post Nov 8 2021, 12:58 PM

*pew pew pew*
7,106 posts

Are you considering new or used piece?
SUSfuzzy
post Nov 8 2021, 05:47 PM

*pew pew pew*
7,106 posts

QUOTE(infiniti123 @ Nov 8 2021, 03:24 PM)
medium cartier santos,
a bronze iwc chronograph with a tropical green dial
an UNOBTAINABLE retail rolex datejust or submariner
Omega speedmaster hasilite/saphire
Omega seamaster jamesbond
a classical JLC reversso
zenith el primero
a tudor chronograph reverse panda

a reasonably stated list for you biggrin.gif
Cartier and Speedy looks the best.

nod.gif

This post has been edited by fuzzy: Nov 8 2021, 07:06 PM
SUSfuzzy
post Nov 9 2021, 08:50 PM

*pew pew pew*
7,106 posts

QUOTE(friedricetheman @ Nov 9 2021, 03:16 PM)
The best starter watch is no doubt the Rolex Datejust. My starter watch was the Datejust too and it was my only watch for almost a decade.

It has everything going for it to be an everyday wear watch. A simple calendar aka date function, 100m water resistance and a tough as nails bracelet + clasp.

The Speedmaster is nice but it’s not practical as a first watch due to the manual winding which you need to wind up every morning or at least every other morning. It also only has 50m water resistance and non screw down crown which makes water sports activities a bit difficult.

Cartier is also only 50m water resistance and if you get it on leather strap, you can’t get it wet. On bracelet, it is more prone to scratches due to the many shiny parts.

Nothing beats a Datejust for toughness and practicality. It’s a great starter watch to learn about good mechanical watch habits before you venture into more delicate movements or fine finishing and even ETA quirks like not being able to quick set the date between 9pm and 3am. Rolex movement is bulletproof and as a beginner in my early twenties, I managed to fuck up my DJ twice and even managed to crack the sapphire crystal from falling off my bike. But every single time, a quick visit to Rolex spa made it as good as new.

Here’s my 20 year old Datejust, purchased new when I was 21 years old. I still wear it in rotation up to this day.

[attachmentid=11033065]
Moot points la. My SKX can covers the same but at a lower cost.

Given he's asking for a wedding piece, I doubt he wants a used or grey. So Rolex is out of the question, not to mention the 41 DJs are above the budget.

Cartier is the best for a dressier piece but I don't think it goes well dressed down. And speedy is the other way around.

Also, the 50m is good enough for swimming and normal snorkeling activities. Definitely no diving, but why are you diving with a wedding watch?
SUSfuzzy
post Nov 9 2021, 09:57 PM

*pew pew pew*
7,106 posts

QUOTE(friedricetheman @ Nov 9 2021, 09:34 PM)
Nobody gets a Seiko as a wedding watch bro. Might as well get a proper wedding ring if willing to spend only a few hundred ringgit on a watch.

50m is good for swimming if you take the effort to get the water resistance checked yearly at Swatch Group. For the Datejust, you can easily go years without checking the WR due to better seals and how it is constructed (oyster case and twinlock crown).

It’s a common misconception on watch forums that 50m is good enough for swimming.

Yes, it can take a plunge but only when it’s new. Once the seals age, it will leak. 50m watches have only a single seal on the crown unlike Submariners with their triple seals (triplock) or Datejusts with double seals (twinlock system).

[attachmentid=11033322]

Source : https://thewatchmaker.com/water-resistance-101/
And nobody gets a Rolex period. So no point telling him that lo.

It's like telling you to get Dufour Simplicity at retail. Just walk in to the shop and tell the fella one watch please, here's my Black card.

And plenty of people gets a Seiko as a wedding watch, not everyone can afford to spend 30k on a watch.
SUSfuzzy
post Nov 9 2021, 10:26 PM

*pew pew pew*
7,106 posts

QUOTE(friedricetheman @ Nov 9 2021, 10:01 PM)
He said his budget is 30-40k for a wedding watch. So, I believe a Datejust is around that price, even at the grey market.
Yea, only the non fluted one though. Fluted is above already if I am not wrong.

But given its a special occasion, I would have preferred a boutique / AD experience to go with it. And if can, a couple's piece even better.
SUSfuzzy
post Nov 12 2021, 10:14 AM

*pew pew pew*
7,106 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Nov 11 2021, 10:41 AM)
depends wat you engrave, I remember Paul Newman one got engraving  tongue.gif  tongue.gif
To be fair, he didn't sold that watch. The daughter or some family member did tongue.gif

0.0168sec    0.68    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 03:46 PM