Do you install Ultra Racing Safety Bar ?

Is it effective in reducing body roll ?

Yes [ 42 ] ** [43.75%]
No [ 54 ] ** [56.25%]
Total Votes: 96
Guests cannot vote 

TSgenjo
post Sep 21 2021, 02:49 PM, updated 5y ago

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
1,431 posts

I heard many people recommend to install for your car.

So is it effective in reducing body roll and improve safety or just placebo effect ?
Lucas0323
post Sep 21 2021, 02:50 PM

808 posts

U mean remove back seat and add antiroll bar?
kopipap
post Sep 21 2021, 02:50 PM

topup abit got kancil
TSgenjo
post Sep 21 2021, 02:51 PM

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
1,431 posts

QUOTE(Lucas0323 @ Sep 21 2021, 02:50 PM)
U mean remove back seat and add antiroll bar?
Nope
Hades76
post Sep 21 2021, 02:52 PM

680 posts

To me the biggest difference on my Honda City is the ARB. The tower strut and lower strut macam no feel.

The ARB immediately can feel the difference in handling.
msacras
post Sep 21 2021, 02:52 PM

1,767 posts

They see me rolling, they hating.
MR_alien
post Sep 21 2021, 02:53 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,582 posts

the only 2 bar u ever need is front strut bar and ARB

anything else, i just don't see any advantage for normal driving
TSgenjo
post Sep 21 2021, 02:53 PM

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
1,431 posts

QUOTE(Hades76 @ Sep 21 2021, 02:52 PM)
To me the biggest difference on my Honda City is the ARB. The tower strut and lower strut macam no feel.

The ARB immediately can feel the difference in handling.
im sorry but what is ARB ?
ihavenoidea
post Sep 21 2021, 02:55 PM

1,301 posts

QUOTE(genjo @ Sep 21 2021, 02:53 PM)
Anti roll bar bang
Hades76

680 posts

ARB is Anti Roll Bar. Its attached to your rear suspension.
multiplexer

393 posts

improve handling a bit la
WaCKy-Angel

PeACe~~
21,963 posts

Anti-Roll Bar
TSgenjo
post Sep 21 2021, 02:56 PM

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
1,431 posts

QUOTE(ihavenoidea @ Sep 21 2021, 02:55 PM)
Anti roll bar bang
thanks.
SUSskyblu3
post Sep 21 2021, 02:56 PM

157 posts

QUOTE(genjo @ Sep 21 2021, 02:49 PM)

So is it effective in reducing body roll and improve safety or just placebo effect ?
Placebo

Chrix
post Sep 21 2021, 02:57 PM

1,188 posts

how many decades later still ppl ask about this

Boy96
post Sep 21 2021, 02:58 PM

That's a tripod.
3,848 posts

depends on the car, if sampan car then might help

if car already got good handling in the first place then not really
brkli
post Sep 21 2021, 02:59 PM

592 posts

if it is good. then it will already be included stock..

yes, it maybe improved in certain aspect but it will sacrifice on another i.e comfort.

This post has been edited by brkli: Sep 21 2021, 02:59 PM
dadurtyz
post Sep 21 2021, 03:00 PM

658 posts

Under Normal driving, cant feel different.
I believe it make your ride more stiffer and sacrifice comfort
TSgenjo
post Sep 21 2021, 03:01 PM

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
1,431 posts

QUOTE(Chrix @ Sep 21 2021, 02:57 PM)
Sorry but need to ask first cause i was quoted near RM 750...

If it does not help , then i dont want to waste my money.
dadurtyz
post Sep 21 2021, 03:01 PM

658 posts

QUOTE(Chrix @ Sep 21 2021, 02:57 PM)
Yes, UR is biggest scammed company ever, selling expensive steel with ehite paint.
Mac Wai
post Sep 21 2021, 03:02 PM

89 posts

If it is effective till you feel it, then it may just become a std. item.
Here we are looking at deminishing returns.
mac_mac21
post Sep 21 2021, 03:03 PM

190 posts

You mean Anti roll bar to reduce body roll??
msacras
post Sep 21 2021, 03:04 PM

1,767 posts

QUOTE(Mac Wai @ Sep 21 2021, 03:02 PM)
If it is effective till you feel it, then it may just become a std. item.
Here we are looking at deminishing returns.
Never underestimate the cheapskate and cost-cutting of big manufacturers.

Even if doing something can save just 10cents while at the cost of driving experience or safety, manufacturers will still not hesitate to do so.
TSgenjo
post Sep 21 2021, 03:04 PM

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
1,431 posts

QUOTE(mac_mac21 @ Sep 21 2021, 03:03 PM)
You mean Anti roll bar to reduce body roll??
They label it as safety bar stage 1
zerorating
post Sep 21 2021, 03:06 PM

Miskin Adab
975 posts

ok la, body roll got reduced abit.
the less sampan feeling, the better for it to me.

even toyota and nissan service center offering it, it might do at least something.

This post has been edited by zerorating: Sep 21 2021, 03:07 PM
brkli
post Sep 21 2021, 03:07 PM

592 posts

QUOTE(genjo @ Sep 21 2021, 03:01 PM)
Sorry but need to ask first cause i was quoted near RM 750...

If it does not help , then i dont want to waste my money.
you ask yourself.. do you drive you car at high speed an take cornor like everyday of your driving time?? or you just drive like what ia taught at driving school, slow down when taking corner.

if you drive like a manaic, it maybe can help reduce the body roll when u taking sharp corner at high speed.

also if you dun mind that ride get slightly harsher (not so comfort) when u drive normally as u connect your suspension which is intended to operate slightly loose/independant for comfort purpose...
MishimaZ
post Sep 21 2021, 03:10 PM

269 posts

Better opt for a stiffer suspension than depending on some bar that claim to have magical effect.
ah78
post Sep 21 2021, 03:19 PM

35 posts

I'm not installing one but many of my fren mentioned it does improved the handling and body roll especially in MPV.

But you'll lose a bit of comfort for the passenger.. the car will feel a bit stiff, like soft suspension vs hard one. So, choose one
pg84
post Sep 21 2021, 03:30 PM

289 posts

Install on Anh20, very good stability n less roll
CeDhhVss
post Sep 21 2021, 03:39 PM

92 posts

u go racing is it?
Chrix
post Sep 21 2021, 03:39 PM

1,188 posts

what car and what are you doing to it
Drian
post Sep 21 2021, 03:40 PM

4,999 posts

Only ARB
But it makes ride uncomfortable, that's why OEM don't use thick ARB.
Jenn77
post Sep 21 2021, 03:44 PM

Look Ma' Im Flyin! Gee~
3,121 posts

QUOTE(pg84 @ Sep 21 2021, 03:30 PM)
Install on Anh20, very good stability n less roll
I was about to ask. Haha.. Thanks for the info. smile.gif
pg84
post Sep 21 2021, 03:48 PM

289 posts

QUOTE(Jenn77 @ Sep 21 2021, 03:44 PM)
I was about to ask. Haha.. Thanks for the info.  smile.gif
Yes, pls install, the rear stabilizer is very important. U will feel the difference.
Jenn77
post Sep 21 2021, 03:49 PM

Look Ma' Im Flyin! Gee~
3,121 posts

QUOTE(pg84 @ Sep 21 2021, 03:48 PM)
Yes, pls install, the rear stabilizer is very important. U will feel the difference.
Which one to install again? front and back? not full set rite. hmm.gif
pg84
post Sep 21 2021, 03:54 PM

289 posts

QUOTE(Jenn77 @ Sep 21 2021, 03:49 PM)
Which one to install again? front and back? not full set rite.  hmm.gif
Shop called it stage 2,
rear stabilizer bar,
the 2 small bar near the rear,
front frame,
engine mounting bar

I didn't install front stabilizer bar as the shop told me the original is thick enough...
fantasy1989
post Sep 21 2021, 03:55 PM

4,707 posts

it does improve ; but if your car by default already roll here n there

might as well change car

This post has been edited by fantasy1989: Sep 21 2021, 03:55 PM
Avex
post Sep 21 2021, 03:56 PM

570 posts

it always reminds me of that bezza full of bars end up in longkang
focusrite
post Sep 21 2021, 03:58 PM

409 posts

Might as well use that money to buy better tyres
iverice
post Sep 21 2021, 04:00 PM

43 posts

top up abit for uhp tyres.
MR_alien
post Sep 21 2021, 04:28 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,582 posts

QUOTE(brkli @ Sep 21 2021, 02:59 PM)
if it is good. then it will already be included stock..

yes, it maybe improved in certain aspect but it will sacrifice on another i.e comfort.
if everything also included, the price would be unaffordable

just like how normal car won't be included due to cost
but you'll see it in the GTI or R3 or special edition of the same car
brkli
post Sep 21 2021, 04:31 PM

592 posts

QUOTE(MR_alien @ Sep 21 2021, 04:28 PM)
if everything also included, the price would be unaffordable

just like how normal car won't be included due to cost
but you'll see it in the GTI or R3 or special edition of the same car
the reason u see it in those car and not the "normal" edition is not the cost. is because it makes the car uncomfortable. same like lowered ride, low profile tyre and etc..

if it is really good all round, the highest spec car surely will include, just like things like VSC, auto cruise and etc...

also those car price a higher sometimes not because install separate bar or what. is because it is not really mass production like the other (produce in lesser unit) due to the special settings and side installation (lowered ride, larger rim, low profile tyre, reinforce chassis) and this increase the cost..

inb4, if you reall want a stable cornering and/or sports oriented car while still remain "some" comfort, get one with double wishbone or multi link rear suspension. not torsion beam slap with an anti roll bar...

This post has been edited by brkli: Sep 21 2021, 05:00 PM
bengm2019
post Sep 21 2021, 05:08 PM

71 posts

No you dont need it for normal everyday driving.

All those strut bars etc do help to a certain extent. But, the real issue is with the spot welding, this is what cause your chassis to flex.

Imho, arb and front strut is enough.
bengm2019
post Sep 21 2021, 05:10 PM

71 posts

QUOTE(brkli @ Sep 21 2021, 04:31 PM)
the reason u see it in those car and not the "normal" edition is not the cost. is because it makes the car uncomfortable. same like lowered ride, low profile tyre and etc..

if it is really good all round, the highest spec car surely will include, just like things like VSC, auto cruise and etc...

also those car price a higher sometimes not because install separate bar or what. is because it is not really mass production like the other (produce in lesser unit) due to the special settings and side installation (lowered ride, larger rim, low profile tyre, reinforce chassis) and this increase the cost..
inb4, if you reall want a stable cornering and/or sports oriented car while still remain "some" comfort, get one with double wishbone or multi link rear suspension. not torsion beam slap with an anti roll bar...
Regarding suspension... No, you do not need multilink nor double wishbone. Torsion beam works very well, esp. With a watts-link. One of the best eg. Is the chevrolet cruze.
InitialB
post Sep 21 2021, 05:11 PM

700 posts

Buat chasis rosak je....

Highway sini 110km/j, normal road 70-80km/j, suburb road 60km/j , Bridge 70-80km/j, before toll 90km/j , after toll 90km/j

Berape laju boleh pi? Need ultra racing?
boonwuilow
post Sep 21 2021, 05:12 PM

Diesel rocks
3,836 posts

For me I will go with bilstein b8 and superpro polyethylene control arm bush
h4r8_kIlLeR
post Sep 21 2021, 05:12 PM

89 posts

kereta kalau roll tu mcm mana? what does ARB actually do? force push the tyre down for consistent contact to ground?
OlengSam
post Sep 21 2021, 05:13 PM

If ur car is b segment or price lower than 90k okla

Dsegment or conti...i dun think so got ppl install
MR_alien
post Sep 21 2021, 05:14 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,582 posts

QUOTE(brkli @ Sep 21 2021, 04:31 PM)

u sure about that

u have to know how stingy car manufacturer are
they're so stingy, they're willing to remove 1 or 4 roof handle just because it cost them extra few RM(u can also say it's not needed laugh.gif )
but it's the same concept
knowing how expensive those bar are, they're not gonna put it in unless necessary to maximize profit

and having a bar on doesn't make it "unconfortable"...it just made it flex a lot less
comparing a car with lots of body roll vs a car with less body roll..which one is more uncomfortable? laugh.gif

This post has been edited by MR_alien: Sep 21 2021, 05:16 PM
misaka
post Sep 21 2021, 05:15 PM

452 posts

Proton saga ada free anti roll bar
Error404
post Sep 21 2021, 05:16 PM

236 posts

IccyAsd
post Sep 21 2021, 05:19 PM

846 posts

QUOTE(Error404 @ Sep 21 2021, 05:16 PM)

After full set of UR, the car became a tank LOL
LTZ
post Sep 21 2021, 05:23 PM

36 posts

Did that to my previous CRV but took off back.... too stiff sakit buntut
qsub
post Sep 21 2021, 05:23 PM

110 posts

Lol, human error, over confidence
brkli
post Sep 21 2021, 05:26 PM

592 posts

QUOTE(MR_alien @ Sep 21 2021, 05:14 PM)
u sure about that

u have to know how stingy car manufacturer are
they're so stingy, they're willing to remove 1 or 4 roof handle just because it cost them extra few RM(u can also say it's not needed laugh.gif )
but it's the same concept
knowing how expensive those bar are, they're not gonna put it in unless necessary to maximize profit

and having a bar on doesn't make it "unconfortable"...it just made it flex a lot less
comparing a car with lots of body roll vs a car with less body roll..which one is more uncomfortable?
obviously you do not really know the whole thing on "adding a bar" to a torsion beam suspension. the so call body roll is when u do cornering, when the left and right suspension are unequal, the anti roll bar help to balance by adding a "stiffer" link between those 2.. but if u not cornering, and drive on straight malaysia uneven road, then it would be harder for the suspension to move freely due to a stiff bar connecting the left and right (same thing with you change to harder suspension or spring) and then u are the one to absorb it and hence the uncomfortable..

if you can reduce body roll during cornering and at the same time improve comfort(especially driving on uneven roads) by having stiff suspension or making the suspension "stiffer" with a torsion beam, I think u can go an patent it, surely can go rich..

This post has been edited by brkli: Sep 21 2021, 05:29 PM
Error404
post Sep 21 2021, 05:28 PM

236 posts

QUOTE(qsub @ Sep 21 2021, 05:23 PM)
I would say combination of all, lousy driver, sampan car and sampah bar
gooddays2020
post Sep 21 2021, 05:30 PM

66 posts

QUOTE(misaka @ Sep 21 2021, 05:15 PM)
Proton saga ada free anti roll bar
That one i think is front struct bar
brkli
post Sep 21 2021, 05:31 PM

592 posts

QUOTE(qsub @ Sep 21 2021, 05:23 PM)
more like human stupidity. they think they are smarter than the automotive engineer who design the car for normal commute use, not track/racing use..
ihavenoidea
post Sep 21 2021, 05:34 PM

1,301 posts

QUOTE(h4r8_kIlLeR @ Sep 21 2021, 05:12 PM)
kereta kalau roll tu mcm mana?  what does ARB actually do? force push the tyre down for consistent contact to ground?
you know early generation myvi? those came from factory without anti roll bar.. faham2 la right

i think some people dont know that alot of car came with factory anti roll bar. aftermarket roll bar are thicker ja.

This post has been edited by ihavenoidea: Sep 21 2021, 05:36 PM
metalfire
post Sep 21 2021, 05:34 PM

1,310 posts

got stage 1 cukup already
Gigabit
post Sep 21 2021, 05:35 PM

273 posts

If install in Axia, really can see difference...car more stable while driving in highway...cornering more planted
FlamingFox
post Sep 21 2021, 05:38 PM

o(@_@)o
1,344 posts

Installed on Myvi, a world of difference, definitely not placebo.

But the butt hurts because it makes the car very stiff.
Jenn77
post Sep 21 2021, 05:40 PM

Look Ma' Im Flyin! Gee~
3,121 posts

QUOTE(brkli @ Sep 21 2021, 05:26 PM)
obviously you do not really know the whole thing on "adding a bar" to a torsion beam suspension. the so call body roll is when u do cornering, when the left and right suspension are unequal, the anti roll bar help to balance by adding a "stiffer" link between those 2.. but if u not cornering, and drive on straight malaysia uneven road, then it would be harder for the suspension to move freely due to a stiff bar connecting the left and right (same thing with you change to harder suspension or spring) and then u are the one to absorb it and hence the uncomfortable..

if you can reduce body roll during cornering and at the same time improve comfort(especially driving on uneven roads) by having stiff suspension or making the suspension "stiffer" with a torsion beam, I think u can go an patent it, surely can go rich..
layman understanding.. sounds like it is intentional? i mean u *cant be sitting straight while car is moving like not possible.. sad.gif

This post has been edited by Jenn77: Sep 21 2021, 05:40 PM
Doomsday
post Sep 21 2021, 05:41 PM

keluarpattern dupe slayer
2,491 posts

Install on mpv will improve handling abit? Felt like sampan when pek cornar.
Zot
post Sep 21 2021, 05:42 PM

7,938 posts

Even if the car don't roll, your body senget also smile.gif
jaycee1
post Sep 21 2021, 05:48 PM

AFK
2,487 posts

Good god. The amount of misinformation on this thread is crazy.

Anti roll bars are attached to the bottom of your control arms. When one side leans on cornering load, the opposite pushes in inside wheel down. This helps limit roll...but also makes the suspension "less independent" (since you tied your suspension together). Yes a bigger antiroll bar can impact ride comfort and could also make the car handle too sharply for inexperienced drivers on the road.

These ultra bars are chassis stiffeners. They are not anti roll bars.

Do they work? Yes. A stiffer chassis will handle better as it takes the works of the suspension from dealing with chassis flex.

However it is usually useless for road cars. Some chassis flex is needed for comfort. If you need chassis stiffening like this for your old car, likely all the chassis welds are broken. Better buy a new car instead.

Really if you really must add these things, a front 3 point tower brace and rear strut brace is all you need....any more you better weld in a roll cage.

Manufacturers are trying to make cars as light as possible and we keep on adding in more weight.
lordgamer3
post Sep 21 2021, 05:50 PM

848 posts

Of course it does bit stiffer ride, i prefer leave car as stock as possible .
brkli
post Sep 21 2021, 06:01 PM

592 posts

QUOTE(jaycee1 @ Sep 21 2021, 05:48 PM)

Anti roll bars are attached to the bottom of your control arms. When one side leans on cornering load, the opposite pushes in inside wheel down. This helps limit roll...but also makes the suspension "less independent" (since you tied your suspension together). Yes a bigger antiroll bar can impact ride comfort and could also make the car handle too sharply for inexperienced drivers on the road.

Do they work? Yes. A stiffer chassis will handle better as it takes the works of the suspension from dealing with chassis flex.

However it is usually useless for road cars. Some chassis flex is needed for comfort. If you need chassis stiffening like this for your old car, likely all the chassis welds are broken. Better buy a new car instead.

Really if you really must add these things, a front 3 point tower brace and rear strut brace is all you need....any more you better weld in a roll cage.

Manufacturers are trying to make cars as light as possible and we keep on adding in more weight.
yup, add more bars and weight to car, drive and corner like maniac.. then complain why no comfort, no fuel economy..

This post has been edited by brkli: Sep 21 2021, 06:02 PM
code10
post Sep 21 2021, 06:11 PM

145 posts

If you pek corners here & there, everyday like takumi...then install the bars.

If not, use money to install nicer ICE.
Jedi
post Sep 21 2021, 06:28 PM

Pax Et Bonum
2,245 posts

QUOTE(jaycee1 @ Sep 21 2021, 05:48 PM)

yeah fark msian and the H T N jap shits for making cars lighter and lighter, with msians drivers esp gen Y and Z kopi lesen style, the mortality and morbidity from accident is very high in our country.

because of all these discounts of steels

This post has been edited by Jedi: Sep 21 2021, 06:29 PM
jaycee1
post Sep 23 2021, 04:22 PM

AFK
2,487 posts

QUOTE(Jedi @ Sep 21 2021, 06:28 PM)
yeah fark msian and the H  T  N jap shits for making cars lighter and lighter, with msians drivers esp gen Y and Z kopi lesen style, the mortality and morbidity from accident is very high in our country.

because of all these discounts of steels
Yet you complain old car no power and makan minyak.

Cars now are generally safer than tin Milos of yesteryear.safety equipment and stronger steels actually adds weight, but kept in check or balanced by new materials and construction methods.

Remember the old saga was under 800kg and the wira under 1000kg for the lightest models. They were far far lighter then. Same goes to other 80s Honda's and Toyota's which where just over 1T for equivalent models.

amboi_asamboi
post Dec 1 2023, 11:46 PM

226 posts

I look at the tayar i wanna laugh 😂

0.0570sec    0.51    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 06:53 AM