Tax clearance form CP21, leaving malaysia
TSantimlm9801 P
Oct 5 2021, 09:05 PM, updated 5y ago
Hey guys, I'm a Malaysian, leaving Malaysia to work in Singapore. Would like to ask what kind of procedure I have to do for tax/LHDN side? I understand that my company need to file a "CP21" file to LHDN, but is there anything I have to do?
I heard somewhere that I have to hand in the CP21 alongside with my last 3 years tax filing or whatever. Is that true? can anyone guide me while I'm waiting for LHDN to come back to me?
Sorry but this is urgent - thanks!
MUM
Oct 5 2021, 09:07 PM
QUOTE(antimlm9801 @ Oct 5 2021, 09:05 PM) Hey guys, I'm a Malaysian, leaving Malaysia to work in Singapore. Would like to ask what kind of procedure I have to do for tax/LHDN side? I understand that my company need to file a "CP21" file to LHDN, but is there anything I have to do? I heard somewhere that I have to hand in the CP21 alongside with my last 3 years tax filing or whatever. Is that true? can anyone guide me while I'm waiting for LHDN to come back to me? Sorry but this is urgent - thanks! did you employer knows and confirmed that you are leaving Malaysia? btw, best is you post at existing pinned thread....there are many sifus there can help Income Tax Issues v4, Scope: e-BE and eB only https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3621012/+7660#entry102500805This post has been edited by MUM: Oct 5 2021, 09:09 PM
TSantimlm9801 P
Oct 5 2021, 09:09 PM
QUOTE(MUM @ Oct 5 2021, 09:07 PM) did you employer know that you are leaving Malaysia? yes!
MUM
Oct 5 2021, 09:14 PM
QUOTE(antimlm9801 @ Oct 5 2021, 09:09 PM) read the details in borang CP21 to see if you need to do anything else... http://phl.hasil.gov.my/pdf/pdfborang/CP21_Pin.1_2021.pdfjust let the company settle the thing.... you may have to seek a tax clearance letter http://phl.hasil.gov.my/pdf/pdfam/TAX_CLEARANCE_LETTER.pdfread this for some info on Responsibility of Employee Guideline for Personal Tax Clearance – Form CP21, https://www.3ecpa.com.my/resources/malaysia...21-cp22a-cp22b/
TSantimlm9801 P
Oct 6 2021, 12:48 AM
QUOTE(MUM @ Oct 5 2021, 09:14 PM) -deleted quote as.. probation account- Thanks! Very detailed!! Just a last question "Eligible for MTD as a Final Tax" MTD = PCB is it? i.e. the portion of tax that my employer already deduct from me?
dwRK
Oct 6 2021, 08:01 AM
QUOTE(antimlm9801 @ Oct 6 2021, 12:48 AM) Thanks! Very detailed!! Just a last question "Eligible for MTD as a Final Tax" MTD = PCB is it? i.e. the portion of tax that my employer already deduct from me? yeah just go irb... submit cp21 + be... get clearance letter for company to release your final pay... remember next year still need to file final be
MUM
Oct 6 2021, 11:33 AM
QUOTE(antimlm9801 @ Oct 6 2021, 12:48 AM) Thanks! Very detailed!! Just a last question "Eligible for MTD as a Final Tax" MTD = PCB is it? i.e. the portion of tax that my employer already deduct from me? What is MTD as final tax? MTD as final tax means that a Malaysian employer is mandated to calculate and ensure that the MTD remitted to the MIRB on employment income is equal to the total tax liability payable by the employee for the year of assessment. https://www.pwc.com/my/en/perspective/globa...-deduction.htmlFrequently Asked Questions (FAQ) – Monthly Tax Deduction (MTD) As Final Tax http://lampiran2.hasil.gov.my/pdf/pdfam/FA...Final_Tax_2.pdfyou asked,..MTD = PCB is it? Monthly Tax Deductions (MTD), also known as Potongan Cukai Bulanan (PCB) in Malay, is a mechanism in which employers deduct monthly tax payments from the employment income of their employees. This mechanism is designed to avoid the issues that come with requiring payment of a large sum of income tax when the actual tax amount has been determined. https://liew.my/social/mtd-monthly-tax-deduction/
Kesh1018
Oct 10 2021, 04:00 AM
Bring these items: CP21 New Job employment offer Copy of all the BE statement the last 5 years All receipt copy for tax relief for this year.
Source: I did the same 3 weeks ago.
xh2899 P
Oct 10 2021, 06:30 AM
QUOTE(antimlm9801 @ Oct 5 2021, 09:05 PM) Hey guys, I'm a Malaysian, leaving Malaysia to work in Singapore. Would like to ask what kind of procedure I have to do for tax/LHDN side? I understand that my company need to file a "CP21" file to LHDN, but is there anything I have to do? I heard somewhere that I have to hand in the CP21 alongside with my last 3 years tax filing or whatever. Is that true? can anyone guide me while I'm waiting for LHDN to come back to me? Sorry but this is urgent - thanks! Bring your 2020 Form EA, 2020 Form BE, CP21 given by employer and also use 2020 paper BE form to fill in your taxes for 2021 (simply strike off 2020 and replace with 2021). Make sure your employer has already informed LHDN about your intention to depart Malaysia for employment abroad. LHDN will tell you to wait up to 14 days while they process your tax clearance. Remember to ask for point of contact if it exceeds 14 days. Once the process is done, they will send a letter to your employee for them to release your salary. You will also receive a copy in your mailbox. I'm also going over to SG so the above is my personal experience dealing with them in the past fortnight. All the best!
mytrader
Nov 15 2021, 08:37 AM
QUOTE(xh2899 @ Oct 10 2021, 06:30 AM) Bring your 2020 Form EA, 2020 Form BE, CP21 given by employer and also use 2020 paper BE form to fill in your taxes for 2021 (simply strike off 2020 and replace with 2021). Make sure your employer has already informed LHDN about your intention to depart Malaysia for employment abroad. LHDN will tell you to wait up to 14 days while they process your tax clearance. Remember to ask for point of contact if it exceeds 14 days. Once the process is done, they will send a letter to your employee for them to release your salary. You will also receive a copy in your mailbox. I'm also going over to SG so the above is my personal experience dealing with them in the past fortnight. All the best! Hi, For BE2021 (BE form 2020 strike to 2021) ; the details within has to be updated with the 2021 year of assessment ?
dwRK
Nov 15 2021, 09:43 AM
QUOTE(mytrader @ Nov 15 2021, 08:37 AM) Hi, For BE2021 (BE form 2020 strike to 2021) ; the details within has to be updated with the 2021 year of assessment ? use old be2020 form to fill cp21 info for tax clearance only... next yr you need to fill again using be2021 with ea2021 yr employer wiil send to you
mytrader
Nov 15 2021, 10:31 AM
QUOTE(dwRK @ Nov 15 2021, 09:43 AM) use old be2020 form to fill cp21 info for tax clearance only... next yr you need to fill again using be2021 with ea2021 yr employer wiil send to you Hi, But would the info such as deductions & receipt proof etc for 2021 needed in this BE form ? Or just the info of gross income / MTD-PCB is sufficient ? Want to be sure to not have go multiple rounds , thanks in advance for your advise
dwRK
Nov 15 2021, 10:50 AM
QUOTE(mytrader @ Nov 15 2021, 10:31 AM) Hi, But would the info such as deductions & receipt proof etc for 2021 needed in this BE form ? Or just the info of gross income / MTD-PCB is sufficient ? Want to be sure to not have go multiple rounds , thanks in advance for your advise  i forgot... I'd put in all the big deductions lah... IRB won't ask for receipts... this is to calc estimates on taxes for employer to hold back and final pay to you... the officer will go through it when you are there and will update/correct if necessary. You'll still need to file next year anyways...
Rundevilrun
Dec 17 2021, 06:14 PM

Hi guys, I'm confused whether employer is required to notify IRB within 30 days or at least 30 days before departure of employee from Malaysia? http://phl.hasil.gov.my/pdf/pdfborang/CP21_Pin.1_2021.pdf <- it says here not less than 30 days http://phl.hasil.gov.my/pdf/pdfam/TAX_CLEARANCE_LETTER.pdf <- it says here not more than 30 days This post has been edited by Rundevilrun: Dec 17 2021, 06:15 PM
MUM
Dec 17 2021, 06:39 PM
QUOTE(Rundevilrun @ Dec 17 2021, 06:14 PM) Hi guys, I'm confused whether employer is required to notify IRB within 30 days or at least 30 days before departure of employee from Malaysia? http://phl.hasil.gov.my/pdf/pdfborang/CP21_Pin.1_2021.pdf <- it says here not less than 30 days http://phl.hasil.gov.my/pdf/pdfam/TAX_CLEARANCE_LETTER.pdf <- it says here not more than 30 days not sure about others,...BUT i would place my bet on the Malay version.....of the CP21 form header added a circular https://phl.hasil.gov.my/pdf/pdfam/KM_LHDNM...CP22A_CP22B.pdfThis post has been edited by MUM: Dec 17 2021, 06:59 PM Attached thumbnail(s)