Kevin613: World inside the tiny viewfinder, 32 photos from newbie. C&Cs welcomed!

TSkevin613
post Sep 15 2007, 01:49 AM, updated 19y ago

2,236 posts

Titiwangsa

1.Ooppsss...

2.Vagrant

3.Rest in Peace

4.Borders

5.Powerslide

All C&Cs welcomed.. smile.gif

Black and white attempt
shot at home, kitchen

1. Wastage, every drop counts

2. Overflow

Heaven

1. Sent down from heaven

2. End of a day

All C&Cs welcomed.. smile.gif

This post has been edited by kevin613: Sep 16 2007, 01:33 AM
Mavik
post Sep 15 2007, 01:52 AM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

I think the 1st picture, a notch down on the shutter speed to create a faster motion image smile.gif
TSkevin613
post Sep 15 2007, 01:54 AM

2,236 posts

Random Close ups..

1. Flying dragon

2. Droplets

3. Window

4. Flames

5. Hold me tight

6. Skull Squeezer

7. Flying dragon 2

8. Flying dragon 3

Added on September 15, 2007, 1:57 am
QUOTE(Mavik @ Sep 15 2007, 01:52 AM)
I think the 1st picture, a notch down on the shutter speed to create a faster motion image smile.gif
noted.. smile.gif

This post has been edited by kevin613: Sep 15 2007, 01:57 AM
orenzai
post Sep 15 2007, 09:32 AM

3,114 posts

you sure you newbie or not...you shots so nice...
ac98
post Sep 15 2007, 09:35 AM

The Spirit of Photography
3,758 posts

QUOTE(orenzai @ Sep 15 2007, 09:32 AM)
You can't tell newbie from amateur-ah ... so many experimental shots there tongue.gif
coolboy_kl
post Sep 15 2007, 09:37 AM

64 posts

Brother

Wow..I like most of ur pictures, you sure you new to view finder?

btw. where is the location of the Sunset..?

soulfly
post Sep 15 2007, 10:11 AM

revving towards 10,000 rpm
15,903 posts

how do you make the 'heaven light' look more obvious? smaller aperture better?
orenzai
post Sep 15 2007, 10:25 AM

3,114 posts

QUOTE(ac98 @ Sep 15 2007, 09:35 AM)
You can't tell newbie from amateur-ah ... so many experimental shots there tongue.gif
unsure.gif sifu,...tell me more...i dun quite understand biggrin.gif
TSkevin613
post Sep 15 2007, 02:32 PM

2,236 posts

QUOTE(orenzai @ Sep 15 2007, 09:32 AM)
yes i consider myself newbie.. i'm just behind the viewfinder for 8 months..
previously was on LCD, and way before was on film viewfinder..

Added on September 15, 2007, 2:34 pm
QUOTE(coolboy_kl @ Sep 15 2007, 09:37 AM)
Brother

Wow..I like most of ur pictures, you sure you new to view finder?

btw. where is the location of the Sunset..?
sunset is just outside my house here in Setapak, TBR. saw that view when i was riding on bike, so rush home grab camera and snap..
the heaven also same..

Added on September 15, 2007, 2:37 pm
QUOTE(soulfly @ Sep 15 2007, 10:11 AM)
how do you make the 'heaven light' look more obvious? smaller aperture better?
i used polarizer, then do a bit of photoshop touch up...

Added on September 15, 2007, 2:39 pmRandom close up, cont..

9. No prize guessing what this is..

10. My 21st birthday present
shot with Canon PowerShot S60

11. Hopper
Shot with Nikon CoolPix 3700

12. Bee

13. Roses are red

14. Love is in the air

15. Baby hopper

16. Drip

Added on September 15, 2007, 2:46 pm
QUOTE(ac98 @ Sep 15 2007, 09:35 AM)
touche!! newbie must be experimental.. where got so easy 1 shot ngam.. if got also pure luck lah..

This post has been edited by kevin613: Sep 15 2007, 02:46 PM
orenzai
post Sep 15 2007, 05:01 PM

3,114 posts

doh.gif 8 months is edi quite sometime...then me 2-3weeks hold a camera only...counted as what ar? hmm.gif laugh.gif
TSkevin613
post Sep 15 2007, 05:15 PM

2,236 posts

QUOTE(orenzai @ Sep 15 2007, 05:01 PM)
doh.gif 8 months is edi quite sometime...then me 2-3weeks hold a camera only...counted as what ar? hmm.gif  laugh.gif
haha.. the period doesnt represent anything.. i can buy a DSLR, put it at home for 7 months, then 8th month only start shooting marr. haha..
i just feel myself not good enough to move away from being a newbie (or noobie) yet..

anyway, more photos..

My shoes
All shot with Canon PowerShot S60
1.user posted image

2.user posted image

3.user posted image

Cars
1.350Z

2.M5

Portrait
Shot with Casio Exilim M1 1.2MP in year 2003
j3ffm0n
post Sep 15 2007, 05:44 PM

SooYoungie
598 posts

how do you judge a person skill by just looking at their photograph?
sorry for asking such noob question XD i am interested in taking photo too but taking such great shot requires DSLR camera right? can i do the same with my Sony W-5? xD
TSkevin613
post Sep 15 2007, 05:56 PM

2,236 posts

QUOTE(j3ffm0n @ Sep 15 2007, 05:44 PM)
how do you judge a person skill by just looking at their photograph?
sorry for asking such noob question XD i am interested in taking photo too but  taking such great shot requires DSLR camera right? can i do the same with my Sony W-5? xD
the last few photos i posted are not taken with a DSLR..
if u think they're nice, then u can conclude that DSLR is not a must for nice photo, and your DSC-W5 certainly can take nice photos too.. i'm having a DSC-W5 at home also, but that is mainly used for family trip..
Maniac
post Sep 15 2007, 06:24 PM

That Tech Guy Who Use Nikon For Video
5,938 posts

very interesting 'noobs' gallery.

if u wan me to comment , the only thing i would suggest is, sharpen them a lil.

out of all, this is the best to me.
"6. Skull Squeezer"
Good tone, good composition, good timing. contrast is hi, but still ok to me
TSkevin613
post Sep 15 2007, 06:30 PM

2,236 posts

QUOTE(Maniac @ Sep 15 2007, 06:24 PM)
very interesting 'noobs' gallery.

if u wan me to comment , the only thing i would suggest is, sharpen them a lil.

out of all, this is the best to me.
"6. Skull Squeezer"
Good tone, good composition, good timing. contrast is hi, but still ok to me
thanx for the comment, will try to sharpen them a lil more(already applied sharpening, dun wanna overdo them)..

as for the skull squeezer, no timing required, cause that's actually a patung in "Ripley's believe it or not" @ genting..
Maniac
post Sep 15 2007, 07:01 PM

5,938 posts

QUOTE(kevin613 @ Sep 15 2007, 06:30 PM)
thanx for the comment, will try to sharpen them a lil more(already applied sharpening, dun wanna overdo them)..

as for the skull squeezer, no timing required, cause that's actually a patung in "Ripley's believe it or not" @ genting..
ohh i tot u went to dunno middle of nowhere snap that pic biggrin.gif

anyway, here's some of mine version (left) of your photo (right). biggrin.gif hope u don't mind.

user posted imageuser posted image
sharpen

sharpen, contrast

add contrast, removed red cast a lil

This post has been edited by Maniac: Sep 15 2007, 07:17 PM
TSkevin613
post Sep 15 2007, 07:26 PM

2,236 posts

QUOTE(Maniac @ Sep 15 2007, 07:01 PM)
ohh i tot u went to dunno middle of nowhere snap that pic biggrin.gif
anyway, here's some of mine version (left) of your photo (right). biggrin.gif hope u don't mind.

sharpen

sharpen, contrast

add contrast, removed red cast a lil
notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif
no i don't mind.. my pleasure..
did u do that with the unsharp mask?
i did tried sharpening, but whenever i do, i tend to overdo it.. blush.gif
your version just seem nicer..
Maniac
post Sep 15 2007, 08:36 PM

5,938 posts

all done using simple steps with unsharp mask and curve for color cast remove only
TSkevin613
post Sep 16 2007, 12:49 AM

2,236 posts

QUOTE(Maniac @ Sep 15 2007, 08:36 PM)
all done using simple steps with unsharp mask and curve for color cast remove only
noted... will try to experiment with it... smile.gif
j3ffm0n
post Sep 16 2007, 02:08 AM

SooYoungie
598 posts

uh oh, noticed that after taking photos you guys uses program to sharpen its color,contrast etc etc? what are the programs? is it adobe photoshop? srry i am so noob hehehe

btw kevin, i especially liked the photo sent down from heaven & sunset, is it possible to take with dsc w5?

This post has been edited by j3ffm0n: Sep 16 2007, 02:11 AM

0.0220sec    0.50    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 09:57 PM