FI/RE - Financial Independence / Retire Early

Wedchar2912
post Sep 10 2025, 03:32 PM

3,683 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Sep 10 2025, 01:55 PM)
You have to exclude your EPF until you can access it. Once you can access it then the calculation changes.

For me I have never use EPF in my calculations. Totally omit it. That way anything EPF pays is a bonus. Make it harder, more challenging and build in extra buffer because as mentioned
1. I am super conservative in my calculations
2. Being super conservative allow me to build a bigger buffer safety of margin.
3. always better to have more.
4. make my life easier but having less headache. Less calculations, less variable as possible.

Also I don't invest in EPF beyond what is the amount needed for income tax relief (RM3k for life insurance p.a)
I still think EPF should be included in the calculation. After all, it’s a defined contribution retirement plan. Wealth is semi-fungible: you draw down from what’s liquid now while waiting for other assets or liquidity events to come through.
Wedchar2912
post Sep 10 2025, 04:25 PM

3,683 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Sep 10 2025, 03:58 PM)
Only included it if you want to retire normally. For me, I am aiming for FIRE and I don't planned to have RM1m in EPF hence EPF is irrelevant to me.
Understand your intention and rationale.
But you are overly conservative and put in too much buffers... Everywhere...

It's like you are playing the resource gathering game in not just hardmode, but on inferno mode. Lol. Stress....
Wedchar2912
post Sep 12 2025, 01:55 PM

3,683 posts

QUOTE(126126 @ Sep 12 2025, 08:39 AM)
Why do you not count these props as retirement funds? If you can liquidate them in future then they will become your retirement funds no? Unless of course these are non liquidatable (own stay, title complications, etc)
First time i see obesefire used in Malaysian centric forum. Well done!

Do you find spending much more than how you are brought up/used to, difficult?
Not really a matter of difficulty… just undecided.
Plus, I still carry over the old corporate habit of evaluating plans by calendar year.
The increase is a bit too steep and might be counterproductive. A gradual increase could work better???
Wedchar2912
post Sep 12 2025, 01:57 PM

3,683 posts

QUOTE(Cubalagi @ Sep 12 2025, 09:52 AM)
Because my prop are not giving me any cash flow and very illiquid. One is my home, one is a property that I let my parents stay for free and another is a piece of vacant land.
any reason to hold on to the land? if its for capital appreciation, then ok to hold. else the standard thinking is that this is a unproductive use of capital.
Wedchar2912
post Sep 15 2025, 12:56 PM

3,683 posts

QUOTE(spoonudus @ Sep 14 2025, 08:11 PM)
Glad to see this thread active again. Took me a while to catch up reading lol. One topic of discussion interest me.

Those who earns great income, i believe one mention here rm30k or rm40k, in his 30s or 40s, would they FIRE and leave high paying jobs.

I have a friend who is exactly in this predicament right now. He just got promoted, in a new department and earning quite a good salary already, so the promotion for sure gives him a nice bump in salary.

I know he is a frugal guy and have talked about retiring early before. But with the new promotion and salary bump, i also wonder if he has a change of heart.

Even if he has enough saved to FIRE, working longer also means more buffer in the savings. But it also means his time will be tied up with work as oppose to FIRE where he will get to control what he does entirely, which is basically the  purpose of FIRE. But if continue working is something he doesnt mind doing, and he can quit anytime he wants, he still has that control no?

I wish i would reach that level. Not a bad problem to have lol
Best is for him to do a proper financial analysis on his situation to see if FIRE is really possible. High income doesn’t automatically mean higher chances of early FIRE. If his passive income is already close to his spending, then he has real options.

Of course, it also depends on his character — how aggressive (or greedy) he is.

And then there’s the flip side. some of us here are already generating decent passive income b4 and after retirement. Like Ram, whose passive income already dwarfs his active income. By the time he fully retires, that passive income should still be sizable… Who knows, your friend’s new “retirement activity” might turn out far more fulfilling than that next promotion and pay bump.

Wedchar2912
post Sep 15 2025, 01:21 PM

3,683 posts

QUOTE(!@#$%^ @ Sep 15 2025, 12:29 PM)
hard to say though. once it becomes a lifestyle for 30-40 years it's hard to change. that's y many ppl's retirement funds finish very fast because unable to change lifestyle.
Easy solution.... Don't change the lifestyle. Just maintain lor....

That's what it means for normal fire... Passive income covering spending budget of working life before retirement.
Wedchar2912
post Sep 15 2025, 08:44 PM

3,683 posts

QUOTE(kslee79 @ Sep 15 2025, 06:25 PM)
- I am in my mid 40s, from mid 20s till now, been gainfully employed tax free.

I'm very curious... what do you mean by gainfully employed tax free? in Malaysia? is there a special case or in a special job scope (like arm forces) to be tax free?
or this is from working overseas that doesn't have income tax... ?

Wedchar2912
post Sep 16 2025, 05:52 PM

3,683 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Sep 16 2025, 01:59 PM)
Cause it will increase the pay by RM200 and lots of meeting and useless admin work. Very not worth it unless you are someone who loves meeting.
Funny you brought this up… before trying to convince you that promotions usually come with decent bumps, I thought its best I check my old records.
Turns out you’re right. When I was promoted, my increment was a glorious 5%. What a sad joke.

The good part came later though: raises every 6 months for some years. I suspect that was partly due to profitability, and partly to bring my pay in line with peers (most of whom were like 15 to 20 years older than me).

So maybe it’s still worth taking the chance and climbing the ladder...

Wedchar2912
post Sep 17 2025, 11:25 AM

3,683 posts

How many dare to all in? That requires huge convictions and balls of steel....!
Especially for Fire retirees... Scary one eh...

Wedchar2912
post Sep 17 2025, 04:22 PM

3,683 posts

QUOTE(joeblow @ Sep 17 2025, 01:58 PM)
Hmm... assuming you are earning rm100k per month from a 4% fixed return from bond, FD etc... Would you still liquidate them to invest? Some goes investment by ratio etc, in the end I guess it's what makes one able to sleep well at night. Especially those who have not seen their portfolio drop by 75% etc to say why I never buy before.

I know of people who have stable jobs, nothing financially to worry, they put their savings into high yield stocks and got lucky. Earning enough to retire comfortably (say above rm4m). You think how many of these people will put their rm4m all in or into a ratio into yet high risk assets? Assuming they are around retirement age already with no pending financial committments aside from medical or emergencies.

When one FIRE already, I think the kick to chase more money would be lower especially knowing your current assets enough to substain you comfortably (say rm4m and above).

Side question, I still don't know how to buy BTC in Malaysia. Anyone to recommend trusted platform to buy BTC like IBKR?   :confused:
1.2m pa at 4% is like a 30 million pot rite? (assuming no cap gain from the FI instrument)
If its me, this is highly inefficient if bulk of wealth. Should diversify out to other assets and optimize a bit.

Small amt BTC for fun, I use luno. It's really for fun as the value is lesser than 100K rm. Big amount, etf better.

This post has been edited by Wedchar2912: Sep 17 2025, 04:26 PM
Wedchar2912
post Sep 17 2025, 06:28 PM

3,683 posts

QUOTE(kslee79 @ Sep 17 2025, 01:13 PM)
True what you said, a well paying job is the essential enabler here, else I wouldn't have the capital to go into gold.

Also, you brought up an interesting point. For those people who are passion-driven in their career - artists, teacher etc. It's sad that they will have a much harder journey towards FI, although I believe they will be happier and derive more satisfaction from their career.
wondering.... now that your networth essentially double (or more than double) vs 2021, are you thinking of retiring earlier, or semi-retire or continue to accumulate resources?
to me, your job seems interesting to continue cos one month on, one month off... quite interesting a schedule to someone like me.
Wedchar2912
post Sep 19 2025, 08:03 PM

3,683 posts

QUOTE(HolyCooler @ Sep 19 2025, 04:48 PM)
If i think like this, i don't know i will work till when  sad.gif
Still on track to pull the trigger and FIRE this year?
Wedchar2912
post Sep 20 2025, 12:01 PM

3,683 posts

You made a really sharp point on the word "work". It’s a world apart from "job". With today’s economy and new work setups, that old strict definition of "work = job" doesn’t really hold anymore.

Using your example (and layering my own), I think it helps to reclassify income sources. Beyond pure passive income, which most of us agree on, almost everything else still requires some level of "work":

Pure passive income
– EPF dividends
– Long-term equity holdings (eg Maybank or DBS shares)
– Static instruments like FDs and even some e-wallet balances paying 3.x% pa

No effort, no monitoring: just collect.

Semi-passive income
– a few rental properties (tenants, repairs, paperwork = not exactly “do nothing”)
– investments that need babysitting (tactical stock plays, some options trades)

Semi-work income
– Mature business on semi-auto (you’re not in daily ops, but still need to steer the ship)
– Side hustles that aren’t 9–5 but still need formal attention

Pure work income
– A job, where someone else dictates your tasks and schedule
– Active trading or gig-style work that requires constant monitoring

So yeah… if I use this classification, I haven’t really “retired” the past 4 years either. More like semi-passive FIRE. Kinda disappointing… but at least it pays drool.gif

I enjoy tremendously my semi-passive income activities. So happen also generate very good income with minimal attention (a few hours attention a month, max ... no-one counts reading news as work rite?)... imitating Buffett, I am still "working" past my FIRE date. lol

QUOTE(gashout @ Sep 20 2025, 06:32 AM)
People always come with an assumption work/ job is dreadful and punishing...the FI is still what people like, the RE has been debatable, many articles have it. they dread RE and they cancelled RE.

i always say i love my job, and it's not even for money, but it helps to boost my financial freedom. at this moment, my passive per mth is higher than my saving amount per mth...so saving/investing wise, my task is done, and i can enjoy life, but there is more to 'work to retire'.

on a typical day, i go office 11am++, ciao 4/5pm++. and that happens 3 days a week due to my own wants, not requirements. other days, can stay at home, think do other stuff. some of my colleagues never been to office half of the year. there will be time im needed by company but in general, i think work today has designed to work well with personal life.

there is nothing wrong with 'work' at all, warren buffett still works today at 90+ yo. he said I don't work to collect money. I work because I love what I'm doing. Work is the best way to grow your money, followed by investing which can 2x,3x,4x-10x your money over long period of time.

so maybe the problem isn't work, it's the job one selects.
QUOTE(gashout @ Sep 20 2025, 08:37 AM)
yes, people underestimate what passive means.

passive means do nothing... so for me, house rental isn't passive, it's very active.

epf is passive. FD is passive. QQQ is passive. etc.
Wedchar2912
post Sep 20 2025, 12:08 PM

3,683 posts

QUOTE(Syok Your Mom @ Sep 20 2025, 07:03 AM)
Guys, how much passive income is needed to be considered FI/RE ?
traditional definition is simply this....

sum up all your expenses on yearly basis (so as to smooth out any monthly variations)... take the average over a few years to be better.
That's your benchmark.

If want some buffer, add in like 20 to 30% extra.

Say, your yearly expenditure is 120K rm, then passive income of this is enough.
to sleep soundly, 156K rm per year passive income...

Note: this is passive income... to be compared to expenditures. Usually this is way lower than current active income
Wedchar2912
post Sep 20 2025, 01:00 PM

3,683 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Sep 20 2025, 12:57 PM)
Herbalist is not recognised in Malaysia. It's recognised in UK and Europe though. Surprisingly.
does TCM count? ie working in a chinese medicine shop?
Wedchar2912
post Sep 20 2025, 01:22 PM

3,683 posts

QUOTE(Cubalagi @ Sep 20 2025, 01:06 PM)
For me, its passive income of at least 80% of net monthly salary. Ideally, closer to 100%.
That’s a good rule too… because net monthly salary already means after tax and EPF deductions.
In essence, your definition boils down to:
Net monthly salary = expenditure + leftover savings.

So if your passive income covers ~80% of net salary, that’s almost the same as if you’d been saving 20% all along.

And at retirement, there’s no need to keep saving: so covering expenses alone is technically enough.
Wedchar2912
post Sep 20 2025, 01:28 PM

3,683 posts

QUOTE(Syok Your Mom @ Sep 20 2025, 01:15 PM)
Wow that's tough. That means must have biz, property rentals, bank FD interests to achieve all that you mentioned. Right ?

Savings alone won't Huat. Interest rates from banks are too low, that's why many Malaysians gamble MKT, Genting, online casino, money game, crypto hoping to get rich. Yes, savings are important but in the long term it's impossible to achieve FI/RE just by savings alone. Right boh ?
Yeah, it’s tough. That’s why so many can’t afford to retire.
The real issue is that most people never start building a passive income portfolio from day 1 of employment. The earlier you start, the more it accumulates and eventually, it snowballs fast.

I still hear the old-school advice: "You’re hitting 50, time to save for retirement". By right, that advice should’ve been given on day 1… or at least by age 30. That’s when the compounding and passive income growth really work in your favor.
Wedchar2912
post Sep 20 2025, 06:36 PM

3,683 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Sep 20 2025, 04:54 PM)
To be honest after changing company I didn't expect the same thing form this new company. But after seeing my clerk suffer that, it gets me even more motivated.

Looks like only European based MNC are good company to work for. Not Malaysian based companies and not chinaman companies.
Hate to break it to you, but not really… every firm, whether European, American, Malaysian, Singaporean or Chinaman, puts itself first. Everyone is expendable and is just a replaceable resource.

That’s also why companies and business owners loudly dislike the FIRE movement. The fewer choices employees have, the more control stays with them.

Wedchar2912
post Sep 21 2025, 11:44 AM

3,683 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Sep 21 2025, 11:05 AM)
So right now live B40 lifestyle and then later live T5 lifestyle (travelling) without the fear money will run out. I will live a normal simple life in Malaysia (M40), having my own organic farm once I am FIRE where I can grow simple veges like tomatoes, cabbage, lettuce, chili, gourds, sweet potatoes.
Well bro, I think you can afford to relax a little instead of living the full-on B40 lifestyle. You could easily bump up your spending by, say, an extra 1K per month and have a much more chilled life. No need to play “resource gathering” on hell mode. Just switch it to hard mode.
(the optimization target need not be maximize savings or minimize time to FIRE.)

If you rework your numbers, you’ll see it won’t derail your plan much at all. At that small expense (which you’ll hardly feel once you’re 40++), your standard of living today improves drastically. After all, 1K represents about a 70% jump in spending power.

This post has been edited by Wedchar2912: Sep 21 2025, 11:46 AM
Wedchar2912
post Sep 21 2025, 09:58 PM

3,683 posts

QUOTE(coolguy_0925 @ Sep 21 2025, 09:45 PM)
Indeed

Can't blame them, supply & demand

Offering bare minimum still people come on time everyday to earn money for me

What reason should I increase the $$$

* It helps the bosses reach FI / RE faster grin.gif
lol... good one! notworthy.gif

15 Pages « < 9 10 11 12 13 > » Top

0.0313sec    0.81    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 12:28 AM