Wall drilling for bracket mounting, Need expert drilling advise

SUSceo684
post Jan 25 2022, 12:51 AM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(eddie2020 @ Jan 25 2022, 12:46 AM)
Sheer wall?? Not sure, ya new property... Drill hole OK if hack or make hole big size like hood etc need ask management..
OK I buy daewoo then.. I sold my gsb.. Need drill tiles later neh.. Aiyo sell it too soon...
Like most shooting game, there's situation where you use the big guns and there's a use for the small pistol as well tongue.gif
Daewoo boleh pakai if money is tight but I must remind you its pretty heavy.

Bosch 2-20 if budget is ok for RM320-330 is lighter and better vibration control lah. biggrin.gif
Hikoki DH24 I saw going for RM345. Also quite light. https://shopee.com.my/HITACHI-HIKOKI-DH24PH...6754.5037692275

This post has been edited by ceo684: Jan 25 2022, 12:52 AM
TSeddie2020
post Jan 25 2022, 04:48 AM

Trusted
3,127 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ Jan 25 2022, 12:51 AM)
Like most shooting game, there's situation where you use the big guns and there's a use for the small pistol as well tongue.gif
Daewoo boleh pakai if money is tight but I must remind you its pretty heavy.

Bosch 2-20 if budget is ok for RM320-330 is lighter and better vibration control lah. biggrin.gif
Hikoki DH24 I saw going for RM345. Also quite light. https://shopee.com.my/HITACHI-HIKOKI-DH24PH...6754.5037692275
Sudah order lo.. Lazy cancel... 3kg OK la... Stronger than Bosch rite.. Bosch how heavy
andrekua2
post Jan 25 2022, 07:44 AM

13,494 posts

Encounter the same thing trying to install a blind. The balcony structure was concrete plastered by some cement when my parents did the extension for balcony.

Instead of investing on a normal drill (since I borrow the drill from office), went to a hardware shop and told them the situation. Bought a RM20 drill bit and it was much much easier. I still had those cheap RM20 (1set drill bits from 6mm-10mm) and in comparison, this RM20 drill bit just so much easier to drill. Even normal wall with bricks plastered by cement, it just goes through like butter unlike those cheap drill bits which required a bit of effort before you reach the soft bricks.

This post has been edited by andrekua2: Jan 25 2022, 07:45 AM
TSeddie2020
post Jan 30 2022, 11:42 PM

Trusted
3,127 posts

QUOTE(andrekua2 @ Jan 25 2022, 07:44 AM)
Encounter the same thing trying to install a blind. The balcony structure was concrete plastered by some cement when my parents did the extension for balcony.

Instead of investing on a normal drill (since I borrow the drill from office), went to a hardware shop and told them the situation. Bought a RM20 drill bit and it was much much easier. I still had those cheap RM20 (1set drill bits from 6mm-10mm) and in comparison, this RM20 drill bit just so much easier to drill. Even normal wall with bricks plastered by cement, it just goes through like butter unlike those cheap drill bits which required a bit of effort before you reach the soft bricks.
I using x33 line bits and I tried some expensive bits from my uncle.. Cement plaster no issue, issue come after 0.6 inch depth..

Anyways i pissed and sold off the whole set.. Bought sds drill, it did the job.. I use less than half min for 1 hole with 2inch depth.. Lol.. Live much easier and I feel stupid for drilling 1hr plus for a hole.. What a joke
SUSceo684
post Jan 31 2022, 12:31 AM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(eddie2020 @ Jan 30 2022, 11:42 PM)
I using x33 line bits and I tried some expensive bits from my uncle.. Cement plaster no issue, issue come after 0.6 inch depth..

Anyways i pissed and sold off the whole set.. Bought sds drill, it did the job.. I use less than half min for 1 hole with 2inch depth.. Lol.. Live much easier and I feel stupid for drilling 1hr plus for a hole.. What a joke
Sounds great! Right tool for right job.
TSeddie2020
post Feb 6 2022, 07:22 PM

Trusted
3,127 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ Jan 31 2022, 12:31 AM)
Sounds great! Right tool for right job.
Yea... But now I think need some advise for my TV cabinet... Bought one from ikea it didn't provide screw for hanging cabinet mount on wall... I simply use some small stainless steel screw... I wonder will it drop anytime or not.. Any specific screw or what screw should I use to hang a TV cabinet
SUSceo684
post Feb 6 2022, 11:51 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(eddie2020 @ Feb 6 2022, 07:22 PM)
Yea... But now I think need some advise for my TV cabinet... Bought one from ikea it didn't provide screw for hanging cabinet mount on wall... I simply use some small stainless steel screw... I wonder will it drop anytime or not.. Any specific screw or what screw should I use to hang a TV cabinet
Should be fine if you use those cheese head screws about 38mm or 50mm long. Not the flat head one.
25mm ones only for wall clock

This post has been edited by ceo684: Feb 6 2022, 11:52 PM
TSeddie2020
post Feb 8 2022, 06:25 PM

Trusted
3,127 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ Feb 6 2022, 11:51 PM)
Should be fine if you use those cheese head screws about 38mm or 50mm long. Not the flat head one.
25mm ones only for wall clock
Abit scare... Purchased Wall plug wait delivery then change..
reno.for.dummy P
post Feb 20 2022, 07:28 AM

Probation
13 posts

QUOTE(eddie2020 @ Jan 20 2022, 04:00 PM)
Hi Guys,

Need some advise, I wanted to drill some mount for curtain rail, TV cabinet etc.
So I invested a cordless Bosch drill with hammer function.

On my 3rd room I drill for 1 hole used over 1hr - 2hr. It's ccrazy, then I curi Ayam by not drilling too deep for other hole (need 3 bracket, 1 full depth, another 2 I cut off nail and the plug to half).

Each time I drill, its smooth for 1.5cm around 0.6inch then it become damn hard , I think it's concrete, and 1.5cm it's cement?
I am using mansory drill bits and I try switching a few with my uncle itss still give similar result.
I also borrowed my uncle corded hammer drill, black decker hit 1.5cm then become very hard to drill like not moving..

Aircond installer come they also complaining my wall is very hard to drill which they use a lot force, they said normally few min 1 hole they did, my hse like near half n hr for 1 hole.

Need some advise as below.
1. If I just drill 1.5cm and cut plug with screw, will it dangerous? cause I not sure how much weight it can take.
2. If I shall drill full 3cm (normal screw n plug length) any tips to proceed the hard rendered concrete I assume? not sure is my drill bit problem or drill or skill.. haha

Edit =high rise condo
You will need to use a hammer drill. Please ensure you have opted for hammer drill function instead of just drilling by turning the knob to the right option. When it comes to reinforced concrete (RC) floor slab on highrise, it is casted using metal formwork, hence one will have a smooth surface on the soffit. Hence, a skim coat of between 3mm to 5mm will be applied on the slab surfaces as finishing.

Your drill bit managed to go through the hard concrete thanks to the hammering action. At 1.5cm, you may have hit steel bar. A common drill bit is only designed to drill into concrete substrate unless you opted for tungsten head drill bit, that can drill into steel.

The danger of hitting a steel bar using a common drill bit is when your drilling machine get stuck and the rotating machine may break your wrist. Ceiling drilling may also exposed you to the risk of drilling into electrical conduit. You will know it when you hit it.

For curtain installation, you will need to drill in at least a minimum of 2.5mm (assuming there is no curtain pelmet with wood base) using an M6 (6mm diameter drill bit). The depth is required as curtain can be heavy and also to resist tugging by children when they are playing around this area.
genesiscopy
post Feb 23 2022, 06:00 PM

37 posts

Hi everyone,

Looking for a good cordless (and brushless) SDS plus rotary hammer for curtain installation on a landed house. Maybe for installing wall fans and mounting brackets.

I'm basically torn between Bosch 18V, Milwaukee 18V Fuel, Makita 18V or DeWalt 20V. Any thoughts?

This post has been edited by genesiscopy: Feb 23 2022, 06:00 PM
stormer.lyn
post Feb 23 2022, 10:05 PM

1,132 posts

QUOTE(genesiscopy @ Feb 23 2022, 06:00 PM)
Hi everyone,

Looking for a good cordless (and brushless) SDS plus rotary hammer for curtain installation on a landed house. Maybe for installing wall fans and mounting brackets.

I'm basically torn between Bosch 18V, Milwaukee 18V Fuel, Makita 18V or DeWalt 20V. Any thoughts?
I use this Milwaukee M12 CH Rotary Hammer. In a word, it has been brilliant. Light weight is a boon when working overhead, drills 12 mm into concrete without issue, battery lasts incredibly long. Downside is it is not cheap and is only a 2-mode unit. It is my go-to roto hammer now during installation. For all other concrete work I have my corded Bosch 2-22 and 2-26.

I always believe that you should use the smallest and lightest tool that you can finish the job with, as this means that you are less fatigued from using the tool. Of course if you already are on a certain battery platform, you should try to stick with that. This was my very first Milwaukee M12 tool. Seriously thinking of migrating my Bosch 12V Max to Milwaukee M12.

It is currently in a 4 tool kit for RM 1,698. I'll go halfsies with you, if you take the roto hammer and the batteries, and I take the other 3 tools tongue.gif

0.0183sec    1.04    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 06:45 PM