Seeking Advice on Behalf of My Sister

TSListenToTheWind
post Oct 3 2021, 11:16 PM, updated 5y ago

453 posts

So my sister house currently facing water leaking issue:
1) The roof leaking
2) Both toilet's roof and wall also got sign of mold, could be a sign of internal pipe leaking

She had approach a contractor for quotation, upon inspecting the house, the contractor identified the following problems:
1) The roof internal foil is broken and require reinstallation of a new foil.
2) The internal pipe for both toilets had bee burst due to water pump pressure, need to tear down both toilets and reinstall new pipes and re-tile.

She had been quoted in between RM40k - RM50k for the work above.

My question is for those who are in the field, is this price fair?

COOLPINK
post Oct 3 2021, 11:20 PM

3,666 posts

Get a second and third quotation and compare.
Never ever get 1 quotation only.
TSListenToTheWind
post Oct 3 2021, 11:21 PM

453 posts

QUOTE(COOLPINK @ Oct 3 2021, 11:20 PM)
Do you know any reliable contractor that I can pass their contact to her?
COOLPINK
post Oct 3 2021, 11:23 PM

3,666 posts

QUOTE(ListenToTheWind @ Oct 3 2021, 11:21 PM)
Unfortunately i do not.
State your location so other sifus can advice you ya.
TSListenToTheWind
post Oct 3 2021, 11:23 PM

453 posts

QUOTE(COOLPINK @ Oct 3 2021, 11:23 PM)
Unfortunately i do not.
State your location so other sifus can advice you ya.
Her house is in Selangor, around Puchong area.
mojojojoseph
post Oct 3 2021, 11:25 PM

36 posts

Macam overquote je. Where is ur location?
TSListenToTheWind
post Oct 3 2021, 11:26 PM

453 posts

QUOTE(mojojojoseph @ Oct 3 2021, 11:25 PM)
Her location is around Puchong area. Are you a contractor or do you have any reliable contractor to recommend for a second quote?
ctys2012
post Oct 3 2021, 11:27 PM

280 posts

for piping, if she don't mind the cosmetic, can opt to do external pipe fitting rather than hacking and then waterproofing.... u can see the pipes but its much much cheaper than renovating the toilet...
TSListenToTheWind
post Oct 3 2021, 11:28 PM

453 posts

QUOTE(ctys2012 @ Oct 3 2021, 11:27 PM)
for piping, if she don't mind the cosmetic, can opt to do external pipe fitting rather than hacking and then waterproofing.... u can see the pipes but its much much cheaper than renovating the toilet...
Thank you for your suggestion. I will pass it to her for her consideration.
COOLPINK
post Oct 3 2021, 11:30 PM

3,666 posts

QUOTE(mojojojoseph @ Oct 3 2021, 11:25 PM)
I thought so too hence get several quotes to compare.
kesvani
post Oct 3 2021, 11:31 PM

956 posts

QUOTE(COOLPINK @ Oct 3 2021, 11:20 PM)
Comparing will never be accurate. Some use cheap material. Some use shortcut to complete job faster. Some alsa boleh pakai cukup.

As for TS if can't afford then go for surface job using GI pipe. if still want cheaper go HDPE pipe aka poly pipe. If still still want cheaper use then use PVC pipe lor
COOLPINK
post Oct 3 2021, 11:32 PM

3,666 posts

QUOTE(ctys2012 @ Oct 3 2021, 11:27 PM)
Not only cheaper, any leak can be found and repaired easily.
Plus leak outside will not cause severe moulding.
COOLPINK
post Oct 3 2021, 11:34 PM

3,666 posts

QUOTE(kesvani @ Oct 3 2021, 11:31 PM)
Comparing will never be accurate. Some use cheap material. Some use shortcut to complete job faster. Some alsa boleh pakai cukup.

As for TS if can't afford then go for surface job using GI pipe. if still want cheaper go HDPE pipe aka poly pipe. If still still want cheaper use then use PVC pipe lor
You forgot to mention also got risk those contractors know each other and will pakat to give you more or less the same quotation haha.

Bathroom is secondary, i would be more concern about the roofing job if needed
TSListenToTheWind
post Oct 3 2021, 11:35 PM

453 posts

QUOTE(kesvani @ Oct 3 2021, 11:31 PM)

To be honest, I really don't think my sister can afford that kind of bill. That I guess we will figure it out among our family.
The contractor didn't mention what type of material they will be using and my sister won't be able to tell the differences between the GI, HDPE or PVC pipe either.
kesvani
post Oct 3 2021, 11:36 PM

956 posts

QUOTE(COOLPINK @ Oct 3 2021, 11:34 PM)
You forgot to mention also got risk those contractors know each other and will pakat to give you more or less the same quotation haha.

Bathroom is secondary, i would be more concern about the roofing job if needed
That only happen on big project. Small project like that i doubt they will even know they quote a same job
COOLPINK
post Oct 3 2021, 11:38 PM

3,666 posts

QUOTE(kesvani @ Oct 3 2021, 11:36 PM)
That only happen on big project. Small project like that i doubt they will even know they quote a same job
You would be surprised how easily connected they are nowadays with watsapp group and all....
COOLPINK
post Oct 3 2021, 11:42 PM

3,666 posts

QUOTE(ListenToTheWind @ Oct 3 2021, 11:35 PM)
To be honest, I really don't think my sister can afford that kind of bill. That I guess we will figure it out among our family.
The contractor didn't mention what type of material they will be using and my sister won't be able to tell the differences between the GI, HDPE or PVC pipe either.
If really on a budget ask around for contacts to get those construction bangla tat do side jobs you do it for u.

mojojojoseph
post Oct 3 2021, 11:48 PM

36 posts

QUOTE(ListenToTheWind @ Oct 3 2021, 11:21 PM)
I’ll send u a PM of a contractor that we use for house reno. He quoted us reasonable price and did a very good job.
TSListenToTheWind
post Oct 3 2021, 11:49 PM

453 posts

QUOTE(mojojojoseph @ Oct 3 2021, 11:48 PM)
I’ll send u a PM of a contractor that we use for house reno. He quoted us reasonable price and did a very good job.
Thank you very much.

0.0163sec    0.78    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 03:12 PM