QUOTE(prophetjul @ Oct 13 2025, 02:24 PM)
tq for sharing... have one extra sampling point in terms of resources needed for overseas education and property... FI/RE - Financial Independence / Retire Early
FI/RE - Financial Independence / Retire Early
Oct 13 2025, 03:28 PM
3,682 posts Joined: Apr 2019 |
Oct 14 2025, 12:05 PM
QUOTE(ltpg @ Oct 14 2025, 10:44 AM) lol... no lar... don't have to plan their home purchase also... if can support them all the way till they start work (ok, some good parents will even ensure that the kids are fully funded in first few months of work) is more than enough. home purchase can view as letting them have part of their inheritance early.... |
Oct 24 2025, 12:24 PM
QUOTE(jutamind @ Oct 24 2025, 09:52 AM) A guidance on your life expectancy in Malaysia. Good measure on how long your net worth needs to last once you've FIRED Just a light-hearted note…https://kalkulator.dosm.gov.my/lifeexpectancy/#/ You can’t change your date of birth, and changing your ethnicity or gender is... well, technically possible, but let’s not go there. But hey... if money really can’t last that long, at least you can still choose to smoke and shorten the timeline a bit. |
Oct 26 2025, 08:33 PM
QUOTE(HolyCooler @ Oct 26 2025, 07:43 PM) My wife never encountered what this youtuber encountered. Wife has retired for 3-4 years now since her 30+. I always purposely making joke to her and say "You must be missing your working life so much and eagerly back to work now", her answer is simple "Fxxx NO!". My father retired at 55 and my mom around 47 that time, never ever heard they miss their job or regret of retiring (father is full of hobbies, mom mostly gardening and watching tv/online shows). To be fair to the youtuber, she never really planned on retiring early. It just kind of happened when her firm pushed her out. So being a bit clueless and trying to make sense of it all is totally understandable. And honestly, for someone who didn’t even plan for early retirement, having 3m sgd saved up is pretty impressive.Btw, from a lot of posts about nothing to do after retired, these people seem have 1 similarity, they are sharing one same hobby or only has ONE hobby, that is, TRAVELING, once they have no place to travel to, they have no idea what else to do. Now, if she were a lot closer to 60, that would be a whole different story. HolyCooler and MUM liked this post
Oct 27 2025, 01:50 PM
QUOTE(126126 @ Oct 27 2025, 01:36 PM) Like to travel but no place to travel to? Thats strange… 195 UN countries to visit, not easy to complete everything Many people think they love traveling, but often, that is not really the case.The allure tends to fade with age... or maybe it is just that once you're no longer chained to an 8-to-6 job, the idea of rushing through airports doesn’t feel that magical anymore. some consultants that had to fly a lot can share their experiences. Capt. Marble, HolyCooler, and 1 other liked this post
Oct 27 2025, 06:46 PM
QUOTE(ltpg @ Oct 27 2025, 05:59 PM) stamina drops as you get older. i travel a lot but recently i get tired very fast. would this be what some mean when they say they need a vacation from their vacation just to recover? imagine 10 years a go , 20k steps a day for constant 10 days, Now, 6 days, 5 days with 10-12k steps a day , and almost half dead by day 6. Need to do more relax vacations now. |
Oct 29 2025, 03:48 PM
I wish I had the same experience as you when I retired early more than 4 years ago. I thought maybe after a year or two, I'd get restless enough to want to go back to work. Unfortunately (or maybe fortunately?), that never happened. I'm still very much turned off by the thought of office politics, endless meetings, and other usual nonsense... the joys of solving actual business problems could not override. Of course, there’s always a number that could tempt anyone back. My friends joked that my pupils dilated when they mentioned RM200K a month... that's what people mean by FU retirement money, I guess. (Not that I’m delusional... no one's paying RM200K a month in Malaysia unless we suddenly become the 51st state of the US.) But jokes aside, your point about being mentally and financially ready for retirement is spot on. Better be ready than being forced into retirement, early or official. With AI, automation, and the younger crowd moving up fast, waiting till 60 or 65 to figure it out is just too late. QUOTE(gamenoob @ Oct 29 2025, 02:38 PM) Actually to retire electively instead of being forced out at 60, it's something one need to prepare and plan for...mentally beyond just financially. I took a break with no intention to back to work after I hit 56 as preparation to retire early. Bought my self a weekend open top car and start to mod and enjoy the car bromance community. Dusted off the PS5 and playing the games. 2 months later I started to feel bored out of fix routine, and by 3rd month, I'm back to the grind working at another corporate. Still making same pay but I decided to take it one step at a time as I can walk away at any time and no longer subjected to the shackle of employment salary. 3 months into post retirement new career, I do missed that few months break but I learned something. I need to plan alot more ahead for the full time retirement and walk away from it all when the time comes. Partly because I still have the option where some MNcorporate don't mind the age but it does reduce the opportunity as one hit above 50. So yes, for me... Going full retirement away from decades of set corporate routine does required some withdrawal process...mentally... Nonetheless it's not that there are nothing much thing to do, the question is are you ready to embrace it when it comes electively. Unlike one being kicked out at 60 where you have no choice etc. HolyCooler, Gwynbleidd, and 1 other liked this post
Oct 30 2025, 12:14 PM
QUOTE(Cubalagi @ Oct 30 2025, 09:38 AM) having x number of annual leaves may not mean much... especially if one is not allowed to take most of them.... its nice display only.... my last job gives 35 annual leaves per year for senior staffs... guess how many I can finish? (good thing is one can monetize like 3 days as cash if cannot clear all... that also i suspect is to keep us from making too much noise) |
Nov 1 2025, 06:44 PM
QUOTE(Hansel @ Nov 1 2025, 01:14 PM) .... i googled ASSI, and it should be the same guy who is the blogger A Singaporean Stocks Investor... Ok - ASSI is really single, plays computer games and stays with his parents all his life. This one I admit is keeping to his words,..... ok,... but don't know-lar,.. I'm in SG always, I hear he has a few China gf's and supports them,...... but no children to look after. .... He seems to be a super kiam siap (super frugal) vs my standard. So just curious... how you hear that he has a few china girls? having china girls cannot be cheap rite? Hansel liked this post
Nov 4 2025, 01:43 PM
QUOTE(126126 @ Nov 4 2025, 09:40 AM) FIRE is NOT necessarily all about being frugal, retire at 30 and live below your means, save and skimp every penny. I get what you mean and agree: there's definitely a balance to everything in the FIRE journey.FIRE can also be maximising your earnings potential and retire at 45 instead, build up such a big pot of gold that you no longer need to hustle for every sen and live like a king, travel, enjoy quality live and tick off all your bucket lists But technically speaking, at some point, "living below your means" isn’t just good advice. It’s a mathematical necessity if you want any kind of retirement later on (early or otherwise). Because the opposite, "living at or above your means", basically means spending more than you earn on annual or a set periodic basis. That definitely leads to debt piling up over time, and eventually working till the very end... just hoping the end comes before the bankruptcy does. Delayed gratification is what we all should aim for, with healthy moderation during both the saving and spending phases. |
Nov 5 2025, 10:42 AM
QUOTE(126126 @ Nov 5 2025, 09:44 AM) while waiting for response.... my version... Simple back of the envelope calc here 1K rm a day per pax in Malaysia is already more than adequate => 30K rm a month per person. Similarly, about 1K sgd a day would go a long way almost anywhere else. (Of course, in places like Vietnam, it’s probably closer to RM1K than SGD1K, right?) Accommodation, especially temporary or ad-hoc stays, usually takes the biggest bite. Once that’s sorted, the rest of the spending is quite manageable. But yeah, even with these numbers, I think it’s pretty overkill already… hopefully most would agree Another, maybe more logical and structured way to look at it, is to base it on your actual spending while you were working. Rough guide: Around 80% of your gross salary (your usual take-home pay) = chubby FIRE About 50% of gross salary = normal FIRE (anyone with proper savings planning understands why) And if you can sustain min 100% of your gross salary in retirement, that is FAT FIRE already in same country really. jojolicia liked this post
Nov 5 2025, 02:08 PM
I think I only truly lived the FIRE lifestyle once, long before I even knew the phrase FIRE. It was definitely Lean FIRE. Just graduated, had only 400 to 500 usd to last the month. Luckily, 1st month rent was covered by my employer. Imagine surviving in a big US city on 10 dollars a day after utilities (ok, it was like 20 years ago... ) So it became a very simple life where one does a lot of free activities in a new city... so not so bad. Second month, I allocated 800 for spending. wow, pure luxury! Finally bought proper work clothes and started eating out.... of course, spending became "normal" 3rd month onward. Looking back, there was no real need to be that frugal. I could've just swiped my card and paid it off after payday. I guess what I’m saying (I know, I am repeating) is you can loosen your budget a little, maybe by 1K a month (ur income now can handling this amt), and your long-term plan will still be just fine. the journey will at least be a bit more relaxing/chill. QUOTE(Ramjade @ Nov 5 2025, 12:04 PM) Been there done that. I have live the LEAN FIRE life covered by my options income. My options income already 2x my annual salary already. Only suitable for single person. I walked away from a toxic Chinaman company without any job. That's why my supervisor was surprised. She said you can survive without job meh? I told her the truth and she said I have never seen someone so financially secured as you. My dividends already covered like 6 months of my pay already. AKA I am getting free 6 months bonus every single year. The key is be aggressive in savings and investing. Invest in high quality asset and not high yield stock. Rinse and repeat. Every money you have, whether it is salary or dividends or option income keep reinvesting it. Let dividend growth do the heavy lifting. Who is going to increase your payment at 10-30%p.a? I wouldn't get to where I am today and if I am not frugal to the max. HolyCooler liked this post
Nov 5 2025, 03:06 PM
Allow me to illustrate with a simple example.
Imagine a rational person living a normal life with a proper retirement savings plan. Here are the basics: a) Monthly salary: RM20K (RM240K per year) b) Income tax: around 20% c) EPF contribution: 11% d) Additional personal savings: 20% So effectively, their take home pay is about 70% of their gross salary. But since they save 20%, their actual spending is around 50% of gross income (roughly RM10K per month). Now, after FIRE (meaning full retirement) if they maintain the same 10K monthly spending, their lifestyle hasn’t dropped at all. In fact, it even improve since work-related costs (commute, office meals, coffee, work clothes etc.) disappear. That's what we call a "normal FIRE" lifestyle... maintaining at min the same real spending level as during working life. Now if they decide to spend RM20K a month instead, that's FAT FIRE. Spending double what they used to while working, for the same location and standard of living. If you have spare cash/income, you can try to calculate what you usually spend per month, and then pick a month where you allocate and spend double what you used to spend. It is very liberating really. Edit: I just realized I didn't mention about this rational method. This method is using respective person's income and spending. It implies that one needs to be realistic and know how to "ukur badan sendiri". Ie Fat Fire for a B40 is different level from a T01. QUOTE(126126 @ Nov 5 2025, 02:46 PM) I agree with sgd1k/day for fatfire anywhere in the world. This post has been edited by Wedchar2912: Nov 5 2025, 04:05 PMBut using 100% gross salary i think not enough, cos some ppl income is not very high so not an accurate yardstick. Fatfire but still frugal? I think u confusing fatfire with leanfire? Rm20k per month is really childs play when u talking about world figures. Not enough to cover the roof over your head |
Nov 7 2025, 04:54 PM
Return to original view | IPv6 | Post
QUOTE(jasontoh @ Nov 7 2025, 04:46 PM) The confusion part is where you are working but you are saying you are already FIRE, regardless or LEAN or not This is a common confusion.FIRE has 2 distinct component. FI for financial independence. Re for retired early. So some may say already fired to mean achieved independence While others may mean already retired early. Having said all these, I may start not telling people I am fire'd.... To short cut the explanation and discussion. Some more I am still young and drive a old car. (some even thought I got into some kind of trouble or abt to die due to some disease... Humans can be very creative) I just say I am still working for semi-active income. Lol. A bit of trading here and there. Haha. Which opens another set of worms like saying behind my back to others not to lend money. Lol... Peace of mind. This post has been edited by Wedchar2912: Nov 7 2025, 05:16 PM adele123 liked this post
Nov 7 2025, 05:48 PM
QUOTE(magika @ Nov 7 2025, 05:38 PM) To me it's not considered fully FIRE if still dependant on dividends , options or other income. To be fully FIRE must be able to draw down from retirement fund only. Care to elaborate a bit more pls? Your notion is intriguing.Cannot rely on dividends means epf and stocks are out of the questions. Other income means pension or fixed income instruments. So what do you have in mind for retirement fund? Or your idea is direct holding cannot count but reits and mutual funds are fine? |
Nov 7 2025, 06:00 PM
QUOTE(magika @ Nov 7 2025, 05:52 PM) To be financially independent one must be able to drawdown entirely from the funds that you have accumulated. Being dependant on epf dividends, options, rental does not mean independance. Oh. May I say basically what is the networth/portfolio divided by yearly expenditure in essence, exceeding a certain number like 30? Ie if per year spends 100k a year, and networth of 4m, then the ratio is 40 and the person can afford to retire? |
Nov 7 2025, 06:39 PM
QUOTE(magika @ Nov 7 2025, 06:04 PM) well, there is a mapping of SWR to the ratio of networth over yearly expenditure... so you are right....using the earlier example, 100K expenditure when one has 4m is equivalent to 2.5% swr. So, if the ratio one think is safe enough to fully retire is 40, then set swr to 2.5 This is why most FIRE practitioners considers 3.3% as a good swr because the equivalent ratio is 33...aka last 33 years if really kiasi, swr of 2% is super safe, as that equates to ratio of 50.... if the portfolio does nothing, it will last 50 years.... swr of 1% means ratio of 100! This is really LEAN FIRE already also... imagine have 10m but can only spend 8.33K rm pm. networth confirm grow irl till after death and still grow... magika liked this post
Nov 7 2025, 08:54 PM
QUOTE(Ramjade @ Nov 7 2025, 08:15 PM) or like what jasontoh said, and using magika's conservative 2.5% swr, with 4m in EPF, can take out 100K pa and spend 8.3K rm pm....someone in 40s with 4m in EPF, should have a few million elsewhere also rite? that should give another 5 to 8K rm pm to spend? can retire.... BenChiew liked this post
Nov 8 2025, 09:44 PM
QUOTE(jasontoh @ Nov 8 2025, 06:19 PM) It's hard to say really. I come to know of some colleagues fully focus in EPF, and normal savings via housing loan, but lack investment elsewhere. Eventually our resources are finite, so for them I think they focus on kids + housing loan + EPF. In fact one of them I just talked recently just leave like 1-2K inside just so that he can continue to claim interest subsidy for the house. Although I have higher investment elsewhere, but my property loans are high as well, but just redrawing the minimal I'll be able to serve my installment, but if I were to retrench, I'll actually withdraw some of my digital banks balance to dump in into the housing loan since no one else is helping me to pay, so try to reduce the total interest that I'm going to give to the banks. Yeah, there’s really no single hard formula for retirement... all depends on what kind of lifestyle, peace of mind and effort.If someone prefers to be conservative and doesn't want the hassle of managing investments, then sticking with EPF and traditional instruments like FDs, high-yield savings, or mutual funds is perfectly fine. That’s essentially what your colleagues can/are doing by setting a low swr say 2.5–3% and just living their lives without this headache (there are people who really don't want to think or manage money). The funds will outlast his lifetime. Honestly, that was my own plan when I fire’d more than four years ago. Why? A 2 to 3% wr is almost foolproof if one is ok with the corresponding spending level. For example, with 10m, that's 17K to 25K pm spending, which almost all will agree is actually quite conservative and penalizing. (eg: 1m networth means 1.7K to 2.5K pm. how many you know would be willing to live such frugal life when they are a millionaire?) Just owning 20-year MGS (currently yielding close to 4%), the capital even grows. So for someone retiring at 50, the risk of the funds ever running out with a 2–3% swr is virtually zero. Of course, one should try not to have any large outstanding loans after retirement, to err on the conservative side. GeekinE90 liked this post
Nov 10 2025, 02:47 PM
QUOTE(jasontoh @ Nov 10 2025, 02:25 PM) I actually consider myself frugal, and people who are more extreme than me actually "stingy" in one sense. I still recall when I was in uni and also when I started working, my spending is consider stingy to many others, but then in this forum, there are others taking it to the next level. but no lar... why would you want to be so frugal and just live off 1.7 to 2.5K rm after retirement? (not saying that one should simply spend, but there's no need to be frugal just cos one can be so frugal). For the bold-ed statement, I can really live within 1.7-2.5K, assuming I've settled all my fix commitments. So yeah, if I am to live just within 2-3% wr from 1M, I think I'll do fine, provided I've settled my fix commitments. I do hope that I don't have to touch my capital (EPF, local and oversea stocks, properties) by the time I really FIRE after fired or after 60 yo... wr of 5% should not be an issue... that gives the millionaire like 4 to 4.5K rm to spend.... which is not bad really for single person without any more commitments like housing or car loans. HolyCooler liked this post
| Change to: | 0.0211sec
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 01:17 PM |