[wta] Buying used Ford Focus Titanium 2014

TSSpootid
post Jan 16 2022, 10:56 PM, updated 4y ago

405 posts

Hi guys.. Would like to know what are your thoughts on the 2014 ford focus titanium.. looking to buy one used and found 1 for less than 30k with around 70k mileage. Is it a good family car..? What about fuel consumption…? Any problems with the car like gear box, fuel pump, brakes, etc...?
Boy96
post Jan 17 2022, 12:01 AM

That's a tripod.
3,848 posts

Get ready for the transmission control module issue. 10 years warranty for it, but no spare parts available..
TSSpootid
post Jan 17 2022, 12:44 AM

405 posts

QUOTE(Boy96 @ Jan 17 2022, 12:01 AM)
Get ready for the transmission control module issue. 10 years warranty for it, but no spare parts available..
I see.. so it is not recommended to buy is it...? Is it an isolated issue..? Or most Focus affected with this prob...?
Boy96
post Jan 17 2022, 01:07 AM

That's a tripod.
3,848 posts

QUOTE(Spootid @ Jan 17 2022, 12:44 AM)
I see.. so it is not recommended to buy is it...? Is it an isolated issue..? Or most Focus affected with this prob...?
Almost all will happen, just a matter of time only
cempedaklife
post Jan 17 2022, 08:35 AM

Master Decoy
4,357 posts

Wait what? No spare part how they handle warranty?
Chrix
post Jan 17 2022, 08:53 AM

1,187 posts

QUOTE(Spootid @ Jan 16 2022, 10:56 PM)
found 1 for less than 30k
no offence, but if your reasoning to purchase is mainly due to lower price, you need to rethink your priorities.
pcdoctor_my
post Jan 17 2022, 09:23 AM

Shift Xtreme
808 posts

QUOTE(Spootid @ Jan 16 2022, 10:56 PM)
Is it a good family car..? What about fuel consumption…? Any problems with the car like gear box, fuel pump, brakes, etc...?
This. The moment you start talking about FC, you're not ready for 2.0L fuel consumption. doh.gif What more a turbocharged engine.
You're better off in an Axia. rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

You cant get both Eco and Boost together.

Suggest you go around asking this forum:
Ford Focus MK3 Malaysia
Ford Owners Club Malaysia

Rather than hearing BS and tokok stories here.

ayamxxx
post Jan 17 2022, 09:30 AM

4,057 posts

The car issues more to the dct dry clutch that jerking as much as it can. And kinda no support by sime darby ford org. Better buy another car.
Boy96
post Jan 17 2022, 10:37 AM

That's a tripod.
3,848 posts

QUOTE(cempedaklife @ Jan 17 2022, 08:35 AM)
Wait what? No spare part how they handle warranty?
My car just kena the issue and they told me many other cars that are still in the service center waiting for that particular part for warranty claim since September 2021
Duperaider
post Jan 17 2022, 10:42 AM

257 posts

I drive a ford focus, general problem
1. transmission module
2. ABS module
Most of these problems will pop up at year 4 - 8 depending on the previous users.

I recmd to get a Jepunis car if you want to be cost effective, many mechanics and easy to get spare parts.

However, if you die die want to get conti car, rm 30k is a pretty reasonable price.

Last last, car is just an engine with 4 wheels, they are all the same.
cempedaklife
post Jan 17 2022, 11:17 AM

Master Decoy
4,357 posts

QUOTE(Boy96 @ Jan 17 2022, 10:37 AM)
My car just kena the issue and they told me many other cars that are still in the service center waiting for that particular part for warranty claim since September 2021
i see..so they are "fulfilling" the warranty, just that there is no parts. lol
thanks for the details, was wondering how they get away with it.
Quazacolt
post Jan 17 2022, 11:33 AM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(Duperaider @ Jan 17 2022, 10:42 AM)

Last last, car is just an engine with 4 wheels, they are all the same.
sad.gif
JunJun04035
post Jan 17 2022, 11:52 AM

Sir Kalahari, Duke of Autocorrect
1,167 posts

I drive a fiesta too
No a single problem for me so far.
OrangeGrove
post Jan 17 2022, 11:58 AM

643 posts

QUOTE(JunJun04035 @ Jan 17 2022, 11:52 AM)
I drive a fiesta too
My VW no problem on Dry clutch DSG also for 9 years but that doesnt mean it wont happen to the others.. I am just lucky but I still tell people not worth the anxiety.

Ford had ditched the DCT in favor of torque converter. Same as VW msia ditch the dry clutch DSG in favor of the wet-clutch, and upcoming Golf TSI is paired with Aisin 8 speed torque converter. That tells a lot why they ditch those gearbox which they previously were "very proud of".

This post has been edited by OrangeGrove: Jan 17 2022, 12:01 PM
Boy96
post Jan 17 2022, 12:08 PM

That's a tripod.
3,848 posts

QUOTE(OrangeGrove @ Jan 17 2022, 11:58 AM)
My VW no problem on Dry clutch DSG also for 9 years but that doesnt mean it wont happen to the others.. I am just lucky but I still tell people not worth the anxiety.

Ford had ditched the DCT in favor of torque converter. Same as VW msia ditch the dry clutch DSG in favor of the wet-clutch, and upcoming Golf TSI is paired with Aisin 8 speed torque converter. That tells a lot why they ditch those gearbox which they previously were "very proud of".
Ford has returned to DCT from torque converter for their new models in Europe. But the DCT is now a 7 speed wet clutch instead of dry clutch.

P/S the guy you quoted drives a manual Fiesta, ofcourse he wont kena the same issue brows.gif
ayamxxx
post Jan 17 2022, 12:11 PM

4,057 posts

QUOTE(Boy96 @ Jan 17 2022, 12:08 PM)
Ford has returned to DCT from torque converter for their new models in Europe. But the DCT is now a 7 speed wet clutch instead of dry clutch.

P/S the guy you quoted drives a manual Fiesta, ofcourse he wont kena the same issue brows.gif
What his intention then? From above all mentioned the dct issue.
lsm1991
post Jan 17 2022, 12:11 PM

309 posts

QUOTE(JunJun04035 @ Jan 17 2022, 11:52 AM)
I drive a fiesta too
in your case, something has to happen to the driver for any of the above to happen tongue.gif
OrangeGrove
post Jan 17 2022, 01:21 PM

643 posts

QUOTE(Boy96 @ Jan 17 2022, 12:08 PM)

No wonder lah..
littlefire
post Jan 17 2022, 01:23 PM

2,731 posts

I got heard good feedback only for the diesel version.
If got the diesel variant, i would pick that compare to petrol version.

0.0164sec    0.16    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 10:51 PM