Advice needed : Altis 1.8, Subaru XV, Proton x70, Mazda CX-5, Civic 2022

lee82gx
post Dec 20 2021, 03:35 PM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

QUOTE(darude87 @ Dec 20 2021, 11:00 AM)
ahh, nice info coming from both cars owner. Civic is really that low eh? I once borrowed friend's passat cc to fetch my parents and they really struggle badly to get on and get off.

The driving feeling on XV indeed is really fun. That's why I had a hard time deciding now laugh.gif
Hi TS,
I'm very much in the same situation as you, I tested the ketam Civic and even at 39 years old with good bones and posture I can feel the difficulty. I am a big fan of Civic since EG in 90's.

To me I won't make decision until I sit in FE and my back and thighs tell me to fork off hahaha, or the new price too high until its out of range. Even then, I may buy it and suffer the depreciation when selling it in 5 years time....

Among the other cars you have, my personal take is that without ADAS, its not worthwhile. Think of the 1 time you can avoid a big crash, and the 10's of times you can avoid the fender benders. How much is that worth?

Can I suggest Corolla cross? It is firmly in my thoughts right now.
lee82gx
post Dec 20 2021, 03:47 PM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

QUOTE(darude87 @ Dec 20 2021, 03:40 PM)
yea currently i'm holding until i get to try on civic FE also. ADAS i think is quite common in newer cars already ,kinda hard to avoid it i guess?

I'm not too fond to cross actually just because of the look, I have a friend who owns 1, and he did gave me good feedback on cross as well. And I was told by my Toyota SA cross queue is quite long also currently.
Yeah, but the XV and CX-5 does not have ADAS and by the time they launch with it, you also won't know how far the price gone up and how long the wait times too...

Indeed Cross looks so early 2000's as well as having a lethargic 1.8 engine, but in my own opinion, can last me easily grow old with me for the next 10 years (the non hybrid).

lee82gx
post Dec 20 2021, 09:26 PM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

QUOTE(darude87 @ Dec 20 2021, 05:23 PM)
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/5225992
fffuuu, the facelift for XV cost 140k and above, its either i get now, or i wait for civic already, year end promo for XV is 127k or 129k i forgot
bro, u sure can get year end promo for *NEW* XV even if you bought it NOW (year end)? By all probability the car will register next year anyway unless ready stock?

I personally hesitate with the mediocre boot space. Its really kind small for my family needs. Not sure how much you will need eventually.
lee82gx
post Dec 21 2021, 11:07 AM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

QUOTE(hungrygodzilla @ Dec 21 2021, 10:35 AM)
Many people will say that ADAS waste money, "i've driven car for X years, no ADAS also no problem, bla bla bla" but they failed to realized that you only really need ADAS you save you and your family that 1 time, just that 1 time probably somebody dont need to die in the accident, and that itself is priceless.

Im so envy of the new 2022 XV, finally got eyesight, and eyesight have a very good reputation for it's ADAS. And do note that not all ADAS is born equal, some brand's ADAS is better than others.
its exactly the same as buying expensive life insurance. In case of ADAS, pay 1 time, protect forever - I think its a great package.

Of course not all ADAS is the same, do you know which one does not work so well? I know that earlier generation Peroduas with vision camera system always highlight that it is not perfect especially when visibility is low. Radar + latest camera should be better no?

Even latest tesla's are moving away from radar and going for camera. And we still don't really have Lidar system yet.
lee82gx
post Dec 21 2021, 07:50 PM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

QUOTE(darude87 @ Dec 21 2021, 06:57 PM)
At the moment its a relatively small family of 3. So i  don't need extremely big boot space

xv 2022 i doubt they will give discount due to its new, they are still doing clearance for xv 2021 with 10k off from rrp
i'm not fond to vw due to their past reputation, if not i would have considered a pre-owned passat too.
I think if just 3 probably will be ok. But small kids and balik kampung in my personal experience is stroller + milk and this and that lol. Only you will know I guess. With my Gen 1 myvi it was a disaster for me at 200l and 1 baby, to the point I gave up travelling with it when I had 2 lol.

Now for the more important issue of lacking ADAS, I will not spend over 100k for a car without it.

I’d personally rather buy a HRV and save the coin. Or an xpander or something…
lee82gx
post Dec 22 2021, 03:50 PM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

QUOTE(littlefire @ Dec 22 2021, 03:07 PM)
I always travel with my Xv some more with 4 adults during holidays to Thailand & around Malaysia, i believe is all about how you manage the stuff and you got roof liner to add on thule or additional cargo carrier. If just 3 person, you can always fold the rear seats down half and extend the space. Not to say bad about HRV, in order to increase inner space the side door plastic panel & door they make it thinner. If you go do some research about side door impact Honda HRV scored the worse now in it's category.  doh.gif

https://www.motorbiscuit.com/2021-honda-hr-...s-crucial-area/

In a few different tests, the Honda HR-V received Good ratings. This is the highest score a vehicle can earn. But in the updated side safety test, it got a poor rating. This is the lowest score possible.

The HR-V’s B-Piller or verticle roof support tore away from the frame, allowing the side of the vehicle to crush inward. It almost hit the center of the driver’s seat. It struggled with structural issues and failed to protect crash dummies from head and pelvic injuries.

BTW this is compared with the current old HR-V.
You also got a point there… but in the general scheme of safety I think if TS wanna give up ADAS then the consideration for active and passive safety features would be a lot different by then. Possibly any modern subaru would be a clear winner in the non ADAS category, the question is, is it worth it to spend north of 120k ? My own answer is clear no, not when a Ativa can do it for 70k and carry 4 adults too. Or a myvi can do the similar job for 60k.

4 adults is never really a difficulty, it’s often the kids that need the most provisions. Adults on the other hand can go outstation for days with just a backpack if necessary.
lee82gx
post Dec 29 2021, 05:00 PM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

QUOTE(darude87 @ Dec 29 2021, 04:09 PM)
so i finally decided to book for a subaru XV 2021 as i think paying 131k is kind of my limit already. now waiting for my car to be delivered
congrats, this is the new one or the old one?
lee82gx
post Dec 29 2021, 10:52 PM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

QUOTE(darude87 @ Dec 29 2021, 05:43 PM)
i went with the old 1, without eyesight
the price for eyesight is out of my budget, and the changes really just that eyesight itself only
Can I know what is the price you paid for in the end? Did you get the year end discount?
lee82gx
post Dec 30 2021, 10:30 AM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

QUOTE(darude87 @ Dec 30 2021, 10:16 AM)
I took GT spec, the final price that i get from them is 131,788. Free 3+2 years of free labours and parts service. Free tinting + coating.
The breakdown of the discount based on what i asked them is 5k tax rebate, 2k subaru rebate, the rest from salesman pocket
Hopefully, 1 of the reason i went for xv is because of the driving feelings i got during test drive. I took the dark blue GT.
Thanks, i already joined a subaru xv malaysia fb group, but its an open group and i saw a lot of ppl posting ads in there sweat.gif
can i ask 1 thing, how much more is the eye sight version according to your sales?

I am wondering, the GT is price tagged at RM137,788 which I think you received 5k SST, 2k Company discount and around 1k Salesman commission.

Does it mean, eye-sight model starting at Rm139,788 can be had for RM133,788 according to your discounts..? Its still in my purchase consideration hahaha.
lee82gx
post Dec 30 2021, 10:59 AM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

QUOTE(darude87 @ Dec 30 2021, 10:48 AM)
sure, will get in touch with you after i collect my car.
Based on what he told me, there's an increase of 8 or 9k rrp, and subaru discount doesn't apply on that case. So i did not pursue further based on that info, cause i also vaguely remember i saw on paultan mentioned the GT version will be starting at 14xk something.
CODE
With extra bits comes extra cost, with the model now retailing RM3,000 higher at RM131,788 on-the-road without insurance, inclusive of the sales and service tax (SST) exemption and a five-year/100,000 km warranty. The base 2.0i has been discontinued, so the 2.0i-P now sits at the bottom of the local XV range, with the pricier RM137,788 GT Edition being the only other variant.
- Paul Tan on 5/4/2021

Zigg wheels

edit - I think they nett nett without all discounts, will be 8 to 9k more as you said above...i'm tempted to call them to ask haha.

This post has been edited by lee82gx: Dec 30 2021, 11:00 AM
lee82gx
post Jan 1 2022, 08:02 AM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

QUOTE(hungrygodzilla @ Dec 30 2021, 08:21 PM)
Did you just recommended a 180-190k car when TS max 130k budget? Maybach S-Class will also do the job just fine.
You made me lol’ed on New Year’s Day!
QUOTE(metalfire @ Dec 30 2021, 09:01 PM)
Used Subaru XV 2015 - RM 48k - RM 55k
Used Subaru Forrester 2016 - RM 68k
Used Camry 2.4 2011 - RM 48k
Used Camry 2.5 Non-Hybrid 2014 - RM 67k - RM 72k

131k mix and match can get 2 cars, even below 100k can get 2 cars, the rest of the money save for maintenance.
XV can do B road but not really off road la. Either way, your maths for 2 used cars is impressively out of the box. If the option for used cars is on the table it is a randomly open variable question with infinite outcomes.

Surely you know eventually both or any used car you quote above will reach end of economically serviceable life much sooner than a new car, what will TS do then?

0.0338sec    0.81    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 06:11 PM