Unfortunately at that moment it never cross my mind to ask more about that.
Have any of you guys heard a similar rumor? Or anyone inside Microsoft Malaysia would like to comment? Unofficially of course.
Any rumours on Malaysia Xbox360 official release, End of this year?
Sep 12 2007, 04:38 PM, updated 19y ago
Show posts by this member only | Post
172 posts Joined: Dec 2005 From: KL |
When visiting a major Microsoft event in Malaysia just recently, I heard one guy saying that the 360 is going to be released officially in Malaysia by the end of this year.
Unfortunately at that moment it never cross my mind to ask more about that. Have any of you guys heard a similar rumor? Or anyone inside Microsoft Malaysia would like to comment? Unofficially of course. |
Sep 12 2007, 05:16 PM
3,390 posts Joined: Feb 2005 |
I wonder if it was a friend of a friend of a friend situation again? If you search the forums you'll see that this question has CONSTANTLY popped up until now no one even cares about it anymore. Let's just keep playing and hope for the best.
Sep 12 2007, 06:00 PM
277 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
marauderz is right. unless you can name your source, no point speculating. and if your source is not directly involved in the decision-making, it's even worse.
and just to answer your question, if microsoft is really going to launch the xbox anytime soon, a LOT more people will know about it. it's not like they can put everything together in 3 months or even 6 months. a lot of work has to be done and when things get done, people will take notice. so far, no real concrete news has recently surfaced on the xbox being launched here. end. |
Sep 12 2007, 06:24 PM
29 posts Joined: Jan 2007 From: Ravern Down |
i had trustable source
bcoz his brother work for microsoft US he also said that ms will launch it in Malaysia hehe u all know this fella but he never online on live since his new machine kenot even can turn on so send it back to ms sg This post has been edited by leenaz: Sep 12 2007, 06:24 PM |
Sep 12 2007, 06:40 PM
1,239 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: PJ/Malacca |
leenaz, are u sure? If not everyone here will pwn ur head in COD4/GOW/Halo 3
Sep 12 2007, 06:42 PM
1,971 posts Joined: Oct 2004 |
Sep 12 2007, 06:49 PM
315 posts Joined: Sep 2006 |
I predict it will be released by 2050. Maybe around 2011?
Sep 12 2007, 06:56 PM
1,648 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: PJ, Malaysia |
I had Dota session with a friend's aunty's sercret lover's gay husband's son.
He told me xbox360 gonna launch in malaysia very soon. |
Sep 12 2007, 07:02 PM
QUOTE(thurtin @ Sep 12 2007, 06:00 PM) marauderz is right. unless you can name your source, no point speculating. and if your source is not directly involved in the decision-making, it's even worse. Huh? I don't even have a source. I'm just asking whether anyone heard a rumor.end. QUOTE(thurtin @ Sep 12 2007, 06:00 PM) and just to answer your question, if microsoft is really going to launch the xbox anytime soon, a LOT more people will know about it. it's not like they can put everything together in 3 months or even 6 months. a lot of work has to be done and when things get done, people will take notice. so far, no real concrete news has recently surfaced on the xbox being launched here. Really! I am just shaking a tree. In the hope that whatever falls from the tree will be usefull to LYN communities. |
Sep 12 2007, 11:34 PM
3,008 posts Joined: Sep 2005 From: T.T.D.I, Bukit Damansara |
QUOTE(leenaz @ Sep 12 2007, 06:24 PM) i had trustable source yea man, me too. my uncle works for microsoft sg. and he said the same thing.bcoz his brother work for microsoft US he also said that ms will launch it in Malaysia hehe u all know this fella but he never online on live since his new machine kenot even can turn on so send it back to ms sg i'm sure he's trustworthy. he's my uncle after all. even my friend's friend's uncle said the same thing. he works for microsoft uk though. |
Sep 12 2007, 11:46 PM
244 posts Joined: Jun 2007 From: Georgetown,PG |
well,we have to do like this www.sayyoursay.com
Sep 12 2007, 11:46 PM
83 posts Joined: Oct 2004 |
QUOTE(leenaz @ Sep 12 2007, 06:24 PM) i had trustable source i heard bout it too this fella said that but he said don't put to much hope coz his brother not in entertainment department so it's still a rumour...bcoz his brother work for microsoft US he also said that ms will launch it in Malaysia hehe u all know this fella but he never online on live since his new machine kenot even can turn on so send it back to ms sg |
Sep 13 2007, 02:26 PM
1,844 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Kingdom of Sarawak |
Many many moons back (last year actually) I met this senior guy from M$, I was told M$ going to officially launch X360 in M'sia this year, but before that Court Mammoth is going to sell them here too.
Now Court Mammoth is indeed selling them, so my source is accurate, remember last year I was telling everyone that Court is going sell X360? Now we just need to wait for the official launch by M$ by end of this year I'm hoping we can get a cheaper version of elite and extended warranty for 3ROD. |
Sep 13 2007, 10:52 PM
481 posts Joined: Jun 2006 |
QUOTE(leenaz @ Sep 12 2007, 06:24 PM) i had trustable source i think u got a wrong info friend..bcoz his brother work for microsoft US he also said that ms will launch it in Malaysia hehe u all know this fella but he never online on live since his new machine kenot even can turn on so send it back to ms sg my uncle was a developer for 360 itself and he said the official lunch will be this November. So be prepare guys. he said we can get PINK 360! |
Sep 13 2007, 10:53 PM
Sep 13 2007, 11:08 PM
481 posts Joined: Jun 2006 |
Sep 14 2007, 09:20 AM
67 posts Joined: May 2007 |
QUOTE(greyshadow @ Sep 13 2007, 02:26 PM) Many many moons back (last year actually) I met this senior guy from M$, I was told M$ going to officially launch X360 in M'sia this year, but before that Court Mammoth is going to sell them here too. Now Court Mammoth is indeed selling them, so my source is accurate, remember last year I was telling everyone that Court is going sell X360? Now we just need to wait for the official launch by M$ by end of this year I'm hoping we can get a cheaper version of elite and extended warranty for 3ROD. QUOTE(bluffy83 @ Sep 13 2007, 10:52 PM) i think u got a wrong info friend.. If the time truly coming, 360 will be fukin rock big time here my uncle was a developer for 360 itself and he said the official lunch will be this November. So be prepare guys. he said we can get PINK 360! |
Sep 14 2007, 10:07 AM
6,986 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: E-Poh.../Pen-Nang.../Pee-Jay/S.Jaye |
good news indeed... if Nov it launches here we can claim here... ya hooo!!!!
another thing... we can get Official support also... LIVE download!!!! |
Sep 14 2007, 11:06 PM
335 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Subang Jaya |
but can we transfer our Singapore/US/Aussie/Canadian/Russian account to XBL M'sia? If not the nick wastedloh.
Sep 15 2007, 10:18 AM
30 posts Joined: Apr 2007 |
I don't want to be a bummer but my bro ask his friend who is workin with MS Malaysia said "they aren't considering getting XBOX LIVE up in Malaysia"
lets just hope because they have decided on getting it up in Malaysia la.....well if they really getting XBOX LIVE in Malaysia by the end of the year i m gonna kill myself for travelling to Singapore to dl GoW Maps |
Sep 15 2007, 10:25 AM
yup, me senior M$ source also claim the same thing, no plan for M'sia LIVE, but official console is a yes
Sep 15 2007, 10:37 AM
590 posts Joined: Aug 2005 |
some of other countries also have official hardware launch 1st while they work on offcial LIVE support.
just wish they stop those IP checking on game DLC. if a game content is suitable for SGP marketplace, it should be suitable for other parallel importers. don't IP-check GeOW maps or Halo3 maps, please. |
Sep 24 2007, 09:12 AM
QUOTE(acougan @ Sep 15 2007, 10:37 AM) some of other countries also have official hardware launch 1st while they work on offcial LIVE support. Yeah! Like India I think! And India (the country In another not so related news. I read that Microsoft make a statement in TGS that they are going to deemphasize Japan and put more priority on European market. Which is sad! If Japan is a successful market for Xbox360, then MS surely will look to nearby market such as Malaysia as a good potential. My personal opinion is that those Japanese is too proud to buy the 360 when PS3 is made locally (in Japan) by Sony. Anyway I just hope that MS will look at Asia (inclusive of Japan) as one market and realize that we Malaysian is part of the bigger market that is Asia. Establish Singapore as regional hub and then release the console officially in Malaysia. With return and warranty support to a logistic warehouse somewhere in KL. Better if they can have a repair center in Malaysia. Cheaper in term of human resources and well Malaysian have the technical knowhow anyway! (Err not to snub all you Singaporean!! Heh Heh! but we are all paid lower on this side! I think MS should have this in place already. I just wonder why they haven't release the 360 officially yet. I mean hmmm ... I don't think Malaysian hacker is that much troublesome. Piracy is happening everywhere (even in Korea .. which see very early 360 release). And Malaysian market is obviously bigger than Singapore (in term of raw population). Another angle that is interesting to ponder about is (Game) Software Development. One reason they target Japan is to get Japanese developer. Perhaps they can get Malaysian developer or at least those who are interesting in XDK. I can tell you that we got lots of creative people here. And that ends my Monday Morning Rambling. Cheers!! (Where are those drink beer smiley goes? Is it because this is Bulan Puasa |
Sep 24 2007, 01:02 PM
Just came back from a meeting with a very very senior staff from M$, who is he and what position I cannot say, but he's one of the decision maker lor.
here's what I manage to dig out from him. No official launching of Xbox360 this year. Official launching will be in year 2008, Q3. anyway, here's another news, which maybe some of you know of it already: M$ already finished developed an internet browser for X360 long long time ago, but don't want to release it yet. Why? bcos they fear history will repeat itself again, which history? something to do with IE and netscape lor |
Sep 24 2007, 01:08 PM
QUOTE(greyshadow @ Sep 24 2007, 01:02 PM) Just came back from a meeting with a very very senior staff from M$, who is he and what position I cannot say, but he's one of the decision maker lor. is he TL from the E&D division? 2008 q3 seems like a feasible date...here's what I manage to dig out from him. No official launching of Xbox360 this year. Official launching will be in year 2008, Q3. anyway, here's another news, which maybe some of you know of it already: M$ already finished developed an internet browser for X360 long long time ago, but don't want to release it yet. Why? bcos they fear history will repeat itself again, which history? something to do with IE and netscape lor |
Sep 24 2007, 01:49 PM
781 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(greyshadow @ Sep 24 2007, 01:02 PM) Just came back from a meeting with a very very senior staff from M$, who is he and what position I cannot say, but he's one of the decision maker lor. you mean the history where MS won the browser wars? here's what I manage to dig out from him. No official launching of Xbox360 this year. Official launching will be in year 2008, Q3. anyway, here's another news, which maybe some of you know of it already: M$ already finished developed an internet browser for X360 long long time ago, but don't want to release it yet. Why? bcos they fear history will repeat itself again, which history? something to do with IE and netscape lor |
Sep 24 2007, 02:26 PM
2008 launch - better late than never. we can then fly the malaysia flag next to our gamertags
actually, i think by 2008, the hardware should be stable and reliable enough to put the 3RL episodes behind. after all the most of 1st xbox are still working after 4+/5+/6+ years of use. |
Sep 24 2007, 04:15 PM
Sep 24 2007, 04:22 PM
Aaaa.. it's great that we have such a link to senior MS people right here in our forums GreyShadow. Do let them know we'd like to have all the 3 year one on one exchange policies which they have in Singapore too.
Sep 24 2007, 04:41 PM
don't think that will happen here lor
he claim M$ finally has fixed the 3ROD problems in all of the new batches. So if no more 3ROD, then there's no need 3 years warranty lor |
Sep 24 2007, 04:56 PM
1,635 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: BASF Asia Pacific |
3rod really sux huh.
Sep 24 2007, 05:05 PM
7,937 posts Joined: Oct 2004 |
q3, 2008? HAHAHAHAHAHAHHAHA |
Sep 24 2007, 05:50 PM
26 posts Joined: Jul 2007 |
WHAT? Q3 2008?! Crap, I've waited so long and now this.....t'is a cruel world indeed. oh well..at least the games that are out now would be cheaper by then..
Sep 24 2007, 05:58 PM
1,239 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: PJ/Malacca |
Hmmm, WCG.my 08 to have 360 games then?
Sep 24 2007, 09:40 PM
3,410 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Wangsa Maju, Kuala Lumpur |
Yea Q3 = No WCG for us again
Sep 25 2007, 05:24 AM
1 posts Joined: Sep 2006 |
Wasting my GOW skills again if no 360 titles in WCG Malaysia...
This post has been edited by Syuji: Sep 25 2007, 05:27 AM |
Sep 25 2007, 07:01 AM
1,657 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Klawang stage 1 |
Sep 25 2007, 07:15 AM
Sep 25 2007, 11:57 AM
At least you can still dload the GRAW2 maps although they're kinda useless since everyone seems to be playing GoW maps. I can't even download those and I'm not going down to Singapore anytime soon |
Sep 25 2007, 06:02 PM
0 posts Joined: May 2007 |
india to get xbox live soon?
iirc i have seen indian GT playing online already |
Sep 25 2007, 06:14 PM
Oct 3 2007, 09:51 AM
QUOTE(acougan @ Sep 24 2007, 02:26 PM) 2008 launch - better late than never. we can then fly the malaysia flag next to our gamertags Well let see, Xbox 360 is released on Q3 2005 and we will officially receive it on Q3 2008. That is 3 years !!!actually, i think by 2008, the hardware should be stable and reliable enough to put the 3RL episodes behind. after all the most of 1st xbox are still working after 4+/5+/6+ years of use. Given that expected console live is 5 years or even worse it might be 4 years. We Malaysian will receive it (oficially) very-very near the end of life already. So what is the big deal? For once PS3 might look more attractive at that time. We all know that PS3 spec is engineered to have longer shelf life. Hell, base on Sony hardware engineering superiority (compared to MS software engineering superiority), I expect the PS3 will be much cheaper at that time. Let's give that to Sony. Just see how sony keep reengineering their PS2 to keep it on the shelve at better price (or better profit margin?). So comparing end of live console to a cheaper console is a no brainer. Oh! and by that time or at least few months after the supposed Malaysian release. MS will start hyping their next xbox console. Tech spec, rumours, photochop pics will be all over the net. So people will start thinking that it is not worth it to buy. And given MS track record with the Xbox (original), we all will be expecting a totally unsupported console in one year time after the official release? Well then I can see that Malaysia will always be a stronghold for Sony. Eventhough PS3 has never been released officially here. We all know that we don't need or expect that from Sony. Why? Because PS3 is so far more reliable than our vulnerable Xbox 360. And I guess PS3 network doesn't care what country you are in. It is also free compared to Xbox life. There is a rumour about PS3 price cut. That is tempting and very samurai like for Sony to execute it at this very crucial moment. If someone ask me, what crucial moment? Heh ! Easy ! The moment when we finally realize that MS never care about us Malaysian gamers. GFYSMS See ya! |
Oct 3 2007, 11:47 AM
1,846 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: City^of^Anggerik |
QUOTE(haris @ Oct 3 2007, 09:51 AM) Well let see, Xbox 360 is released on Q3 2005 and we will officially receive it on Q3 2008. That is 3 years !!! Yup...cya.....no wonder no one care about your statement here...bear in mind that the first xbox had never been launched officiaally here..and no one forcing u to buy x360..maybe PS3 is the better choice 4 u...why don ..U start buying PS3..and start posting in the playstation thread....just don try to act like most of the people here...whose keep comparing between these two consoles...but end up buying none of those....like i always say..troll....pls go away...Given that expected console live is 5 years or even worse it might be 4 years. We Malaysian will receive it (oficially) very-very near the end of life already. So what is the big deal? For once PS3 might look more attractive at that time. We all know that PS3 spec is engineered to have longer shelf life. Hell, base on Sony hardware engineering superiority (compared to MS software engineering superiority), I expect the PS3 will be much cheaper at that time. Let's give that to Sony. Just see how sony keep reengineering their PS2 to keep it on the shelve at better price (or better profit margin?). So comparing end of live console to a cheaper console is a no brainer. Oh! and by that time or at least few months after the supposed Malaysian release. MS will start hyping their next xbox console. Tech spec, rumours, photochop pics will be all over the net. So people will start thinking that it is not worth it to buy. And given MS track record with the Xbox (original), we all will be expecting a totally unsupported console in one year time after the official release? Well then I can see that Malaysia will always be a stronghold for Sony. Eventhough PS3 has never been released officially here. We all know that we don't need or expect that from Sony. Why? Because PS3 is so far more reliable than our vulnerable Xbox 360. And I guess PS3 network doesn't care what country you are in. It is also free compared to Xbox life. There is a rumour about PS3 price cut. That is tempting and very samurai like for Sony to execute it at this very crucial moment. If someone ask me, what crucial moment? Heh ! Easy ! The moment when we finally realize that MS never care about us Malaysian gamers. GFYSMS See ya! 'NUFF SAID This post has been edited by silencer: Oct 3 2007, 11:49 AM |
Oct 3 2007, 12:58 PM
@haris, even though malaysian consumer market is small, many consoles and platforms can co-exist.
2008 launch sounds about right, give MS some time to sort out the design flaws and come up with a cheaper and more reliable console. i think with 2008 local launch, most of us will be buying our 2nd/3rd xbox core for warranty the only thing i worry is the official govt tax on videogames and stuff. with tax applied, parallel imported stuff is still cheaper. |
Oct 3 2007, 01:03 PM
3,331 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: -MegaCity One- |
QUOTE(silencer @ Oct 3 2007, 11:47 AM) Yup...cya.....no wonder no one care about your statement here...bear in mind that the first xbox had never been launched officiaally here..and no one forcing u to buy x360..maybe PS3 is the better choice 4 u...why don ..U start buying PS3..and start posting in the playstation thread....just don try to act like most of the people here...whose keep comparing between these two consoles...but end up buying none of those....like i always say..troll....pls go away... fuyooo boss silencer kenapa marah ler hehehe... boss i called your hp so many times lah why you never call back. my friend dah service his own citra belakang rumah 'NUFF SAID |
Oct 3 2007, 01:06 PM
QUOTE(judge-the @ Oct 3 2007, 01:03 PM) fuyooo boss silencer kenapa marah ler hehehe... boss i called your hp so many times lah why you never call back. my friend dah service his own citra belakang rumah alamak..i might have missed your call....its ok..we have a special promotion after raya....especially on 1st November...the svc ctr is still not in full force....once it is officially launched..will definitely inviting u there....so many things to do with so little time..next..one stop 24 hours mcdonald drive in restaurant..might be in the ampang area too.... |
Oct 3 2007, 01:06 PM
QUOTE(silencer @ Oct 3 2007, 11:47 AM) Yup...cya.....no wonder no one care about your statement here...bear in mind that the first xbox had never been launched officiaally here..and no one forcing u to buy x360..maybe PS3 is the better choice 4 u...why don ..U start buying PS3..and start posting in the playstation thread....just don try to act like most of the people here...whose keep comparing between these two consoles...but end up buying none of those....like i always say..troll....pls go away... sabarla bro silencer. no need to get mad. some people just dont know what they are missing out until they had a taste for themselves.'NUFF SAID Added on October 3, 2007, 1:09 pm QUOTE(acougan @ Oct 3 2007, 12:58 PM) @haris, even though malaysian consumer market is small, many consoles and platforms can co-exist. you hit the nail on the head man. that's one of the reasons hindering the xbox's presence here. the stupid tax rate is at 22%. its way too high.2008 launch sounds about right, give MS some time to sort out the design flaws and come up with a cheaper and more reliable console. i think with 2008 local launch, most of us will be buying our 2nd/3rd xbox core for warranty the only thing i worry is the official govt tax on videogames and stuff. with tax applied, parallel imported stuff is still cheaper. This post has been edited by thurtin: Oct 3 2007, 01:09 PM |
Oct 3 2007, 01:10 PM
QUOTE(thurtin @ Oct 3 2007, 01:06 PM) sabarla bro silencer. no need to get mad. some people just dont know what they are missing out until they had a taste for themselves. labbit..apologise..if i was over-reacting..just getting so pixxed off....for statements made by the troll...... Added on October 3, 2007, 1:09 pm you hit the nail on the head man. that's one of the reasons hindering the xbox's presence here. the stupid tax rate is at 22%. its way too high. |
Oct 3 2007, 01:10 PM
QUOTE(silencer @ Oct 3 2007, 01:06 PM) alamak..i might have missed your call....its ok..we have a special promotion after raya....especially on 1st November...the svc ctr is still not in full force....once it is officially launched..will definitely inviting u there....so many things to do with so little time..next..one stop 24 hours mcdonald drive in restaurant..might be in the ampang area too.... when talking about McD i'll get really2 emotional lah... sorry lah boss... so make sure you give me that red color 10% privilidge McD card! kalau tak bagi aku tak kawan engkau hehehe |
Oct 3 2007, 01:12 PM
some of you are too sensitive and defensive. just because 360 is a good platform and give you many good gaming hours, doesn't mean anyone who offer constructive criticism of the 360 situation in Malaysia is a troll. there are indeed many forum trolls around here, look at haris' post history, he/she is no troll
Oct 3 2007, 01:15 PM
QUOTE(acougan @ Oct 3 2007, 01:12 PM) some of you are too sensitive and defensive. just because 360 is a good platform and give you many good gaming hours, doesn't mean anyone who offer constructive criticism of the 360 situation in Malaysia is a troll. there are indeed many forum trolls around here, look at haris' post history, he/she is no troll I only believe it when i c his Live GT.."NUFF SAID.... |
Oct 3 2007, 01:18 PM
1,545 posts Joined: Oct 2005 From: eeepc |
i hope they launch a stiti nurhaliza edition elite... bcos she is so HAWT hahahahahahahaah...
Oct 3 2007, 01:19 PM
1,469 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: YOU.ESS.JAY |
Oct 3 2007, 01:30 PM
if someone don't like/not interested in XXXX but still go on a forum crusade against that XXXX, then we call that someone a forum troll. lighten up, most forum trolls are mere little kids.
haris already stated he liked the 360 and wish to see the 360 do well in Malaysia, nothing he posted is in anyway trollish. |
Oct 3 2007, 01:40 PM
Oct 3 2007, 01:45 PM
1,545 posts Joined: Oct 2005 From: eeepc |
Oct 3 2007, 01:48 PM
Oct 3 2007, 01:52 PM
234 posts Joined: Jan 2005 From: Puchong |
Oct 3 2007, 01:56 PM
Haha, oh yeah. Hannah T edition would also sell out! RODS, haha! |
Oct 3 2007, 01:57 PM
54 posts Joined: Sep 2007 |
Oct 3 2007, 02:10 PM
Oct 3 2007, 02:17 PM
234 posts Joined: Jan 2005 From: Puchong |
Oct 3 2007, 03:42 PM
not hot mama but MILF!
Oct 3 2007, 03:52 PM
Oct 3 2007, 03:58 PM
Oct 3 2007, 04:04 PM
Oct 3 2007, 04:25 PM
what the hell u guys talking about ?
MAWI EDITION WILL BE SOLD OUT IN LESS THAN 1 HOUR :repect: even the minah2 kampung who loves mawi will buy it. I can guarantee u MS is missing on millions of ringgit if they dont launch it here |
Oct 3 2007, 07:01 PM
Oct 3 2007, 07:54 PM
Oct 4 2007, 10:36 PM
QUOTE(silencer @ Oct 3 2007, 11:47 AM) Yup...cya.....no wonder no one care about your statement here...bear in mind that the first xbox had never been launched officiaally here..and no one forcing u to buy x360..maybe PS3 is the better choice 4 u...why don ..U start buying PS3..and start posting in the playstation thread....just don try to act like most of the people here...whose keep comparing between these two consoles...but end up buying none of those....like i always say..troll....pls go away... Dude,'NUFF SAID Two point 1- If no one care about my statement, this thread won't go to page #4 right? 2- Just read your own words and see who is trolling. Thanks to everyone else for reading. In so far I have start two thread (or maybe more) of discussion that is related to when Xbox 360 is going to be officially released in Malaysia. It is a good thing that some Malaysian take the risk as early adopters and after about two years there are people who buy it without it being officially supported in Malaysia. That is good because it keep the dice rolling. However, in order for everyone, including those early adopters, to really2 enjoy Xbox360. It need to be officially released in Malaysia. Just imagine the benefit in term of price, support, repair service, faster online speed (some kind of local Live server?), more Malaysian buddy to play with, local Malaysian Halo 3 clan and perhaps MS sponsored Halo 3 tournament every friday night at KLCC. I have write enough on this issue. I think if someone from Microsoft want to read public opinion regarding this issue. They must have read it already. So no point to continue this anyway. Oh! And final addition. Those hardcore gamers will own both 360 and PS3. Which one first, which one second, which one third, which one forth ... etc ... really doesn't matter. Both are superb machine. Enjoy! |
Oct 4 2007, 11:05 PM
1,480 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Sunway |
ha but previous post u said like ps3 its the winner end of day and its godlike console machine
Oct 5 2007, 01:45 AM
Oct 5 2007, 03:25 AM
7 posts Joined: Feb 2007 From: Royal Malaysian Air Force, Kuching Air Base |
Oct 5 2007, 09:20 AM
Oct 5 2007, 09:54 AM
Oct 5 2007, 10:16 AM
4,889 posts Joined: Jan 2005 From: Kelana Jaya |
QUOTE(haris @ Oct 3 2007, 09:51 AM) Well let see, Xbox 360 is released on Q3 2005 and we will officially receive it on Q3 2008. That is 3 years !!! First of all, if Microsoft were to officially support the XBOX, you would think that they will support the current console (XBOX and 360) as well as all their future consoles.Given that expected console live is 5 years or even worse it might be 4 years. We Malaysian will receive it (oficially) very-very near the end of life already. So what is the big deal? For once PS3 might look more attractive at that time. We all know that PS3 spec is engineered to have longer shelf life. Hell, base on Sony hardware engineering superiority (compared to MS software engineering superiority), I expect the PS3 will be much cheaper at that time. Let's give that to Sony. Just see how sony keep reengineering their PS2 to keep it on the shelve at better price (or better profit margin?). So comparing end of live console to a cheaper console is a no brainer. Oh! and by that time or at least few months after the supposed Malaysian release. MS will start hyping their next xbox console. Tech spec, rumours, photochop pics will be all over the net. So people will start thinking that it is not worth it to buy. And given MS track record with the Xbox (original), we all will be expecting a totally unsupported console in one year time after the official release? Well then I can see that Malaysia will always be a stronghold for Sony. Eventhough PS3 has never been released officially here. We all know that we don't need or expect that from Sony. Why? Because PS3 is so far more reliable than our vulnerable Xbox 360. And I guess PS3 network doesn't care what country you are in. It is also free compared to Xbox life. There is a rumour about PS3 price cut. That is tempting and very samurai like for Sony to execute it at this very crucial moment. If someone ask me, what crucial moment? Heh ! Easy ! The moment when we finally realize that MS never care about us Malaysian gamers. GFYSMS See ya! So, having official presence here next year is not a waste. It allows them to officially launch future consoles in Malaysia which will benefit us in the long term. Microsoft will establish an XBOX division in Malaysia if they want to have official presence, not just supporting a single product. It doesn't make business sense. So your argument is kinda moot. |
Oct 5 2007, 11:20 AM
QUOTE(zio @ Oct 5 2007, 10:16 AM) First of all, if Microsoft were to officially support the XBOX, you would think that they will support the current console (XBOX and 360) as well as all their future consoles. Microsoft no longger suport the original Xbox. So it will be very unlikely if the 360 is release officially here, that the original Xbox will be supported too. The original Xbox is no logger in production. So really ...So, having official presence here next year is not a waste. It allows them to officially launch future consoles in Malaysia which will benefit us in the long term. Microsoft will establish an XBOX division in Malaysia if they want to have official presence, not just supporting a single product. It doesn't make business sense. So your argument is kinda moot. Well yes it is a big point that if MS officially release Xbox 360 here. Then (hopefully) they will officially release and support next generations console too (hopefully, get down on your knees and pray, touch wood, cross your fingger, or do whatever you usually do). However, my argument is not against that Now if you say that it is part of their long term strategy to gain market share here. And perhaps has better reception for their future console launch like maybe Xbox 720. Than it migh be a good thing. But ! Won't you think that they will just officially release Xbox 720 instead of Xbox 360. I think, that will have more effect and make more **business sense*** ! Why? Because of my previous post that you should read carefully again. I appreciate your argument. Because it makes people think. And that is a good thing. Atleast we can say that Malaysian has an informed public opinion. Let just see what this poster write QUOTE(aegis`- @ Oct 4 2007, 11:05 PM) Sorry to say but,1. Not contributing to the discussion. 2. Not having any intelligent original thought. 3. Miss read my original post because I don't see any part where I say specifically that "ps3 its the winner" and "its godlike console machine ". I can understand that some people will feel threaten when not so good quality of the console their support is highlighted. But really, don't twist what I write into something else. It is a fact that Malaysia is stronghold for sony, that cell architecture has more juice to squeeze in the long run, that the PS3 is so far more reliable and PS Network is free. We love the 360 because it has better graphic, has lots of game and great service with Xbox live. If people ask me. Get the 360 now and get the PS3 latter. Because now the game is mostly in Xbox 360. We don't know about latter but mostly I suspect it will be like what I write due to PS3 strength. And Silencer. I understood what you are trying to do. Uh! I mean like your nick is to silence something. But dude! If you have nothing constructive to offer or write or say, stop trolling arround. Stop being childish too. I only see p0wned used in forums where lots of kiddies post their fustration. Ha ha! Anyway, lets make this post as mature as possible la. Unless it is something that is way beyond you. Have a good day! EDIT : Get the 360 now and get the PS3 latter. Get the 360 now if you can stomach the fact that it is not oficially supported here in Malaysia. We can always get it later, at an unknown date, when it is oficially supported by MS Malaysia. This post has been edited by haris: Oct 5 2007, 11:30 AM |
Oct 5 2007, 11:37 AM
4,889 posts Joined: Jan 2005 From: Kelana Jaya |
Well it may be true that launching the XBOX 720 might makes more business sense but its probably not going to come for a while.
So launching the 360 is still the next probable moment for them to announce official presence. I am not saying your argument that the PS3 might seem a better investment since it has a longer shelf life. Remember that the 360 shelf life may not be the same as the original XBOX, because Microsoft made a business decision to enter the next-gen console early after the XBOX struggled in its late debut into the market. 720 might not be any earlier than PS4 or Wii2. Wow so many fake names in one sentence. Never tot I would see the day. So i would say shelf life is still up to debate. Microsoft is more likely to come with different permutations of the 360 right now than to launch a new console anytime soon. And that is a sound advice, get the 360 now and the PS3 later. Because the PS3 really has nothing going for it right now. PSN is free but I heard its still not XBOX Live. And the games, well, not really blockbusters at the moment. Heavenly Sword is inferior to God of War, LAIR is ok at best. Looks like Sony will still have to rely on the heavy hitters, MGS and FF to move their consoles. But I will still gun for an official presence, not just for the 360 but for future consoles as well, which I think will most likely be the case. |
Oct 6 2007, 12:40 AM
haris
1) yes i agree its not contributing to the thread 2) doesnt need an original thought bcoz its just a mere sense of reply to ur 1st statement 3) i know you ddnt say ps3 is a godlike machine i just exxagerated bcoz ur first was kinda bias towards ps3 totally lol imm not starting a flame just pin-pointing it out heh peace yea |
Oct 6 2007, 10:54 AM
ms wil launch maya karin??maria ozawa damn cun
this thread is for 18sx right?? |
Jan 9 2008, 05:48 PM
62 posts Joined: Jul 2005 |
so, any news on the launch of '360 in 2008???
Jan 9 2008, 10:53 PM
5,261 posts Joined: Oct 2004 From: J@Y B33 |
will launch. end of 2008.
Jan 9 2008, 11:16 PM
755 posts Joined: Sep 2006 From: Batu Caves |
and then they will say end of 2009..
Jan 10 2008, 09:36 PM
123 posts Joined: Jan 2008 From: Putrajaya |
Haha,seriously playing Xbox Live with all these Bad Internet providers,Is a pain in the ass.
The whole time im playing the Games,I will sometimes Disconnect and lagged. Also the Pings ingame are very high,means if you shoot someone as an example,you will die first. Checked my internet connection speed,Very slow. We are paying for Premium Service,Not some shitty Service... Thats why Theres no Xbox Live for malaysia. |
Jan 10 2008, 10:19 PM
QUOTE(latios507 @ Jan 10 2008, 09:36 PM) Haha,seriously playing Xbox Live with all these Bad Internet providers,Is a pain in the ass. did u play with malaysians or americans/europeans ?The whole time im playing the Games,I will sometimes Disconnect and lagged. Also the Pings ingame are very high,means if you shoot someone as an example,you will die first. Checked my internet connection speed,Very slow. We are paying for Premium Service,Not some shitty Service... Thats why Theres no Xbox Live for malaysia. |
Jan 10 2008, 10:29 PM
QUOTE(munky @ Jan 10 2008, 10:19 PM) Americans I guess.I never met any malaysian gamers before.Founded this web by googling.Are you trying to say if i play with malaysian,it wont lag? Because some guy claims that if you play someone in a same area (country),Chances of having Lag are greatly reduced. |
Jan 10 2008, 10:34 PM
QUOTE(latios507 @ Jan 10 2008, 10:29 PM) Americans I guess.I never met any malaysian gamers before.Founded this web by googling. yes true bcoz u dont need to get thru the international bandwith and isp exchange and stuffAre you trying to say if i play with malaysian,it wont lag? Because some guy claims that if you play someone in a same area (country),Chances of having Lag are greatly reduced. a direct connection thru the same isp is much faster |
Jan 11 2008, 12:42 AM
236 posts Joined: Mar 2007 From: Mutiara Damansara |
QUOTE(latios507 @ Jan 10 2008, 09:36 PM) Haha,seriously playing Xbox Live with all these Bad Internet providers,Is a pain in the ass. It's Screamyx, what do u expect?? LOL ...The whole time im playing the Games,I will sometimes Disconnect and lagged. Also the Pings ingame are very high,means if you shoot someone as an example,you will die first. Checked my internet connection speed,Very slow. We are paying for Premium Service,Not some shitty Service... Thats why Theres no Xbox Live for malaysia. |
Sep 5 2008, 10:07 AM
26 posts Joined: Jul 2007 |
so....is it coming? PS3 gonna launch soon so when is MS going to do something? it's kinda odd that they're selling 360s at Courts and Carrefour and still no concrete launch date (if any)
Sep 5 2008, 11:54 AM
273 posts Joined: May 2005 From: Kelana Jaya |
Highly doubt it's coming. Malaysia's gaming community is just too small. Majority of the population still view video games as childish toys. Sony has a strong fanbase here in Msia, so i'm guessing they're trying to take advantage of that.
This post has been edited by chinook: Sep 5 2008, 11:55 AM |
Sep 5 2008, 02:39 PM
1,450 posts Joined: Jun 2008 From: KK |
I doubt MS is stupid enough to make a launch here. Face it, there are far too many pirates in Malaysia and how many actually support originals? 100? 500?
Sep 5 2008, 02:47 PM
2,693 posts Joined: Jul 2006 |
Whoa.
Somebody actually revive this ancient topic. The answer was clear and never will change. no! No! nO! NO! M$ will not officially launch Xbox360 in Malaysia. :yawn: |
Sep 5 2008, 04:31 PM
13 posts Joined: Jul 2007 |
whoa! what an ancient thread...
properly m$ won't launch xbox in malaysia you know how great our gov of it, they r too good to rape money instead to protect intellectual property... so, the answer is NO. Haiz, since 2006 one guy shout who who who's uncle working in m$...that is shitty talk. Face it, buddy. |
Sep 5 2008, 04:40 PM
580 posts Joined: May 2008 From: Anfield |
supporting pirates can be traced back to lack of education IMHO.
most malaysians DO NOT know how much does it takes to make a game, let alone think about the ppl in the industry. face it, malaysians are too stupid even to appreciate art. most of them can't get the idea that ppl are paying millions for a piece of painting on canvas. they never knew why and refuse to think more than that. so again, if we want to reduce piracy (to kill it 100% is very utopian), i guess we should start educating. tell them why it's bad rather then not talk about it at all. i suggest we start a sticky topic on why piracy is bad and list down the facts that makes a game being sold at that price. (sorry, i know it's out of topic) This post has been edited by technophile: Sep 5 2008, 04:41 PM |
Sep 5 2008, 04:49 PM
17,782 posts Joined: Dec 2007 From: Bandar Baru Bangi , Malaysia |
QUOTE(technophile @ Sep 5 2008, 04:40 PM) supporting pirates can be traced back to lack of education IMHO. piracy in malaysia just like a cancer..our people should change the mind set for this situation..yet still searching modded console , because they used to purchased pirated things...most malaysians DO NOT know how much does it takes to make a game, let alone think about the ppl in the industry. face it, malaysians are too stupid even to appreciate art. most of them can't get the idea that ppl are paying millions for a piece of painting on canvas. they never knew why and refuse to think more than that. so again, if we want to reduce piracy (to kill it 100% is very utopian), i guess we should start educating. tell them why it's bad rather then not talk about it at all. i suggest we start a sticky topic on why piracy is bad and list down the facts that makes a game being sold at that price. (sorry, i know it's out of topic) |
Sep 5 2008, 04:52 PM
1,838 posts Joined: Jan 2007 From: Cheras saja deyh! |
Actually, during the the PS2 days Sony still launched their official PS2 here. And then, Microsoft is still pushing Original Xp to the public.
Why shud they not launch even if piracy is a little more rampant around here? Even the fact that Xbox games get launched officially over here like Silent Hill 5 and Battlefield BC? Damn you MS! |
Sep 5 2008, 04:58 PM
QUOTE(GamersFamilia @ Sep 5 2008, 04:49 PM) piracy in malaysia just like a cancer..our people should change the mind set for this situation..yet still searching modded console , because they used to purchased pirated things... true. but how to change their minds if they are not informed. we must not wait for our sleepy govt for them to take action. we as gamers should play an active role educating the masses on the dangers of piracy. i think if most of them know that to make a single game cost about the same as a hollywood movie, and to know how for 2-3 years of development most of the staffs didn't get enuff sleep etc, maybe some of them will change their mind about pirating. like i said, we can't kill it 100% as no single country is free from pirates. but if we can reduce it to an acceptable level, then the hard work is done. we should not shoo away ppl who ask for modded console or ahem games. but point them to the sticky thread about why we do not condone piracy. |
Sep 5 2008, 05:05 PM
I actually put part of the blame to the government, then education. Why the government? On one hand they are trying to crack down piracy while imposing tax and duties (plus many other craps) to imported originals, making it more expensive and non accessible to the people. But of course, education is also important but some people just cannot be taught on this issue (very sensitive to elaborate).
Sep 5 2008, 05:12 PM
must educate young generation bout it , soon this thing will getting better and better..
Sep 5 2008, 05:13 PM
is there any tax?
i mean is it that much. remember, we dun have GST, so i think those taxes (at whatever rate) is ok. coz we can still get games for RM140. that's USD43.75. cheaper than what they pay in US itself. plus they have taxes depending where they are. so to argue about tax is pointless i think. unless it makes the game doubles in price. |
Sep 5 2008, 05:13 PM
It's not just the education. It's our economy as well. Games in US cost about $60 bucks. They probably earn 4-5000 USD a month on average (rough estimation). We earn the same amount in MYR, approximately only 1000+ USD yet the games we buy cost RM100 and above.
I don't support piracy but let's be rational here, most people who want to play games can't afford it, thus leading them to buy pirated software. The mindset towards piracy here will not change until our economy improves. Even then, it will still be hard to push for all software to be piracy-free. |
Sep 5 2008, 05:15 PM
QUOTE(GamersFamilia @ Sep 5 2008, 05:12 PM) i'll say this in malay."kalau bapak pun tak diajar, masa kan anak nak ikut?" remember, the young ones will always look up to us the elders for example. if the current elders are resorting to piracy, then no point teaching the kids rite? teach everyone, anyone. regardless age and level of education. Added on September 5, 2008, 5:20 pm QUOTE(chinook @ Sep 5 2008, 05:13 PM) It's not just the education. It's our economy as well. Games in US cost about $60 bucks. They probably earn 4-5000 USD a month on average (rough estimation). We earn the same amount in MYR, approximately only 1000+ USD yet the games we buy cost RM100 and above. i agree. but with their 5000USD, you gotta remember, the cost is still about the same for them. they still pay a lot for fuels, food, etc. because everything is adjusted to their currency.I don't support piracy but let's be rational here, most people who want to play games can't afford it, thus leading them to buy pirated software. The mindset towards piracy here will not change until our economy improves. Even then, it will still be hard to push for all software to be piracy-free. earning 4000 and paying 60 for a game is like us earning RM4000 and paying RM60 for original DVD. but how many of us have actually bought an original movie for RM60 and not resort to piracy? we can't complain about the game's cost because of the exchange rate. this is what we need to teach ppl about too. yes in U.S USD60 is very cheap but here thanks to the exchange rate it became expensive. again to argue about exchange rates is pointless in my book. coz there's no way you can lower a game's price to RM60 to complement it's US counterparts. so it's back to education and knowledge. This post has been edited by technophile: Sep 5 2008, 05:20 PM |
Sep 5 2008, 05:23 PM
u know...if genuine audio cd also rm40.00 , people still supporting piracy..even rm21.00 also they search for pirated.......for me there is no such thing as RM3k salary compare to US what so ever and yet ori games for 360 & PS3 at RM100++...Even lets say 10K salary also still complaint games too expensive...yet blaming goverment...gizzz..come on guys..
no matter what our salary , we can well plan our budget each month to buy a genuine games...its all in our own mind...not because other people , goverment or political issues.. |
Sep 5 2008, 05:24 PM
If doing it the legal way, customs impose 20% custom duties on all disc based medias. In worse scenario, additional 10% sales tax.
And gaming has nothing to do with the economy. Sure you may put up the argument how much an average US worker earn against those here. But remember, development costs are all overhead costs based on their standard as well. If games are locally made (from development to marketing) then your presumptions hold true. |
Sep 5 2008, 05:27 PM
QUOTE(gundamalpha @ Sep 5 2008, 05:24 PM) If doing it the legal way, customs impose 20% custom duties on all disc based medias. In worse scenario, additional 10% sales tax. but if you declare it as "Softwares" and you are a company dealing with softwares. you will get exempted from paying any duties. as far as i know there's no tax and duties for softwares and electronic components.And gaming has nothing to do with the economy. Sure you may put up the argument how much an average US worker earn against those here. But remember, development costs are all overhead costs based on their standard as well. If games are locally made (from development to marketing) then your presumptions hold true. it's a matter of how you do it. if not how do you explain we get games for cheap now? the distributors get it for cheap, didn't got taxed for it, just marked up a bit and pass it to us. |
Sep 5 2008, 05:31 PM
i don't see what's the big deal. xbox360 is launched in some countries with very high piracy rate too.
if they calculated MY is not a feasible market, then it is not feasible. or they hoping enthusiasts will import from SGP. |
Sep 5 2008, 05:34 PM
What about importing games ourselves? Not everyone has accessed to those reasonably priced games throughout the nation, nor every seller has the game that we want.
Sep 5 2008, 05:34 PM
336 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
» Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « Seriously... do american buy all the games? nope... even I know some they only have few games less then 5.... they play it over and over again.... BTW if you work hard and I pay u RM5 for your afford? will you accept? no?... We can't change everybody into ori straight away.. just need time slowly.. for those 100% buying pirated kindly please contribute a bit maybe 1 or 2 games a year?.. This post has been edited by DarkSaviour: Sep 5 2008, 05:37 PM |
Sep 5 2008, 05:37 PM
62 posts Joined: Jan 2005 |
Microsoft isn't only just concerned about piracy in the country. They're also concerned about our current network infrastructure.
Xbox Live is an integral part of the Xbox game consoles, and with our half-baked network system (1MB "Best Effort" connectivity, lol), it's unlikely that Microsoft will launch the console in Malaysia anytime soon. This post has been edited by Ruff Bark: Sep 5 2008, 05:38 PM |
Sep 5 2008, 05:38 PM
QUOTE(gundamalpha @ Sep 5 2008, 05:34 PM) What about importing games ourselves? Not everyone has accessed to those reasonably priced games throughout the nation, nor every seller has the game that we want. make friends with ppl who sell games. that's my best advice if you can't find games you want. but so far, unless you want to play japanese games, i dun see any problems since we can practically find any game we want here.as for no access to reasonably priced games, well, you can deal with one of many shops in here. they will be happily send it to you no matter where you are. if you dun trust pos laju, there's always DHL, FedEx, UPS. you just have to get ready with your money. |
Sep 5 2008, 05:39 PM
QUOTE(GamersFamilia @ Sep 5 2008, 05:23 PM) u know...if genuine audio cd also rm40.00 , people still supporting piracy..even rm21.00 also they search for pirated.......for me there is no such thing as RM3k salary compare to US what so ever and yet ori games for 360 & PS3 at RM100++...Even lets say 10K salary also still complaint games too expensive...yet blaming goverment...gizzz..come on guys.. Exactly why I said that even if our economy improves, the mindset will still be there. no matter what our salary , we can well plan our budget each month to buy a genuine games...its all in our own mind...not because other people , goverment or political issues.. The point I'm trying to make is that this whole piracy thing is so rampant here because our economy is quite far behind other developed nations. The exchange rate is so high that every time we import something, we end up paying double, even triple what it originally costs. And yes, the exchange rate is important because games are still items for purchase. Hopefully one day our exchange rate will improve, and we'll be able to buy games at below the current prices. Yes I do agree that we can plan our budget, heck I basically starve myself every month in Uni just to buy new games but not everyone has that luxury. There are many in the country who have to scrape so much that their wage is only enough to cover the necessities yet their kids want to play video games. Yes, maybe they shouldn't even think about video games at all but kids are kids. |
Sep 5 2008, 05:40 PM
My last words regarding this piracy issue is "gaming is not a right, it's a luxury". If you can't afford to drive imported sports car, drive a locally assembled car. But I know this won't be accepted for most Malaysians as there are still many people modifying their locally assembled cars to look and performed like their expensive counterparts illegally.
Sep 5 2008, 05:42 PM
hahahah seriously i dun think MS will launch here... look at those per centage of Windows pirated... tell me how many of you guys using ori windows?... hahahahah
no offense to all, I'm a Malaysian as well.. "We pay high price for shit product/services" .... e.g. streamyx... |
Sep 5 2008, 05:43 PM
589 posts Joined: Aug 2006 From: KrustyLia...Long Live Krusty... |
QUOTE(Ruff Bark @ Sep 5 2008, 05:37 PM) Microsoft isn't only just concerned about piracy in the country. They're also concerned about our current network infrastructure. Theres a stereotype in the Arab world, they get their music 40 years behind everyone else, so right now they are enjoying the disco era in their countries....Xbox Live is an integral part of the Xbox game consoles, and with our half-baked network system (1MB "Best Effort" connectivity, lol), it's unlikely that Microsoft will launch the console in Malaysia anytime soon. When it comes to us we will get the 360 official launch in the year 2030... We can educate the kids not to buy pirated goods by... » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « |
Sep 5 2008, 05:44 PM
another thing to remember is that you don't have to buy every single game that comes out! which is the mistake a lot of people do. Just buy stuff you want to play, and use 2nd hand thread to sell off stuff you don't want, or buy stuff at a cheaper price.
Sep 5 2008, 05:46 PM
QUOTE(Hitman190 @ Sep 5 2008, 05:43 PM) Theres a stereotype in the Arab world, they get their music 40 years behind everyone else, so right now they are enjoying the disco era in their countries.... Lol, you've been watching too much Zohan.When it comes to us we will get the 360 official launch in the year 2030... We can educate the kids not to buy pirated goods by... » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « |
Sep 5 2008, 05:50 PM
Added on September 5, 2008, 5:52 pm QUOTE(marauderz @ Sep 5 2008, 05:44 PM) another thing to remember is that you don't have to buy every single game that comes out! which is the mistake a lot of people do. Just buy stuff you want to play, and use 2nd hand thread to sell off stuff you don't want, or buy stuff at a cheaper price. this is very true. the thing with piracy was, since it was so cheap, ppl just buy everything. so that became a habit that they carry forward now when they got a PS3. then they realised that PS3 got no pirated games, they sell the PS3 and buy xbox. LOL! anyway i stand by my suggestion to use education as a way to reduce piracy. This post has been edited by technophile: Sep 5 2008, 05:56 PM |
Sep 5 2008, 06:02 PM
hypervisor is the way to reduce piracy (PS3,PSN,XBL - still secure)
they just need to work on the optical drive security features. |
Sep 5 2008, 06:03 PM
1,484 posts Joined: Aug 2005 From: Kuala Lumpur |
I do remember years ago SG also sells pirated games right then the government took action and SG basically sells ori games everywhere now..Am I right bout this fact?
Sep 5 2008, 06:05 PM
QUOTE(acougan @ Sep 5 2008, 06:02 PM) hypervisor is the way to reduce piracy (PS3,PSN,XBL - still secure) what do you mean secure? do you think no one has cracked the PS3 yet?they just need to work on the optical drive security features. reason being it's not widely available is the amount of data in a BD (50GB) is not feasible yet to be put on the net for ppl to download. then there's the recording medium, BD-R is still expensive. it's not cost effective for ppl to do it. like i say, there's no certain way of ensuring that piracy didn't occur. that's too utopian. too unbelievable. just reduce it. that's the only way we can do it. Added on September 5, 2008, 6:08 pm QUOTE(Eisenmeteor @ Sep 5 2008, 06:03 PM) I do remember years ago SG also sells pirated games right then the government took action and SG basically sells ori games everywhere now..Am I right bout this fact? true. but SG is very small and they have the man power to monitor the shops. hence they can do it. but downloadables still occur from the net. so technically, there's still piracy.This post has been edited by technophile: Sep 5 2008, 06:08 PM |
Sep 5 2008, 06:13 PM
the hypervisor is secure, it is resilient against all hacking attacks so far ( 3 years and counting)
geometry wars (XBL) hasn't been pirated. super stardust (PSN) hasn't been pirated. |
Sep 5 2008, 06:27 PM
715 posts Joined: Jul 2007 |
it's not hard to monitor piracy..but well, money talks.. shops at my area that sell pirated games always know when the authorities are coming..
Sep 6 2008, 09:22 PM
154 posts Joined: Jul 2008 From: Petaling Jaya |
well, sony has make the step. i'm sure that m$ would do the same since it rival has take advantage here in malaysia
BTW: can we get our own extended warranty for 4 years perhaps |
Sep 7 2008, 07:10 AM
351 posts Joined: May 2005 |
rumors.. why dont we just enjoy what we have.. and when the time comes for it to officially launch in Malaysia, perhaps, maybe, if only.. then we enjoy it even more.. the point is just keep on enjoying what we have.. at least we experience the 360 without even officially launched in Malaysia..
well after reading this thread.. i think all the problems shouldn't prevent MS to launch it officially in Malaysia.. like the piracy, internet connection problem an so on.. if they are going to launch it.. they will do it regardless of these reasons.. an even without officially entering our market.. i am glad.. i am thankful to GOD that we Malaysian can have this beautiful console in each and every home of ours.. and believe me.. even in 30 years time.. even if MS launched a whole new XBOX.. i am pretty sure that these things will keep on coming to our shore even by force.. we will play.. and we will never stop.. hahahahaha.. |
Sep 7 2008, 05:45 PM
well they launch it in India... where a lot of "piracy" going on...
HK, Mexico, a lot more country... but why they still launch it there... because they forseen the potential market size over there... here... duno yet.. |
Sep 7 2008, 06:24 PM
189 posts Joined: Mar 2007 |
QUOTE(acougan @ Sep 5 2008, 06:02 PM) hypervisor is the way to reduce piracy (PS3,PSN,XBL - still secure) they just need to work on the optical drive security features. QUOTE(acougan @ Sep 5 2008, 06:13 PM) the hypervisor is secure, it is resilient against all hacking attacks so far ( 3 years and counting) Does Xbox have a hypervisor? Correct me please? The only hypervisor i know would be ps3.geometry wars (XBL) hasn't been pirated. super stardust (PSN) hasn't been pirated. There is nth impossible to crack. In the end, everything would be hack and crack. Is just a matter of time and someone with the knowledge and intention to do it. There is a Google TechTalk: The Xbox 360 Security System and its Weaknesses. Check it out in youtube. |
Sep 8 2008, 01:10 AM
5,261 posts Joined: Oct 2004 From: J@Y B33 |
the 360 does have hypervisor, wiki free60. but even the hypervisor has it's weakness and hackers has manage to exploits it to run unsigned code, although still limited.
about the piracy issue, much has been discussed and debated before. but in the end all those talks is pointless. i for one, prefer how it is now. |
Sep 10 2008, 10:57 PM
215 posts Joined: Jul 2006 |
haiya...... ps3 clan got official support here, when we going to get one?
http://kotaku.com/5047708/malaysia-is-gett...unch-this-month |
Sep 10 2008, 11:03 PM
4,925 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
They wont? lulz
Sep 10 2008, 11:05 PM
Malaysia always late lah in launching videogames console...AP set juga bagus , kalau tak we all ketinggalan.
Sep 10 2008, 11:10 PM
Around this time last year, if I remember correctly, there was talk of a Malaysian launch for the 360 before the new year.
One year later, we're discussing the same thing...yet again. |
Sep 10 2008, 11:55 PM
374 posts Joined: Nov 2006 |
Well, there was a Sony Service Centre in Malaysia all this while anyway. It isn't a BIG transition for them to fix PS3's..
I believe the Microsoft service centre in malaysia is only software support? Officially launching x360 in Malaysia would be a big capital cost relative to Sony. To answer your question. Not likely anytime soon, if there is any chance at all. It is simply not commercially viable. I Believe launching Zune or computer accs in malaysia would be their first step rather than the x360 |
Sep 11 2008, 12:08 AM
2,862 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: アメリカ |
tomorrow ! hahaha.. in before close.
Sep 11 2008, 11:23 AM
1,874 posts Joined: Jan 2006 From: KUL, MY |
i wonder how the pricing will be like. lol..i once asked the sony style ppl at curve...the price of the PS3. altho its written there not for sale, but the sales person told me its Rm2999...-.-"
Sep 11 2008, 11:42 AM
Guys, if u wanna noe, jus bump over to the PS thread lah. haha.
1599 is a good price for most of us. |
Sep 11 2008, 11:52 AM
actually when jasper is available with good pricing, i still think launching locally is feasible. maybe they can sell via dell.com.my
Sep 11 2008, 11:55 AM
1,098 posts Joined: Nov 2006 |
No, I don't think there will be Xbox 360 officially in Malaysia. Singapore has it.
Let's just say for Microsoft part of "South East Asia", they chose Singapore. Who knows, Xbox 3 / 720 (due 2010?) will be Malaysia + Singapore ? Thanks to piracy, Microsoft isn't too pleased. |
Sep 11 2008, 04:25 PM
QUOTE(defaultname365 @ Sep 11 2008, 11:55 AM) No, I don't think there will be Xbox 360 officially in Malaysia. Singapore has it. cannot say also. singapore also got PS3, but sony will launch it here too.Let's just say for Microsoft part of "South East Asia", they chose Singapore. Who knows, Xbox 3 / 720 (due 2010?) will be Malaysia + Singapore ? Thanks to piracy, Microsoft isn't too pleased. MS just dun care about markets that's not important to them. singapore is an economically established country. ppl in US know singapore but not malaysia. i'm guessing MS gaming division ppl consider malaysia as the japanese speaking asian market not english speaking like singapore. thus it tends to get over looked. |
Sep 11 2008, 04:57 PM
wei there's a thread abt xbox360 launch at malaysia... and futher more hahah ps3 in xbox forum.....
Mod, Kindly merge the thread lar TQTQ |
Sep 11 2008, 09:33 PM
I dont think so...
Malaysian is mostly influenced by PC's |
Sep 12 2008, 06:23 AM
QUOTE(technophile @ Sep 11 2008, 04:25 PM) cannot say also. singapore also got PS3, but sony will launch it here too. yea how come singapore ( small island ) can be so popular then malaysia , if we look at the globe / map..singapore just like fullstop symbol..hahah..may be microsoft wont launch here due to piracy.MS just dun care about markets that's not important to them. singapore is an economically established country. ppl in US know singapore but not malaysia. i'm guessing MS gaming division ppl consider malaysia as the japanese speaking asian market not english speaking like singapore. thus it tends to get over looked. |
Sep 12 2008, 09:53 AM
Nay... I am not too hopeful Xbox 360 will 'officially' launch here... for some reason I just don't see a reason for Microsoft to really officially launch here... Singapore has it I strongly believe they're done with South East Asia...
Sep 12 2008, 09:59 AM
Urm, because Singapore is actually more prosperous than Malaysia? Especially as an area for trades among countries worldwide?
Owh, that and tax incentives. |
Sep 12 2008, 01:34 PM
QUOTE(Kyoyagami @ Sep 12 2008, 09:59 AM) Urm, because Singapore is actually more prosperous than Malaysia? Especially as an area for trades among countries worldwide? What about broadband ? I heard Xbox Live was suppose to be in Malaysia (last time) but was dodged because Microsoft thinks Malaysia's broadband services are 'not up to par'. True enough... even with a 1Mbps connection, the speed is crappy. Owh, that and tax incentives. 'Other' countries are using speeds easily like 8Mbps... so even if this connection is 'slow', it would be seriously fast by our calculation... No wonder they can download full length HD movies to their Xbox.... Can we do that ? Yes. You just got to wake up and sleep twice. |
Sep 12 2008, 02:00 PM
9 posts Joined: Aug 2007 |
well, everyone knows Singapore get their life support from us and foreigners. So its their natural born talent deal and make deal wif foreigners contract. Malaysia cant get the official release coz our local Microsoft branch don't see this is a profit business. Our gamers market divided by 80% home/cybercafe PC gamers, 10% PS2 and PSP gamers(mostly kids), 5% xbox gamers(included mod users) and 5% other consoles and portable device gamers. Imagine how small XBL community here.
About broadband issue, if a XBL server set here, it should be fix the lagging issue and increase download demo contents speed. Just like other PC online game servers. 1MB is already enough to play Halo2 smoothly in local hosting server, but for those just wanna download HD bikini girls movie to your xbox instead of use it as game console, well, 1MB is definitely not enuff for your lonely time. *Sony is officially launching Playstation3 here in Malaysia. This post has been edited by benghee: Sep 12 2008, 02:14 PM |
Sep 12 2008, 02:11 PM
a portion xbox and xbox360 games are actually manufactured in SGP.
i think Flextronics which was a contractor for xbox manufacturing is also a SGP company. |
Sep 12 2008, 02:14 PM
1,769 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Malaysia |
QUOTE(benghee @ Sep 12 2008, 02:00 PM) well, everyone knows Singapore get their life support from us and foreigners. So its their natural born talent deal and make deal wif foreigners contract. Malaysia cant get the official release coz our local Microsoft branch don't see this is a profit business. If a XBL server set here, it should be fix the lagging issue, just like other PC online game server. 1MB is already enough to play Halo2 smoothly in local hosting server, but for those just wanna download HD bikini girls movie to your xbox instead of use it as game console, well, 1MB is definitely not enuff for your time. Even if MS is official here , the online capability will remain unchanged due to the fact that games still use P2P as hosting strategy . Host will be randomly selected among users , so if everyone in the room is local , definitely there won't be any lag issue . |
Sep 12 2008, 03:02 PM
118 posts Joined: Jul 2008 |
If we look it from another perspective, if u r working for microsoft, will u launch it over here in malaysia ? guess not as u cant gain much profit from the number of xbox gamers here. How many xbox gamers tat support original hardware/software in our country ? Bet it less than 1000 people yet some of you still asking when MS will launch it over here in Malaysia
Sep 12 2008, 05:22 PM
QUOTE(Papertank @ Sep 12 2008, 03:02 PM) If we look it from another perspective, if u r working for microsoft, will u launch it over here in malaysia ? guess not as u cant gain much profit from the number of xbox gamers here. How many xbox gamers tat support original hardware/software in our country ? Bet it less than 1000 people yet some of you still asking when MS will launch it over here in Malaysia i agree. while with PS3, sony knows that the software isn't piratable. so no matter what they will gain revenue from sales of the games. |
Sep 12 2008, 05:24 PM
9 posts Joined: Aug 2007 |
QUOTE(Papertank @ Sep 12 2008, 03:02 PM) If we look it from another perspective, if u r working for microsoft, will u launch it over here in malaysia ? guess not as u cant gain much profit from the number of xbox gamers here. How many xbox gamers tat support original hardware/software in our country ? Bet it less than 1000 people yet some of you still asking when MS will launch it over here in Malaysia Totally agree wif you, Papertank. Its all about BUSINESS, guys. As donald trump always say, business is business, nothing's personal. So dun keep complaint why we dun hav xbox launch here, why all the good things (Ipod 3G) go to Singapore? we just have to accept the fact that Microsoft dun wan spend millions of ringgit just to keep few of us playing XBL. Peace out, happy mooncake festival |
Sep 12 2008, 06:35 PM
262 posts Joined: Nov 2006 |
If they haven't launched it by now, they probably won't.
However, they'd have a good close look at the upcoming ps3 launch and possibly respond to that if the take up rate is astronomical. Otherwise, we're a relatively small backwater kinda place known for corruption, piracy and poor enforcement. Why oh why would microsoft want to be here, I wonder? |
Sep 12 2008, 09:45 PM
QUOTE(technophile @ Sep 12 2008, 05:22 PM) i agree. while with PS3, sony knows that the software isn't piratable. so no matter what they will gain revenue from sales of the games. LOL. is a matter of time only before it become popular and exploit.Blu-ray is still at the initial stage in the market. Wait until it bloom. then you will see the true belang |
Sep 14 2008, 04:49 AM
Yeah, I agree, the Blu-Ray discs are yet to be 'pirated'. And so Sony is confident releasing it in any part of the world... including 'piracy cove' Malaysia..
Too bad Xbox 360 is still on DVD. DVD !!! - 4.7 Gb ! "Compress til' death do us part" -game developer |
Sep 14 2008, 12:02 PM
1,167 posts Joined: Jan 2007 From: ..Tsukuba.. |
just wait n c sony already wana launch the ps3 here in m'sia sure xbox will kacau daun 1,just a matter of time
Sep 15 2008, 10:46 AM
QUOTE(S4PH @ Sep 14 2008, 12:02 PM) just wait n c sony already wana launch the ps3 here in m'sia sure xbox will kacau daun 1,just a matter of time It will never happen. Xbox will never launch in Malaysia. If it did want to launch, it will be long time ago.It suck that clamming the warranty is pain in the a$$ but we still get to enjoy eventhough is unofficial |
Sep 15 2008, 10:40 PM
277 posts Joined: Dec 2006 From: Ampang/Puchong |
QUOTE(defaultname365 @ Sep 14 2008, 04:49 AM) Yeah, I agree, the Blu-Ray discs are yet to be 'pirated'. And so Sony is confident releasing it in any part of the world... including 'piracy cove' Malaysia.. Actually its dual-layer dvds which stores about 8.5 Gb. I always find people who does not know this.Too bad Xbox 360 is still on DVD. DVD !!! - 4.7 Gb ! "Compress til' death do us part" -game developer Anyway, if xbox 360 is officially released in Malaysia I would definitely buy another one and of course play everything original. |
Sep 15 2008, 10:57 PM
101 posts Joined: Apr 2008 From: Wherever the hell Trogdor comes from... |
QUOTE(defaultname365 @ Sep 14 2008, 05:49 AM) Yeah, I agree, the Blu-Ray discs are yet to be 'pirated'. And so Sony is confident releasing it in any part of the world... including 'piracy cove' Malaysia.. yeah....as former part of a piracy community(FORMER!i'm clean now),i found that ps3 games have already been pirated.Too bad Xbox 360 is still on DVD. DVD !!! - 4.7 Gb ! "Compress til' death do us part" -game developer there are two ways: 1.iso loader.just like the psp,the ps3 is easily hackable,because it uses linux.as it is an open source OS,i find it hard to believe that no one could make an iso loader. some group(not saying which) has made one,but i'm not sure if it's fake or not. 2.mod chips.blu ray discs HAVE been cracked,and in america and any countries that technology gives a damn about,they have blu ray-r's,like dvd-r's. basically you download your games,the same way as you download your psp,ps2,xbox games,and burn them on said discs. then you just load 'em up on your ps3 and....LOL! playable pirated game. i am NOT encouraging this,i'm just saying that this is all already happening. |
Sep 16 2008, 01:38 PM
1,167 posts Joined: Jan 2007 From: ..Tsukuba.. |
sony has seen the potential in malaysian market to promote their console,bcos xbox is nt launched yet so sony took the first leap when ms sees the numbers of consoles sold they will certainly wana come in and sell their consoles here.Piracy games lead to non warranty consoles if ms is officially here and provide warranty support people wont buy piracy and stick to ori games.just my 2 cent la.3rod issues help keep gamers to ori games
Sep 16 2008, 01:50 PM
277 posts Joined: Dec 2006 From: Ampang/Puchong |
QUOTE(trogdor1oh1 @ Sep 15 2008, 10:57 PM) yeah....as former part of a piracy community(FORMER!i'm clean now),i found that ps3 games have already been pirated. yes, I've heard people downloading ps3 games already but the size is massive. I think when blu-ray becomes popular like how dvd was then the pirating activities will increase. I really hope the ps3 remains being all original and pirate proof.there are two ways: 1.iso loader.just like the psp,the ps3 is easily hackable,because it uses linux.as it is an open source OS,i find it hard to believe that no one could make an iso loader. some group(not saying which) has made one,but i'm not sure if it's fake or not. 2.mod chips.blu ray discs HAVE been cracked,and in america and any countries that technology gives a damn about,they have blu ray-r's,like dvd-r's. basically you download your games,the same way as you download your psp,ps2,xbox games,and burn them on said discs. then you just load 'em up on your ps3 and....LOL! playable pirated game. i am NOT encouraging this,i'm just saying that this is all already happening. QUOTE(S4PH @ Sep 16 2008, 01:38 PM) sony has seen the potential in malaysian market to promote their console,bcos xbox is nt launched yet so sony took the first leap when ms sees the numbers of consoles sold they will certainly wana come in and sell their consoles here.Piracy games lead to non warranty consoles if ms is officially here and provide warranty support people wont buy piracy and stick to ori games.just my 2 cent la.3rod issues help keep gamers to ori games I agree with you. The warranty will make people buy original games and not modify their console but I think the 3rod issue is becoming less now especially when newer revisions are being released. xbox live can also be one factor that will make people play original games. |
| Change to: | 0.0568sec
5 queries
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 04:03 PM |