Home Electrical Service in KL Selangor Area, Electrical DB Box Service Charge

TSVynpower P
post Sep 23 2021, 06:13 PM, updated 5y ago

Probation

My house suddently blacked out in the midnight around 1am so I googled and search for emergency electrical services.
All the review on google saying the service from this vendor is good and the price is reasonable so I called them up. Their response is fast and the service is quite good.But I'm not sure whether the price is really reasonable or not. It's kinda expensive to me. hmm.gif Just wanna seek for some guru's advise to see if I kena cut throat or the price is really reasonable.

Emergency 24hr service - RM250
Change ELCB - RM180
Pointing Cable and Looping (The technician told me this is for the DB Box Copper Busbar) - RM100

Total: RM530
Area: Cheras Selangor

https://pictr.com/images/2021/09/23/Bzlyov.md.jpg
lakini80
post Sep 23 2021, 07:03 PM

334 posts

since it is emergency, nothing much you can compare....
some more you already paid up...

c64
post Sep 23 2021, 07:08 PM

711 posts

1am black out, just sleep lah. Wait till morning, save RM250
TSVynpower P
post Sep 23 2021, 07:40 PM

Probation

QUOTE(c64 @ Sep 23 2021, 07:08 PM)
1am black out, just sleep lah. Wait till morning, save RM250
cry.gif Ikr .. I also thinking if i should just wait for the next day .. but no fan very hot ahh so end up I still look for someone to fix it.
TSVynpower P
post Sep 23 2021, 07:46 PM

Probation

QUOTE(lakini80 @ Sep 23 2021, 07:03 PM)
since it is emergency, nothing much you can compare....
some more you already paid up...
cry.gif hmmmm yea.. but Im just curious whether it is consider cheap or expensive. I have no idea about the market price.
In case it happen again maybe i should try my luck with other vendor if the price they charge is consider expensive. hmm.gif
c64
post Sep 23 2021, 07:56 PM

711 posts

QUOTE(Vynpower @ Sep 23 2021, 07:40 PM)
cry.gif Ikr .. I also thinking if i should just wait for the next day .. but no fan very hot ahh so end up I still look for someone to fix it.
Stay in budget hotel, maybe < less than RM250. Lol
SUSceo684
post Sep 24 2021, 02:29 AM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

Labour ard there for emergency service call, RCD 100mA I hope for the price u get a good brand like ABB Hager Schneider and not some unheard of PRC item. A bit expensive for the joint cable if just change busbar for a tiny DB box, but if your hse is 3 phase or huge DB box its about there la.

Without a pic of the (preferably when it was fully open) Db box internals, or even the safe part pic (pic of DB box parts where the panel cover is installed - safe for user to touch) hard to comment.

This post has been edited by ceo684: Sep 24 2021, 02:31 AM
dayalan86
post Sep 24 2021, 07:53 AM

981 posts

Want to ask, are there anyone who is able to do internal power audit for home? My house power usage is around 1300 to 1500kwh every month.

My concern is, to know if the internal wiring cabling is done properly; worry that the high consumption could be due to poor cabling work.
lakini80
post Sep 24 2021, 10:57 AM

334 posts

QUOTE(dayalan86 @ Sep 24 2021, 07:53 AM)
Want to ask, are there anyone who is able to do internal power audit for home? My house power usage is around 1300 to 1500kwh every month.

My concern is, to know if the internal wiring cabling is done properly; worry that the high consumption could be due to poor cabling work.
There is, but the price range from 500 to 1000
dayalan86
post Sep 24 2021, 11:59 AM

981 posts

QUOTE(lakini80 @ Sep 24 2021, 10:57 AM)
There is, but the price range from 500 to 1000
do you have contact?
lakini80
post Sep 24 2021, 01:06 PM

334 posts

QUOTE(dayalan86 @ Sep 24 2021, 11:59 AM)
do you have contact?
i dun have, but can try to look for you...
dayalan86
post Sep 24 2021, 01:27 PM

981 posts

QUOTE(lakini80 @ Sep 24 2021, 01:06 PM)
i dun have, but can try to look for you...
pls do share if you have
dayalan86
post Sep 24 2021, 08:10 PM

981 posts

NA

This post has been edited by dayalan86: Sep 24 2021, 08:10 PM
nihility
post Sep 24 2021, 08:36 PM

1,601 posts

QUOTE(dayalan86 @ Sep 24 2021, 07:53 AM)

I think you can do a quick assessment on your own first , only when the figure deviated too much away only you engage external party. To assess, just do the following :-

1) list down all your house appliances

a) AC ( kW rating ) x qty x hour of usage / day
b) Refrigerator ( kW rating ) x hour of usage / day
c) rice cooker ( kW rating ) x hour of usage / day
d) washing machine ( kW rating ) x hour of usage / day
e) TV ( kW rating ) x hour of usage / day
f) iron / electric kettle / oven ( kW rating )x hour usage /day
list down all you can

2) After that sum the kWh usage per day up x 30 days .

If the figure come close to 1300~1500 kWh, then nothing wrong . If the deviation too much, then yes, something wrong but it shouldn’t be internal wiring issue but more on illegal tapping after your TNB meter .
gordonchin
post Sep 24 2021, 11:20 PM

110 posts

Change elcb only 180?
My hager 300ma ELCB already cost about 150
SUSceo684
post Sep 25 2021, 01:30 AM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(gordonchin @ Sep 24 2021, 11:20 PM)
Change elcb only 180?
My hager 300ma ELCB already cost about 150
It depends on max current 40A/63A and 2P or 4P type.
U spend alot for RCD shud get at least 100mA. 300mA tarak human protection if installed at home, and 300mA should only be used in commercial/industrial heavy motor load application. Personally I use 30mA coz >50mA, sayonara (according to hager) tongue.gif
dayalan86
post Sep 27 2021, 10:49 AM

981 posts

QUOTE(nihility @ Sep 24 2021, 08:36 PM)
I think you can do a quick assessment on your own first , only when the figure deviated too much away only you engage external party. To assess, just do the following :-

1) list down all your house appliances

a) AC ( kW rating ) x qty x hour of usage / day
    b) Refrigerator ( kW rating ) x hour of usage / day
    c) rice cooker ( kW rating ) x hour of usage / day
    d) washing machine ( kW rating ) x hour of usage / day
    e) TV ( kW rating ) x hour of usage / day
    f) iron / electric kettle / oven ( kW rating )x hour usage /day
    list down all you can

2) After that sum the kWh usage per day up x 30 days .

If the figure come close to 1300~1500 kWh, then nothing wrong . If the deviation too much, then yes, something wrong but it shouldn’t be internal wiring issue but more on illegal tapping after your TNB meter .
Issue is, with refrigerator the power consumption will never tally as it's power consumption is not constant throughout the day. I have also consider attaching a secondary power monitor inside the house. But can't find Sirim approved devices
nihility
post Sep 27 2021, 11:36 AM

1,601 posts

QUOTE(dayalan86 @ Sep 27 2021, 10:49 AM)
Issue is, with refrigerator the power consumption will never tally as it's power consumption is not constant throughout the day. I have also consider attaching a secondary power monitor inside the house. But can't find Sirim approved devices
If don't have SIRIM then go for the reputable brands like - Carlo Gavazzi , Siemens, GE . Mikro local product are well accepted in the industry if not mistaken. If not reputable brand, probably you need to send it for calibration before the installation. Sirim's Lab is doing calibration for the measuring devices to my understanding.

0.0153sec    0.38    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 03:58 AM