Dinner for 7 Pax, average around RM 38/pax. The drinks actually can be saved if opted for warm water for healthier option but kids requested Ai Yu Bing at RM 5/ bottle.

The fish options available

a) Siakap = RM 65/kg
b) Senangin = RM 65/kg
c) Ikan Merah( Red Snapper) = 65 /kg

Given the above pricing, it would be rationale to go for red snapper because the price at wet market the highest among the 3.
TOMEI-R
post Nov 12 2021, 09:35 AM

Extraordinaire
24,219 posts

Pic of the food looks good but how is the taste? I have long avoid KSelangor seafood restaurants because of their dishes are less tasty and seafood are not so fresh. Prefer to go further to Tj Karang instead and its cheaper too
bug_vengeance
post Nov 12 2021, 09:42 AM

: Juve's Historic Battle :
7,131 posts

QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ Nov 12 2021, 09:35 AM)
Pic of the food looks good but how is the taste? I have long avoid KSelangor seafood restaurants because of their dishes are less tasty and seafood are not so fresh. Prefer to go further to Tj Karang instead and its cheaper too
at tanjung karang got halal one ahh ?
chelseafanz
post Nov 12 2021, 09:44 AM

398 posts

no RM150 per KG Siakap ... no go

This post has been edited by chelseafanz: Nov 12 2021, 09:44 AM
TSnihility
post Nov 12 2021, 10:05 AM

1,595 posts

QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ Nov 12 2021, 09:35 AM)
Tasted good & fresh. It was my 3rd revisit within the last 3 months. The location slightly hidden from the main road, you need to drive further inside. Previously I used to patron the one located next to the wet market but after tried this one, I decided to switch.

The below were some photos of my previous visit during Sep 2021. The location that can make me revisit, the food will not disappoint.

Nyonya Squid

Red Snapper cooked with Lotus Leaves.

Tg Karang near Bagan Pasir? I merayau-rayau until there few times. Got 5 restaurants I manage to notice but haven't got chance to try because they open the business late & the timing I pass the location not nice for lunch or dinner.

Also, it is a bit difficult to eat seafood without sufficient head counts. If only 2 people lepak, the dishes you can order will be limited to the amount of food you can fill the stomach space.

Added 2 more dishes photos tried on last Friday.

Stingray BBQ Style 👍

Fried bitter gourd with pumpkin ( thinly sliced)

This post has been edited by nihility: Nov 27 2021, 07:52 AM
TOMEI-R
post Nov 12 2021, 11:20 AM

Extraordinaire
24,219 posts

QUOTE(bug_vengeance @ Nov 12 2021, 09:42 AM)
at tanjung karang got halal one ahh ?
The usual Chinese seafood restaurants are not halal. So you would have to look for Malay operated restaurants instead.

QUOTE(nihility @ Nov 12 2021, 10:05 AM)
Tasted good & fresh. It was my 3rd revisit within the last 3 months. The location slightly hidden from the main road, you need to drive further inside. Previously I used to patron the one located next to the wet market but after tried this one, I decided to switch.

The below were some photos of my previous visit during Sep 2021. The location that can make me revisit, the food will not disappoint. 

Nyonya Squid

Red Snapper cooked with Lotus Leaves.

Tg Karang near Bagan Pasir? I merayau-rayau until there few times. Got 5 restaurants I manage to notice but haven't got chance to try because they open the business late & the timing I pass the location not nice for lunch or dinner.

Also, it is a bit difficult to eat seafood without sufficient head counts. If only 2 people lepak, the dishes you can order will be limited to the amount of food you can fill the stomach space.
TG Karang Sahabat is quite good with nice pier like views too. They are open for lunch as well.

Ok will try the restaurant you recommended at Pasir Penambang next time. nod.gif

This post has been edited by TOMEI-R: Nov 12 2021, 11:20 AM
TSnihility
post Nov 23 2021, 10:16 PM

1,595 posts

Another visit at Kuala Selangor District , Ijok . Kedai Makanan Laut Jet Mei. Ordered

1) 4 Seafoods Mixed ~ combination of tilapia fish, squids, prawns & lala.

2) Dumpling with Crab meats Tofu Soup

3) Braised pork knuckles

4) Frog meats Kam Heong Fried

5) Stif Fried Romanian Lettuce

6) Chicken popcorns with Thai Sauce

RM 159 for 7pax. Around RM 26.5/ head.

There are few more nice dishes , can try their 3 seafoods mixed cooked with sambal wrapped in aluminium foil, jade pearch in claypot , 1 stick spare rib, tilapia fried with butter.
babyboby
post Nov 26 2021, 01:55 PM

Seems like everybody is raving about delicious seafood, no one talks about monkey and macaque meat in kuala selangor? Hihi just kidding.

Never tasted any seafood there, but pay frequent visit to malawati hill to see monkeys. I love silver leaf monkey or lutong as local called it, they are more friendly and approachable. Unlike long tailed macaques that behaved like pests.

Sorry off topic!
babyboby
post Nov 26 2021, 02:10 PM

Another off topic question, many China restaurants like Chongqing steamboat and mala noodles are everywhere but i don't see many survived well.

Maybe because we Malaysians still prefer local Chinese food. I've heard people said the spicy and sour noodles tastes just like vinegar, mala noodles are nothing but oil.

What do you say? Do you all like China food?
TSnihility
post Nov 26 2021, 05:31 PM

1,595 posts

QUOTE(babyboby @ Nov 26 2021, 02:10 PM)
Another off topic question, many China restaurants like Chongqing steamboat and mala noodles are everywhere but i don't see many survived well.

Maybe because we Malaysians still prefer local Chinese food. I've heard people said the spicy and sour noodles tastes just like vinegar, mala noodles are nothing but oil.

Different culture & different geography location I guess. China is a 4 seasons country & most of the times throughout the year, the ambient is cold. Hence, the foods will be spicy & oily because Chinese need it to warm up the body.

At Malaysia, the weather is already hot throughout the year, once a while to eat the mala noodles as option still ok, if taken as staple, I guess you will need to visit the doctor frequently.
TSnihility
post Nov 27 2021, 08:04 AM

1,595 posts

Added 3 more photos for Makanan Laut Jet Mei

7) Fried tilapia with butter - price according to size . The serving on the photo was sold for RM 30.00 .

8) 3 seafoods mixed ( squid , prawns & lala) with sambal paste . Selling at RM 20.00 for small portion ( generous serving for small)

9) Brinjal cooked with salted fish in claypot . RM 10.00 / pot.

The good thing about this location, they don”t charge service tax.
babyboby
post Nov 28 2021, 02:04 PM

QUOTE(nihility @ Nov 26 2021, 05:31 PM)
Different culture & different geography location I guess. China is a 4 seasons country & most of the times throughout the year, the ambient is cold. Hence, the foods will be spicy & oily because Chinese need it to warm up the body.

At Malaysia, the weather is already hot throughout the year, once a while to eat the mala noodles as option still ok, if taken as staple, I guess you will need to visit the doctor frequently.
Now that you explained it really makes sense. And because of their 4 seasons there are so many varying products to choose from. I particularly love a noodle spiced oil made in China (秦聖油潑辣子) i used to buy from mix.com but now no more. It got really nice spice combination and not even Laoganma chili oil can compare. It doesn't in the slightest bit taste like any Mala sauce because its aroma is so unique. So sad.

babyboby
post Nov 28 2021, 02:10 PM

QUOTE(nihility @ Nov 27 2021, 08:04 AM)
Added 3 more photos for Makanan Laut Jet Mei

7) Fried tilapia with butter - price according to size . The serving on the photo was sold for RM 30.00 .

8) 3 seafoods mixed ( squid , prawns & lala) with sambal paste . Selling at RM 20.00 for small portion ( generous serving for small)

9) Brinjal cooked with salted fish in claypot . RM 10.00 / pot.

The good thing about this location, they don”t charge service tax.
Thanks for the recommendation, can try on future visit. The size of the dishes looks appealing. Even no service charge but still way more cheaper than many other seafood restaurants that have hidden charge. Does this Jet Mei have fried sweet potato leaves with belacan? Thanks.

MrBaba
post Nov 28 2021, 02:10 PM

2,506 posts

QUOTE(babyboby @ Nov 26 2021, 02:10 PM)

Hot pot margin high easy to set up don't need chef , that why u see alot PRC star all open hotpot shop one.
TSnihility
post Nov 28 2021, 03:14 PM

1,595 posts

QUOTE(babyboby @ Nov 28 2021, 02:10 PM)
Thanks for the recommendation, can try on future visit. The size of the dishes looks appealing. Even no service charge but still way more cheaper than many other seafood restaurants that have hidden charge. Does this Jet Mei have fried sweet potato leaves with belacan? Thanks.
They have sweet potato leaves with belacan but did not leave any lasting impression to my memory. Alternatively, you can try out the claypot water spinach ( kangkung) and paku-pakis fried with belacan ( seasonal ).
TSnihility
post Nov 28 2021, 03:38 PM

1,595 posts

This afternoon on the way back from Sekinchan , decided to try out the Restoran Sahabat Makanan Laut at Bagan Pasir, Tg Karang. It was full house during our arrival around 12:30pm , it was no longer hidden location as claimed in my opinion.

The following were the dishes ordered

1) Seafood pot ( mud crab , prawns , clams & porridge ) - RM 125.

2) Sizzling Hot Plate 3 Seafoods Mixed ( Squid, Prawns & Lala) - RM 35.00

3) Fried Squid - RM 15.00

4) Crispy Fried Oyster - RM 18.00

Total cost was RM 206.00 for 5 pax, average around RM41.20/ pax.

Price confimed cheaper than Kuala Selangor in overall & more choices of fish . The only thing appear costly was the big size mud crab selling at RM 100/ kg , still within market range in my opinion ( Kuala Selangor around RM 95/kg). There was no service tax also. Hence still worth it.

This post has been edited by nihility: Nov 28 2021, 08:37 PM
babyboby
post Nov 29 2021, 04:31 PM

QUOTE(nihility @ Nov 28 2021, 03:14 PM)
They have sweet potato leaves with belacan but did not leave any lasting impression to my memory. Alternatively, you can try out the claypot water spinach ( kangkung) and paku-pakis fried with belacan ( seasonal ).
Good, sounds like a plan to me. Thanks!
babyboby
post Dec 1 2021, 09:26 PM

QUOTE(MrBaba @ Nov 28 2021, 02:10 PM)
Hot pot margin high easy to set up don't need chef  , that why u see alot PRC star all open hotpot shop one.
Yeah just like Yang Guo Fu mala tang, money keeps rolling in.

TSnihility
post Feb 15 2022, 08:01 PM

1,595 posts

Sun Star @ Kuala Selangor for the Indian Cuisine. A lot Indian customers came for the Banana Leave set but I ordered something else.

Bombay Chapati - RM 10

Chettinaad Roti - RM 12

TSnihility
post Apr 7 2022, 03:04 PM

1,595 posts

Pasir Penampang Summer Windmills Restaurant ( Non-Halal)

3 seafoods mix ( prawns , clams & squids)

House special pork ribs

Mantis prawn with corn

Claypot sweet potato leaves

Marmite chicken

Costed RM 106.40 for 6 pax . Around RM 18 / pax.

0.0185sec    0.95    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 10:26 AM