Face Recognition Digital Lock ?, Is that too much ?
TSSotsotzaii
Jan 2 2022, 06:20 PM, updated 4y ago
Hello, I'm considering getting a smart digital lock, initially I have my eyes set on this digital lock which have several features to unlock including fingerprint.
Then I came across another from the same brand, which have Face Recognition, is that necessary or just a cool gimmick to have ? Since I thought fingerprint would be more than enough for any situation.
Snoy
Jan 3 2022, 01:05 PM
It depends on your own preference.
It is good when fingerprint scanner fails to recognise wet hand and you still want full contactless door open.
For me, battery life is more important. Hence, less frequent used features like bluetooth unlock, WiFi, face recognition and etc will not be considered.
This post has been edited by Snoy: Jan 3 2022, 01:05 PM
SUSceo684
Jan 3 2022, 02:07 PM
Our office used this. Not that good security because photo also can open
TSSotsotzaii
Jan 3 2022, 02:15 PM
QUOTE(ceo684 @ Jan 3 2022, 02:07 PM) Our office used this. Not that good security because photo also can open Alamak, is this the same for any brand with face recognition ?
Snoy
Jan 3 2022, 02:28 PM
QUOTE(Sotsotzaii @ Jan 3 2022, 02:15 PM) Alamak, is this the same for any brand with face recognition ? Philips/Kaadas has a "3D face recognition" model which will work.
TSSotsotzaii
Jan 3 2022, 02:42 PM
QUOTE(Snoy @ Jan 3 2022, 02:28 PM) Philips/Kaadas has a "3D face recognition" model which will work. Actually Kaadas K20 is the one I'm thinking of buying. Initially decide to go with Kaadas K9, but their latest K20 have 3D face recognition, but just not sure if it's worth that extra money for this feature.
Snoy
Jan 4 2022, 09:28 PM
QUOTE(Sotsotzaii @ Jan 3 2022, 02:42 PM) Actually Kaadas K20 is the one I'm thinking of buying. Initially decide to go with Kaadas K9, but their latest K20 have 3D face recognition, but just not sure if it's worth that extra money for this feature. It still depends on you to judge whether face recognition is useful. For kids and some adults, their fingerprints are hardly recognised by the scanner and yet do not want the hassle of entering PIN, hence face recognition is useful. Facial recognition comes with drawback of consuming more battery. That’s why K20 comes with Lithium battery instead of the typical AA battery in other locks. If the lithium is dead few years later, it may be difficult to find for replacement or can be expensive. If Kaadas is your choice, then you may also look at Philips which is basically rebranded from Kaadas. Philips is cheaper as the price normally includes installation.
TSSotsotzaii
Jan 6 2022, 11:01 AM
QUOTE(Snoy @ Jan 4 2022, 09:28 PM) It still depends on you to judge whether face recognition is useful. For kids and some adults, their fingerprints are hardly recognised by the scanner and yet do not want the hassle of entering PIN, hence face recognition is useful. Facial recognition comes with drawback of consuming more battery. That’s why K20 comes with Lithium battery instead of the typical AA battery in other locks. If the lithium is dead few years later, it may be difficult to find for replacement or can be expensive. If Kaadas is your choice, then you may also look at Philips which is basically rebranded from Kaadas. Philips is cheaper as the price normally includes installation. I see, ok I'll still go to this shop that sells all digital lock including Kaadas and Philips, to find out what are the pros and cons, if Kaadas 20 once lithium is dead and would be expensive to replace, I'd rather stick with K9, because it's more than enough as initially I always wanted fingerprint unlock anyway, plus can just replace the batteries every 6 months.
adamw
Jan 6 2022, 12:32 PM
QUOTE(Sotsotzaii @ Jan 6 2022, 11:01 AM) I see, ok I'll still go to this shop that sells all digital lock including Kaadas and Philips, to find out what are the pros and cons, if Kaadas 20 once lithium is dead and would be expensive to replace, I'd rather stick with K9, because it's more than enough as initially I always wanted fingerprint unlock anyway, plus can just replace the batteries every 6 months. How much does the shop sell the Kaadas K20 without installation?
TSSotsotzaii
Jan 6 2022, 12:47 PM
QUOTE(adamw @ Jan 6 2022, 12:32 PM) How much does the shop sell the Kaadas K20 without installation? Not sure, havent been to the shop only thru whatsapp. According to the boss, Kaadas K20 2.8k including installation, Kaadas K9 2.3 including installation.
adamw
Jan 6 2022, 01:30 PM
QUOTE(Sotsotzaii @ Jan 6 2022, 12:47 PM) Not sure, havent been to the shop only thru whatsapp. According to the boss, Kaadas K20 2.8k including installation, Kaadas K9 2.3 including installation. Seems the price is reasonable, my friend bought from TB for his new house and landed price also around 1.5k without installation. Not installed yet.
TSSotsotzaii
Jan 6 2022, 01:55 PM
QUOTE(adamw @ Jan 6 2022, 01:30 PM) Seems the price is reasonable, my friend bought from TB for his new house and landed price also around 1.5k without installation. Not installed yet. Really ? Then I guess I will set my eyes on this shop coz it seems reasonable. Ur friend bought which model and brand ?
adamw
Jan 6 2022, 02:05 PM
QUOTE(Sotsotzaii @ Jan 6 2022, 01:55 PM) Really ? Then I guess I will set my eyes on this shop coz it seems reasonable. Ur friend bought which model and brand ? K20 MAX 3D Attached thumbnail(s)
TSSotsotzaii
Jan 6 2022, 02:09 PM
QUOTE(adamw @ Jan 6 2022, 02:05 PM) K20 for 1.5k ? That's dirt cheap. Mine is 2.8k including installation if i buy it, but can't be the installation itself costs 1.3k ?
adamw
Jan 6 2022, 02:29 PM
QUOTE(Sotsotzaii @ Jan 6 2022, 02:09 PM) K20 for 1.5k ? That's dirt cheap. Mine is 2.8k including installation if i buy it, but can't be the installation itself costs 1.3k ? If you buy from China you have to take into consideration the warranty. So with shop 1 year warranty it is kind of a fair price. Installation should be around 250-350 depending on your door type.