewer told me:
1. Everything is through phone. You don't need to meet your customer. However, exception is given under special circumstances.
2. You need to close the deal in 2 days maximum.
3. You will work in a team of 5 normally.
4. The basic probably low, but commission is attractive.
5. You will not call those middle management people that drive Saga, Wira, Vios etc. But those driving BMW, Merz etc.

Questions during interview:
1. Why I should hire you instead of the other applicant? What make you stand out?
2. What do you know about this company?
3. Do you think you can cope with this kind of job, fast pace and stressful?

My comment:
1. The receptionist working there is very rude.
2. I only see young people working there.
3. You must have very good English, communication skills.

Marcus Evans, overall Sucks...

been interviewed b4 for Corporate Sales Executive ( middle east)....

That arab guy who interviewed me damn lan c lan yong...i been asked some same questions above...
n always call n telling me to go their website n must know the product knowledge...sick of it...n tat arab guy
english suxx...talk like he's the god...basic pay is rm1500...

summore if managed to pass 1st interview, then must go 2nd interview with exams...lergh...wat is this man?...
this position almost same as telesales...n need to do sumthing like goin to become
'high ranking' position...

waste my time...

aresvasilios
post Jul 23 2008, 07:07 AM

i've been there almost 4 months..then i run away. during my tenure, i sold 1 event seat to an African guy, 2 seats to Egyptian, 5 seats to European..over 2 different events.

The experience? S*cks!!!

I raked in the sales, but the payment VERY slow, so my commission came in slow. My basic when I left was 500 ringgit. What can I buy at 500? Only enough for parking + fuel + phone..had to beg my dad for food money..shame on me. I felt like a loser..

If you wanna work there..be prepared. TOUGH competition, people not helpful, ur own teammate will backstab u, ur manager always tiau u if u didnt bring in the sales, fighting over sales leads, crappy computer (windows 98 machine people!!!) and bla bla bla...

Marcus Evans? I rather die than work there again..

PM me for further crap stories..
pennyloo
post Sep 11 2009, 04:25 PM

Oh boy, sounds terrible. How can they be international then?
Gosh, their website talks so much 'crap' about their CSR initiatives and all that.

This I Believe I got a call from them at 9am. Its this Ang Mor sounding guy who's the GM.
Googled the phone number and traced it to market evans and found out its an indian GM.
He asked me about my work experience in telesales.

I sounded sleepy, he said he'll call back. Wow, now i'm wishing he doesn't.
Thanks people for sharing... i Love LOWYAT.net
white.lion.clan
post Sep 12 2009, 07:19 PM

139 posts

if your a good sales person, who can do sales through phone!!
you can make it there , 1 out of 100 people join will be happy with the job.

its all about the money you make for the company , more sales you do more faster you grow and more money u earn , simple as that

cant do sale sno sales at all better look for another job

but through the training and working experience you get there , it is really help full for your own carreer progress in other companies

damienic79
post Nov 18 2009, 04:41 PM

Hi All,

Do not, I repeat do not entertain this company, whether as an employee, or a potential business partner, or as a delegate in on of their conferences/ summits/ events and this is why:

I have been an ex employee for a few years, and admittedly it has take me a while to improve my self esteem and self believe after working for this low classed, scheming and downright illegal company. I will start will the conference production side as I know about their practices there and feel sorry and guilty for lying and cheating( under duress fr senior management)

The speakers invited are usually faked to rake in sales. Marcus evans will downright lie about famous CEOs, VPs etc that have agreed to speak in their events. This is mainly done for a few reasons - to get sponsorship fr unsuspecting companies, and of course to get sales. Sometimes they will put power names to sell the tickets( knowing that these speakers have in not way either verbal or email confirmed) and then send an email 1 week before to advise that the speaker is sick/ family disaster etc, already pocketing your cash. As they have no refund policy, you have no choice but to attend a replacement event, whether its related or not. I have known many conferences which were scheduled to be cancelled anyway, but sales went on all the way till 1 day before the event!

There are also alot of scandals and people sleeping with each other there, and unlike most companies, these are actually encouraged. Ask anyone about a certain GM that slept with 2 of his colleagues and got one pregnant, in fact he tried to force her to abort etc but she didnt, in the end he was transferred and every1 in senior mgmt laughed about it...

They really have no ethics what so ever, with titles such as CEOs, VPs, business development director etc thrown everywhere. You get praised for lying and scheming to get the business.

These are just scratch and win ppl in suits, nothin more. Most ppl there are always drunk, on drugs and in a bad mood. Many trainers, speakers aren't paid after being promised a certain fee.. and mostly these guys speak once, get cheated and never ever deal with marcus evans again. I have known trainers who were promised a certain fee, only to be told the producer has left, will you accept 50% or nothing at all? .. or similiar cock and bull excuses that offices have moved...

The way the treat their staff is shit, directors and actually nothing more than Mcdonalds employees i.e. its a title only, you can be demoted or promoted and u earn as much, or less than them anyways.

The same goes with getting sponsors. Lies after lies and fake bloated figures are given to potential 'idiots' who might want to sponsor the event. They will promise 100 senior decision makers, make up a fake attendee list, only for the sponsor to show up with 20-25 low level ppl, or sometimes they even give out free tickets if sales are really bad.

Just google this company, or ask 10 ppl about marcus evans, you will get you answer about this dishonest and classless act of a company
Txi
post Nov 18 2009, 05:33 PM

592 posts

ha ha what BS company.

Gov should close them down .

" Ask anyone about a certain GM that slept with 2 of his colleagues and got one pregnant "

guarantee you it was that Indian GM . LOL

hey we should respam these F**. lets all send in false applics BS them and say nah don't need you , too s***.
axydburn
post Dec 9 2009, 04:33 PM

This is a unfair report on the company, purely because it is giving the perspective from those working in the sales department alone and even that it is unclear. I know people working there and earning way about the average income of their age group, regardless whether they are in sales, production or operations. I know a few of them who have gotten posted to overseas like Spain, Sydney and a whole lot of other APAC countries.

I think this is a very straightforward performance based company. If you are good, you will be rewarded. It's a purely merit based company without space for losers to work in it. If you are one of those who want a 9 to 5 job and expect to laze about at work, Marcus Evans is definitely not for you. The job is only for driven people who wants to earn money or climb the corporate ladder without the traditional mindset of promotion based on seniority in the company.

Let me know if any of you are up for the challenge, I have good contacts there.
sweet_pez
post Dec 9 2009, 04:51 PM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

...are the calls and petrol claimable? say, you're out of office and needed to call clients/ entertainment etc? meet client for appointment - the petrol and drinks - do they allow staffs to claim?

Juz curious biggrin.gif
Aggroboy
post Dec 9 2009, 04:54 PM

637 posts

QUOTE(mcbarney666 @ Jul 14 2008, 05:29 PM)
But be prepared to face unhelpful colleagues, back-stabbing beeyotches and even worse managers.
Sounds like any normal job...
chinws2108
post Apr 23 2011, 09:22 PM

HI Guys. Just read your various para on working at ME. I got a call a few days ago to go for an interview next tuesday at ME in KL for position of Senior Fin Mgr and I wanted to know what is it like to be working in the back room in ME especially in the fin dept. Any help?

CKW008
post Apr 25 2011, 10:34 AM

116 posts

i was once invited for interview at ME for conference producer position.. i was fried hard by the sales director.. failed 2nd interview after my asgment presentation..

the HR that called me make the job sound so appealing but actually it was not
dermeze
post Aug 2 2011, 06:50 AM

Well, these are all 2008/2009 reviews. Has it changed since? My little sis received a call from ME for 3rd interview. And judging from these comments, it's worries me.
SUSceo684
post Mar 18 2012, 08:24 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

i would say nothing much has changed over the years. i left before the 2nd paycheque. sweat.gif

conference producer pay is not bad ~3k after confirmation
"mktg exec" can survive lah..at least this one dun need to call ppl for hours everyday
the one to be wary of, marketing RESEARCH exec. makan roti. ~2.3k after confirmation. jobscope is to call people everyday for hours and extract their information over the phone (not sales) then key in these data into their database.

As for the most part, its strict on timing 830-530 / 1-2 lunch hr; but u can leave on time everyday if ur done.

The offer letter is 9 or 10 pages long. Alot of pages devoted to not badmouthing the company and not to entice people away from the company. brows.gif

Notice period 1 week within first three months. thumbup.gif

Pay for mktg dept comes out on the 12th of every month. rclxub.gif Sales is 17th IIRC rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by ceo684: Mar 18 2012, 08:33 PM
BeastB
post Apr 22 2012, 06:14 PM

1,018 posts

Haha...it was funny reading all these comments. I was a former employee in ME...not sales but production level. Was working in the MIddle east division, it seems that the performance of this division was so bad that the Production GM forced the Middle East director to sit right in front of her with his team so she can monitor his performance.

If you ever see him in the office you wont forget him, short fatass dude with glasses. Real pain in the ass to work with as he has his favourites and promotes those who dont even hit KPIs. But the feedback I get from Apac, their Director is not bad...lot more easier to work with.
bontaku
post Jun 28 2012, 03:34 AM

60 posts

Hello all,

Wow this company sounds scary. I thought they are a good corp.
I applied for an opening in event management. Anyone have any tips or advice or anyone worked there in that department in KL?
Thanks!
bakute
post Jul 12 2012, 04:23 PM

QUOTE(BeastB @ Apr 22 2012, 06:14 PM)
Haha...it was funny reading all these comments. I was a former employee in ME...not sales but production level. Was working in the MIddle east division, it seems that the performance of this division was so bad that the Production GM forced the Middle East director to sit right in front of her with his team so she can monitor his performance.

If you ever see him in the office you wont forget him, short fatass dude with glasses. Real pain in the ass to work with as he has his favourites and promotes those who dont even hit KPIs. But the feedback I get from Apac, their Director is not bad...lot more easier to work with.
rclxms.gif I know that fatass. I was also producer for the xxx region as alien. sometimes I miss Malaysia...
BeastB
post Jul 19 2012, 06:29 PM

1,018 posts

QUOTE(bakute @ Jul 12 2012, 04:23 PM)
rclxms.gif I know that fatass. I was also producer for the xxx region as alien. sometimes I miss Malaysia...
Haha no kidding? When did you leave the company? Because of the fatass or other reasons?
biofuel
post Sep 11 2012, 04:30 PM

145 posts

Got a call for the post, Strategic Marketing Trainee. Would u guys care to give some opinion?
aaabeckett
post Sep 24 2012, 12:59 PM

24 posts

This is scary. I just got a phone call from ME summits delegance.
Not sure if i should turn up for tomorrows interview or not. I'm a fresh grad with engineering background.
Anymore reviews or opinions?
Thank you
yeefang90
post Sep 25 2012, 11:04 AM

77 posts

QUOTE(aaabeckett @ Sep 24 2012, 12:59 PM)
This is scary. I just got a phone call from ME summits delegance.
Not sure if i should turn up for tomorrows interview or not. I'm a fresh grad with engineering background.
Anymore reviews or opinions?
Thank you
hey , i got call for interview also. I am also fresh grad. But looks scary after i read through the feeds. The staff calls me once again just now and I dont pick up. I got an interview offers from Public Bank and ME , i think i will not go for ME interview
Chigme
post Sep 25 2012, 10:13 PM

700 posts

QUOTE(yeefang90 @ Sep 25 2012, 11:04 AM)
hey , i got call for interview also. I am also fresh grad. But looks scary after i read through the feeds. The staff calls me once again just now and I dont pick up. I got an interview offers from Public Bank and ME , i think i will not go for ME interview
ME sales staff are very aggresive to the extend that my ex boss ask the secretary to ban all calls from ME..
legendbarney
post Sep 26 2012, 04:41 PM

29 posts

Anyone has this info(Graduate Opportunities in Corporate Marketing), offered by ME? mind to share?
preducer
post Sep 27 2012, 07:51 PM

2,839 posts

is it still as "bad" as before ?
delicz
post Oct 16 2012, 02:06 AM

I wasnt working for sales. The managenent/HR have no ethics & dont recognize hard work and sacrifices done by the employess for the company... If u were there before u would notice the management level which has the hr and finance department together. They are a bunch of rude, backstabbing, gossiping, racist two faced snobbes. Hr would bang sales and marketing for dress codes and attendance but they have people right in fron of their eyes coming to work on a daily basis with casual tops and some even showing up to work as half day in every other day. There was also cases of their admin staff not coming in to work but HR did not check and they still paid salary for that day. But they choose to tutup satu mata just because same race(indian). Some of them work like 3 1/2 days a week but no one says anything. Sales do it, they get tiau. Marketing do it they get a letter. I can tell u, no point working hard there. No one cares! People there only care to work with the same race. But in the end, no matter how close they r to each other, they still bad mouth about each other anyways. Everything must be done the HR way if not u get a bad name in ur personal file. When working there can sms the superior to let them know ur not coming in to work. But when u decide to resign, suddenly u get a letter saying sms is not allowed. What BULLSHIT! Then got a sabah on sales floor girl who dress likes a whore and is so stupid but hr ok with that bcoz when go to see hr, total cover up. On sales floor, dont care. Work also like shit and had so much problems to ask her to do anythig right. Even if u work a little bit slow, they isolate u n give u a hard time but they work slower than snails. Always n constantly losing peoples leave forms n not admitting their mistakes causing someone to either waste time on going back to the doctors to get another mc or apply for leave all over again n blaming the leave taker constantly or they will just deduct ur salary.

Some individuals were from sales are helpfull and great. Now all change because a lot of politics. Even when u mind ur own business, there will be someone from hr or finance giving u racist coments or sarcasim of who u are friends with in the company, how u dress, what u eat also issue and also what ur religion beliefs are. Also YOU cleaning up and doing someone elses work? Totally ok to them as long as they get what they wan from that person. So whats the point of hr hiring someone else for that job if another person has to do it?? Again they dont care what sacrifices u make for the company. Ur close to a big person, u get ur rise to the top. U got the same race n ur safe even if u mess up every single day. Sales bring in revenue but management dont think so. All benefits to hr and management. Nothing to sales or marketing. Any position u wAnt to apply in marcus evans, think hard. Because no matter how u try to ignore these rude racist two face backstabbing sarcasm gossiping people or issues, trust me it will get to u soon. And working hard in this company is just nothing. Some of them there for 5 years more or less are still there because they either earn a lot which of course from sales or will not adapt to other surroundings due to their attitidue or they are just old already to move on to a new company. There are only one or 2 good motivating individuals there but i bet they will soon go also. Any good person working there will just end up bad. SHIT company because of the management.

This post has been edited by delicz: Oct 23 2012, 06:05 AM
peiqi84
post Jan 9 2013, 04:58 PM

Comments posted by delicz sound horrible. May I know are you referring to the HQ in Jalan Ampang? May I know what is the situation in Penang Branch? I am called for an interview in Penang branch for sales position. But after gone through all the comments above, it just sound so scary to me.
Can somebody give some ideas about penang branch?
crapp0
post Jan 9 2013, 06:48 PM

4,414 posts

This company name sounds like a porn star video production company.

This post has been edited by crapp0: Jan 9 2013, 06:48 PM
gentibrx99
post Feb 7 2013, 02:14 PM

Not easy to survive there. Know lots of ppl who worked them unless u r a work machine and very mean.
They steal each other sales and it happens most of the time.
Better consider other companies. The turnover there is so high that u cant imagine.

This post has been edited by gentibrx99: Feb 7 2013, 02:16 PM
BubuTheStar
post Aug 1 2013, 11:30 AM

90 posts

QUOTE(bakute @ Jul 12 2012, 04:23 PM)
Does his name start with Jo*****m? I heard he's very good and popular in marcus evans? Hmmm seems I was wrong then
Rajie85
post Aug 29 2013, 09:59 PM

Is IBN International the same business industry as Marcus Evan??

BubuTheStar
post Aug 30 2013, 11:46 AM

90 posts

The easiest way to judge is to do the following. Why don't you call 10 companies out there and ask them about marcus evans. Or say that you are calling from marcus evans. If you don't get shouted at then join them at your peril.

In other words, stay far away from this company
soneey
post Sep 10 2013, 01:41 PM

53 posts

i just got the call from M.E as finance..

after reading all the reviews...ill pass this interview!!
NicoLLM
post May 7 2014, 04:54 PM

an interview for Sales executive at ME KL,Malaysia> A WASTE OF MY TIME !

Went for 3 interviews...
long story short:

HORRIBLE ORGANISATION> they keep loosing ur details ur documents to a point after the 1st interview i had serious doubt whether continue the interview process or not. No kidding YOU have to call to ask almost all the time why ur interviewers miss the appointement or did not forward u the right documents n so on.... ( tiresome n sad for a supposably efficient company)

NO CONSIDERATION> to the limit of racism in many cases, towards anypeople who isnt British or from the formal australian colony. I almost felt sorry i was not from UK, eventho with Master degrees from prestigious Universities in both US and France,

LOW PAY: While following the few interviews process i got to talk to few employees at ME in both sales, production, n marketing. Doesnt pay well or only after 1 or 2 years or complete dedication n long hours working. Even the remuneration structure so they called, makes u understand if u dont sale a 100 000 summits everymonths well u get f***ed ! blush.gif

CRAZY TURNOVER: simply the biggest testimony of how good it is to work within ME walls.... they are loosing employees as fast n as often as it rains in Malaysia. Usualy poached by the competitors offering way more money that ME does. No wonder they struggle with very reduced teams ... ( i ve even being warn by one of their "talent" to go straight to the competitor rather than wasting time at ME... thought that was odd n i did attend still the interviews that followed, and i did wasted my time doh.gif )

If u go for interview at ME, u ll quickly understand that they re biggest fear is seeing u leave ME for better horizons which if u have a brain u ll do. Backstabbing n great deal of strain is the everyday truth at ME.

there is simply way better options for u to earn money lots n fast believe me,
I got a way better Offer soon after being rejected in the most insulting way by ME.

Marcus Evans looks so appealing on the website.... Once u step in u feel cheated like u dont know how nod.gif lol
Thks MarcusEvans for wasting my precious time !!!!!!!

Guess they recruit only from Mac Donalds employees from UK or Australia, leave the way people leave the way ! nod.gif

crapp0
post May 7 2014, 04:57 PM

4,414 posts

Sounds like a pornstar name.
[F]atalit[Y]
post May 11 2014, 04:03 PM

312 posts

The boss will retrench whoever that he likes (so u need to be a big ball sucker) to survive there. Some managers that I know and I heard are brainless retards who does not even know ABC but they are managers there for the longest time cuz they suck the big guys balls and d*ck.

If youre not the kind who's willing to be stupider than the already stupid, then don't bother looking for this job. It ain't worth your future.
HawkreiN
post May 11 2014, 09:03 PM

344 posts

Replies above generally align with the opinions of my coursemates. Very high turnover too.
maiyskitty
post May 28 2014, 02:42 AM

32 posts

wow..its like one of a hell there after reading all those comments =.= this thread is seriously useful till today.

Lucky never send any resume to it yet
dynamic123
post May 28 2014, 09:17 AM

325 posts

QUOTE(gentibrx99 @ Feb 7 2013, 02:14 PM)
Not easy to survive there. Know lots of ppl who worked them unless u r a work machine and very mean.
They steal each other sales and it happens most of the time.
Better consider other companies. The turnover there is so high that u cant imagine.
dam,sound so stress.
galluv
post May 25 2015, 07:04 PM

52 posts

I saw M.E. on jobstreet quite often.
And I came across this thread, what a fabulous experience from the contributors above.
I wonder if the employees at there last how long for the max averagely?

Aiya94
post Oct 31 2017, 09:44 PM

QUOTE(white.lion.clan @ Sep 12 2009, 07:19 PM)
if your a good sales person, who can do sales through phone!!
you can make it there , 1 out of 100 people join will be happy with the job.

its all about the money you make for the company , more sales you do more faster you grow and more money u earn , simple as that

cant do sale sno sales at all better look for another job

but through the training and working experience you get there , it is really help full for your own carreer progress in other companies
Haha I thought you said 1 out of 100 people will join therapy with the job

0.0610sec    0.86    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 04:45 PM