Automatic transmission auto-downshift, when coasting downhill

TSRigerZ
post Oct 22 2021, 11:05 PM, updated 5y ago

On the way on the way
1,016 posts

While going downhill at approximately 80-90kph, when I release the throttle pedal I noticed my car would automatically downshift from 4th to 3rd. When I step on the throttle again it goes back into 4th. It doesnt happen at lower speeds.

At first I thought it might be an anomaly but a quick search online suggests that this is a feature of modern auto'boxes.

I find this quite interesting and thought I'd share biggrin.gif

*My car is an Axia
zuozi
post Oct 22 2021, 11:10 PM

1,267 posts

QUOTE(RigerZ @ Oct 22 2021, 11:05 PM)
While going downhill at approximately 80-90kph, when I release the throttle pedal I noticed my car would automatically downshift from 4th to 3rd. When I step on the throttle again it goes back into 4th. It doesnt happen at lower speeds.

At first I thought it might be an anomaly but a quick search online suggests that this is a feature of modern auto'boxes.

I find this quite interesting and thought I'd share biggrin.gif
*My car is an Axia
5 year ago I do have waja campro auto, downhill auto downshift from 4th to 3rd end up the fuel consumption really sucks, because from 4th downshift to 3rd RPM from 2k to 3.5k really really bad fuel consumption lucky that vehicle no longer drive

Until today I not even know is that normal or part of the design
Zot
post Oct 22 2021, 11:11 PM

7,938 posts

This is a good practice. For manual car also, going downhill need to use lower gear to slow down car. Continuous on brake will heat up brake fluid causing brake failure. THis is what happened to lorries and buses accident claiming brake failure. I guess the driver has no knowledge. Probably not mentioned in driving school
SUSceo684
post Oct 22 2021, 11:15 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

this feature is what they call HDC (Hill descent control).. similar emulated effect of downshifting for engine brake
Zot
post Oct 22 2021, 11:17 PM

7,938 posts

QUOTE(zuozi @ Oct 22 2021, 11:10 PM)
5 year ago I do have waja campro auto, downhill auto downshift from 4th to 3rd end up the fuel consumption really sucks, because from 4th downshift to 3rd RPM from 2k to 3.5k really really bad fuel consumption lucky that vehicle no longer drive

Until today I not even know is that normal or part of the design
Looks like you also have no knowledge. Auto car is by design and manual drivers probably just using brake.

Heavy vehicle very fast to get brake hot unlike car unless the hill is steep. If you watch F1, they are very cautious if brake too hot. Cannot stop fast. If too cold also not optimum.
Zot
post Oct 22 2021, 11:22 PM

7,938 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ Oct 22 2021, 11:15 PM)
this feature is what they call HDC (Hill descent control).. similar emulated effect of downshifting for engine brake
HDC is not really engine braking, but use ABS braking system. This is to control at constant very slow descent normally on rough terrain
wanfumi
post Oct 22 2021, 11:30 PM

122 posts

Its a safety feature done by ECU ,no worries it is normal in auto gearbox.
zuozi
post Oct 22 2021, 11:33 PM

1,267 posts

QUOTE(Zot @ Oct 22 2021, 11:17 PM)
Looks like you also have no knowledge. Auto car is by design and manual drivers probably just using brake.

Heavy vehicle very fast to get brake hot unlike car unless the hill is steep. If you watch F1, they are very cautious if brake too hot. Cannot stop fast. If too cold also not optimum.
Okay so is part of the design but the waja effects too obviously really bad fuel consumption, then my driving style always normal hard to reach 100km/h and at normal 80km/h road not doing any close distance not much brake apply, sometimes downhill no vehicle ahead of me I try throttle maintain the speed or throttle off auto downshift begin dang , except if I throttle more during downhill but is not safe at all

End up sell it 8 year old only 60k km been drive XD
wanfumi
post Oct 22 2021, 11:39 PM

122 posts

QUOTE(zuozi @ Oct 22 2021, 11:33 PM)
Okay so is part of the design but the waja effects too obviously really bad fuel consumption, then my driving style always normal hard to reach 100km/h and at normal 80km/h road not doing any close distance not much brake apply, sometimes downhill no vehicle ahead of me I try throttle maintain the speed or throttle off auto downshift begin dang , except if I throttle more during downhill but is not safe at all

The ECU algorithm done by Mitsubishi, are you saying mitsubishi did a bad job? When you say bad, can you give the number of how bad was the FC. Anyway you have sold your car.
zuozi
post Oct 22 2021, 11:52 PM

1,267 posts

QUOTE(wanfumi @ Oct 22 2021, 11:39 PM)
The ECU algorithm done by Mitsubishi, are you saying mitsubishi did a bad job? When you say bad, can you give the number of how bad was the FC. Anyway you have sold your car.
The waja last time I drive not Mitsubishi engine, under campro then taxi driver told me Mitsubishi engine version have no related issue that what i heard so in reality I'm not sure since I don't own the waja under Mitsubishi engine, fuel consumption ah erm every month I have to pay extra 150 for waja compare to my old altis , and the old altis have much more smoother experience on road compare to waja

The only complaint for the waja just the fuel consumption and the downshift issue the rest I'm happy with it ,
dares
post Oct 23 2021, 10:32 AM

834 posts

Some autoboxes have it, some don't. Those that don't, you need to manually shift to 3/S/L gear to engage it.

Waja engages it automatically on downhills, Persona 4AT doesn't, Vios doesn't. All Proton CVT does it.

For most part it is a safety feature, like when you go down from genting the road signs tell you to engage low gear - it's the same thing.

QUOTE(zuozi @ Oct 22 2021, 11:33 PM)

Rolling down hill with high RPM doesn't consume more fuel than idling. High RPM caused by engine braking is not the same as high RPM caused by throttle.

You Waja fuel consumption is caused by simply because it is Campro.

I used to own a Mitsu Waja and it does the same thing, downshifting when going downhill.

This post has been edited by dares: Oct 23 2021, 10:32 AM
Zot
post Oct 24 2021, 05:49 PM

7,938 posts

QUOTE(dares @ Oct 23 2021, 10:32 AM)
Some autoboxes have it, some don't. Those that don't, you need to manually shift to 3/S/L gear to engage it.

Waja engages it automatically on downhills, Persona 4AT doesn't, Vios doesn't. All Proton CVT does it.

For most part it is a safety feature, like when you go down from genting the road signs tell you to engage low gear - it's the same thing.
Rolling down hill with high RPM doesn't consume more fuel than idling. High RPM caused by engine braking is not the same as high RPM caused by throttle.

You Waja fuel consumption is caused by simply because it is Campro.

I used to own a Mitsu Waja and it does the same thing, downshifting when going downhill.
This is correct but I wonder how people say higher consumption.

The problem is staying at D causing the car to go downhill too fast but shifting to 3 makes the car go slower than necessary. laugh.gif

So using lower gear then need to press gas pedal causing high rpm maybe the cause but not much power needed by engine still. I usually stay on D and apply brake once in a while though you still need to judge whther 3 or D gear is the best depending on slope.
SUSDezs
post Oct 24 2021, 06:44 PM

623 posts

QUOTE(Zot @ Oct 22 2021, 11:11 PM)
This is a good practice. For manual car also, going downhill need to use lower gear to slow down car. Continuous on brake will heat up brake fluid causing brake failure. THis is what happened to lorries and buses accident claiming brake failure. I guess the driver has no knowledge. Probably not mentioned in driving school
But all the autos I have driven dun auto downshift in idle downhill unless told to (i.e. D2,D3) - unkers own ride is manual sendiri can apply on demand la... The ECU know its going downhill meh? Or measuring speed vs no throttle? Mebbe is new feature kot. Unke rprob diving 20yrs old auto haha

This post has been edited by Dezs: Oct 24 2021, 06:45 PM
ktek
post Oct 24 2021, 09:18 PM

小喇叭
13,210 posts

QUOTE(Zot @ Oct 24 2021, 05:49 PM)
This is correct but I wonder how people say higher consumption.
The problem is staying at D causing the car to go downhill too fast but shifting to 3 makes the car go slower than necessary.  laugh.gif
So using lower gear then need to press gas pedal causing high rpm maybe the cause but not much power needed by engine still. I usually stay on D and apply brake once in a while though you still need to judge whther 3 or D gear is the best depending on slope.
becos increase rolling resistance. during slope bmw eco mode straight changr into neutral kasi free gear je. it is proven low rpm save fuel.

QUOTE(Dezs @ Oct 24 2021, 06:44 PM)
But all the autos I have driven dun auto downshift in idle downhill unless told to (i.e. D2,D3) - unkers own ride is manual sendiri can apply on demand la... The ECU know its going downhill meh? Or measuring speed vs no throttle? Mebbe is new feature kot. Unke rprob diving 20yrs old auto haha
not a new tech. just not being implement widely
Zot
post Oct 25 2021, 08:00 AM

7,938 posts

QUOTE(ktek @ Oct 24 2021, 09:18 PM)
becos increase rolling resistance. during slope bmw eco mode straight changr into neutral kasi free gear je. it is proven low rpm save fuel.
not a new tech. just not being implement widely
Are you sure change to neutral? I don't think so. Even pro drivers said DO NOT cruise down hill in neutral. This is dangerous practice. There is reason to it. wink.gif
Zot
post Oct 25 2021, 08:04 AM

7,938 posts

QUOTE(Dezs @ Oct 24 2021, 06:44 PM)
They said Axia but like you all my auto car do not downshift. laugh.gif My Axia or MyVi also .... maybe I just did not go down Genting or Cameron Highland to test hmm.gif

It is easy for the car to detect. It can sense the engine is dragging the car or being push by the car. smile.gif
littlefire
post Oct 25 2021, 09:14 AM

2,734 posts

First of all, understand what is engine braking.
Once you understand it, see this youtube link from Engineering Explained.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_bZlb62VVlw

There is 1 exception unless your car is older type which use carburetor, then it will consume higher fuel as it is not control by ECU.
But modern rides, usually will cut off the fuel when doing engine braking.

This post has been edited by littlefire: Oct 25 2021, 09:16 AM
ktek
post Oct 25 2021, 09:38 AM

小喇叭
13,210 posts

QUOTE(Zot @ Oct 25 2021, 08:00 AM)
Are you sure change to neutral? I don't think so. Even pro drivers said DO NOT cruise down hill in neutral.  This is dangerous practice. There is reason to it.  wink.gif
speed above 120kph. rpm below 1000. which gear from zf8 is design for that u tell me.
bmw get stars for top safety (dangerous??) and fuel saving (ppl say??). there is reasong to it
ktek
post Oct 25 2021, 09:41 AM

小喇叭
13,210 posts

QUOTE(littlefire @ Oct 25 2021, 09:14 AM)
First of all, understand what is engine braking.
Once you understand it, see this youtube link from Engineering Explained.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_bZlb62VVlw

There is 1 exception unless your car is older type which use carburetor, then it will consume higher fuel as it is not control by ECU.
But modern rides, usually will cut off the fuel when doing engine braking.
inject "less" fuel i believe. cut off i dont think so lah.
u meaning down hill the exzos no smell (no fuel) at all?
littlefire
post Oct 25 2021, 10:00 AM

2,734 posts

QUOTE(ktek @ Oct 25 2021, 10:41 AM)
inject "less" fuel i believe. cut off i dont think so lah.
u meaning down hill the exzos no smell (no fuel) at all?
Per video from Engineering Explained, the engine cuts the fuel injection when the car moves down a hill; at various times, the engine will use no fuel at all to power the engine, since the wheels themselves—connected to a transmission—make the engine spin.

0.0209sec    0.74    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 03:13 PM