[2021] The New iPad 9th Gen Discussion Thread | V1

TSwestlife
post Sep 15 2021, 01:06 AM, updated 4y ago

14,312 posts

Now with A13 Bionic chip, up from A12. 20% faster performance in CPU, GPU, and Neural Engine. Up to 3x faster than top-selling Chromebook, 6x faster than top-selling Android tablets.

This post has been edited by westlife: Oct 19 2021, 11:15 PM
Jason
post Sep 15 2021, 03:27 AM

6,356 posts

I buy. For media consumption. Want the bigger screen but for sure iPad mini is a bargain for the spec.

A13 is still fast. Lucky Apple upgraded the processor. Gonna get the silver.

Edit: had a second look at iPad mini. Edge to edge display. Actually the form factor is really good for screen to body ratio.

This post has been edited by Jason: Sep 15 2021, 04:40 AM
westley0214
post Sep 15 2021, 08:55 AM

860 posts

Tried to order but still not available at Apple Store. Anyway it's such a good value for this iPad 9 especially with the major front camera upgrade.
T09
post Sep 15 2021, 12:02 PM

The Kopite
2,194 posts

QUOTE(westley0214 @ Sep 15 2021, 08:55 AM)
Tried to order but still not available at Apple Store. Anyway it's such a good value for this iPad 9 especially with the major front camera upgrade.
Facetime gotta be 10x clearer than previous iPad! N the entry level is now 64gb at the same price of RM1449. Gotta get get.
westley0214
post Sep 15 2021, 12:13 PM

860 posts

QUOTE(T09 @ Sep 15 2021, 12:02 PM)
Facetime gotta be 10x clearer than previous iPad! N the entry level is now 64gb at the same price of RM1449. Gotta get get.
256 GB with edu price at RM2019 only. Additional 190 GB with just RM 600. Go go go!
T09
post Sep 15 2021, 12:20 PM

The Kopite
2,194 posts

QUOTE(westley0214 @ Sep 15 2021, 12:13 PM)
256 GB with edu price at RM2019 only. Additional 190 GB with just RM 600. Go go go!
lulwut? Although i memang wanna buy for my kid online classes purpose, but how do i get edu price?

For online classes and web browsing, n some netflix/youtube/streaming, i think 64gb enough gua? 256GB overkill nanti dia semua install games duwan study. laugh.gif bruce.gif
Jason
post Sep 15 2021, 12:58 PM

6,356 posts

QUOTE(T09 @ Sep 15 2021, 12:20 PM)
lulwut? Although i memang wanna buy for my kid online classes purpose, but how do i get edu price?

For online classes and web browsing, n some netflix/youtube/streaming, i think 64gb enough gua? 256GB overkill nanti dia semua install games duwan study. laugh.gif  bruce.gif
Google apple education Malaysia

64GB is more than enough for studying and media consumption. Remember many people using 32GB iPad still going strong. Great bargain this year for 64GB base model at RM1499. Now just waiting for Apple store to let me place order.

Gonna get the silver.

EDIT: I need to quickly order the iPad so I won't think about the iPad mini in purple. rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by Jason: Sep 15 2021, 01:09 PM
gxthelord
post Sep 15 2021, 02:47 PM

Tech Enthusiast
2,313 posts

anyone know when they opening the preorder?
kiddokitt
post Sep 15 2021, 09:22 PM

606 posts

This iPad is compatible with the 1st gen Pencil. That means the iPad uses Lightning port?
TSwestlife
post Sep 15 2021, 09:26 PM

14,312 posts

QUOTE(kiddokitt @ Sep 15 2021, 09:22 PM)
This iPad is compatible with the 1st gen Pencil. That means the iPad uses Lightning port?
yes, it is the only ipad now that does not have usb-c but only lightning port.
loonsave
post Sep 15 2021, 09:39 PM

1,635 posts

I believed this iPad don't have 120hz refresh rate. How good is it compare to 10.5" iPad Pro (2017)?
T09
post Sep 16 2021, 11:34 AM

The Kopite
2,194 posts

QUOTE(Jason @ Sep 15 2021, 12:58 PM)
Google apple education Malaysia

64GB is more than enough for studying and media consumption. Remember many people using 32GB iPad still going strong. Great bargain this year for 64GB base model at RM1499. Now just waiting for Apple store to let me place order.

Gonna get the silver.

EDIT: I need to quickly order the iPad so I won't think about the iPad mini in purple.  rclxub.gif
Any condition to be entitled for edu price? Need any prove? If yes, use my kid kindergarten cert can ah?

Oh ya, its now RM1499 for base model iPad, not the previous RM1449, but ok la extra rm50 for that added 32gb. cool2.gif
Barricade
post Sep 16 2021, 01:12 PM

4,166 posts

QUOTE(T09 @ Sep 16 2021, 11:34 AM)
Any condition to be entitled for edu price? Need any prove? If yes, use my kid kindergarten cert can ah?

Oh ya, its now RM1499 for base model iPad, not the previous RM1449, but ok la extra rm50 for that added 32gb. cool2.gif
No need la just buy only. Apple won't ask for any proof. All my macbook and ipad i bought from Education store and save few hundreds. I wonder why got people buy from Machines or resellers confused.gif

Buy directly from Apple is so much better. Any defect when you receive they will swap for you 1 to 1. If buy from reseller, they will ask you to claim warranty instead. whistling.gif
Jason
post Sep 16 2021, 01:13 PM

6,356 posts

QUOTE(T09 @ Sep 16 2021, 11:34 AM)

No need to prove.

Yes it’s a bargain, double the storage for RM50 aiya! Faster processor and True Tone screen.

It’s nothing exciting, nothing worth the rave, but it is the best value. IPad mini costs 50% more but it is not 50% better unless you need to draw on it.

I’m looking for keyboard casing for the iPad already. Can do some light work on it without firing up the laptop.
T09
post Sep 16 2021, 02:52 PM

The Kopite
2,194 posts

fuhhh serious? Thanks @Barricade n @Jason!

I guess people who buy from resellers probably duno about edu price like me, or they wana utilize those platform vouchers which could possibly strike better deal.
vexus
post Sep 16 2021, 10:37 PM

Master of Eatery & Sleeping
6,660 posts

budget ipad better than android pad. hahahaha
silversky1252 P
post Sep 17 2021, 12:08 AM

Probation

I have been very uncertain on getting an iPad or Mi pad 5. Ipad as usual have better software iPadOS but their entry-level model looks ancient with big bezels and non-laminated display. But i heard with an iPad it can easily last you 4-5 years while xiao mi devices tend to last only 2-3 years. Mi Pad 5 really attracts me as it is priced closely to the iPad 9th generation but have 120 hz display and laminated screen.

Which should I choose? My main usage on the tablet will be some light reading and studying using the stylus (no keyboard is needed in the process).
Jason
post Sep 17 2021, 02:16 AM

6,356 posts

QUOTE(vexus @ Sep 16 2021, 10:37 PM)
budget ipad better than android pad. hahahaha
Honestly? Not from a fanboy perspective. YES.
iPad can last very long, and Apple is consistent in providing support to old device until reasonable cut off. And even then the device still performs well. I had a Sony Tablet Z, it was really good, but it didn't age well and Sony didn't provide very good firmware updates. Instead I had to go xda developers to find a firmware that was minimalist without bloatware to get it to work acceptably.

QUOTE(silversky1252 @ Sep 17 2021, 12:08 AM)
I have been very uncertain on getting an iPad or Mi pad 5. Ipad as usual have better software iPadOS but their entry-level model looks ancient with big bezels and non-laminated display. But i heard with an iPad it can easily last you 4-5 years while xiao mi devices tend to last only 2-3 years. Mi Pad 5 really attracts me as it is priced closely to the iPad 9th generation but have 120 hz display and laminated screen.

Which should I choose? My main usage on the tablet will be some light reading and studying using the stylus (no keyboard is needed in the process).
Honestly, look at the iPad by itself, don't do side-by-side comparison. Play some YouTube videos, is the non-laminated display an visible issue for you? Does your eyes visually discern that it is subpar and poor quality? I compared my iPhone 11 to iPhone X side by side, playing OLED demo videos by LG on YouTube. Side by side, I can easily see the X has superior contrast ratio.

The next day, using my iPhone 11, KNOWING the iPhone X can perform better. Did it bother me? Nope.

Basically, it is up to you if you discern any noticeable difference, and if you want to pay more for it. It is better, but does it matter to you?

If you need to draw, iPad Mini is better as it uses the more 2nd gen pencil
NXaqua
post Sep 17 2021, 11:57 AM

921 posts

QUOTE(Barricade @ Sep 16 2021, 01:12 PM)
No need la just buy only. Apple won't ask for any proof. All my macbook and ipad i bought from Education store and save few hundreds. I wonder why got people buy from Machines  or resellers :confused:

Buy directly from Apple is so much better. Any defect when you receive they will swap for you 1 to 1. If buy from reseller, they will ask you to claim warranty instead.  whistling.gif
Hi Barricade,

Thanks for your info on purchasing from Education store.
I intend to get a 256GB with their pencil or keyboard.

By the way, would there be any internal limitation control by Apple on the unit, since we might use it for browsing , or Internet banking and etc.

Thanks again.
Barricade
post Sep 17 2021, 02:05 PM

4,166 posts

QUOTE(NXaqua @ Sep 17 2021, 11:57 AM)
Hi Barricade,

Thanks for your info on purchasing from Education store.
I intend to get a 256GB with their pencil or keyboard.

By the way, would there be any internal  limitation control by Apple on the unit, since we might use it for browsing , or Internet banking and etc.

Thanks again.
Same hardware.
mickeysew814
post Sep 17 2021, 03:35 PM

380 posts

Anyone have idea on the A13 chip? it mentioned it's an upgraded A13 chip. It is means it's performance is better than previous A13 chip?
Jason
post Sep 23 2021, 10:57 AM

6,356 posts

Still not available to order.

I bought my Smart Keyboard for the iPad and I received the keyboard already lol.

Gonna use it for Zoom calls, browsing and work. I have a feeling it’s going to be able to replace the laptop for most light tasks.
T09
post Sep 24 2021, 02:56 PM

The Kopite
2,194 posts

QUOTE(Jason @ Sep 23 2021, 10:57 AM)
Still not available to order.

I bought my Smart Keyboard for the iPad and I received the keyboard already lol.

Gonna use it for Zoom calls, browsing and work. I have a feeling it’s going to be able to replace the laptop for most light tasks.
fuhh laju. How much damage yo? Still waiting for PO too, now u got me thinking should i get the keyboard too.

I think your laptop will definitely be dusted until some heavy task required. laugh.gif
BacktoBasics
post Sep 25 2021, 09:30 AM

1,802 posts

QUOTE(T09 @ Sep 15 2021, 12:02 PM)
Is 64gb sufficient ? How much space does the iOS system takes?
trapezohedron13
post Sep 26 2021, 12:59 AM

703 posts

Is this powerful enough to handle teams/meet/zoom calls with 50-100 participants?
Jason
post Sep 26 2021, 01:00 AM

6,356 posts

QUOTE(T09 @ Sep 24 2021, 02:56 PM)
fuhh laju. How much damage yo? Still waiting for PO too, now u got me thinking should i get the keyboard too.

I think your laptop will definitely be dusted until some heavy task required. laugh.gif
RRP RM650 iirc

Got from my friend no box RM450
apple recognize the s/n so don't bother lah as long as it works. 650 a bit expensive about half the price of the ipad.
ToniV
post Sep 27 2021, 02:40 AM

2,374 posts

QUOTE(mickeysew814 @ Sep 17 2021, 03:35 PM)
Anyone have idea on the A13 chip? it mentioned it's an upgraded A13 chip. It is means it's performance is better than previous A13 chip?
Same A13 chipset. Upgraded meaning from A12 to A13. 20% improved performance from A12
eikozai
post Sep 27 2021, 08:11 PM

1,120 posts

Guy, any estimated date this will release in our shore?

This post has been edited by eikozai: Sep 27 2021, 08:11 PM
cringe
post Sep 27 2021, 10:49 PM

330 posts

QUOTE(eikozai @ Sep 27 2021, 08:11 PM)
Guy, any estimated date this will release in our shore?
Spoke with 1 of the IT World staff. The staff mentioned around 8 or 9 October 2021.
But still unconfirmed
Jason
post Sep 28 2021, 11:52 AM

6,356 posts

QUOTE(cringe @ Sep 27 2021, 10:49 PM)
Spoke with 1 of the IT World staff. The staff mentioned around 8 or 9 October 2021.
But still unconfirmed
Thanks. Seems realistic. But man, such a long wait.

This post has been edited by Jason: Sep 28 2021, 11:52 AM
ToniV
post Sep 29 2021, 01:23 AM

2,374 posts

QUOTE(Jason @ Sep 28 2021, 11:52 AM)
Thanks. Seems realistic. But man, such a long wait.
Are you getting the 64gb or 256gb model?
Jason
post Sep 29 2021, 02:20 AM

6,356 posts

QUOTE(ToniV @ Sep 29 2021, 01:23 AM)
Are you getting the 64gb or 256gb model?
64GB

Reason being..not going to use it for photos or videos. Streaming YouTube. Studying and working so that involves emails and google docs... really not going to store any files on it. Previously for 8th Gen, 32GB...I may upgrade..but 64GB is more than sufficient.
ToniV
post Sep 29 2021, 05:01 AM

2,374 posts

QUOTE(Jason @ Sep 29 2021, 02:20 AM)
64GB

Reason being..not going to use it for photos or videos. Streaming YouTube. Studying and working so that involves emails and google docs... really not going to store any files on it. Previously for 8th Gen, 32GB...I may upgrade..but 64GB is more than sufficient.
Im planning to get the 256gb but uncertain whether will be used. Probably will download plenty offline content on youtube and netflix.
cringe
post Sep 29 2021, 03:33 PM

330 posts

QUOTE(ToniV @ Sep 29 2021, 05:01 AM)
Im planning to get the 256gb but uncertain whether will be used. Probably will download plenty offline content on youtube and netflix.
Apple is really clever. 8th gen Ipad they sell 128gb version, but the latest 9th gen Ipad, they sell it 256gb and increase more price due to the storage.

8th gen Ipad 128Gb version selling below RM2K. biggrin.gif

I decided to get 9th gen Ipad instead of Ipad Mini 6, but still unsure whether I should buy 64gb or 256gb version. The price differences are really a lot. RM1.5k and RM2149. sweat.gif rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by cringe: Sep 29 2021, 03:33 PM
ToniV
post Sep 29 2021, 04:49 PM

2,374 posts

QUOTE(cringe @ Sep 29 2021, 03:33 PM)
Apple is really clever. 8th gen Ipad they sell 128gb version, but the latest 9th gen Ipad, they sell it 256gb and increase more price due to the storage.

8th gen Ipad 128Gb version selling below RM2K. biggrin.gif

I decided to get 9th gen Ipad instead of Ipad Mini 6, but still unsure whether I should buy 64gb or 256gb version. The price differences are really a lot. RM1.5k and RM2149.  sweat.gif  rclxub.gif
Same dilemma. Im just trying to convince myself that the 128gb ipad 8 cost rm18++ so the increase in price for 256gb ipad 9th gen justifies for the chipset, storage and the camera. So that's why i might grab the 256gb model insteas of the 64gb.
piscesguy
post Sep 30 2021, 07:59 AM

私の名前はりゅうです
3,965 posts

with 3GB ram it is NOT ideal for multitask.

don't buy,
ToniV
post Sep 30 2021, 10:19 AM

2,374 posts

QUOTE(piscesguy @ Sep 30 2021, 07:59 AM)
with 3GB ram it is NOT ideal for multitask.

don't buy,
Im not familiar with ipad ram managements. But in reviews seems good for multitask.
piscesguy
post Sep 30 2021, 12:42 PM

私の名前はりゅうです
3,965 posts

QUOTE(ToniV @ Sep 30 2021, 10:19 AM)
Im not familiar with ipad ram managements. But in reviews seems good for multitask.
I m using iPhone 11, 4gb ram is just enough.

For iPad, u definitely need 4gm ram and above.
ToniV
post Sep 30 2021, 04:47 PM

2,374 posts

QUOTE(piscesguy @ Sep 30 2021, 12:42 PM)
I m using iPhone 11, 4gb ram is just enough.

For iPad, u definitely need 4gm ram and above.
Thanks for the input. Will look into it.
tungfunglaw
post Oct 2 2021, 12:02 AM

259 posts

Anyone knows when is the tentative date this will be available?

eikozai
post Oct 4 2021, 06:08 PM

1,120 posts

QUOTE(tungfunglaw @ Oct 2 2021, 12:02 AM)
Probably open for order in late October for Malaysia market.
Another thing is, current waiting time for first world country is at 4-5 weeks, hence be prepared to wait fro another month after placed order.

Earliest estimation of getting 1 on hand would be somewhere early December.

I'm waiting to get this as well for the boys online classes.

This post has been edited by eikozai: Oct 4 2021, 06:08 PM
wadname
post Oct 7 2021, 11:00 AM

20 posts

QUOTE(tungfunglaw @ Oct 2 2021, 12:02 AM)
It is available to order now at Apple Online Store. Delivery is date is next Tuesday for KL area.

Skeuomorphic
post Oct 7 2021, 11:30 AM

671 posts

QUOTE(wadname @ Oct 7 2021, 11:00 AM)
It is available to order now at Apple Online Store. Delivery is date is next Tuesday for KL area.

hopefully switch or machines also announce the new ipad availability next week

This post has been edited by Skeuomorphic: Oct 7 2021, 11:31 AM
ante5k
post Oct 7 2021, 11:39 AM

Antediluvian
1,173 posts

Any difference if we use the Apple education to purchase ? Price cheaper by rm99.
Mavik
post Oct 7 2021, 02:11 PM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(wadname @ Oct 7 2021, 11:00 AM)

Thanks for the heads up! Just ordered it and hopefully, it arrives just in time for my dad's birthday. Got the delivery date scheduled for the 12th of October.
St. Teh
post Oct 7 2021, 02:33 PM

266 posts

Just done the order, shall be receiving by 12/10. Past purchased I used to get it earlier than the stipulated date
ante5k
post Oct 7 2021, 02:33 PM

Antediluvian
1,173 posts

QUOTE(ante5k @ Oct 7 2021, 11:39 AM)
Any difference if we use the Apple education to purchase  ?  Price cheaper by rm99.
I ordered using the education store for my kid. Schedule to arrive on 13 Oct. it didn’t ask for anything.
St. Teh
post Oct 7 2021, 02:35 PM

266 posts

QUOTE(ante5k @ Oct 7 2021, 02:33 PM)
I ordered using the education store for my kid. Schedule to arrive on 13 Oct. it didn’t ask for anything.
I got my MacBookPro via education store too, 3 years passed no question from Apple
cringe
post Oct 7 2021, 03:07 PM

330 posts

I just placed an order from Apple Website. smile.gif

I went to Machines Setia City Mall this morning and they still not open preorder. Thank god I checked this thread.

This post has been edited by cringe: Oct 7 2021, 03:08 PM
ToniV
post Oct 7 2021, 03:24 PM

2,374 posts

Anyone knows whether this ipad able to connect to hard disks? Or usb 3.0 flash drives?

This post has been edited by ToniV: Oct 7 2021, 06:35 PM
daninnjx P
post Oct 7 2021, 04:39 PM

Probation

QUOTE(wadname @ Oct 6 2021, 05:00 PM)

not anymore. I think any orders past 3pm are due to arrive late october/early november, for the 64gb wifi only models. Kinda bummed about it as I needed it for school. Anyone knows if the estimates are accurate? has anyone gotten it earlier than what is shown? sad.gif

contestchris
post Oct 7 2021, 05:30 PM

5,582 posts

Damn need to wait 2 months now!
cringe
post Oct 7 2021, 05:58 PM

330 posts

QUOTE(daninnjx @ Oct 7 2021, 04:39 PM)
not anymore. I think any orders past 3pm are due to arrive late october/early november, for the 64gb wifi only models. Kinda bummed about it as I needed it for school. Anyone knows if the estimates are accurate? has anyone gotten it earlier than what is shown? sad.gif

That's quite a long wait to be honest
gxthelord
post Oct 7 2021, 07:19 PM

Tech Enthusiast
2,313 posts

I also joined in late aiya sad.gif checked around 8am but didnt checked in noon sadding
Barricade
post Oct 7 2021, 07:49 PM

4,166 posts

Nice….. ordered 64gb education price for my kid. Daddy of course use iPad Pro 😅
AhJian
post Oct 7 2021, 08:02 PM

174 posts

QUOTE(ToniV @ Sep 30 2021, 10:19 AM)
I would say... Apple has iPadOS optimize for its product.
Nothing to worry about the RAM.
St. Teh
post Oct 7 2021, 09:09 PM

266 posts

I kinda surprised, so many orders for iPad, the hype shd be with iPad Mini this round
daninnjx P
post Oct 7 2021, 09:22 PM

Probation

QUOTE(cringe @ Oct 6 2021, 11:58 PM)
That's quite a long wait to be honest
checked sg and thai stores. appears to be for all the asian stores la. i guess the first batch is first come first server. kinda bummed but it is what is is
Skeuomorphic
post Oct 7 2021, 09:39 PM

671 posts

QUOTE(St. Teh @ Oct 7 2021, 09:09 PM)
I kinda surprised, so many orders for iPad, the hype shd be with iPad Mini this round
It is, see ipad mini thread. More orders there than here
eikozai
post Oct 8 2021, 12:58 AM

1,120 posts

Late to order. I tot Friday only open for order, delivery 4-5 weeks now. Lol.
cringe
post Oct 8 2021, 08:19 AM

330 posts

QUOTE(eikozai @ Oct 8 2021, 12:58 AM)
Late to order. I tot Friday only open for order, delivery 4-5 weeks now. Lol.
Soya Cincau and Lowyat.Net already posted an article on FB page.

I think that's the reason people rush to buy it.
Mavik
post Oct 8 2021, 10:31 AM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(St. Teh @ Oct 7 2021, 09:09 PM)
It's actually a lot of parents buying it for the kids for online learning.
St. Teh
post Oct 8 2021, 12:22 PM

266 posts

Indeed, main reason of my purchase is my kids online class.
iPad Mini a bit too small for online classes
gxthelord
post Oct 8 2021, 03:03 PM

Tech Enthusiast
2,313 posts

QUOTE(St. Teh @ Oct 7 2021, 02:35 PM)
I got my MacBookPro via education store too, 3 years passed no question from Apple
When you check your order now does it shows this?

Mavik
post Oct 8 2021, 05:16 PM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(gxthelord @ Oct 8 2021, 03:03 PM)
When you check your order now does it shows this?

Yes, I get the same image as well. Also the delivery has been pushed back 1 day.
St. Teh
post Oct 8 2021, 05:56 PM

266 posts

I got the shipment notice, if everything goes smooth shall be receiving by Monday
gxthelord
post Oct 8 2021, 06:42 PM

Tech Enthusiast
2,313 posts

QUOTE(Mavik @ Oct 8 2021, 05:16 PM)
Yes, I get the same image as well. Also the delivery has been pushed back 1 day.
Hope no issue with the order also can d. I also noticed they didn't deduct our card. Need wait till they start delivery only will deduct eh
Mavik
post Oct 8 2021, 07:33 PM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(gxthelord @ Oct 8 2021, 06:42 PM)
Hope no issue with the order also can d. I also noticed they didn't deduct our card. Need wait till they start delivery only will deduct eh
That is weird, they deducted my card the moment I checked out from the online store.
gxthelord
post Oct 8 2021, 08:05 PM

Tech Enthusiast
2,313 posts

QUOTE(Mavik @ Oct 8 2021, 07:33 PM)
That is weird, they deducted my card the moment I checked out from the online store.
Interesting :X
Urs is next week arrival?

Mavik
post Oct 8 2021, 09:03 PM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(gxthelord @ Oct 8 2021, 08:05 PM)
Interesting :X
Urs is next week arrival?
Yes, initially 12th October but today it changed to 13th.

This post has been edited by Mavik: Oct 8 2021, 09:05 PM
gxthelord
post Oct 8 2021, 09:14 PM

Tech Enthusiast
2,313 posts

QUOTE(Mavik @ Oct 8 2021, 09:03 PM)
Yes, initially 12th October but today it changed to 13th.

Could be due to first batch also. Look forward for your good news to share here smile.gif
Mavik
post Oct 8 2021, 09:33 PM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(gxthelord @ Oct 8 2021, 09:14 PM)
Could be due to first batch also. Look forward for your good news to share here smile.gif
I need it to arrive before the 15th which is my dad's birthday, the iPad is for him. So fingers crossed that it will arrive on time thumbup.gif
St. Teh
post Oct 8 2021, 10:05 PM

266 posts

QUOTE(Mavik @ Oct 8 2021, 09:33 PM)
I need it to arrive before the 15th which is my dad's birthday, the iPad is for him. So fingers crossed that it will arrive on time  thumbup.gif
No worry. It's UPS, my past experienced with them is they usually will arrive earlier than the date. *cross finger*
cringe
post Oct 8 2021, 10:57 PM

330 posts

Still same status sad.gif

ante5k
post Oct 8 2021, 11:59 PM

Antediluvian
1,173 posts

Any good third party pencil that you all are using ? With palm rejection.
alfiejr
post Oct 9 2021, 05:18 PM

Gaming~
1,294 posts

Hello guys, just want to know, when do will machines and switch be bringing in this model? And do you think the lead time for it to be the same like from the online official store?

If same then i just grab it from the online store then 😅.
cringe
post Oct 10 2021, 11:35 AM

330 posts

QUOTE(alfiejr @ Oct 9 2021, 05:18 PM)
Hello guys, just want to know, when do will machines and switch be bringing in this model? And do you think the lead time for it to be the same like from the online official store?

If same then i just grab it from the online store then 😅.
I went to Machines Setia City Mall, they said will available by November, but still not confirmed on the date
gxthelord
post Oct 10 2021, 03:29 PM

Tech Enthusiast
2,313 posts

anyone here ordered that will estimate nov arrival? If yes did your card get charged yet?
SourLemons
post Oct 11 2021, 02:23 AM

223 posts

QUOTE(gxthelord @ Oct 10 2021, 03:29 PM)
anyone here ordered that will estimate nov arrival? If yes did your card get charged yet?
16/11 no charge yet
BacktoBasics
post Oct 11 2021, 08:50 AM

1,802 posts

hey guys, those who are buying iPad 9th Gen 2021, you guys went for 64 gb or 256 gb variant?

Is 64 gb enough? How much does Ipad OS takes up?
gxthelord
post Oct 11 2021, 10:19 AM

Tech Enthusiast
2,313 posts

QUOTE(SourLemons @ Oct 11 2021, 02:23 AM)
16/11 no charge yet
thanks for sharing. Tot i was the only one. Good to know its the same for other too. smile.gif
gxthelord
post Oct 11 2021, 10:21 AM

Tech Enthusiast
2,313 posts

QUOTE(BacktoBasics @ Oct 11 2021, 08:50 AM)
hey guys, those who are buying iPad 9th Gen 2021, you guys went for 64 gb or 256 gb variant?

if you plan to save alot of files/media content on your device maybe better go for 256gb. Like for me I'm using most of my stuff on the cloud and also streaming netflix/youtube only hence the 64gb shud be more than enough for me. biggrin.gif
SourLemons
post Oct 11 2021, 10:28 AM

223 posts

QUOTE(gxthelord @ Oct 11 2021, 10:19 AM)
thanks for sharing. Tot i was the only one. Good to know its the same for other too. smile.gif
got a feeling it's worst case scenario and the delivery date will be brought up earlier haha
Barricade
post Oct 11 2021, 11:04 AM

4,166 posts

64GB. i have 2TB iCloud storage for my Apple devices so 64GB should be enough.
Mavik
post Oct 11 2021, 11:19 AM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

64Gb version, the iPad is mostly going to be for streaming media content and not really storing them.
gxthelord
post Oct 11 2021, 06:03 PM

Tech Enthusiast
2,313 posts

QUOTE(Mavik @ Oct 11 2021, 11:19 AM)
64Gb version, the iPad is mostly going to be for streaming media content and not really storing them.
Urs any update ah I rmb urs is 2mrw or wed arrive right smile.gif
cringe
post Oct 11 2021, 07:21 PM

330 posts

Finally received sms from Apple.

I hope can receive the Ipad based on the stated date

This post has been edited by cringe: Oct 11 2021, 08:24 PM
St. Teh
post Oct 12 2021, 12:34 PM

266 posts

Item received from UPS, but currently working need to back home only can check
dikae
post Oct 12 2021, 01:09 PM

an apple a day
9,231 posts

Most people opt fo the 64gb so it depends very much on your usage, if it’s for entertainment purpose like games/streaming/google etc then 64 is more than enough, also depends on your budget, if the few hundred bucks is a small thing to you then just grab 256..
Mavik
post Oct 12 2021, 01:42 PM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(gxthelord @ Oct 11 2021, 06:03 PM)
Urs any update ah I rmb urs is 2mrw or wed arrive right smile.gif
I just received an SMS that it will be delivered today.
Mavik
post Oct 12 2021, 02:10 PM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(St. Teh @ Oct 12 2021, 12:34 PM)
Item received from UPS, but currently working need to back home only can check
That's great, I am in the exact same dilemma. Targeted to be delivered later but I am at the office.
Jason
post Oct 12 2021, 03:39 PM

6,356 posts

ETA 18th Oct @ Senheng and Machines
I placed order on Senheng to collect in store... faster than Apple online.

64GB Silver iPad 9th Gen... can't wait
gxthelord
post Oct 12 2021, 07:36 PM

Tech Enthusiast
2,313 posts

Nice ah good to hear 1st batch getting on time Mavik St. Teh

Remember poison pic here later haha
Mavik
post Oct 13 2021, 08:57 AM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(gxthelord @ Oct 12 2021, 07:36 PM)
Nice ah good to hear 1st batch getting on time Mavik St. Teh

Remember poison pic here later haha
Forgot to take pics LOL. Looks the same and only managed to set it up for my dad last night. Time to hunt for a case and screen protector for the iPad.
gxthelord
post Oct 13 2021, 11:58 AM

Tech Enthusiast
2,313 posts

QUOTE(Mavik @ Oct 13 2021, 08:57 AM)
Forgot to take pics LOL. Looks the same and only managed to set it up for my dad last night. Time to hunt for a case and screen protector for the iPad.
Nice ahhh. Congrats on the timely delivery
dikae
post Oct 13 2021, 12:11 PM

an apple a day
9,231 posts

QUOTE(Jason @ Oct 12 2021, 03:39 PM)

nice, normally apple delivers faster than senheng.. thumbsup.gif
Gold_Moderator
post Oct 13 2021, 02:49 PM

3,139 posts

18th is for pre order collection or can walk in direct purchase d ?
Jason
post Oct 13 2021, 04:17 PM

6,356 posts

QUOTE(dikae @ Oct 13 2021, 12:11 PM)
nice, normally apple delivers faster than senheng..  :thumbsup:
It says 4 weeks to 5 weeks on apple website
I’m not willing to wait that long. 🤷🏻‍♂️

QUOTE(Gold_Moderator @ Oct 13 2021, 02:49 PM)
18th is for pre order collection or can walk in direct purchase d ?
It says ETA 18 Oct on website. I just buy first and collect, I want to make sure I get it. I can ask them if got walk in on 18th.
cringe
post Oct 13 2021, 04:28 PM

330 posts

I just received my Ipad. First Ipad by Apple. I've used Iphone before this, but never buy Ipad in my entire life.

Received 1 day earlier than the expected date smile.gif
mick84
post Oct 13 2021, 04:36 PM

96 posts

hi, walk in to place order? or can do it online?

Zornn P
post Oct 13 2021, 05:11 PM

Probation

QUOTE(mick84 @ Oct 13 2021, 04:36 PM)
Im not sure for Senheng, but for Machine can order online and pick up from the store you want, starting next week 18th Oct.
dikae
post Oct 13 2021, 05:32 PM

an apple a day
9,231 posts

QUOTE(cringe @ Oct 13 2021, 04:28 PM)
I just received my Ipad. First Ipad by Apple. I've used Iphone before this, but never buy Ipad in my entire life.

Received 1 day earlier than the expected date smile.gif
enjoy your ipad smile.gif almost everything's the same as iphone
Jason
post Oct 13 2021, 08:28 PM

6,356 posts

QUOTE(mick84 @ Oct 13 2021, 04:36 PM)
Senheng ordered and paid online. Selected which outlet I wish to collect.

There’s a Senheng near me that’s why I opted for it.
KKW
post Oct 14 2021, 12:01 AM

2,954 posts

Got my 64GB Space Grey iPad 9th from Switch just now biggrin.gif

dikae
post Oct 14 2021, 12:37 PM

an apple a day
9,231 posts

QUOTE(KKW @ Oct 14 2021, 12:01 AM)
Got my 64GB Space Grey iPad 9th from Switch just now biggrin.gif
Nice, through delivery or self pick up? Enjoy your new toy!
Barricade
post Oct 14 2021, 01:24 PM

4,166 posts

Being a cheapskate, I'll wait for apple store to ship mine and save RM90. I lazy to drive out to retail shop anyway. Hope that they will ship earlier than expected biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by Barricade: Oct 14 2021, 01:25 PM
gxthelord
post Oct 14 2021, 05:28 PM

Tech Enthusiast
2,313 posts

QUOTE(Barricade @ Oct 14 2021, 01:24 PM)
Being a cheapskate, I'll wait for apple store to ship mine and save RM90. I lazy to drive out to retail shop anyway. Hope that they will ship earlier than expected biggrin.gif
cheapskate like u here hahah but i didnt saw that ipad mini under the edu plan was rm200 off otherwise would have gotten that instead

KKW
post Oct 14 2021, 06:51 PM

2,954 posts

QUOTE(dikae @ Oct 14 2021, 12:37 PM)
Nice, through delivery or self pick up? Enjoy your new toy!
Walk in purchase. I notice without pro motion, the screen feel like not as smooth if compare to my iPad Pro M1

This post has been edited by KKW: Oct 14 2021, 06:51 PM
dikae
post Oct 14 2021, 06:58 PM

an apple a day
9,231 posts

QUOTE(KKW @ Oct 14 2021, 06:51 PM)
Walk in purchase. I notice without pro motion, the screen feel like not as smooth if compare to my iPad Pro M1
Yeap it’s noticeable if you compare the iPad Pro and normal iPad, especially if you put side by side…I’ve tested it earlier at Switch, even scrolling on LYN feels the difference..however the price is also different so that’s fair I guess smile.gif

This post has been edited by dikae: Oct 14 2021, 06:59 PM
KKW
post Oct 14 2021, 07:32 PM

2,954 posts

QUOTE(dikae @ Oct 14 2021, 06:58 PM)
Yeap it’s noticeable if you compare the iPad Pro and normal iPad, especially if you put side by side…I’ve tested it earlier at Switch, even scrolling on LYN feels the difference..however the price is also different so that’s fair I guess smile.gif
Yeah, we could purchase 2 unit of iPad 9th with 1 Apple Pencil with iPad Pro price tongue.gif

Overall, is a good iPad
dikae
post Oct 14 2021, 07:46 PM

an apple a day
9,231 posts

QUOTE(KKW @ Oct 14 2021, 07:32 PM)
Yeah, we could purchase 2 unit of iPad 9th with 1 Apple Pencil with iPad Pro price  tongue.gif

Overall, is a good iPad
Yeap, for the price, no complaints thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by dikae: Oct 14 2021, 07:46 PM
KKW
post Oct 14 2021, 08:06 PM

2,954 posts

QUOTE(dikae @ Oct 14 2021, 07:46 PM)
Yeap, for the price, no complaints thumbup.gif
Yeah, some more come with 64GB storage brows.gif
dikae
post Oct 14 2021, 08:10 PM

an apple a day
9,231 posts

QUOTE(KKW @ Oct 14 2021, 08:06 PM)
Yeah, some more come with 64GB storage  brows.gif
Yes 64gb is more than enough if you’re using it for basic stuffs and entertainment..can easily last a long time before run out of storage..
Jason
post Oct 14 2021, 10:44 PM

6,356 posts

QUOTE(KKW @ Oct 14 2021, 06:51 PM)
If you've never seen the Pro M1... you won't notice it. But if you've experienced it, and put side by side, I think your observation is fair.

You don't know what you miss if you never had it. hahaha. That's why I cannot go use iPhone Pro 13 or android phones with 120hz refresh. My iPhone 13 mini don't have. Same with my (soon) iPad 9th.
dikae
post Oct 14 2021, 10:50 PM

an apple a day
9,231 posts

QUOTE(Jason @ Oct 14 2021, 10:44 PM)
If you've never seen the Pro M1... you won't notice it. But if you've experienced it, and put side by side, I think your observation is fair.

You don't know what you miss if you never had it. hahaha. That's why I cannot go use iPhone Pro 13 or android phones with 120hz refresh. My iPhone 13 mini don't have. Same with my (soon) iPad 9th.
It’s actually true, if you don’t compare or have never experienced 120hz then you probably won’t feel anything different and will enjoy it more...
Alternate Gabriel
post Oct 15 2021, 01:44 PM

158 posts

I bought Ipad to replace my laptop.

I don’t really use laptop nowadays except during working hours.

Now i’m typing this post using my bluetooth keyboard.
dikae
post Oct 15 2021, 01:55 PM

an apple a day
9,231 posts

QUOTE(Alternate Gabriel @ Oct 15 2021, 01:44 PM)
I bought Ipad to replace my laptop.

I don’t really use laptop nowadays except during working hours.

Now i’m typing this post using my bluetooth keyboard.
Nice! iPad is definitely better for normal and entertainment use, the mobility wins thumbup.gif
Mavik
post Oct 15 2021, 10:11 PM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

Had the iPad 9th Gen for 2 days, and now it is off to its new owner
Barricade
post Oct 15 2021, 11:33 PM

4,166 posts

QUOTE(Mavik @ Oct 15 2021, 10:11 PM)
Why?
dikae
post Oct 15 2021, 11:36 PM

an apple a day
9,231 posts

QUOTE(Mavik @ Oct 15 2021, 10:11 PM)
Which one did you ditch the iPad for? iPad mini?
Mavik
post Oct 16 2021, 09:33 AM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(Barricade @ Oct 15 2021, 11:33 PM)
Why?
It was a present for my dad. Took it out to set it up for him and load up all the media apps. Then I went out to get him a case and a screen protector and now for his enjoyment.
gxthelord
post Oct 16 2021, 10:24 PM

Tech Enthusiast
2,313 posts

QUOTE(Mavik @ Oct 16 2021, 09:33 AM)
It was a present for my dad. Took it out to set it up for him and load up all the media apps. Then I went out to get him a case and a screen protector and now for his enjoyment.
hows battery life eh? biggrin.gif
Mavik
post Oct 18 2021, 09:08 AM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(gxthelord @ Oct 16 2021, 10:24 PM)
No idea, I never tested the battery life. Never even charged it when I took it out of the box. But I assume that it lasts long!
dikae
post Oct 18 2021, 12:50 PM

an apple a day
9,231 posts

QUOTE(gxthelord @ Oct 16 2021, 10:24 PM)
QUOTE(Mavik @ Oct 18 2021, 09:08 AM)
No idea, I never tested the battery life. Never even charged it when I took it out of the box. But I assume that it lasts long!
The battery is long lasting.. 8557mah is huge power bank smile.gif
Jason
post Oct 18 2021, 05:12 PM

6,356 posts

Senheng preorder is con job.
ETA 18th Oct

Cannot collect. Walao and they call it "pre-order". Damn stupid. Better just walk in Switch and buy. My first and last time "pre-order" from Senheng

dikae
post Oct 18 2021, 06:40 PM

an apple a day
9,231 posts

QUOTE(Jason @ Oct 18 2021, 05:12 PM)
ETA 18th Oct

Cannot collect. Walao and they call it "pre-order". Damn stupid. Better just walk in Switch and buy. My first and last time "pre-order" from Senheng
A lot has shared their sad experience PO from senheng, last year took them over a month to deliver to PO customers…looks like they never improve this year mad.gif
ToniV
post Oct 19 2021, 04:50 AM

2,374 posts

QUOTE(gxthelord @ Oct 18 2021, 05:24 PM)
Just Sharing some of the accessories that's worth looking into

UGreen Stylus (wait for promo I got mine around RM80+ only)
http://surl.li/alann
Check China website for review seems to be the best choice among other alternative brands and reliable brand. Some other similar price but hit and miss if u check review some after few days didnt work.

iPad Keyboard Casing with Pen Slot and Backlight Keyboard
http://surl.li/alanu
Decent size backlit is a plus and gesture supposingly works and this new version now is with TypeC! biggrin.gif
Lightning to HDMI (without power useable)
http://surl.li/alaob
Used to be only official can do so based on review this works and its cheapp so why not.

Last but not least
Ugreen Type C to Lightning Cable
http://surl.li/alaoh

Only buying this cause they are much more reliable than any other cable. Their promo RM2 type C cable lasted me for 3-4 years and still works with charging QC3 and Data delivery, MicroUSB as well hence I trust them quite well. smile.gif
That's all haha all my accessories is here d and pending left iPad next month
Any lightning to USB A or C female connection ports available? Want to transfer some files from flash drive. Not sure if this could be done.
sonicbull
post Oct 20 2021, 11:22 AM

503 posts

I can't find back the link

The instant notes on iPad, only works with apple pencil?
Also, anyone tried the swift playgrounds 4 to build an app?
Jason
post Oct 20 2021, 02:54 PM

6,356 posts

QUOTE(Jason @ Oct 18 2021, 05:12 PM)
ETA 18th Oct

Collect today. I not impressed with Senheng pre-order
eikozai
post Oct 20 2021, 03:00 PM

1,120 posts

QUOTE(Jason @ Oct 20 2021, 02:54 PM)
SenHeng & SenQ same one.. never deliver things on promised date. Bought some electric appliances from them through Lazada, supposed deliver in 5 days using their own delivery fleets, but ended up the delivery took 3 weeks to complete. All this Senxxxxx cannot use one.. lousy services.. Not even pre-order items, its "ready Stock" items.

This post has been edited by eikozai: Oct 20 2021, 03:00 PM
Jason
post Oct 20 2021, 03:02 PM

6,356 posts

QUOTE(eikozai @ Oct 20 2021, 03:00 PM)
SenHeng & SenQ same one.. never deliver things on promised date. Bought some electric appliances from them through Lazada, supposed deliver in 5 days using their own delivery fleets, but ended up the delivery took 3 weeks to complete. All this Senxxxxx cannot use one.. lousy services.. Not even pre-order items, its "ready Stock" items.
It gives me the feeling, like Chinese business man do business. Take your money first. Got stock no stock also take first. Then you are stuck with them. Lucky I didn't order iPhone 13 from them else I sure flip car.

If order from Apple, they only charge you when they ship.
dikae
post Oct 20 2021, 03:22 PM

an apple a day
9,231 posts

QUOTE(Jason @ Oct 20 2021, 02:54 PM)
QUOTE(eikozai @ Oct 20 2021, 03:00 PM)
QUOTE(Jason @ Oct 20 2021, 03:02 PM)
It gives me the feeling, like Chinese business man do business. Take your money first. Got stock no stock also take first. Then you are stuck with them. Lucky I didn't order iPhone 13 from them else I sure flip car.

If order from Apple, they only charge you when they ship.
They try to get into the business but cant commit to give good services.. Last year messed up.. This year messier.. They need to up their game in order to stay competitive..
eikozai
post Oct 20 2021, 03:58 PM

1,120 posts

QUOTE(dikae @ Oct 20 2021, 03:22 PM)
They try to get into the business but cant commit to give good services.. Last year messed up.. This year messier.. They need to up their game in order to stay competitive..
My first and last time use their services. Previously hear a lot complaints, but never try before wont believe. Kena once then will believe.
For my isolated case, i complaint to Lazada and they promised to take some stern actions. Lazada also provide me courtesy voucher worth 15% of my purchase value after i raised the issue to them.
dikae
post Oct 20 2021, 04:38 PM

an apple a day
9,231 posts

QUOTE(eikozai @ Oct 20 2021, 03:58 PM)
My first and last time use their services. Previously hear a lot complaints, but never try before wont believe. Kena once then will believe.
For my isolated case, i complaint to Lazada and they promised to take some stern actions. Lazada also provide me courtesy voucher worth 15% of my purchase value after i raised the issue to them.
Yea many have actually complained about them being super bad at services.. But 15% voucher afterall ain't that bad thumbup.gif
Jason
post Oct 25 2021, 10:26 AM

6,356 posts

If you guys are buying tempered glass.. just buy 10.2" for 8th gen... it fits. shops all blur sotong.

paid rm25 for generic no name.. but it works
gxthelord
post Oct 25 2021, 12:54 PM

Tech Enthusiast
2,313 posts

All accessories arrived left device only 🤣🤣

dikae
post Oct 25 2021, 01:58 PM

an apple a day
9,231 posts

QUOTE(Jason @ Oct 25 2021, 10:26 AM)
If you guys are buying tempered glass.. just buy 10.2" for 8th gen... it fits. shops all blur sotong.

paid rm25 for generic no name.. but it works
or can get ESR for RM30, pretty good..

https://shopee.com.my/ESR-Screen-Protector-...f1-4d534c7109c4
sl3ge
post Oct 25 2021, 02:36 PM

1,368 posts

Want to ask u guys order ipad 9 from apple website take how long to receive?

dikae
post Oct 25 2021, 04:22 PM

an apple a day
9,231 posts

QUOTE(sl3ge @ Oct 25 2021, 02:36 PM)

Want to ask u guys order ipad 9 from apple website take how long to receive?

There's an estimated delivery button after you select the variant you want.. Can enter your postcode and area, then you can see estimated delivery..
ToniV
post Oct 26 2021, 01:54 AM

2,374 posts

QUOTE(gxthelord @ Oct 25 2021, 12:54 PM)
All accessories arrived left device only 🤣🤣
What pencil and dongle are those?
gxthelord
post Oct 26 2021, 02:13 PM

Tech Enthusiast
2,313 posts

QUOTE(ToniV @ Oct 26 2021, 01:54 AM)
What pencil and dongle are those?
Ugreen and a generic dongle for HDMI. I shared it a few pages earlier
chaisin
post Oct 26 2021, 04:48 PM

195 posts

Any apple distributor or dealer here? Need bulk purchase iPads and Smart Keyboards. Can u PM me to discuss further?
ToniV
post Oct 27 2021, 01:52 AM

2,374 posts

QUOTE(gxthelord @ Oct 26 2021, 02:13 PM)
Any dongle for lightning to usb C or A. To transfer files.
gxthelord
post Oct 27 2021, 04:45 AM

Tech Enthusiast
2,313 posts

QUOTE(ToniV @ Oct 27 2021, 01:52 AM)
Any dongle for lightning to usb C or A. To transfer files.
I think there are similar to otg ones on shopee but how reliable I'm.not.sure and if I'm not wrong it's limited to usb2 speed
BacktoBasics
post Oct 27 2021, 04:44 PM

1,802 posts

QUOTE(gxthelord @ Oct 26 2021, 02:13 PM)
Ipad 9th gen can output to TV or monitor via HDMI donggle?
gxthelord
post Oct 27 2021, 04:51 PM

Tech Enthusiast
2,313 posts

QUOTE(BacktoBasics @ Oct 27 2021, 04:44 PM)
Ipad 9th gen can output to TV or monitor via HDMI donggle?
From what I've seen and read yes but it will be 4:3 aspect so will have black bar on the sides... If you finding 3rd party try find newer version that don't require power in to use the HDMI function. The older type 3rd party must use power in.

But if not wrong for youtube and certain video app it will be able to playback 16:9.
Apps like netflix and amazon prime doesnt work due to copyright if not wrong
BacktoBasics
post Oct 27 2021, 05:20 PM

1,802 posts

QUOTE(gxthelord @ Oct 27 2021, 04:51 PM)
From what I've seen and read yes but it will  be 4:3 aspect so will have black bar on the sides... If you finding 3rd party try find newer version that don't require power in to use the HDMI function. The older type 3rd party must use power in.

But if not wrong for youtube and certain video app it will be able to playback 16:9.
Apps like netflix and amazon prime doesnt work due to copyright if not wrong
I see. noted with thanks.

Thanks for the feedback!

Cheers!
cenkudu
post Oct 31 2021, 10:13 PM

1,206 posts

Few months ago bought samsung tablet A7. The option for zoom is very limited and cannot even using virtual background. Thinking to buy this new Ipad. Just wondering why it seems the #number of posts here are slow compare to Ipad Pro or Ipad air. People is not interested with entry level ipad?
dikae
post Oct 31 2021, 10:18 PM

an apple a day
9,231 posts

QUOTE(cenkudu @ Oct 31 2021, 10:13 PM)
Few months ago bought samsung tablet A7. The option for zoom is very limited and cannot even using virtual background. Thinking to buy this new Ipad. Just wondering why it seems the #number of posts here are slow compare to Ipad Pro or Ipad air. People is not interested with entry level ipad?
the ipad 9th gen is still a good tab for today's standard, especially for that price...most people here prefer the mini and pro for the new design and form factor, the mini win hands down for portability, while the pro is superior for its performance, and the ipad 9th gen for its price..
'ed
post Nov 1 2021, 10:02 AM

116 posts

hi all, anyone here know which store got ready stock?
eugene_soong
post Nov 1 2021, 10:29 AM

QUOTE(cenkudu @ Oct 31 2021, 10:13 PM)
i just brought 2 unit for my kids for online study. I go for max storage 256gb. I think another 5 years, 64gb is like nothing as the apps and IOS keep on updating. The current IOS and pre-installed app occupied almost 10gb.
dikae
post Nov 1 2021, 11:22 AM

an apple a day
9,231 posts

QUOTE(eugene_soong @ Nov 1 2021, 10:29 AM)
i just brought 2 unit for my kids for online study. I go for max storage 256gb. I think another 5 years, 64gb is like nothing as the apps and IOS keep on updating. The current IOS and pre-installed app occupied almost 10gb.
Yea if planning to use for many years then better get the 256gb, in the next few years 64gb will be like 16gb today, won’t be sufficient for apps etc…
gxthelord
post Nov 3 2021, 12:20 PM

Tech Enthusiast
2,313 posts

One more week to go... anyone here same as me still waiting for the nov 9 onwards delivery?
dragonblayde
post Nov 4 2021, 06:38 PM

62 posts

QUOTE(gxthelord @ Nov 3 2021, 12:20 PM)
One more week to go... anyone here same as me still waiting for the nov 9 onwards delivery?
my stipulated delivery date is between 12 nov to 19 nov. Still waiting for any kind of update from Apple since my order on 09 Oct cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif

anyone else gotten their iPad yet from Apple.com? hmm.gif

gxthelord
post Nov 4 2021, 06:47 PM

Tech Enthusiast
2,313 posts

QUOTE(dragonblayde @ Nov 4 2021, 06:38 PM)
my stipulated delivery date is between 12 nov to 19 nov. Still waiting for any kind of update from Apple since my order on 09 Oct  cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif

anyone else gotten their iPad yet from Apple.com?  hmm.gif
hope it will be delivered earlier than expected ><
dragonblayde
post Nov 4 2021, 06:52 PM

62 posts

QUOTE(gxthelord @ Nov 4 2021, 06:47 PM)
hope it will be delivered earlier than expected ><
yasssss, im hoping its earlier than expected too! My gf ordered IP13 too on the same day, it arrived 3 days earlier than the expected delivery date, so FINGERSCROSSED for the iPad !! drool.gif drool.gif drool.gif

Barricade
post Nov 4 2021, 08:27 PM

4,166 posts

QUOTE(gxthelord @ Nov 3 2021, 12:20 PM)
Mine says Arrives 09/11/2021 - 16/11/2021
gxthelord
post Nov 5 2021, 01:41 AM

Tech Enthusiast
2,313 posts

QUOTE(dragonblayde @ Nov 4 2021, 06:52 PM)
yasssss, im hoping its earlier than expected too! My gf ordered IP13 too on the same day, it arrived 3 days earlier than the expected delivery date, so FINGERSCROSSED for the iPad !!  drool.gif  drool.gif  drool.gif
Mine just got updated to preparing to shipped and got charged to my card biggrin.gif
Barricade
post Nov 5 2021, 08:40 AM

4,166 posts

QUOTE(gxthelord @ Nov 5 2021, 01:41 AM)
Mine just got updated to preparing to shipped and got charged to my card biggrin.gif
Same here! Woohoo!! Should reach latest by next week.
dikae
post Nov 5 2021, 09:49 AM

an apple a day
9,231 posts

Nice.. coming to you really soon, there's a chance you might even get it tomorrow or Monday smile.gif
dragonblayde
post Nov 5 2021, 01:57 PM

62 posts

wow nice! I guess mine will be processed within these few days then. innocent.gif
gxthelord
post Nov 5 2021, 06:11 PM

Tech Enthusiast
2,313 posts

QUOTE(dikae @ Nov 5 2021, 09:49 AM)
Nice.. coming to you really soon, there's a chance you might even get it tomorrow or Monday smile.gif
Finger crossed. XD
Barricade
post Nov 6 2021, 12:08 AM

4,166 posts

QUOTE(gxthelord @ Nov 5 2021, 06:11 PM)
Finger crossed. XD
Mine shipped. Received email about the tracking number just now around 4pm

This post has been edited by Barricade: Nov 6 2021, 12:08 AM
gxthelord
post Nov 6 2021, 03:33 AM

Tech Enthusiast
2,313 posts

QUOTE(Barricade @ Nov 6 2021, 12:08 AM)
mine just check also now updated as shipped but the date now mention as estimated arrival on 10th no longer 9th :X
dragonblayde
post Nov 6 2021, 09:32 PM

62 posts

QUOTE(gxthelord @ Nov 6 2021, 03:33 AM)
mine just check also now  updated as shipped but the date now mention as estimated arrival on 10th no longer 9th :X
I think good chance your delivery will arrive earlier than expected. The same happened to my gf's IPhone 13. DHL courier right?
dotn3t
post Nov 6 2021, 11:01 PM

472 posts

hi guys, I'm not familiar with ios ecosystem so would like to check. Anyone manage to install Astro Go on the wifi version?

I've been an adroid user all this while but feel android tablet os/apps lacks polish and optimization (not to mention long term support).

Looking to get this iPad for my wife which she will mainly use for media consumption (Astro Go, Netflix, etc). Thanks!
Jason
post Nov 7 2021, 03:46 PM

6,356 posts

QUOTE(dotn3t @ Nov 6 2021, 11:01 PM)
hi guys, I'm not familiar with ios ecosystem so would like to check. Anyone manage to install Astro Go on the wifi version?

I've been an adroid user all this while but feel android tablet os/apps lacks polish and optimization (not to mention long term support).

Looking to get this iPad for my wife which she will mainly use for media consumption (Astro Go, Netflix, etc). Thanks!
It’s available on the App Store on my 9th gen iPad so the answer is yes. It’ll work. I don’t have Astro so can’t test.
dragonblayde
post Nov 8 2021, 02:37 PM

62 posts

anyone's ipad delivery date is 12 Nov to 19 Nov? you guys get charged yet? they have not charge my CC yet console.gif
Barricade
post Nov 8 2021, 04:39 PM

4,166 posts

Anyone knows which uGreen apple pencil is compatible with 2021 ipad?

I checked their shopee page seems like all support up to 2020 model only, didn't mention 2021.
dikae
post Nov 8 2021, 05:00 PM

an apple a day
9,231 posts

QUOTE(Barricade @ Nov 8 2021, 04:39 PM)

I checked their shopee page seems like all support up to 2020 model only, didn't mention 2021.
https://shopee.com.my/product/331309804/107...28-1636362342.9

https://shopee.com.my/product/141544902/138...28-1636361964.9

https://shopee.com.my/product/86970749/1303...28-1636362164.9

these 3 links support, the merchant confirms it..the first link is from official uGreen MY..

This post has been edited by dikae: Nov 8 2021, 05:06 PM
elmolee
post Nov 8 2021, 10:05 PM

142 posts

Does anyone know where I can get this ipad in Klang valley area?
thank you
gxthelord
post Nov 9 2021, 11:28 AM

Tech Enthusiast
2,313 posts

QUOTE(Barricade @ Nov 6 2021, 12:08 AM)
Just receivedi mine le smile.gif
Barricade
post Nov 9 2021, 11:30 AM

4,166 posts

QUOTE(gxthelord @ Nov 9 2021, 11:28 AM)
Just receivedi mine le smile.gif
Hope to receive mine today as well. Apple website shows "out for delivery" but UPS website still show "processed at branch"
gxthelord
post Nov 9 2021, 12:03 PM

Tech Enthusiast
2,313 posts

QUOTE(Barricade @ Nov 8 2021, 04:39 PM)

Can confirm it working with latest ipad I bought it smile.gif
dikae
post Nov 9 2021, 12:09 PM

an apple a day
9,231 posts

QUOTE(gxthelord @ Nov 9 2021, 12:03 PM)
Can confirm it working with latest ipad I bought it  smile.gif
Yes the merchants from Shopee confirmed it’s compatible with the latest iPad 9th gen..
gxthelord
post Nov 9 2021, 12:23 PM

Tech Enthusiast
2,313 posts

All up and ready to go xD.
Just need to buy a slightly smaller tempered glass since the edge sort of pushing up

dikae
post Nov 9 2021, 01:01 PM

an apple a day
9,231 posts

QUOTE(gxthelord @ Nov 9 2021, 12:23 PM)
Just need to buy a slightly smaller tempered glass since the edge sort of pushing up
Looking good, like a real laptop laugh.gif
dragonblayde
post Nov 9 2021, 02:42 PM

62 posts

QUOTE(Barricade @ Nov 9 2021, 11:30 AM)
Hope to receive mine today as well. Apple website shows "out for delivery" but UPS website still show "processed at branch"
my CC just got charged last night at around 12.30 am rclxms.gif

waiting anxiously for shipping updates cry.gif
ToniV
post Nov 9 2021, 06:15 PM

2,374 posts

QUOTE(gxthelord @ Nov 9 2021, 12:23 PM)
What case and keyboard are those?
gxthelord
post Nov 9 2021, 06:37 PM

Tech Enthusiast
2,313 posts

QUOTE(ToniV @ Nov 9 2021, 06:15 PM)
What case and keyboard are those?
From shopee I think got shared a pages or two in front.
<RM100 only but now using it I think I will get a slimmer casing haha

gxthelord
post Nov 9 2021, 06:39 PM

Tech Enthusiast
2,313 posts

Barricade The UGreen Pencil is definitely worth it.. Look it out when got promo 11.11 or any other day. I bought it when around RM80+ on promo.

Wont say its as good as Microsoft Surface pen or the original pen but the usage for the price is really different level from those cheap pens stylus we use. And the gesture from left screenshot and right quick note works also
Barricade
post Nov 10 2021, 12:01 AM

4,166 posts

QUOTE(gxthelord @ Nov 9 2021, 06:39 PM)
Barricade The UGreen Pencil is definitely worth it.. Look it out when got promo 11.11 or any other day. I bought it when around RM80+ on promo.

Wont say its as good as Microsoft Surface pen or the original pen but the usage for the price is really different level from those cheap pens stylus we use. And the gesture from left screenshot and right quick note works also
Thanks. Added to cart. Definitely will get one during 11.11.
sonicbull
post Nov 10 2021, 09:08 PM

503 posts

QUOTE(gxthelord @ Nov 9 2021, 06:39 PM)

Can work with screen off memo?
dragonblayde
post Nov 10 2021, 10:15 PM

62 posts

anyone know if this works with the new ipad mini? hmm.gif buying 1 for my ipad 9, planning to get it for my gf if it works with the new mini biggrin.gif

https://shopee.com.my/UGREEN-Stylus-Pen-for...a1-27954882240e

This post has been edited by dragonblayde: Nov 10 2021, 10:23 PM
dikae
post Nov 10 2021, 10:17 PM

an apple a day
9,231 posts

QUOTE(dragonblayde @ Nov 10 2021, 10:15 PM)
anyone know if this works with the new ipad mini?  hmm.gif  buying 1 for my ipad 9, planning to get it for my gf if it works with the new mini  biggrin.gif

https://shopee.com.my/UGREEN-Stylus-Pen-for...3440.4591866075
the link doesn't work..

But if it works on the ipad 9th gen, most likely it will work on the mini 6 too..

This post has been edited by dikae: Nov 10 2021, 10:19 PM
dannygeni
post Nov 10 2021, 10:21 PM

1,804 posts

QUOTE(dragonblayde @ Nov 10 2021, 10:15 PM)
anyone know if this works with the new ipad mini?  hmm.gif  buying 1 for my ipad 9, planning to get it for my gf if it works with the new mini  biggrin.gif

https://shopee.com.my/UGREEN-Stylus-Pen-for...3440.4591866075
Mini use 2nd generation pencil. If it work with iPad 9 I think won’t work with Mini
dragonblayde
post Nov 10 2021, 10:24 PM

62 posts

QUOTE(dikae @ Nov 10 2021, 10:17 PM)
the link doesn't work..

But if it works on the ipad 9th gen, most likely it will work on the mini 6 too..
gosh didnt notice that! I have edited the link. Thanks for the reply brah!
dragonblayde
post Nov 10 2021, 10:24 PM

62 posts

QUOTE(dannygeni @ Nov 10 2021, 10:21 PM)
Mini use 2nd generation pencil. If it work with iPad 9 I think won’t work with Mini
ahh. I see...okay sad.gif
dannygeni
post Nov 10 2021, 10:28 PM

1,804 posts

QUOTE(dragonblayde @ Nov 10 2021, 10:24 PM)
ahh. I see...okay  sad.gif
I may be wrong. It say work with pad pro 2020 too. Hmm. My wife mini5 use 1st gen pencil
dragonblayde
post Nov 10 2021, 10:34 PM

62 posts

QUOTE(dannygeni @ Nov 10 2021, 10:28 PM)
I may be wrong. It say work with pad pro 2020 too. Hmm. My wife mini5 use 1st gen pencil
Hmm, some reviews I saw say it works with ipad air 4. Air 4 uses apple pencil 2 right? Perhaps it works? hmm.gif
dikae
post Nov 10 2021, 11:23 PM

an apple a day
9,231 posts

QUOTE(dragonblayde @ Nov 10 2021, 10:24 PM)
gosh didnt notice that! I have edited the link. Thanks for the reply brah!
Just checked with the merchant (official Ugreen MY seller) and he say yes it supports mini 6..also this deliver from Penang so you can skip the wait from China seller

https://shopee.com.my/product/331309804/107...28-1636557699.9

This post has been edited by dikae: Nov 10 2021, 11:25 PM
dragonblayde
post Nov 10 2021, 11:37 PM

62 posts

QUOTE(dikae @ Nov 10 2021, 11:23 PM)
Just checked with the merchant (official Ugreen MY seller) and he say yes it supports mini 6..also this deliver from Penang so you can skip the wait from China seller

cool! I guess I'm going for the one shipping from China, 11.11 discount RM 20, so its only RM 89 per pencil! rclxms.gif
dikae
post Nov 10 2021, 11:45 PM

an apple a day
9,231 posts

QUOTE(dragonblayde @ Nov 10 2021, 11:37 PM)
cool! I guess I'm going for the one shipping from China, 11.11 discount RM 20, so its only RM 89 per pencil!  rclxms.gif
Oh ok…at least now you know it’s compatible with mini 6 then smile.gif
kevinpss
post Nov 10 2021, 11:47 PM

497 posts

Because of the free engrave, I ordered on 19/10/2021, but expected to arrived 23-31/11/2021 @@

dikae
post Nov 10 2021, 11:55 PM

an apple a day
9,231 posts

QUOTE(kevinpss @ Nov 10 2021, 11:47 PM)
Because of the free engrave, I ordered on 19/10/2021, but expected to arrived 23-31/11/2021 @@

Hope they will change the ship out dates earlier nod.gif 5-6 weeks is too long

This post has been edited by dikae: Nov 10 2021, 11:55 PM
kevinpss
post Nov 11 2021, 12:18 AM

497 posts

QUOTE(dikae @ Nov 10 2021, 11:55 PM)
Hope they will change the ship out dates earlier  nod.gif 5-6 weeks is too long
never mind....as long as it reach before Christmas will be fine. haha. biggrin.gif
ToniV
post Nov 11 2021, 09:44 AM

2,374 posts

QUOTE(dikae @ Nov 10 2021, 11:23 PM)

Have anyone tried the goodojoq 12 gen pencil? Reviews seems good.
gxthelord
post Nov 11 2021, 11:44 AM

Tech Enthusiast
2,313 posts

QUOTE(sonicbull @ Nov 10 2021, 09:08 PM)
Can work with screen off memo?
dont think so. Still need manual open the quick notes from control centre
gxthelord
post Nov 11 2021, 11:46 AM

Tech Enthusiast
2,313 posts

QUOTE(ToniV @ Nov 11 2021, 09:44 AM)
Have anyone tried the goodojoq 12 gen pencil? Reviews seems good.
I initially also wanted to go with goodojog but seeing reviews i u check 1-2 star there are still quite a few with issue with them too. Ended gone with Ugreen cause I used their other product and none of them failed me yet.. Happy customer now haha. The palm rejection works fine too on ugreen one. Just wait for promo around RM80+
dragonblayde
post Nov 11 2021, 04:06 PM

62 posts

QUOTE(kevinpss @ Nov 10 2021, 11:47 PM)

I ordered mine on 09 Oct, with engravings too. Just arrived today 11.11 biggrin.gif

Prolly can estimate yours to arrive around 22 - 26 Nov ?
kevinpss
post Nov 11 2021, 04:55 PM

497 posts

QUOTE(dragonblayde @ Nov 11 2021, 04:06 PM)
I ordered mine on 09 Oct, with engravings too. Just arrived today 11.11  biggrin.gif

Prolly can estimate yours to arrive around 22 - 26 Nov ?
Wow, you also wait for a month ya. Hopefully it can arrived in the promised time frame.
kaiserreich
post Nov 14 2021, 01:52 AM

Pendekar Papan Kekunci
4,234 posts

QUOTE(gxthelord @ Nov 11 2021, 11:46 AM)
I initially also wanted to go with goodojog but seeing reviews i u check 1-2 star there are still quite a few with issue with them too. Ended gone with Ugreen cause I used their other product and none of them failed me yet.. Happy customer now haha. The palm rejection works fine too on ugreen one. Just wait for promo around RM80+
Have the goojodoq 12th gen
Overall it is okay.

Main complaints are that the charging mechanism (custom charger instead of USB-C).
Too easy to turn off the pencil if you are using the pencil as a stylus

I have only used this pencil and I do not have an apple pencil or other brands to compare with

This post has been edited by kaiserreich: Nov 14 2021, 01:53 AM
Wildcat
post Nov 16 2021, 11:14 AM

1,084 posts

Any suggestion as to which model I should consider.
Ipad 9th gen vs ipad air 3 (used)

Just general usage like media consumption, social media, drawing (for the kids) etc.

Looking for a better display device if possible

From paper the display is the same I presumed
2160x1620 resolution at 264 ppi (ipad 9th)
2224x1668 resolution at 264 ppi (ipad air 3)

Anything else I should be aware of.

dikae
post Nov 16 2021, 01:28 PM

an apple a day
9,231 posts

QUOTE(Wildcat @ Nov 16 2021, 11:14 AM)

Just general  usage like media consumption, social media, drawing (for the kids) etc.

for me I would go with the newer, ipad 9 gen is about 1.5 year newer.. with better chipset (A13), better display with retina, better front camera and slightly bigger battery too.. the 0.3" display screen bigger on the air 3 is not noticeable..
Wildcat
post Nov 16 2021, 02:58 PM

1,084 posts

QUOTE(dikae @ Nov 16 2021, 01:28 PM)
for me I would go with the newer, ipad 9 gen is about 1.5 year newer.. with better chipset (A13), better display with retina, better front camera and slightly bigger battery too.. the 0.3" display screen bigger on the air 3 is not noticeable..
Seems the Air has the laminated screen. Hence better display quality compared to the regular Ipad.
dikae
post Nov 16 2021, 03:20 PM

an apple a day
9,231 posts

QUOTE(Wildcat @ Nov 16 2021, 02:58 PM)
Seems the Air has the laminated screen. Hence better display quality compared to the regular Ipad.
hmm Im not sure how significant are the difference in laminated vs regular but I supposed the retina on ipad 9th gen make up a little in that, plus factoring other stuffs in, I'd still go with the 9th gen smile.gif
Wildcat
post Nov 16 2021, 03:27 PM

1,084 posts

QUOTE(dikae @ Nov 16 2021, 03:20 PM)
hmm Im not sure how significant are the difference in laminated vs regular but I supposed the retina on ipad 9th gen make up a little in that, plus factoring other stuffs in, I'd still go with the 9th gen smile.gif
https://essentialpicks.com/laminated-vs-non...display-tablet/

Advantages of laminated displays

Reduced thickness
Improves visual quality
No dusty screen
Reduced hollow sound
Pictures look painted on
Outdoors performance
No parallax

yeah. some ppl just want newer / first hand stuff. And Ipad Air 3 is discontinued.. I think.
To each their own icon_idea.gif
dikae
post Nov 16 2021, 04:04 PM

an apple a day
9,231 posts

QUOTE(Wildcat @ Nov 16 2021, 03:27 PM)

Reduced thickness
Improves visual quality
No dusty screen
Reduced hollow sound
Pictures look painted on
Outdoors performance
No parallax

yeah. some ppl just want newer / first hand stuff. And Ipad Air 3 is discontinued.. I think.
To each their own  icon_idea.gif
and you mentioned ipad air 3 is used, meaning condition unknown, battery wise is definitely aged too..
ToniV
post Nov 17 2021, 12:50 AM

2,374 posts

QUOTE(Wildcat @ Nov 16 2021, 11:14 AM)

Just general  usage like media consumption, social media, drawing (for the kids) etc.

no brainer. definitely go for the ipad 9th gen.
better chipset means better performance for years to come.
better front facing camera. you never know till you require to use it.

dikae
post Nov 17 2021, 09:39 AM

an apple a day
9,231 posts

QUOTE(ToniV @ Nov 17 2021, 12:50 AM)
no brainer. definitely go for the ipad 9th gen.
better chipset means better performance for years to come.
better front facing camera. you never know till you require to use it.
Yeap kinda have to agree newer is always better (not just newer model but brand new unit last longer in terms of internal/external as well)..
ToniV
post Nov 17 2021, 11:11 AM

2,374 posts

QUOTE(dikae @ Nov 17 2021, 09:39 AM)
Yeap kinda have to agree newer is always better (not just newer model but brand new unit last longer in terms of internal/external as well)..
not to forget the support for the next 5-6 years.
definitely a good choice if able to get hands on a stock or if able to wait.
kaiserreich
post Nov 17 2021, 02:41 PM

Pendekar Papan Kekunci
4,234 posts

QUOTE(Wildcat @ Nov 16 2021, 03:27 PM)

Reduced thickness
Improves visual quality
No dusty screen
Reduced hollow sound
Pictures look painted on
Outdoors performance
No parallax

To each their own  icon_idea.gif
Moving from air 2 to ipad 9, i don't really notice the laminated screen unless if i am looking for it
dikae
post Nov 17 2021, 06:19 PM

an apple a day
9,231 posts

QUOTE(kaiserreich @ Nov 17 2021, 02:41 PM)
Moving from air 2 to ipad 9, i don't really notice the laminated screen unless if i am looking for it
nice upgrade there..is the 0.5" bigger screen size noticeable?
kaiserreich
post Nov 17 2021, 06:25 PM

Pendekar Papan Kekunci
4,234 posts

QUOTE(dikae @ Nov 17 2021, 06:19 PM)
nice upgrade there..is the 0.5" bigger screen size noticeable?
Slightly noticeable. laugh.gif

More noticeable is the faster speed
dikae
post Nov 17 2021, 07:12 PM

an apple a day
9,231 posts

QUOTE(kaiserreich @ Nov 17 2021, 06:25 PM)
Slightly noticeable. laugh.gif

More noticeable is the faster speed
Yea I’m sure the A13 and bigger ram makes a difference smile.gif
silversky1252 P
post Nov 17 2021, 07:59 PM

Probation

Anyone knows where to get the Ipad 9? I am looking for 64gb wifi. 5-6 weeks of waiting on apple website is TOO LONG. SEND HELP
ToniV
post Nov 21 2021, 10:42 PM

2,374 posts

QUOTE(gxthelord @ Nov 11 2021, 11:46 AM)
The goodojog 12th gen stylus is very impressive. Sleek and clean design. No usb ports, charging using magnetic adapter. The magnetic feature is exceptionally good. Does not budge even when I try to shake the ipad.
Good battery life for now. Very happy with the product. I think users should consider goojodoq and ugreen stylus for their reliability.
iguana_dude_619
post Nov 22 2021, 12:00 PM

Xbox GT, PSN & Steam ID: iguanadude626
1,141 posts

QUOTE(silversky1252 @ Nov 17 2021, 07:59 PM)
Anyone knows where to get the Ipad 9? I am looking for 64gb wifi. 5-6 weeks of waiting on apple website is TOO LONG. SEND HELP
try DirectD. I make a pre order with them(using whatsapp) on 6 November & got a call on 12 November to pick up.
miyakochan89
post Nov 22 2021, 12:04 PM

Wut?
6,724 posts

QUOTE(ToniV @ Nov 21 2021, 10:42 PM)
The goodojog 12th gen stylus is very impressive. Sleek and clean design. No usb ports, charging using magnetic adapter. The magnetic feature is exceptionally good. Does not budge even when I try to shake the ipad.
Good battery life for now. Very happy with the product. I think users should consider goojodoq and ugreen stylus for their reliability.
Can I have the link to purchase it? So it works exactly like the original pencil?
ToniV
post Nov 22 2021, 12:11 PM

2,374 posts

QUOTE(miyakochan89 @ Nov 22 2021, 12:04 PM)
Can I have the link to purchase it? So it works exactly like the original pencil?
link

Never tried apple pencil. Maybe no tap features. But i dont need it.
miyakochan89
post Nov 22 2021, 01:32 PM

Wut?
6,724 posts

QUOTE(ToniV @ Nov 22 2021, 12:11 PM)
link

Never tried apple pencil. Maybe no tap features. But i dont need it.
very affordable price as well.
Thank you!
silversky1252 P
post Nov 24 2021, 10:05 PM

Probation

QUOTE(iguana_dude_619 @ Nov 22 2021, 12:00 PM)
try DirectD. I make a pre order with them(using whatsapp) on 6 November & got a call on 12 November to pick up.
which branch do you contact? how do I find their Whatsapp?
iguana_dude_619
post Nov 25 2021, 09:52 AM

1,141 posts

QUOTE(silversky1252 @ Nov 24 2021, 10:05 PM)
which branch do you contact? how do I find their Whatsapp?
wa.me/60196940000
https://www.facebook.com/directdteam

is on their FB page. you can request for stock update. If none are available then just fill up their pre order form. you can pick which store for pick up.
colins
post Nov 26 2021, 03:07 PM

129 posts

Hi, any recommendation of 3rd party cover? Thanks.
ToniV
post Nov 27 2021, 01:29 PM

2,374 posts

QUOTE(colins @ Nov 26 2021, 03:07 PM)
Check ESR series.
dikae
post Nov 27 2021, 09:58 PM

an apple a day
9,231 posts

QUOTE(colins @ Nov 26 2021, 03:07 PM)
QUOTE(ToniV @ Nov 27 2021, 01:29 PM)
Check ESR series.
yea ESR is good, look out for the 2in1 detachable one... really one of the best invention smile.gif
Davidtcf
post Nov 30 2021, 02:27 PM

To the moon!!
3,520 posts

[deleted]

This post has been edited by Davidtcf: Nov 30 2021, 05:05 PM
Zer0 c00L
post Nov 30 2021, 03:33 PM

i haz hammer!
3,510 posts

ordered 23rd Oct, today finally arrived, phew
dikae
post Nov 30 2021, 03:33 PM

an apple a day
9,231 posts

QUOTE(Zer0 c00L @ Nov 30 2021, 03:33 PM)
ordered 23rd Oct, today finally arrived, phew
wow 5 weeks sharp. such a long wait... sweat.gif enjoy your new toy!
Zer0 c00L
post Nov 30 2021, 05:33 PM

i haz hammer!
3,510 posts

QUOTE(dikae @ Nov 30 2021, 03:33 PM)
wow 5 weeks sharp. such a long wait... sweat.gif enjoy your new toy!
yeah, it's considered early though, my order was slated for 7th dec, then 3rd dec, then got it today

any recommendations for screen protectors? i saw those paper like ones just wondering if they're any good?
dikae
post Nov 30 2021, 07:00 PM

an apple a day
9,231 posts

QUOTE(Zer0 c00L @ Nov 30 2021, 05:33 PM)
yeah, it's considered early though, my order was slated for 7th dec, then 3rd dec, then got it today

any recommendations for screen protectors? i saw those paper like ones just wondering if they're any good?
Personally I prefer Hoda, Glastimate or Amazing Shield…haven’t really tried others coz I’ve been using these brands every time..smile.gif
sonicbull
post Dec 2 2021, 08:50 AM

503 posts

QUOTE(silversky1252 @ Nov 17 2021, 07:59 PM)
That's quite long delivery time. Lack of stock?
sonicbull
post Dec 2 2021, 03:45 PM

503 posts

https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.xda-develo...-from-ipad/amp/

Anyone will try this out?

This post has been edited by sonicbull: Dec 2 2021, 03:46 PM
ychwang
post Dec 12 2021, 10:34 AM

Little *
4,607 posts

QUOTE(ToniV @ Nov 21 2021, 10:42 PM)
Ipad 2021 9th Gen can charge this apple pencil with magnect?

ToniV
post Dec 13 2021, 08:35 AM

2,374 posts

QUOTE(ychwang @ Dec 12 2021, 10:34 AM)
Ipad 2021 9th Gen can charge this apple pencil with magnect?
No. The pencil comes with an adapter.
T09
post Dec 16 2021, 06:08 PM

The Kopite
2,194 posts

FYI, Education pricing requires verification since 14th.

Btw, i bought mine on 12/12, opted for engraving and gift wrapping. ETA end of January to early February. laugh.gif
Matchy
post Dec 25 2021, 09:11 PM

1,328 posts

Just wondering, if I order from Apple's website, do I get the invoice the day I order? Want to claim it for this year's tax relief. sweat.gif
dannygeni
post Dec 26 2021, 10:25 AM

1,804 posts

QUOTE(Matchy @ Dec 25 2021, 09:11 PM)
Just wondering, if I order from Apple's website, do I get the invoice the day I order? Want to claim it for this year's tax relief. sweat.gif
nope..usually billing only when they ship out stock

This post has been edited by dannygeni: Dec 26 2021, 10:25 AM
Matchy
post Dec 27 2021, 10:25 AM

1,328 posts

QUOTE(dannygeni @ Dec 26 2021, 10:25 AM)
nope..usually billing  only when they ship out stock
aiks... any place that i can buy it now?
dannygeni
post Dec 27 2021, 12:16 PM

1,804 posts

QUOTE(Matchy @ Dec 27 2021, 10:25 AM)
aiks... any place that i can buy it now?
cant help u on this.. out of stock for most of the reseller
Matchy
post Dec 28 2021, 11:50 AM

1,328 posts

QUOTE(dannygeni @ Dec 27 2021, 12:16 PM)
cant help u on this.. out of stock for most of the reseller
oh damn... any seller that accept pre-order and give the receipt now? dont mind getting the ipad next year. 😅
dikae
post Dec 28 2021, 12:12 PM

an apple a day
9,231 posts

QUOTE(Matchy @ Dec 28 2021, 11:50 AM)
oh damn... any seller that accept pre-order and give the receipt now? dont mind getting the ipad next year. 😅
buy it from apple store if you want the receipt for this year... once they ship your item out they will send you an invoice with the purchase date...
Matchy
post Dec 28 2021, 02:22 PM

1,328 posts

QUOTE(dikae @ Dec 28 2021, 12:12 PM)
buy it from apple store if you want the receipt for this year... once they ship your item out they will send you an invoice with the purchase date...
i see... so if i purchase today, the invoice date is today. but will only get the invoice after they ship out.
jychow
post Dec 29 2021, 12:29 AM

1,169 posts

QUOTE(Matchy @ Dec 28 2021, 02:22 PM)
i see... so if i purchase today, the invoice date is today. but will only get the invoice after they ship out.
based on my experience, it will billed on the date of shipping. Your best bet is Apple retail shops like Machines. But 9th gen is not in stock.
dikae
post Dec 29 2021, 12:39 PM

an apple a day
9,231 posts

QUOTE(Matchy @ Dec 28 2021, 02:22 PM)
Yes if you purchase it today the invoice date will be today despite when it’s being delivered to you.

I’ve recently bought the MacBook Pro on the nov18, it was packed for shipping on nov 20 and delivered to me on the nov 23, invoice stated was nov18; and for apple store online purchase, the device warranty starts on the purchase date (nov 18) despite when they deliver it to you…

This post has been edited by dikae: Dec 29 2021, 12:39 PM
fariq6133
post Dec 30 2021, 11:10 PM

Hi..for those who are maxis fiber customers..u can get the 9th gen ipad for rm9/month...just got mine..i placed order on 25th December and received it on the 30th.. rclxms.gif
dannygeni
post Dec 31 2021, 11:02 PM

1,804 posts

QUOTE(fariq6133 @ Dec 30 2021, 11:10 PM)
Hi..for those who are maxis fiber customers..u can get the 9th gen ipad for rm9/month...just got mine..i placed order on 25th December and received it on the 30th.. rclxms.gif
Actually good deal. I register last Sunday. Got it today. The guy told me 1-2weeks. So got it for new year… ur maxis plan need to be 300mbps to get rm9 per month. Haha

Happy new year guys. 🎊🎁🎉
ftan
post Jan 9 2022, 07:10 PM

2,532 posts

Just received the iPad 9th generation yesterday. Ordered end Nov last year. Invoice is dated in Jan and Apple charged my credit card in Jan also. Lucky, I didn’t need this receipt for the tax relief 2021.
dikae
post Jan 9 2022, 08:48 PM

an apple a day
9,231 posts

QUOTE(fariq6133 @ Dec 30 2021, 11:10 PM)
For 24 months?

QUOTE(dannygeni @ Dec 31 2021, 11:02 PM)
Actually good deal.  I register last Sunday. Got it today.  The guy told me 1-2weeks. So got it for new year… ur maxis plan need to be 300mbps to get rm9 per month. Haha
Happy new year guys.  🎊🎁🎉
So if 500 mbps is it still rm9 or cheaper? lol

This post has been edited by dikae: Jan 9 2022, 08:48 PM
T09
post Jan 9 2022, 11:04 PM

The Kopite
2,194 posts

QUOTE(ftan @ Jan 9 2022, 07:10 PM)
Just received the iPad 9th generation yesterday. Ordered end Nov last year. Invoice is dated in Jan and Apple charged my credit card in Jan also. Lucky, I didn’t need this receipt for the tax relief 2021.
May i know roughly when will Apple charge card? A week before delivery or?

Bought on 12/12, ETA end Jan or early Feb. Until today no update from them.
ftan
post Jan 10 2022, 02:02 AM

2,532 posts

QUOTE(T09 @ Jan 9 2022, 11:04 PM)
May i know roughly when will Apple charge card? A week before delivery or?

Bought on 12/12, ETA end Jan or early Feb. Until today no update from them.
Apple charged me on the Jan 6th just past 12am. Got the iPad within 2 days with Saturday delivery by DHL.

I had no updates from Apple prior to that and the estimated delivery was Jan 7-14th. This is my longest waiting time for an Apple product. But I didn’t have any worries buying from Apple online as they are very reliable.
T09
post Jan 13 2022, 09:11 PM

The Kopite
2,194 posts

QUOTE(ftan @ Jan 10 2022, 02:02 AM)
Apple charged me on the Jan 6th just past 12am. Got the iPad within 2 days with Saturday delivery by DHL.

I had no updates from Apple prior to that and the estimated delivery was Jan 7-14th. This is my longest waiting time for an Apple product. But I didn’t have any worries buying from Apple online as they are very reliable.
Ahh.. Thanks for the the insight. Another 2 weeks+ until my kid's 'christmas present' arrive. biggrin.gif
ScrappyCoCo
post Jan 28 2022, 02:57 PM

121 posts

Guys, checking for defects for my ipad here. Is it normal if i purposely press harder on the screen, it will has that 'liquid' thingy on the pressed spot as shown in picture? Not sure if this is normal.

BacktoBasics
post Feb 4 2022, 02:39 PM

1,802 posts

guys, just want to to ask if ipad 9th generation supports FHD for Netflix?

Coming from an android user, we have this thing called Widevine L1 support.

Any users can clarify this?
bilyara P
post Apr 3 2022, 06:15 PM

Probation

Hi, does anyone know whether we can order replacement nibs for the UGREEN Stylus Pen ?
tzxsean
post Apr 3 2022, 09:34 PM

Lonely Driver
5,608 posts

QUOTE(bilyara @ Apr 3 2022, 06:15 PM)
Hi, does anyone know whether we can order replacement nibs for the UGREEN Stylus Pen ?
https://shopee.com.my/UGREEN-Stylus-Pen-for...19-dcc6b6371a4c

Have no answer for you but you might want to chat with ugreen malaysia for answer

by the way, can I ask you some questions regarding the stylus?

1) How's the performance? Any major complaints?

2) How is the size compared to apple pencil 2 (if you know)? I wanted to know if it can be slotted into those generic ipad case with pencil slot ..
bilyara P
post Apr 4 2022, 12:18 AM

Probation

QUOTE(tzxsean @ Apr 3 2022, 09:34 PM)

Have no answer for you but you might want to chat with ugreen malaysia for answer

by the way, can I ask you some questions regarding the stylus?

1) How's the performance? Any major complaints?

2) How is the size compared to apple pencil 2 (if you know)? I wanted to know if it can be slotted into those generic ipad case with pencil slot ..
Ok, let me chat with Ugreen Malaysia and see what they say about the replacement nibs.

From my few days of usage experience, I think the Ugreen pen is working great, I am pretty satisfied with it actually.

I could not compare it with apple pencil 2, as I do not own any apple pencil.

Regarding the pencil slot, I am still waiting for my generic ipad case to arrive. Let me give an update once I test it out.
bilyara P
post Apr 11 2022, 12:24 AM

Probation

QUOTE(bilyara @ Apr 4 2022, 12:18 AM)
Ok, let me chat with Ugreen Malaysia and see what they say about the replacement nibs.

From my few days of usage experience, I think the Ugreen pen is working great, I am pretty satisfied with it actually.

I could not compare it with apple pencil 2, as I do not own any apple pencil.

Regarding the pencil slot, I am still waiting for my generic ipad case to arrive. Let me give an update once I test it out.
Just to update that Ugreen Malaysia does not sell replacement nibs.

The Ugreen pencil fits the casing perfectly.
paradiseisland8
post Apr 13 2022, 08:00 PM

278 posts

Apple edu price is how much for this ipad?
lee82gx
post Apr 19 2022, 09:46 AM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

May I know is there any good and inexpensive keyboard + case for the iPad? I see many in shopee and Lazada, basically they are differentiated by having or not having backlight, and trackpad. Correct?

Is the pencil useful? I’m not a drawing guy and hardly take notes too…but I’m curious about the usefulness for photo editing, is it finally usable to do lightroom on 12MP photos on the 9th Gen iPad or should I forget about it?

safe118
post May 18 2022, 11:49 AM

111 posts

Hi, seems like a lot of brothers here opt for the 64GB. Will it be sufficient if it is intend to use for long term without the help of cloud storage or is it worth to add on another 650 to get the 256GB for long term usage cause the current ipad I'm using had last for 9 yrs & it currently cant swicth on anymore dont know for whatsoever reason. Hahaha. I expect the next purchase can last for at least 6 yrs?
iguana_dude_619
post May 19 2022, 11:58 AM

1,141 posts

QUOTE(safe118 @ May 18 2022, 11:49 AM)
Hi, seems like a lot of brothers here opt for the 64GB. Will it be sufficient if it is intend to use for long term without the help of cloud storage or is it worth to add on another 650 to get the 256GB for long term usage cause the current ipad I'm using had last for 9 yrs & it currently cant swicth on anymore dont know for whatsoever reason. Hahaha. I expect the next purchase can last for at least 6 yrs?
if that long better opt for 256GB. Unless you mainly use it as streaming/media hub. rarely download movie/series.
wuwah
post Sep 2 2022, 05:46 PM

ai ai ai~
1,153 posts

Hi, since new ipad 10 is scheduled to launch next week (7 Sept 2022), I saw an ipad 9 64gb wifi deals at RM1355. Is it a good deal? Or is there any better deals currently?

Not using for download much. Mostly streaming and some doodling with pencil, and I already have own NAS cloud storage. So, storage is not an issue..

Any thought to share? Thanks
lazyman@home
post Sep 2 2022, 07:59 PM

484 posts

QUOTE(wuwah @ Sep 2 2022, 05:46 PM)
Hi, since new ipad 10 is scheduled to launch next week (7 Sept 2022), I saw an ipad 9 64gb wifi deals at RM1355. Is it a good deal? Or is there any better deals currently?

Not using for download much. Mostly streaming and some doodling with pencil, and I already have own NAS cloud storage. So, storage is not an issue..

If I were in your situation, I will wait. Type c charging and apple pencil 2 support will be deciding factors, apart from the price obviously.
TSwestlife
post Sep 2 2022, 08:35 PM

14,312 posts

QUOTE(wuwah @ Sep 2 2022, 05:46 PM)

forget it. wait for the new one...

worse case situation the ipad 10 will be announced in october...

the current design is so so so outdated...

This post has been edited by westlife: Sep 2 2022, 08:37 PM
wuwah
post Sep 2 2022, 11:58 PM

ai ai ai~
1,153 posts

QUOTE(westlife @ Sep 2 2022, 08:35 PM)
forget it. wait for the new one...

worse case situation the ipad 10 will be announced in october...

the current design is so so so outdated...

Thanks for your opinion
TSwestlife
post Sep 3 2022, 01:10 AM

14,312 posts

QUOTE(wuwah @ Sep 2 2022, 11:58 PM)
Thanks for your opinion
No worries.

but back to a realistic question, do also take into the account of the possibility of price hike due to the new design, 5G, usb-c etc. added in comparing to the option u have currently while u are considering this as well.
hafizhans
post Sep 15 2022, 10:31 AM

haa..ahnn..ahnn..aduii
1,484 posts

tmt lazada got special offer,
buy 2 at 1299 only for 64gb
watekeke
post Sep 15 2022, 08:00 PM

2,158 posts

QUOTE(hafizhans @ Sep 15 2022, 10:31 AM)
tmt lazada got special offer,
buy 2 at 1299 only for 64gb
Bro, 1299 each or both?
Alternate Gabriel
post Sep 16 2022, 11:46 AM

158 posts

I own the 64GB version of this Ipad.

Trust me, just buy the 256gb Ipad. 64GB Ipad is not even enough since a lot of apps nowadays have big gb.

I don't install games. I just installed apps that related to my work or productivity/banking apps.

And the software updates by the Apple will take a lot of space in your Ipad
TSwestlife
post Sep 16 2022, 12:56 PM

14,312 posts

QUOTE(Alternate Gabriel @ Sep 16 2022, 11:46 AM)

Trust me, just buy the 256gb Ipad. 64GB Ipad is not even enough since a lot of apps nowadays have big gb.

I don't install games. I just installed apps that related to my work or productivity/banking apps.

Yes if 128GB still barely enough. 64gb is a big NO.
hafizhans
post Sep 20 2022, 08:46 AM

haa..ahnn..ahnn..aduii
1,484 posts

QUOTE(watekeke @ Sep 15 2022, 08:00 PM)
Bro, 1299 each or both?
each la haha
watekeke
post Sep 20 2022, 03:25 PM

2,158 posts

QUOTE(hafizhans @ Sep 20 2022, 08:46 AM)
each la haha
Hmm. No wonder.
Eugene91
post Sep 23 2022, 12:03 PM

6,109 posts

Was just contemplating between the 64 and 256gb. Good sharing. Thanks!

QUOTE(Alternate Gabriel @ Sep 16 2022, 11:46 AM)

sickkia P
post Feb 22 2023, 09:41 AM

Probation

I believed this iPad don't have 120hz refresh rate. How good is it compare to 10.5" iPad Pro (2017)?
max_cavalera
post May 25 2023, 08:19 PM

rebirth
5,614 posts

Guys.

Newbie question here.

Unker just bought ipad 9th gen for my kid.

I notice side of this ipad got 3 small dots as if can be use to charge apple pencil. As far as I know ipad 9th gen can only use 1st gen apple pencil right? Then what is the 3 small dots at the side of the ipad be use for?
max_cavalera
post May 25 2023, 08:24 PM

rebirth
5,614 posts

QUOTE(westlife @ Sep 16 2022, 01:56 PM)
Yes if 128GB still barely enough. 64gb is a big NO.
Yeah eventhough unker buy for my kids. The 64gb size is too small.

I have to uninstall my youtube premium sync to this ipad. My youtube premium save vid and library playlist total file alone almost 40gb
vapanel
post May 25 2023, 09:11 PM

1,075 posts

QUOTE(max_cavalera @ May 25 2023, 08:19 PM)
Guys.

Newbie question here.

Unker just bought ipad 9th gen for my kid.

I notice side of this ipad got 3 small dots as if can be use to charge apple pencil. As far as I know ipad 9th gen can only use 1st gen apple pencil right? Then what is the 3 small dots at the side of the ipad be use for?
connect keyboard
max_cavalera
post May 25 2023, 09:12 PM

rebirth
5,614 posts

QUOTE(vapanel @ May 25 2023, 10:11 PM)
connect keyboard
Tq for the answer. Yeah totally forgot about the keyboard accessory smile.gif
vhs1
post Jun 4 2023, 04:44 PM

2,834 posts

6.6 got promo?
max_cavalera
post Jun 6 2023, 11:47 PM

rebirth
5,614 posts

QUOTE(vhs1 @ Jun 4 2023, 05:44 PM)
6.6 got promo?
U plan for the 64gb? 😅

Feels the storage is way to little to be doing any serious work on
vhs1
post Jun 7 2023, 02:08 AM

2,834 posts

QUOTE(max_cavalera @ Jun 6 2023, 11:47 PM)
U plan for the 64gb? 😅

Feels the storage is way to little to be doing any serious work on
Yup. Got the 64gb 😅
Don't plan using for work
[LinkZ]
post Jun 29 2023, 01:52 PM

645 posts

Is it worth it to get Microsoft 365 at RM26.95 per month for ipad?
nightzstar
post Jul 5 2023, 02:54 PM

Col. Samantha Carter
2,702 posts

btw any recommended mouse & keyboard combo for ipad?
Davidtcf
post Jul 31 2023, 02:03 PM

To the moon!!
3,520 posts

QUOTE(sickkia @ Feb 22 2023, 09:41 AM)
imo ipad air is the best if you can afford it.

don't understimate an ipad's weight. Holding it in your hands becomes tiring after 30 mins.
coolguy99
post Aug 8 2023, 01:30 PM

7,356 posts

ipad 9th gen wifi 256GB at around 1850. Good deal?
HumbleBF
post Apr 10 2024, 11:01 AM

501 posts

QUOTE(Davidtcf @ Jul 31 2023, 02:03 PM)
imo ipad air is the best if you can afford it.

don't understimate an ipad's weight. Holding it in your hands becomes tiring after 30 mins.
Oh god i've tried lifting the Ipad pro for a moment and I wonder how does someone works with this..unless on a table forever?

nevertheless, the performance is superb
surianti
post Jun 20 2024, 04:40 PM

198 posts

QUOTE(coolguy99 @ Aug 8 2023, 01:30 PM)
ipad 9th gen wifi 256GB at around 1850. Good deal?
Where can find this deal?

coolguy99
post Jun 20 2024, 05:25 PM

7,356 posts

QUOTE(surianti @ Jun 20 2024, 04:40 PM)
Where can find this deal?
I bought it during the monthly sales 7.7, 8.8. Usually they will offer better discounts during those monthly sales.
StarPrimo
post Jun 20 2024, 06:16 PM

1,845 posts

QUOTE(coolguy99 @ Jun 20 2024, 05:25 PM)
I bought it during the monthly sales 7.7, 8.8. Usually they will offer better discounts during those monthly sales.
True, always look out for those discounts.

surianti
post Jun 20 2024, 06:28 PM

198 posts

QUOTE(coolguy99 @ Jun 20 2024, 05:25 PM)
Shopee Lazada? Or the Machines or Switch website? I think it saw it over 2k for retail outlet.
art6969
post Jun 22 2024, 03:15 PM

1,520 posts

i bought 2 unit this ipad for my daughter, until now it work fine and still support ios18, but my lovely ipad pro 10.5 already listing as vintage product

This post has been edited by art6969: Jun 22 2024, 03:16 PM
jonthebaptist
post Oct 25 2024, 12:34 PM

1,036 posts

Just sharing, ipad 9th and 10th base models 64GB at all time lows

my44
post Nov 22 2024, 01:45 PM

2,492 posts

Just grab 9th gen from Shopee’s Apple Flagship Store below 900 for 64GB for basic youtube and general media consumption. So far OK lah. Nothing too fancy but fast and smooth enough for simple uses.

0.1734sec    0.64    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 08:21 AM