Reminder to turn off the Eco-Idle function

TSRoman Catholic
post Feb 8 2022, 09:14 PM, updated 4y ago

3,520 posts

Hi y'all,

Are there any methods to remind elderly drivers to turn off the Eco-Idle function everytime after they have started the car ?

I know that there are modifications available in the market, which will turn off the Eco-Idle function automatically everytime after starting the vehicle, however I am not keen on such modifications or rather the elderly drivers are not keen on such modifications as they prefer to keep everything stock.

If you have any easy method which can remind the elderly to turn off the Eco-Idle function, I would love to hear from you.

All I can think of now is sticking a Post-It-Note on their dash but that just ruins the design and it is not really professional also.

This post has been edited by Roman Catholic: Feb 8 2022, 09:24 PM
TSRoman Catholic
post Feb 8 2022, 09:29 PM

3,520 posts

QUOTE(jetblast @ Feb 8 2022, 09:17 PM)
Just curious why need to turn off?
Retirees are trying to save on expenses by using as little resources as possible.

Turning off the Eco-Idle function will allow their battery to last much longer than if the function was turned on.

This post has been edited by Roman Catholic: Feb 8 2022, 09:31 PM
TSRoman Catholic
post Feb 8 2022, 09:38 PM

3,520 posts

QUOTE(wchinwai @ Feb 8 2022, 09:33 PM)
actually in long run, might cost more because engine restart more often. Imagine at every traffic or junction stops, the engine need to restart everytime if the eco-idle kicks in.
thats what i think...
Very true.

The 1st thing that will go is probably the Starter Motor, unless of course the Starter Motor for vehicle with Eco-Idle function has been designed for a much higher number of starts compared to previous generation of Myvi.
TSRoman Catholic
post Feb 8 2022, 09:41 PM

3,520 posts

QUOTE(ktek @ Feb 8 2022, 09:37 PM)
bateri life not much. fuel saved not much
unless we dikit-dikit lama jadi bukit
Nah I have done some calculations and it is a substantial difference actually by a difference of 21.05%.

This post has been edited by Roman Catholic: Feb 8 2022, 09:42 PM
TSRoman Catholic
post Feb 8 2022, 09:47 PM

3,520 posts

QUOTE(even_steven @ Feb 8 2022, 09:36 PM)
I've been using Eco-Idle since I bought my car. The delay is negligible for automatic transmission. If you say the delay can cause accident, that means your judgement of safety to cross the junction is off. Those who have the mindset of "sempat lagi ni", will have this risk. If you are a defensive driver and always make sure the road is clear to cross, you won't have this issue to worry about.
Eco-Idle help to save fuel. TS want to turn it off.
I dont own the 3rd Gen Myvi.

It is for my clients actually, who are elderly and if there is something which looks presentable that can be placed in their car as a reminder, that would be great.

This post has been edited by Roman Catholic: Feb 8 2022, 09:47 PM
TSRoman Catholic
post Feb 8 2022, 09:50 PM

3,520 posts

QUOTE(amscouzach57 @ Feb 8 2022, 09:46 PM)
I second this. I had something similar on my Mazda 6 (I-Stop), it is very annoyingly dangerous when the engine stopped when you're at junction or about to enter the roundabout.

Although it takes a second, it could be a second too late for the window of opportunity provided.

I've disabled it via the obd.

Now I don't have to press the disable button everytime I start the car.

Pros: my car battery & starter last longer.
Cons: my car consumes more fuel?
I have never thought about it but I will look into this on behalf of my client. Thank you so much, really appreciate it.
TSRoman Catholic
post Feb 8 2022, 10:07 PM

3,520 posts

QUOTE(even_steven @ Feb 8 2022, 09:36 PM)
I've been using Eco-Idle since I bought my car. The delay is negligible for automatic transmission. If you say the delay can cause accident, that means your judgement of safety to cross the junction is off. Those who have the mindset of "sempat lagi ni", will have this risk. If you are a defensive driver and always make sure the road is clear to cross, you won't have this issue to worry about.
Eco-Idle help to save fuel. TS want to turn it off.
Save fuel, ok how much ? Data ?

I don't know where you got that data from but if I have the time and money I would like to put that to real life test and see if that is true or crap.

This post has been edited by Roman Catholic: Feb 8 2022, 10:56 PM
TSRoman Catholic
post Feb 8 2022, 11:53 PM

3,520 posts

QUOTE(constant_weight @ Feb 8 2022, 11:06 PM)
My friend fully press the start-stop on/off button then insert a cardboard in the button gap.

Make the button forever stuck at pressed position.

It is a Mazda not sure if same applies to all car. I guess worth to try since it is the cheapest.
Thank you for that idea. Hopefully that will do the trick.

I thought of bringing up the OBD idea with the Service Center guys but I reckon I can already hear their answers to that.

At least your idea will provide another option to the retirees.

So far the available options are

1. Install by pass cable
2. Change the system via OBD
3. Cardboard trick to depress the button
4. Post-It-Note & press the button after the Ignition switch is on.
5. Or the retirees could just leave it and live with the inconvenience and hopefully the fuel savings outweighs the battery costs. LOL

According to the retired couple their car is almost 4 years old now and their mileage is said to be 10,000km. Although the battery is still able to start the car but the Battery & Starter Test had shown a Replace Battery status. It will fail completely in less than a month's time. This will be their 1st battery change before they travel to KL soon.
TSRoman Catholic
post Feb 9 2022, 08:36 AM

3,520 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Feb 9 2022, 07:39 AM)
Is your parents car a Myvi?
Fortunately not.

They are my latest clients who called me when their Camry's battery failed. There were problems with their original Camry's alternator and we made plans to have their original alternator repaired at a designated shop. Unfortunately the husband drove to another shop to replaced it with a reconditioned alternator instead. Now that the new battery is in, I am not pleased with the charging output of the recond alternator. So I am asking them to try to get back their original Camry's alternator, so that it can be repaired at the designated shop to ensure its output meet my Principal Co. battery's charging parameters.

I forgot to take a picture of the recond alternator, it just doesn't look anywhere near the original unit and the recond unit warranty is only 3 months. Real rubbish. I can already foresee the problems that I am going to have with these new clients over a dead battery due to an inefficient reconditioned alternator.

If they were my parents, they will not be allowed to buy a vehicle with Eco-Idle function. It is not only retirees who are trying to save money but I have other clients whom are still working/have business and they insists on using normal NS40ZL instead EFB M42 battery for their vehicles just to save money/trying to make ends meet.

Logically if everyone had high disposable incomes, surely they would want to buy the best so that their product would be under warranty. Since politicians are preaching false hopes about high income nation, the rakyat are finding it harder and harder to make ends meet, so many are forced to make do with what is available even though giving up their battery warranty.

This post has been edited by Roman Catholic: Feb 9 2022, 08:58 AM
TSRoman Catholic
post Feb 9 2022, 08:47 AM

3,520 posts

QUOTE(ktek @ Feb 9 2022, 08:33 AM)
4 year battery never change. still nor satisfy meh
low odo sure all short distance trip. i see a quite efficient design to charge power up
Clients are always right mah. Satisfied ? Human beings will always want more for less one. Good no cheap and cheap no good. Takkan a Battery Co. will be able to produce a higher capacity battery at a lower production cost ceteris paribus ? Like now its 4 years, sure la they want to get out more from the new battery.

Retirees mah sure la odo low. If retirees with high odo readings only means they have not retired to their homes just yet.

Sorry, I dont quite understand the bolded text above.
TSRoman Catholic
post Feb 9 2022, 09:12 AM

3,520 posts

QUOTE(ktek @ Feb 9 2022, 09:05 AM)
becos drive a bit stop. d rpm is not high to begin with
regular alternator may not produce enough output. unless we modify pulley size

now u replaced a batt already izit
Ah ok now I understand what you meant. Yes you are right. Melaka is infamous with high number of traffic lights and with so many Stops-Starts you can imagine the load.

Not yet but very soon as I am awaiting for the new delivery to arrive from HQ.
TSRoman Catholic
post Feb 9 2022, 01:41 PM

3,520 posts

QUOTE(maxomeara @ Feb 9 2022, 10:30 AM)
My 1st battery change for my peugeot was less than 2 years after bought new. Since then I switched off the auto engine start/stop everytime I started the car.

AGM batteries are fricking expensive
Are you saying that your AGM batteries lasts 2 years only ? Something is seriously wrong IMHO.
TSRoman Catholic
post Feb 9 2022, 01:46 PM

3,520 posts

QUOTE(SleeplessEyes @ Feb 9 2022, 12:54 PM)
Because Perodua's start stop idle is not as smart as , lets say, Serena Hybrid.
Smarter Start Stop Idle will detect steering angle . Unfortunately Perodua's one doesnt have that steering sensor.
So yes, I've seen Myvi engine stop while reversing. Kinda dumb I agree.
Because this is the cheapest design. However the starter most likely is a more heavy duty type.
A more high tech design (but much more practical) is like Serena Mild Hybrid - Uses Alternator + Starter on its belt.
Meaning it will start the engine via the specially designed Alternator. Charge the special battery via the Alternator. Even power the engine (slightly) by the Alternator.

https://www.carlist.my/news/how-is-the-niss...ls-60071/60071/

I'm sure you have heard about Serena's special purpose hybrid battery. The car has 2 batteries, one regular battery and another for the hybrid.
Bro., it is good to hear from you again. I had no idea about steering angle on smarter designs and it is good to learn something new everyday. 😊

Yeah I've heard of Serena system but I havent had the chance to work on and with such a vehicle yet. 😦

TSRoman Catholic
post Feb 11 2022, 07:18 AM

3,520 posts

QUOTE(romuluz777 @ Feb 9 2022, 03:15 PM)
The auto start/stop function is the most useless feature in modern cars.
They should just offer this as a priced adder option for the tree-huggers.
The rest of us would be damn happy to do w/out it.
Here's the thing, takkan the manufacturers didn't know the uselessness of that thing when it was under product testing ? They did test the damn thing didn't they or they sounded like that's what the product salesman said or their brochure said and we believed in it wholeheartedly shit. Did they actually think that this useless product is simply going to over the rakyat heads ? Surely there must be some kind of incentive to push this useless product into the mass market. Otherwise who the hell in the right frame of mind is going to damage their goodwill ?
TSRoman Catholic
post Feb 16 2022, 10:38 AM

3,520 posts

QUOTE(matrix88 @ Feb 14 2022, 12:47 AM)
Both can be disabled. From meter cluster, on odo screen, long press the button, inside you can choose to on or off eco and idle.
Excellent mate. TQVM will try this on the client's Myvi after the battery replacement.
TSRoman Catholic
post Feb 18 2022, 11:17 PM

3,520 posts

QUOTE(ktek @ Feb 17 2022, 12:05 PM)
ur camry which gen. have enjin bay pic ?
we see which component to detect batt status
Not my Camry la bro., my clients. I had done a couple of battery replacements for different Camry models and they are ok. Normal battery tester to detect battery status. Nothing fancy.

Ok here is the update on the Myvi 3rd Gen battery replacement. I didn't try to switch off the Eco-Idle function during the battery replacement as I was sweating bullets after the install and I didn't want make the seat drenched in my sweat either. Damn hot. I will definately do that when they return from KL.

Anyways everything went smoothly and the following day (yesterday) it was ok. On their drive back home after shopping at 3pm, the owner called. I was invited into their Myvi and the Mrs. pointed out something was amiss on her screen as there was a black bar across it and there was a buzzing sound when the aircon was switch on.

Alamak I thought to myself takkan I screwed up the battery replacement procedure ? Cannot be lah. Panic sial. This is not my 1st 3rd Gen Myvi I have done also. Done a couple, all ok je. So I agreed that they return home first and I will come shortly to try to work out why this was happening.

Showered, packed my gear and headed to their place. I informed the owmer to start the vehicle as I wanted to record everything as evidence for HQ and Perodua Service Center. Funny thing, the black bar across the screen disappeared and so was the buzzing sound whatsoever. Then the owner suggested we drive out following the same route they went earlier to see if that would trigger the same result again. Nothing happened and that puzzled the hell out of me and the owner too. So I told the owner I would go to Perodua SC to next day (today) to enquire about this.

So was at Perodua SC discussing about this today but without the car, my friend there couldnt really help. And when I informed him the problem disappeared after I reached their home and test drive their Myvi, that even puzzled him more. Got problem but like got no problem ???

Today the owner was extremely glad to inform me that even at 6.30pm her Myvi was ok. No weird bar and buzzing sound when the aircon is switched on.

Now I dont think I want to rush out immediately if there is any battery kong calls anymore. When I am on site and the test shows that something isn't right with the system and the owner decides and insists a battery replacement should still be done, then the risk will be borne by the owner. If there isn't any risk, I will gladly do the battery replacement for them, if however there is any risk detected, it will be on them. That is the problem with improper usage of modern cars. Crazy sial. If so sensitive that until a battery replacement can trigger such fault to incur minimum repair bills from Rm150 onwards, owners of modern vehicles better know what exactly they be doing, otherwise bayar je lah.

This post has been edited by Roman Catholic: Feb 18 2022, 11:23 PM
TSRoman Catholic
post Oct 9 2022, 08:47 AM

3,520 posts

QUOTE(NoSheep @ Oct 9 2022, 08:18 AM)
I am willing to pay people to take off the idle start/stop system from my car... I did not ask for it!
Just leave it there. If you get someone to remove the entire Eco Idle system from your vehicle you will void the vehicle's warranty.
TSRoman Catholic
post Oct 9 2022, 12:12 PM

3,520 posts

QUOTE(ktek @ Oct 9 2022, 11:54 AM)
just disconnect black circle device at battery there

Disconnect black circle device you meant No 1 ?

0.0231sec    0.63    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 02:43 PM