Possible to turn rainwater into drinking water?, From house gutter

nate_nightroad
post Oct 15 2021, 08:18 PM

Endless numbered days...
3,639 posts

bro, it's not safe for drinking, it's not treated or fluorinated

i have seen creative use of such water in NZ and japan.

In NZ, they use it for flushing water. and in Japan, tokyo by the way, the toilet is small so they have the washing hand sinkie on top of the toilet flusher. so after you flush, the water will start flowing and you can wash your hand and fill up the tank for the next flush

in northern japan, my customer harvest solar energy - and they pump rain water up the roof of their buildings for potential energy storage..when electricity surge in demand, the water will flow down and rotate a generator - pretty cool
nate_nightroad
post Oct 15 2021, 08:35 PM

Endless numbered days...
3,639 posts

QUOTE(moonsatelite @ Oct 15 2021, 08:27 PM)
Why does it need to be fluorinated? Isn't treating it by removing dissolved chemicals and pathogens enough?
for your enamel bro - otherwise you pay more money to dentists than saving money on water
nate_nightroad
post Oct 15 2021, 08:44 PM

Endless numbered days...
3,639 posts

QUOTE(Aftermaths @ Oct 15 2021, 08:37 PM)
Treat water usualy using chlorine & chlorine dioxide for drinking.

I tried google flourine --> highly toxic

Are you sure fluorinated is the right word?
- What is the root word?
- Is it Fluoride which is use in toothpaste?
nate_nightroad
post Oct 15 2021, 08:46 PM

Endless numbered days...
3,639 posts

QUOTE(mystvearn @ Oct 15 2021, 08:44 PM)
Yes. Heard that it is not safe. Is there a way to process it at home to make it safe? I have an outdoor water filter. 6 layer unit. Was thinking of adding items in between. A Coway like unit? Osmosis is safe right?
i mean if i were you, i wont risk it by drinking sky juice - the savings are not much but bears a bigger risk

0.0173sec    0.95    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 09:41 AM