Budget around RM30k watch
SUSfuzzy
Nov 9 2021, 09:57 PM
QUOTE(friedricetheman @ Nov 9 2021, 09:34 PM) Nobody gets a Seiko as a wedding watch bro. Might as well get a proper wedding ring if willing to spend only a few hundred ringgit on a watch. 50m is good for swimming if you take the effort to get the water resistance checked yearly at Swatch Group. For the Datejust, you can easily go years without checking the WR due to better seals and how it is constructed (oyster case and twinlock crown). It’s a common misconception on watch forums that 50m is good enough for swimming. Yes, it can take a plunge but only when it’s new. Once the seals age, it will leak. 50m watches have only a single seal on the crown unlike Submariners with their triple seals (triplock) or Datejusts with double seals (twinlock system). [attachmentid=11033322] Source : https://thewatchmaker.com/water-resistance-101/And nobody gets a Rolex period. So no point telling him that lo. It's like telling you to get Dufour Simplicity at retail. Just walk in to the shop and tell the fella one watch please, here's my Black card. And plenty of people gets a Seiko as a wedding watch, not everyone can afford to spend 30k on a watch.
friedricetheman
Nov 9 2021, 10:01 PM
QUOTE(fuzzy @ Nov 9 2021, 09:57 PM) And nobody gets a Rolex period. So no point telling him that lo. It's like telling you to get Dufour Simplicity at retail. Just walk in to the shop and tell the fella one watch please, here's my Black card. And plenty of people gets a Seiko as a wedding watch, not everyone can afford to spend 30k on a watch. He said his budget is 30-40k for a wedding watch. So, I believe a Datejust is around that price, even at the grey market.
SUSfuzzy
Nov 9 2021, 10:26 PM
QUOTE(friedricetheman @ Nov 9 2021, 10:01 PM) He said his budget is 30-40k for a wedding watch. So, I believe a Datejust is around that price, even at the grey market. Yea, only the non fluted one though. Fluted is above already if I am not wrong. But given its a special occasion, I would have preferred a boutique / AD experience to go with it. And if can, a couple's piece even better.
friedricetheman
Nov 9 2021, 10:56 PM
QUOTE(fuzzy @ Nov 9 2021, 10:26 PM) Yea, only the non fluted one though. Fluted is above already if I am not wrong. But given its a special occasion, I would have preferred a boutique / AD experience to go with it. And if can, a couple's piece even better. This is probably the new normal for watches in general. Restricting supply to make the brand more desirable is the only way forward for antiquated tech like mechanical watches. I foresee more and more established brands pulling a Rolex in the near future.
swanlover
Nov 10 2021, 01:48 PM
Some countries 4500v need to wait 4-5 years already, that’s insane.
jackiewong
Nov 10 2021, 04:29 PM
aiya... get a JLC Reverso monoface then engrave it with your wedding date or whatsoever to celebrate your wedding lo... but once engraved, conlan7firm you can't sell it.. no body gonna pick up an engraved watch.. but since you buy it to celebrate your wedding, you won't be expecting to sell right... Rolex, even the entry level OP needs to wait for who knows how long.. unless you want to go greymarket.. but we ppl dont recommend that.. dont buy anything with inflated price with greymarket.. F them up!
This post has been edited by jackiewong: Nov 10 2021, 04:30 PM
rx330
Nov 11 2021, 10:41 AM
QUOTE(jackiewong @ Nov 10 2021, 04:29 PM) aiya... get a JLC Reverso monoface then engrave it with your wedding date or whatsoever to celebrate your wedding lo... but once engraved, conlan7firm you can't sell it.. no body gonna pick up an engraved watch.. but since you buy it to celebrate your wedding, you won't be expecting to sell right... Rolex, even the entry level OP needs to wait for who knows how long.. unless you want to go greymarket.. but we ppl dont recommend that.. dont buy anything with inflated price with greymarket.. F them up! depends wat you engrave, I remember Paul Newman one got engraving
infiniti123
Nov 11 2021, 11:36 AM
 Got mine for retail at 38k after tax refund 2 years ago. Looks like a wedding watch to me!
Chinoz
Nov 11 2021, 04:07 PM
QUOTE(infiniti123 @ Nov 11 2021, 11:36 AM)  Got mine for retail at 38k after tax refund 2 years ago. Looks like a wedding watch to me! Is that a 12-series DJ? I thought they phased out the railroad track markers in the 11-series.
jackiewong
Nov 12 2021, 09:42 AM
QUOTE(rx330 @ Nov 11 2021, 10:41 AM) depends wat you engrave, I remember Paul Newman one got engraving  haha.. if you are a famous public figure then maybe..
anakayam
Nov 12 2021, 09:46 AM

Get IWC portugieser bro..
rx330
Nov 12 2021, 09:52 AM
QUOTE(jackiewong @ Nov 12 2021, 09:42 AM) haha.. if you are a famous public figure then maybe..  maybe TS femes ler hahah, u never know actually 30k a lot of options also from all those recommended, as long as you don't bother about lolek so many nice watches ada
SUSfuzzy
Nov 12 2021, 10:14 AM
QUOTE(rx330 @ Nov 11 2021, 10:41 AM) depends wat you engrave, I remember Paul Newman one got engraving  To be fair, he didn't sold that watch. The daughter or some family member did
swanlover
Nov 12 2021, 10:44 AM
Unless u stroke your AD from time to time. Almost impossible to get any lolek nowadays ..
jackiewong
Nov 12 2021, 10:58 AM
QUOTE(rx330 @ Nov 12 2021, 09:52 AM) maybe TS femes ler hahah, u never know actually 30k a lot of options also from all those recommended, as long as you don't bother about lolek so many nice watches ada ini betul... go to hour glass or swiss watch gallery put down 30k, then they will bawa semua watches within that price and let you choose...
rx330
Nov 12 2021, 11:53 AM
QUOTE(fuzzy @ Nov 12 2021, 10:14 AM) To be fair, he didn't sold that watch. The daughter or some family member did  I dont think he even bought the watch hahaha
jerm
Nov 29 2021, 11:11 PM
TS[LinkZ]
Nov 29 2021, 11:20 PM
QUOTE(jerm @ Nov 30 2021, 12:11 AM) Perghh, rm42k. I like the design though, worth topping up rm10k from 30k to this?
jerm
Nov 29 2021, 11:29 PM
42k with 2-4% discount at Omega. You can get more discount with Watatime, up to 15% sometimes
ghost420
Dec 8 2021, 11:37 AM
My suggestion would be JLC and particularly the Master Control 1000hrs. A brilliant watch that has elements of dressy-ness and casual touches. Believe it is also partially handmade with a highly regarded in-house movement.