Finding pro-sumer camera, Helping my sister to do this research...
Sep 19 2007, 07:35 PM
214 posts Joined: Jan 2007 |
it's an addition, you don't have to do this if you don't like
Sep 19 2007, 07:57 PM
2,711 posts Joined: Sep 2005 |
QUOTE(wlcling @ Sep 19 2007, 07:06 PM) I cannot imagine how frustrated i would be if my DSLR was mainly touch screen. to add on, can't imagine that everytime i put my eye to the viewfinder, a setting somehow gets changed by my nose... Haha!--> Tap, tap, tap, tap, tap, tap, tap, tap, tap, tap, tap = Change aperture PnS and DSLRs are for different uses, so although PnS does not suck, but some of those items you mentioned cannot be generalized as "advantages". |
Sep 19 2007, 09:55 PM
this is addition when using together with live view, man
Sep 20 2007, 01:31 AM
930 posts Joined: Jan 2005 |
lolz.... DSLR is for pros..... who r really really pro.... haha ^^ For me p&s is enuff for my demand. ^^
Sep 20 2007, 01:34 AM
Forum Admin
44,415 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Sep 20 2007, 01:40 AM
Avantages of DSLR over PnS
- A way better ISO control due to bigger sensor - Also ability to blur out background much more than PnS - Higher quality lenses, higher image quality - Longer battery life - A lot more functions - bigger and solid body make more steady shot - More room to play act etc. Persons who buy PnS because can not afford the price of DSLR or want a compact cam |
Sep 20 2007, 12:20 PM
6,633 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: www.kelvinchiew.com |
eh i am not pro also use dslr............i wanted dslr cause they have f1.4 lenses...........needed dslr only to solve one thing........ low light......
1. hate to use flash (hence the high iso) 2. want clean clear shots indoor (hence the wide aperture) so there u go.....and although i have dslr for some time already, i am still not a pro, just using it to get the pics i want thats all.. edit: dun la say cannot afford, probably the size is not their preference..............but i have this thing la............to dslr owners, ever have occasions that u wish ur camera is much smaller? i.e how can u bring a dslr into pubs or wat?? This post has been edited by porkchop: Sep 20 2007, 12:21 PM |
Sep 20 2007, 12:33 PM
18,672 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Penang |
QUOTE(CompMac @ Sep 18 2007, 04:34 PM) Please look at the topic of the thread. TS already mentioned wanna look for a good pro-sumer, so please don't recommend dSLR. It is clear that TS' sister doesn't know how to handle a dSLR. ^#&*@$*&....I try to be nice to you but you just want to flame me. Why you want to do this? TS did comtemplate on getting dSLR. If you don't like my comment, then just don't reply to me and I'll keep quiet.QUOTE(goldfries @ Sep 18 2007, 06:15 PM) after having a DSLR - sometimes you just wish that you have a prosumer / digital compact. You're right that its ALL IN ONE package. But I heard the optic for dSLR is better not to say some better feature.anyway it's about their purpose. like what I mentioned in my article, prosumer you get ALL IN ONE package. DSLR? good luck la, even used unit comes close to prosumer and that also with the usual 18-55 kit lens. zooming anything beyond 50mm? Ahahha......... good luck, spend around RM 600 more to get the lowest end 70-30mm.macro lens? prepare at least RM 1k more, or maybe you can get reverse-lens adapter to use kit lens backwards. Actually I think since you're lugging such a heavy prosumer (the one that look like dSLR, not Canon G5 type), I just feel that its better to lug dSLR. Combination of Fuji F31fd + dSLR is the best. |
Sep 20 2007, 02:30 PM
Forum Admin
QUOTE(gogo2 @ Sep 20 2007, 12:33 PM) But I heard the optic for dSLR is better not to say some better feature. just that let's say you wanna do many things with RM 2k, prosumer still has the advantage. |
Sep 20 2007, 03:45 PM
18,672 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Penang |
QUOTE(goldfries @ Sep 20 2007, 02:30 PM) just that let's say you wanna do many things with RM 2k, prosumer still has the advantage. But another thing is, there's two type of prosumer lor....first type is look like dSLR wannabe like Panasonic FZ30, Canon S5 IS..... another is those wanna have smaller camera which is Canon G series... Canon G Series is ok lar. Not as bulky is dSLR... with a lot of feature ... can go for Canon G series for girl... |
Sep 20 2007, 04:08 PM
Forum Admin
hehe. I wouldn't say DSLR wanna be la.
![]() my S7000. the Canon G series IINM is called compact prosumer or something like that. I'm eyeing on the G7 too. |
Sep 20 2007, 08:06 PM
Hey, I think my sister will go for G7, coz she saw the price diff between S5 and G7 is rm100 only..... not going for other brand adi.... thx guys ^^
for gogo2, dun be upset lar it's juz discussion ^^ |
Sep 20 2007, 09:39 PM
4,744 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Kuala Lumpur |
QUOTE(Jeffery @ Sep 20 2007, 01:31 AM) lolz.... DSLR is for pros..... who r really really pro.... haha ^^ For me p&s is enuff for my demand. ^^ this is the one thing that alot and a lot and a lot or tons of people tend to assume. this kind of thinking is really wrong.Dude, wait for a while and go get the G9 better. Its due to be out soon. |
Sep 21 2007, 12:38 AM
but the problem is, we need a decent camera soon coz we're going to Hong Kong early of next month... so it's either get it or use the sucky nikon L2....
Sep 21 2007, 12:40 AM
Validating
78 posts Joined: May 2006 |
QUOTE(R a D ! c 4 L @ Sep 20 2007, 09:39 PM) this is the one thing that alot and a lot and a lot or tons of people tend to assume. this kind of thinking is really wrong. It seem to me there are some people here that are commenting here who seems to be defending their own view from a non photographic experience.Dude, wait for a while and go get the G9 better. Its due to be out soon. DSLR is perfect for anyone who taken a deeper interest in photography and have an appreciation for the photos that it can be used. PNS is for people who just wanna try it out and try to learn photography at its basic form without any form of appreciation for wider aperture or bokeh . Nowadays DSLR like the D40 cost around 2k ..the same for a prosumer produces better quality photo due to a larger sensor. lower ISO controls...and some even came with Image stabilize like the olympus E510IS. or Pentax K100D. The only thing that prosumer stands out are their long zooms that are associated with expensive lenses should it be fittetd unto the DSLR. But once you started shooting with DSLR ..you will learn and see that any photos taken with a DSLR is much more superiorr . A d40 nikon will have help to guide you to take better photos. I am an owner of the S3Is ..and i love it as I can learn to use ...and good 432 mm zoom. DSLR owner uses PNS cause it is lighter,. smaller , incorporating similar PASM features and also longer zooms without paying a higher price, Should you want longer zoom in your DSLR kits lens..u can always try using a TC teleconvertor ...to extend a little zoom, |
Sep 21 2007, 12:45 AM
2,210 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
s3is have superb macro mode, ultrasonic af, stereo mic, etc etc
at ur budget, go for s5is. |
Sep 21 2007, 12:48 AM
Forum Admin
Sep 21 2007, 05:32 AM
972 posts Joined: Mar 2007 From: Kuala Lumpur |
Sep 21 2007, 02:44 PM
allow me to say something noobie ^^ I saw there pic taken by S5 and G7 in a website i think is dpreview.com. I found that most of the picture taken by S5 has much more noise than G7 even in good lightning condition. Can u guys get an LCD monitor (cheap one) to view the pic? coz CRT monitor won't able to c those noise clearly.
Sep 21 2007, 05:39 PM
because S5 IS sensor size is 1/2.5 while G7 is 1/1.8
| Change to: | 0.0229sec
5 queries