House rewiring, Old wire melt

TSWanie404.
post Sep 8 2021, 03:33 AM, updated 5y ago

132 posts

My neighbour house almost on fire last time due to wire melt while using some appliances , i think microwave.

Since this is very old house on taman area.. very long time ago
Wiring also start aging too

Guys, can suggest what wire to use that good handling appliances like aircond, hair dryer, washing machine, water heater etc

I want to adviced those nice folks on this wiring issue.. but i no idea to say

Plz help
SUSceo684
post Sep 8 2021, 04:20 AM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

Stiff cable (inside wall conduit): Mega Kabel or Caramay cables. A lot of fake or undersized cable these days.

Extension cable (flexicord) use Fajar Cable 2.5mm² (as thick as index finger) will be as good as the cables inside the wall.

Proper cable sizing for the load is important.
Loose connections cause fire.
Cables without mfg spec "nametag" on it are suspicious.. and cheap. If the cable cut corner it is in their interest that they can just wash hands, if it melted and catch fire..do you see the mfg name on it? No right? whistling.gif so kenot sue anyone.

Many ways to cut corner. But many people only see which contractor give absolute rock bottom pricing. Same as car respray.. the normal priced proper job last 10 yrs.. it is also possible to request elcheapo job just to sell the car that only last 13 months before peeling laugh.gif

Another aspect to consider, esp in older homes pls change all those old magnetic choke fire risk flourescent tube to chokeless LED casing and LED tube. This is pretty cheap and eliminate a lot of potential fire hazard due to choke insulation degraded from heat/old age..if that hot plastic melt and drip down it is hot and can start a fire when drip on carpet or other stuff.

This post has been edited by ceo684: Sep 8 2021, 06:01 AM
mini orchard
post Sep 8 2021, 06:13 AM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(Wanie404. @ Sep 8 2021, 03:33 AM)
My neighbour house almost on fire last time due to wire melt while using some appliances , i think microwave.

Guys, can suggest what wire to use that good handling appliances like aircond, hair dryer, washing machine, water heater etc

Plz help
Many want new and cheap and NOT new and expensive. Always hire a qualified person to do.
TSWanie404.
post Sep 8 2021, 01:56 PM

132 posts

QUOTE(mini orchard @ Sep 8 2021, 06:13 AM)
Many want new and cheap and NOT new and expensive. Always hire a qualified person to do.
Due to budget constraints
Not posible to hire consultant just for consulting

Sad.. but its life
TSWanie404.
post Sep 8 2021, 01:58 PM

132 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ Sep 8 2021, 04:20 AM)
Stiff cable (inside wall conduit): Mega Kabel or Caramay cables. A lot of fake or undersized cable these days.

Extension cable (flexicord) use Fajar Cable 2.5mm² (as thick as index finger) will be as good as the cables inside the wall.

Cables without mfg spec "nametag" on it are suspicious.. and cheap. If the cable cut corner it is in their interest that they can just wash hands, if it melted and catch fire..do you see the mfg name on it? No right? whistling.gif so kenot sue anyone.

Many ways to cut corner. But many people only see which contractor give absolute rock bottom pricing. Same as car respray.. the normal priced proper job last 10 yrs.. it is also possible to request elcheapo job just to sell the car that only last 13 months before peeling laugh.gif

Another aspect to consider, esp in older homes pls change all those old magnetic choke fire risk flourescent tube to chokeless LED casing and LED tube. This is pretty cheap and eliminate a lot of potential fire hazard due to choke insulation degraded from heat/old age..if that hot plastic melt and drip down it is hot and can start a fire when drip on carpet or other stuff.
Can u share link maybe shopee or lazada link for those type of wire? Want to buy but donno which one and how long

Plz advised

SUSceo684
post Sep 8 2021, 02:22 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(Wanie404. @ Sep 8 2021, 01:58 PM)
Can u share link maybe shopee or lazada link for those type of wire? Want to buy but donno which one and how long

Plz advised
I assume u mean for extension cord.

For 2.5mm² fajar cable loose cut is https://s.lazada.com.my/s.W2vDC

Proper cable got nametag who make it, cable spec, MS malaysian standard blabla proudly marked on it. See attachment.

In wall ones 2.5mm² generally will work as long as you get mega kabel. In wall one by right you should hire a proper electrician with minimum PW1 cert to do. Janji you specifically say caramay or mega kabel 2.5 he or she will know what to do. Those will also have mfg nametag marking on it, and he or she will show it to you before installing IF its legit cable. Do not use other funny brand. Cheap but as I said got many fake cable around. https://www.sirim-qas.com.my/forgery-on-license-no-pc000218/

For water heater (WH) regulation compliant is to use 4mm² if want up to code with a 10mA RCD for each WH circuit. Many will skimp at 2.5mm² also can lah but its a close one eye installation.

mini orchard
post Sep 8 2021, 04:28 PM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(Wanie404. @ Sep 8 2021, 01:56 PM)
Due to budget constraints
Not posible to hire consultant just for consulting

Sad.. but its life
But when life is gone ..... is sad
TSWanie404.
post Sep 8 2021, 06:39 PM

132 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ Sep 8 2021, 02:22 PM)
I assume u mean for extension cord.

For 2.5mm² fajar cable loose cut is https://s.lazada.com.my/s.W2vDC

Proper cable got nametag who make it, cable spec, MS malaysian standard blabla proudly marked on it. See attachment.

In wall ones 2.5mm² generally will work as long as you get mega kabel. In wall one by right you should hire a proper electrician with minimum PW1 cert to do. Janji you specifically say caramay or mega kabel 2.5 he or she will know what to do. Those will also have mfg nametag marking on it, and he or she will show it to you before installing IF its legit cable. Do not use other funny brand. Cheap but as I said got many fake cable around. https://www.sirim-qas.com.my/forgery-on-license-no-pc000218/

For water heater (WH) regulation compliant is to use 4mm² if want up to code with a 10mA RCD for each WH circuit. Many will skimp at 2.5mm² also can lah but its a close one eye installation.
Thank you for the info

SUSceo684
post Sep 8 2021, 08:15 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(Wanie404. @ Sep 8 2021, 06:39 PM)
Thank you for the info
Most welcome

For the in wall wiring, this one may involve total hse wiring replacement if its super old. And maybe DB box refresh as well depending on condition.
Hence recommend getting a PW1+ wireman or wirewoman to evaluate since without seeing the site we can only give general advice.

General use (13A sockets, aircon up to 2.5hp) 2.5mm² cable will be perfect. Water heater in 3kW class also can lah.
https://s.lazada.com.my/s.WdhwP or
https://s.lazada.com.my/s.Wd4Gq
in 100m rolls, u will nèed red green black 3 colour ya.

Only and specifically for LIGHTING and CEILING FAN no other purpose use 1.5mm²
https://s.lazada.com.my/s.WdSap
This 1.5mm² only for low loads i.e light circuit, cannot use for 13A sockets

There are also seller for loose cuts but if you need to rewire a few points the 100m rolls are more economical. If plan to DIY must off everything at the DB box. Call a wireman if unsure.

This post has been edited by ceo684: Sep 8 2021, 08:18 PM
TSWanie404.
post Sep 8 2021, 09:32 PM

132 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ Sep 8 2021, 08:15 PM)
Most welcome

For the in wall wiring, this one may involve total hse wiring replacement if its super old. And maybe DB box refresh as well depending on condition.
Hence recommend getting a PW1+ wireman or wirewoman to evaluate since without seeing the site we can only give general advice.

General use (13A sockets, aircon up to 2.5hp) 2.5mm² cable will be perfect. Water heater in 3kW class also can lah.
https://s.lazada.com.my/s.WdhwP or
https://s.lazada.com.my/s.Wd4Gq

Only and specifically for LIGHTING and CEILING FAN no other purpose use 1.5mm²
https://s.lazada.com.my/s.WdSap
This 1.5mm² only for low loads i.e  light circuit, cannot use for 13A sockets

There are also seller for loose cuts but if you need to rewire a few points the 100m rolls are more economical. If plan to DIY must off everything at the DB box. Call a wireman if unsure.
One more thing to ask you

Just wondering.. how much i need in length to replace all the old wire of a house then? Say 5 room house e.g

This post has been edited by Wanie404.: Sep 8 2021, 09:33 PM
SUSceo684
post Sep 9 2021, 01:01 AM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(Wanie404. @ Sep 8 2021, 09:32 PM)

Just wondering.. how much i need in length to replace all the old wire of a house then? Say 5 room house e.g
Really depend on site layout but at minimum estimate 1.4x the length of walking footpath if direct wiring.. if need to snake around beams add bit more.. and depends on how many circuit. This is a major job if you're talking whole house rewiring.
stormer.lyn
post Sep 9 2021, 10:59 PM

1,132 posts

QUOTE(Wanie404. @ Sep 8 2021, 09:32 PM)

If you want to do the work yourself, then I suggest you buy the wires by the roll, and not try to buy the exact length of cables you need. If there is extra cable, then just accept it as a loss and sell the extra to electricians, or to recycle centre.

You don't have to buy all the cables at once; buy 14 rolls*, use, and continue buying as you run out. It just means you have to make more trips to the shop/Sh.pee/Laz.da, but your excess wires will be minimum at the end.

You can try and estimate if you can save money as compared to hiring an electrician. NOTE : This is not a price quote.
First socket point = RM 150
Loop additional socket point from the first one = RM 100
First light point = RM 100
Loop additional lighting point from the first point = RM 70
Fan point = RM 100
Water heater point = RM 300
Air cond point = RM 200
Door bell point = RM 200
Auto gate = RM 450
Change DB = RM 1500
Take into account what your time is worth, and if you have the skills, manpower, and equipment, to take on this job yourself, and decide if it is worth it to you.

* 1.5 mm² = 1 x red, 1 x yellow, 1 x blue, 2 x black, 2 x green = 7 rolls. Add the same colours for 2.5 mm² wire for a total of 14 rolls

This post has been edited by stormer.lyn: Sep 9 2021, 11:01 PM
Selene Yeo
post Sep 12 2021, 07:07 PM

149 posts

Also, I think most of the old houses in Malaysia uses 3-pin plugs in the bathroom to power up instant water heater. It is very dangerous and definitely against Suruhanjaya Tenaga guidelines, but sadly many installers, contractors, and even developers are doing that.

If your house is currently using it, I suggest u to replace it with a water heater connector. I think ceo684 share this CENTON Water Heater Connector from Shopee before (https://shopee.com.my/CENTON-Water-Heater-C...2717?position=1), I am currently using it too. Just remove the 3-pin plug point and use back the same junction box to install this CENTON Water Heater Connector.

Benefits using this connector are:
1. Splash-Proof - prevent u from getting electrocution
2. Comes with 4mm diameter Fajar cable (easily the best cable brand in Malaysia, according to my installer)
3. Has Line Fault Indicator function, which tells u when your house wiring earthing is faulty (which can kill u)

Green - wiring ok

Red - Live and neutral installed terbalik

Red - Faulty earthing

Looks like this on the wall

This post has been edited by Selene Yeo: Sep 12 2021, 09:32 PM
Minolta
post Sep 12 2021, 08:55 PM

2,293 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ Sep 8 2021, 04:20 AM)

I see Lazada also has brands like Million or Arus Jaya. With Sirim stickers, made in malaysia. Cheaper than Mega. Want to ask if these are ok?
Mega wires now are so expensive.
SUSceo684
post Sep 13 2021, 04:08 AM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(Minolta @ Sep 12 2021, 08:55 PM)
I see Lazada also has brands like Million or Arus Jaya. With Sirim stickers, made in malaysia. Cheaper than Mega. Want to ask if these are ok?
Mega wires now are so expensive.
Arus/Arus Jaya i cant find any certification listing under those two brand name.

Million cable by Celebrate Cable SB can find certification listing under lic no. PC001541

https://www.malaysiancertified.com.my/detail.aspx treasury listing

PRODUCT CERTIFICATION
License No. : PC001541
License Status : Certified
Company Name CELEBRATE CABLE SDN. BHD.
Product PVC-INSULATED CABLES (NON-SHEATHED) FOR FIXED WIRING
Brand Million
Model PVC-INSULATED, NON-SHEATHED, GENERAL PURPOSE CABLE, RIGID COPPER CONDUCTOR
Type MS IV 01
Rating 450/750V
Size SINGLE CORE (1.5, 2.5, 4, 6, 10, 16, 25) mm²
Remark
Expiry Date 16/01/2022

This post has been edited by ceo684: Sep 13 2021, 04:10 AM
nihility
post Sep 24 2021, 02:26 PM

1,601 posts

QUOTE(Wanie404. @ Sep 8 2021, 03:33 AM)

Plz help
Highly likely it is due to the over current. The normal 13A plug point may not be suitabe for the microwave. If the microwave is rated at 15A or 20A but the appliances was plugged into 13A SSO, it will coz the trouble.

For the wiring, as long as the product have the Sirim certificate, it should be safe for usage. On the wiring size selection, better get the advice from the certified wireman. Cable size selection to be selected according to the rated MCB rating.
SUSceo684
post Sep 25 2021, 01:36 AM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(nihility @ Sep 24 2021, 02:26 PM)
Highly likely it is due to the over current. The normal 13A plug point may not be suitabe for the microwave. If the microwave is rated at 15A or 20A but the appliances was plugged into 13A SSO, it will coz the trouble.

For the wiring, as long as the product have the Sirim certificate, it should be safe for usage. On the wiring size selection, better get the advice from the certified wireman. Cable size selection to be selected according to the rated MCB rating.
Also DB box component like RCD, MCB can fail over time so for those >30 years already time to change lah. If planned right, medium (28 way) full DB box incl metal box should be 500-600 parts costing with ABB stuff. Hager also good but their RCD mahal sikit, so I usually do ABB.
nihility
post Sep 25 2021, 07:10 AM

1,601 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ Sep 25 2021, 01:36 AM)
Also DB box component like RCD, MCB can fail over time so for those >30 years already time to change lah. If planned right, medium (28 way) full DB box incl metal box should be 500-600 parts costing with ABB stuff. Hager also good but their RCD mahal sikit, so I usually do ABB.
Only the electrical engineer will appreciates thing like ABB & Hager. For the normal consumer, the product price will takes the highest precedence as long as it is common in the market.
nihility
post Sep 25 2021, 07:17 AM

1,601 posts

QUOTE(stormer.lyn @ Sep 9 2021, 10:59 PM)
If you want to do the work yourself, then I suggest you buy the wires by the roll, and not try to buy the exact length of cables you need. If there is extra cable, then just accept it as a loss and sell the extra to electricians, or to recycle centre.

You don't have to buy all the cables at once; buy 14 rolls*, use, and continue buying as you run out. It just means you have to make more trips to the shop/Sh.pee/Laz.da, but your excess wires will be minimum at the end.

You can try and estimate if you can save money as compared to hiring an electrician. NOTE : This is not a price quote.
First socket point = RM 150
Loop additional socket point from the first one = RM 100
First light point = RM 100
Loop additional lighting point from the first point = RM 70
Fan point = RM 100
Water heater point = RM 300
Air cond point = RM 200
Door bell point = RM 200
Auto gate = RM 450
Change DB = RM 1500
Take into account what your time is worth, and if you have the skills, manpower, and equipment, to take on this job yourself, and decide if it is worth it to you.

* 1.5 mm² = 1 x red, 1 x yellow, 1 x blue, 2 x black, 2 x green = 7 rolls. Add the same colours for 2.5 mm² wire for a total of 14 rolls
These rate, almost can fight with JKR's published rate already but JKR's specification is very stringent, I doubt normal housing will use such specification, in other word, it looked pricey to me.
stormer.lyn
post Sep 25 2021, 08:43 AM

1,132 posts

QUOTE(nihility @ Sep 25 2021, 07:10 AM)
Only the electrical engineer will appreciates thing like ABB & Hager. For the normal consumer, the product price will takes the highest precedence as long as it is common in the market.
As I have always said, the low-class customer always looks at price first. Even the "YouTube famous" Malaysian solar installer says the same, and gives pointers on how to spot them.

QUOTE(nihility @ Sep 25 2021, 07:17 AM)
These rate, almost can fight with JKR's published rate already but JKR's specification is very stringent,
What makes you think a qualified, competent electrician won't be using proper materials and proper installation procedures to complete their contract?

I doubt normal housing will use such specification, in other word, it looked pricey to me.
That is the flaw in your conclusion. You are confusing your opinion on being a cheapskate with reality. Quality customers actually look at quality-of-job first, price second. Even if funds are short, they will try to stretch, because quality, both for materials and installation, is worth paying for in the long run.

But anyway, it is a free market, and you are free to think the "bawah pokok electrician" is great, if that is what fulfills your needs.

0.0310sec    1.27    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 01:34 AM