Dell Refurbished Monitors Review., Gathering reviews & information.

TSpurplecarrotjuice
post Sep 17 2021, 12:52 PM, updated 5y ago

25 posts

Does anyone has experience with buying Dell Refurbished Monitors?

From their Official Outlet Store (online?)

or

From shopee/lazada/lelong/mudah/carousell/etc.

mind sharing your experience with the product over the duration of the usage?
any faults/defects/condition of the items bought?

they offer 3 years warranty now, what does that really cover as compared to the new ones?
sammm33
post Sep 17 2021, 10:37 PM

684 posts

You must realize buying such is more or less a gamble

Good luck = the one you bought last

Bad luck= won't last or worst case scenario, item break the same day it reach

Your call.
zerorating
post Sep 17 2021, 10:52 PM

Miskin Adab
975 posts

in my opinion, dont.
lcd monitor are something is always broke on me,there are too many point of failure (backlight leds suddenly not lit, cabling wear, electronic/driver going kaput,dead/stuck pixel, fragile lcd panel)

that probably one of the reason why manufacturer hardly qoute backlit lifespan anymore, because it will be damn hard to reach that lifespan qoute. to me if the lcd monitor can exceed those 3 year warranty period is already considered very good.

This post has been edited by zerorating: Sep 17 2021, 10:54 PM
Chanwsan
post Sep 17 2021, 10:59 PM

सोहम
1,406 posts

If buying from official store then the chance of anything going wrong is minimal. The panel for refurbished unit, as the name suggests, should be refurbished and displays just nicely like new unit. The body may or may not have cosmetic damage. But then it is usually the electronics that will die first, and I'm not sure if they actually touch up on the electronics or not before putting it up for sale as refurb unit. I guess you get what you pay for.

Anyway, since they can offer 3 years warranty, I suppose it will last at least 3 years before going kaput. Do read their warranty policy for refurb displays, should be available on the official site.
metalfire
post Sep 17 2021, 11:06 PM

1,310 posts

If you have the time and/or budget constraint then go look for it, plenty of refurbished sellers out there. But do be careful and put your keen eye forward to detect anormalies. Also do check out their range of prices from 17" 19" 22" 23" 24" 27".

good luck hunting.
TSpurplecarrotjuice
post Sep 17 2021, 11:32 PM

25 posts

QUOTE(sammm33 @ Sep 17 2021, 10:37 PM)
You must realize buying such is more or less a gamble

Good luck = the one you bought last

Bad luck= won't last or worst case scenario, item break the same day it reach

Your call.
when the new one is 37.5% more expensive.
really not sure whether i should gamble on this just for that saving.

played gacha games lately that gave me a gambling addiction which shown me my luck.
and it's telling me not to gamble on it.
netmatrix
post Sep 17 2021, 11:35 PM

The machine... it sees everything.
6,733 posts

3 years... Tipu lah. Usually items repaired with used/ reclaimed/ recycled parts at max is 3 months. Official channel from most own brand repairs are expensive and only 3 years. Unless the said part is fully brand new, they might offer 1 year at most.
TSpurplecarrotjuice
post Sep 17 2021, 11:56 PM

25 posts

QUOTE(zerorating @ Sep 17 2021, 10:52 PM)
in my opinion, dont.
lcd monitor are something is always broke on me,there are too many point of failure (backlight leds suddenly not lit, cabling wear, electronic/driver going kaput,dead/stuck pixel, fragile lcd panel)

that probably one of the reason why manufacturer hardly qoute backlit lifespan anymore, because it will be damn hard to reach that lifespan qoute. to me if the lcd monitor can exceed those 3 year warranty period is already considered very good.
using my 22" dell monitors since 2015 until now.
almost 6 years.

bought them from low yat mall and couldn't seem to register the warranty back then.
now only i realised that it may have been a grey import.

but anyways that has already sort of boosted my confidence in dell monitors.
with the price difference between the refurbished and new ones, i am seriously considering my options.

This post has been edited by purplecarrotjuice: Sep 17 2021, 11:58 PM
knwong
post Sep 17 2021, 11:58 PM

3,567 posts

I bought Dell Ultrasharp 27’ refurbished monitor last May for RM2.1k. Retail cost RM2.8k but unfortunately was sold out at that time. Comes with 3 years warranty - confirmed by Dell chat person and also stated on receipt

No defect found on my monitor when arrive. I use it for 7-8 hrs a day, WFH. Performing very well until today. Very satisfied with this purchase
galapago
post Sep 18 2021, 12:12 AM

38 posts

QUOTE(purplecarrotjuice @ Sep 17 2021, 12:52 PM)
Does anyone has experience with buying Dell Refurbished Monitors?

From their Official Outlet Store (online?)

or

From shopee/lazada/lelong/mudah/carousell/etc.
mind sharing your experience with the product over the duration of the usage?
any faults/defects/condition of the items bought?

they offer 3 years warranty now, what does that really cover as compared to the new ones?
Bought twice from dell factory outlet online , just chat and they will assist you.
First is 1 year warranty, Second is with 3 year warranty & advance exchange service meaning the monitor can be exchange even with single dead pixel.

Both unit reflected in my Dell account ,no defects and both are actually new unit (cancellation) & packed differently with brown box.

Save your money and get from dell factory outlet.

TSpurplecarrotjuice
post Sep 18 2021, 01:38 AM

25 posts

QUOTE(Chanwsan @ Sep 17 2021, 10:59 PM)
If buying from official store then the chance of anything going wrong is minimal. The panel for refurbished unit, as the name suggests, should be refurbished and displays just nicely like new unit. The body may or may not have cosmetic damage. But then it is usually the electronics that will die first, and I'm not sure if they actually touch up on the electronics or not before putting it up for sale as refurb unit. I guess you get what you pay for.

Anyway, since they can offer 3 years warranty, I suppose it will last at least 3 years before going kaput. Do read their warranty policy for refurb displays, should be available on the official site.
is paying extra 37.5% more for possibly less worries in the period after the warranty worth it? (for new units i mean)

that being said, i can't seem to find more specific details about the refurbished items' warranties in their official site.
TSpurplecarrotjuice
post Sep 18 2021, 01:40 AM

25 posts

QUOTE(metalfire @ Sep 17 2021, 11:06 PM)
If you have the time and/or budget constraint then go look for it, plenty of refurbished sellers out there. But do be careful and put your keen eye forward to detect anormalies. Also do check out their range of prices from 17" 19" 22" 23" 24" 27".

good luck hunting.
hunting refurbished monitors in stores/malls is a nightmare.
tried doing so once and will never do it again.

searching for them online is more fruitful but with the reviews of online stores that i've found here;
it is very risky and somehow not worth it i think.

TSpurplecarrotjuice
post Sep 18 2021, 01:45 AM

25 posts

QUOTE(knwong @ Sep 17 2021, 11:58 PM)
I bought Dell Ultrasharp 27’ refurbished monitor last May for RM2.1k. Retail cost RM2.8k but unfortunately was sold out at that time. Comes with 3 years warranty - confirmed by Dell chat person and also stated on receipt

No defect found on my monitor when arrive. I use it for 7-8 hrs a day, WFH. Performing very  well until today. Very satisfied with this purchase
so it has been almost 5 months for yours now?
need to see how long it can hold up.
the real test comes after the 3 years warranty period.

i'll use for work/browsing/casual gaming.
almost 18+ hours a day.
so i am very concern about it, especially in the long run.
eriklim
post Sep 18 2021, 01:47 AM

82 posts

i bought my S2419HGF via outlet previously. it was a cancellation unit rather than refurbished. all good so far, i also purchased additional warranty to max it out.

by Dell Outlet i meant Dell Outlethttps://www.dell.com/en-my/outlet

This post has been edited by eriklim: Sep 18 2021, 01:48 AM
TSpurplecarrotjuice
post Sep 18 2021, 01:49 AM

25 posts

QUOTE(galapago @ Sep 18 2021, 12:12 AM)
Bought twice from dell factory outlet online , just chat and they will assist you.
First is 1 year warranty, Second is with 3 year warranty & advance exchange service meaning the monitor can be exchange even with single dead pixel.

Both unit reflected in my Dell account ,no defects and both are actually new unit (cancellation) & packed differently with brown box.

Save your money and get from dell factory outlet.
how long have you been using them?
all still ok far?

you're lucky to have the cancellation units for those models that you want.
the ones that i'm looking for doesn't have these type of condition items.
they only come in refurbished ones.
which i can't seem to find any reviews for them anywhere.
kinda suspicious so that's why i'm asking here hopefully for some answers.
metalfire
post Sep 18 2021, 01:51 AM

1,310 posts

QUOTE(purplecarrotjuice @ Sep 18 2021, 01:40 AM)
hunting refurbished monitors in stores/malls is a nightmare.
tried doing so once and will never do it again.

searching for them online is more fruitful but with the reviews of online stores that i've found here;
it is very risky and somehow not worth it i think.
You just haven't found a reliable refurbished store yet. Besides it's refurbished, so don't put too much high hopes as in brand new. Just get a useable one and if it lasts more than 6 months, good enough.
I have bought 3 monitors refurbished, and all still working till now. Especially for company use, when a good batch arrives, just get the whole lot...when broke down, get another one.
TSpurplecarrotjuice
post Sep 18 2021, 02:02 AM

25 posts

QUOTE(metalfire @ Sep 18 2021, 01:51 AM)
You just haven't found a reliable refurbished store yet. Besides it's refurbished, so don't put too much high hopes as in brand new. Just get a useable one and if it lasts more than 6 months, good enough.
I have bought 3 monitors refurbished, and all still working till now. Especially for company use, when a good batch arrives, just get the whole lot...when broke down, get another one.
i guess refurbished ones from local physical stores is a different kind of story.
being without the warranty and such.
and buying for company use, it doesn't really matter does it haha.
i'm planning to buy for my own use and i will definitely won't buy so many of it.

how long has your 3 refurbished monitor lasted?
for more than 6 months already i bet.

TSpurplecarrotjuice
post Sep 18 2021, 02:09 AM

25 posts

QUOTE(eriklim @ Sep 18 2021, 01:47 AM)
i bought my S2419HGF via outlet previously. it was a cancellation unit rather than refurbished. all good so far, i also purchased additional warranty to max it out.

by Dell Outlet i meant Dell Outlethttps://www.dell.com/en-my/outlet
guess you are one of those lucky ones to find what you want under their cancellation condition units.

how long has your monitor been serving you ?
past the maxed out 5 years warranty?

also about the warranty upgrades;
was it the same premium and pro support premium options?
similar to the ones available for the new ones?

This post has been edited by purplecarrotjuice: Sep 18 2021, 02:12 AM
metalfire
post Sep 18 2021, 02:13 AM

1,310 posts

QUOTE(purplecarrotjuice @ Sep 18 2021, 02:02 AM)
i guess refurbished ones from local physical stores is a different kind of story.
being without the warranty and such.
and buying for company use, it doesn't really matter does it haha.
i'm planning to buy for my own use and i will definitely won't buy so many of it.

how long has your 3 refurbished monitor lasted?
for more than 6 months already i bet.
Personal use got Dell 15" square and 17" square which are more than 5 years in service. I have some really old PCs anyway, so I'm not too bothered.

Wanted to get 19" square couple of years back when companies were recycling out but didn't have any place to let go of the 15" and 17".

The other is 24" LG with the D-Sub connector which is still good to go.

This post has been edited by metalfire: Sep 18 2021, 02:17 AM
YoungMan
post Sep 18 2021, 11:50 AM

6,827 posts

If you want to buy refurbished, buy from official store. Chat with the Dell sales to find out on warranty. If you buy from shopee/lazada then it's a gamble as anything happen you may not be able to find back seller. If indeed 3 years warranty, to me it is a good deal. Even back in 2016 I bought a new monitor, also comes with 3 years warranty. Good enough for my old PC and it lasted until now.

This post has been edited by YoungMan: Sep 18 2021, 11:52 AM

0.0222sec    1.36    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 02:13 PM