Unlimited 5G plan

MyProLife
post May 26 2022, 06:30 PM

I bully wumao & MPKL
2,059 posts

YTL Communications introduces Yes Infinite which promises to set a new standard for unlimited plan. It offers Infinite 5G and 4G data, Infinite calls with NO FUP. The plans start from RM58/month with 10GB hotspot and it goes all the way up to RM178/month with 100GB of hotspot quota. They are also offering free 5G smartphones on a 36-month contract. According to YTL, this is the world's cheapest and fastest unlimited 5G + 4G plan.

No FUP besides of hotspot quota? So serious meh

Claim to have 80% nationwide 5g coverage by 2024. Sounds more like DNB/1MDB 5G agent sembang kari
MyProLife
post May 28 2022, 05:38 PM

I bully wumao & MPKL
2,059 posts

QUOTE(MNF0 @ May 28 2022, 02:13 PM)
Think before you laugh. The main reason for the big 4 wanting the controlling stake (51%) between them is to effectively lock out other small players or would-be players. So they could then proceed with their thinly veiled price-fixing scheme. With DNB (if it actually took off), the entry barrier will be significantly lowered for small/new players. Before DNB, for a telco to have a decent coverage is to invest many many billions on the infrastructure. And becoming an MVNO (like what we have now) is not an option as one is still subjected to the infra partner (a full-fledged telco) thus would significantly lessen the chance for a small/new players to be a full-fledged telco. This is no doubt designed to further solidify the position of the big 4 at the expense of the end user like us. Thus my support for the government decision not to allow the big four demand for 51% controlling shares.
QUOTE(kwokwah @ May 28 2022, 02:52 PM)
Valuation of the big 4 telcos will definitely drop.
so government decided that 4 major telco (or soon to be just 3 if celcom-digi merger comes through ) is not enough for them because only one is directly crony company, and government wants more cronies to join telco market properly (isn't already have one like ALTEL/puncak semangat)?

they can say more competitions but actually is more cronies in the market and will slowly push out non-cronies like maxis or umobile if the plan go through
MyProLife
post May 28 2022, 10:54 PM

I bully wumao & MPKL
2,059 posts

QUOTE(mlamlam @ May 28 2022, 10:39 PM)
Dont want to do big investment but want to have share back?

tell you guys one thing, many years ago CMHK (China Mobile Hong Kong) was a MVNO and it does not have 3G spectrum at all, it is a big company in China but not in Hong Kong.
CMHK was riding on someone else 3G network but its quality cannot be controlled, poor coverage / very slow speed on 3G network.

After a few years, HK gov had auctions for spectrum re-allocation and CMHK invested a lot on the 3G / 4G spectrum, also invest a lot on cell sites as well.
Now CMHK has its own network, not a MVNO anymore and offering affordable plan to people, especially CMHK mother company has advantage in China and it offers affordable China / Macau roaming plan as well... (like 1C2N service, call receiving is free in China / Macau, affordable price of 5G data roaming in China / Worldwide, etc..)

for such behavior DNB do all 5G cell site coverage, not only taking about technical side it would be difficult to handover as well, it would be a "single point of failure" as well. also discourage investment or innovation on 5G technology (for example, VoNR, 5G CA... etc...) because less of competition.

the 10 years contract with DNB is also less flexibility to carrier, 10 years later we may be talking 6G already and 5G may become very basic or cheap technology probably in other country, while our carriers are still bounding to that contract and paying expensive rental to DNB....

and I found a big issue today, Yes 4G is not able to distinguish the traffic is from 4G or 5G, when I do the speedtest from my phone using 5G network, LTE data consume first and I received sms that LTE prepaid data is finished while the plan I have also contains unlimited 5G data.

it seems that not only about how to allocate (or sell? ) the DNB share to different carriers , on technical aspect it was unable to handle smooth handover from 5G to 4G, not able to distinguish 4G/5G data and deduct wrong data from my plan (fortunately it is free 5G trial and all data are redeemed from Shopee).

My personal recommendation is until all of those issues are fixed, otherwise it is not worth to pay extra $$ to have 5G plan now.

your concerns also shared with these large telcos. they worry about quality of service QOS should they go with DNB/1MDB 5g. they worry about customer complains about exactly what you having. That's why telcos cannot agree with DNB/1MDB 5g about the pricing and such until today.

telcos wanted to build their alternative infra to DNB/1MDB 5g but were turned down by gov. what else they can do anyway? DNB/1MDB 5g from start is a mistake as its only real objective is just to enrich the cronies. besides that also make the 5g investment of major telcos within these 3 years become null and void
MyProLife
post Jun 14 2022, 07:12 PM

I bully wumao & MPKL
2,059 posts

QUOTE(mlamlam @ Jun 14 2022, 07:08 PM)
Interesting, Edotco Malaysia SB, it seems it is under Axiata Group Berhad

so DNB ask Celcom to build tower but Celcom is not joining DNB yet...?
edotco and celcom is two different business entities despite both under axiata group
MyProLife
post Aug 16 2022, 11:45 PM

I bully wumao & MPKL
2,059 posts

QUOTE(OlgaC4 @ Aug 16 2022, 09:42 AM)
Parking
So you asking whether china models like xiaomi 12s ultra can use dnb/yes 5g or not?

If china models many don't have band 28 LTE support for NSA anchor, and also not certified by mcmc if xiaomi didn't plan to sell outside china. I doubt it will not support dnb/yes 5g in this case
MyProLife
post Sep 19 2022, 09:37 PM

I bully wumao & MPKL
2,059 posts

QUOTE(petpenyubobo @ Sep 17 2022, 11:33 PM)
Ericsson sucks many incompatibility issues with China phone models. If you own Huawei, Oppo, Realme, Xiaomi, Redmi, Vivo and many other China brands you're going to get lots of non supported phones with their 5G network.
Actually not ericsson fault but the way dnb implemented the nsa network

Many Chinese phones do not have band 28 lte support, but this band is currently REQUIRED to connect dnb 5g nsa
MyProLife
post Oct 23 2022, 11:51 PM

I bully wumao & MPKL
2,059 posts

QUOTE(Gold_Moderator @ Oct 23 2022, 11:37 PM)
Huawei is the best 5G phone. They get strongest and stable 5G. From my previous experience on p40 pro.
I have 4 5G poco phones, one no 5G , cheap one weak 5G. Poco F3 and poco F4 gt work charm.
No wonder us sanctions them to stop them make 5g phones
All phone from p50, mate50 onwards only 4g lte
MyProLife
post Oct 24 2022, 09:16 PM

I bully wumao & MPKL
2,059 posts

QUOTE(Sotongg @ Oct 24 2022, 10:13 AM)
Is Mi 12/12T Pro a viable choice on using 5G?
Any xiaomi phone post 2021 (excluding some redmi/poco) is good for 5g except for import/china models or 4g only model

This post has been edited by MyProLife: Oct 24 2022, 09:18 PM
MyProLife
post Oct 26 2022, 12:10 AM

I bully wumao & MPKL
2,059 posts

QUOTE(Sotongg @ Oct 25 2022, 12:14 PM)
I'm already at the latest firmware now, no 5G whatsoever sad.gif
not even netmonster show 5G NSA disconnected, just 4G

Will wait for samsung to push updates onto S20 Ultra, and I still can't get over the fact that S20 FE have the same chipset as S20 Ultra and samsung wouldn't push modem update for S20 Ultra  vmad.gif
Probably because s20 ultra was approved back when 5g wasn't a thing yet in MCMC eyes, only approved as 4g lte device (even 5g is only 3500/3700 and missing 700mhz for anchor band)

If samsung want to provide firmware update that adds 5g support, probably need recertification under mcmc for 5g usage. This may take time or may not ever happens

S20 Ultra missing 700mhz band

S21 ultra supports both 700mhz and 3500/3700 band

This post has been edited by MyProLife: Oct 26 2022, 12:56 AM
MyProLife
post Nov 2 2022, 04:47 AM

I bully wumao & MPKL
2,059 posts

QUOTE(jiaen0509 @ Nov 1 2022, 10:12 PM)
Since some Telco have 5G now. Wonder when my iPhone support 5G as well? Any insider news on it?
Wait several months more and see

Now no support. Blame apple for that
MyProLife
post Nov 7 2022, 10:58 PM

I bully wumao & MPKL
2,059 posts

QUOTE(petpenyubobo @ Nov 7 2022, 10:23 PM)
Totally no network at all with ZERO bars. If APN or settings incorrect the most you get is unable to access internet or go online. This one the network totally unavailable. No bars including a X on the signal icon.

I placed a active SIM without any unlimited subscription plan with just topped up value into the China branded imported phones. After not being able to detect any network I swap the same SIM back into a local warranty phone. Straight the network went back online with full bars.
maybe because of below conditions

your area is weak of band 38/40 coverage (2300/2600) and imported phones only support those two bands but not band 20 (800mhz)

most recent global phones now come with many lower bands support including band 20, band 28 while many chinese phones lack

you can check your band coverage using app such as network cell info/network signal guru/netmonster

btw are you candy12 by a chance?

This post has been edited by MyProLife: Nov 7 2022, 11:04 PM
MyProLife
post Dec 9 2022, 06:33 PM

I bully wumao & MPKL
2,059 posts

QUOTE(Sotongg @ Dec 9 2022, 12:18 PM)
Great news for S20U users, it's listed on DNB's website now.\

good news indeed. must update to one ui 5 first because only then 5g is unlocked for DNB 5g usage
MyProLife
post Apr 4 2023, 07:06 AM

I bully wumao & MPKL
2,059 posts

QUOTE(Gold_Moderator @ Apr 3 2023, 11:01 PM)
6mbps and 5g? seriously dickgi? (same like umobile misleading marketing bs)
MyProLife
post May 17 2023, 01:15 PM

I bully wumao & MPKL
2,059 posts

for some china import phones these missing b28 support, will transition to dwn can change that telcos can rollout SA network or DSS to support such china import phones to use N78 or others like N7 (if DWN eventually happens)?
MyProLife
post May 21 2023, 06:13 PM

I bully wumao & MPKL
2,059 posts

QUOTE(JLA @ May 21 2023, 11:26 AM)
some new smartphone support band 28A 28B and missing band 28

eg phone  1
4G:B1|2|3|4|5|7|8|20|28A|28B|38|40|41(120M)

eg phone 2
FDD-LTE: Bands 1/3/5/8/20/28
TD-LTE: Bands 38/40/41(2496-2690MHz)
28A (703–733 MHz Uplink and 758–788 MHz Downlink) and 28B (718–748 MHz Uplink and 773–803 MHz Downlink) are just split from band 28

nonetheless just support either of the split should be fine if just for NSA anchor band. but if transition to SA then different story

in China PRC some phones only have N28A lower split 5g support because China Broadnet (4th commercial cellular operator) use only lower part of band 28 for 5G NR standalone network

This post has been edited by MyProLife: May 21 2023, 06:35 PM
MyProLife
post Aug 7 2023, 05:51 PM

I bully wumao & MPKL
2,059 posts

Above package obviously based on digi postpaid 90 but with price slashed by rm30 and force bundle with device for 2 years contract (rm240 upfront, rm120 rebate for eligible b40)

We can see celcom digi offer this exact plan later this month. While yes, umobile, unifi may have slightly different bundle
MyProLife
post Dec 2 2023, 01:19 PM

I bully wumao & MPKL
2,059 posts

QUOTE(mlamlam @ Dec 2 2023, 09:56 AM)
How come TRX mall no 5G.... and some more YTL whole mall no signal
The reason why I will never port my main line into ytl

Ytl can use as backup line only

0.0879sec    0.37    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 04:58 PM