5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

House Renovation Journal, sharing our house renovation journey...

TSKLKN_Views
post Oct 8 2021, 03:19 PM

116 posts

QUOTE(utellme @ Oct 8 2021, 02:48 PM)
I think RM 5300 is reasonable for architect plan, RC plan, processing fee, tong sampah, letak bahan permit, CCC  with submission.  even  plan setara with 2 section tambahan and ubahsuai is more RM2100 so balance RM3200 for submission service + Architect drawing + Engineer RC drawing + CCC still acceptable.
It is RM6,900 together with permit and processing fee. RM5300 only for arc drawing+CCC and submission.
utellme
post Oct 8 2021, 05:13 PM

919 posts

QUOTE(KLKN_Views @ Oct 8 2021, 03:19 PM)
It is RM6,900 together with permit and processing fee. RM5300 only for arc drawing+CCC and submission.
I see. Normally the paper work + consultant cost is 7-8% of the renovation extension cost right?

kengseng
post Oct 9 2021, 01:53 PM

165 posts

I'm owner of AI Fleita and saw your post about your renovation

May i know which Architect Firm did you approached for the Renovation drawings and MBSA submission??

This post has been edited by kengseng: Oct 9 2021, 01:53 PM
TSKLKN_Views
post Oct 11 2021, 10:46 AM

116 posts

QUOTE(kengseng @ Oct 9 2021, 01:53 PM)

I'm owner of AI Fleita and saw your post about your renovation

May i know which Architect Firm did you approached for the Renovation drawings and MBSA submission??

Hey, congrats on your house!

i engaged contractor's architect. I think you need to hire contractor in order to use the architect service. if you are looking architect service only, you can try these firms:

ATIA Arkitek (from shah alam) very friendly and reasonable price.
+6019 2300 320

Fuad Architect (price on higher side)
+6012 383 2080

hope this helps.
kengseng
post Oct 11 2021, 01:38 PM

165 posts

QUOTE(KLKN_Views @ Oct 11 2021, 10:46 AM)
Hey, congrats on your house!

i engaged contractor's architect. I think you need to hire contractor in order to use the architect service. if you are looking architect service only, you can try these firms:

+6019 2300 320

Fuad Architect (price on higher side)
+6012 383 2080

hope this helps.
Thanks for the contact thumbup.gif

Mind sharing which contractor you appointed??

By the way, did you do any piling work for your home extension? There is this 1 contractor telling us the AI ground is too hard to do piling.

Update:

+6019 2300 320

Yes she is really friendly got a quote from her within an hour.. rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by kengseng: Oct 11 2021, 03:39 PM
TSKLKN_Views
post Oct 11 2021, 04:09 PM

116 posts

QUOTE(kengseng @ Oct 11 2021, 01:38 PM)
Thanks for the contact  thumbup.gif

Mind sharing which contractor you appointed??

By the way, did you do any piling work for your home extension? There is this 1 contractor telling us the AI ground is too hard to do piling.
Update:

+6019 2300 320

Yes she is really friendly got a quote from her within an hour..  rclxms.gif
PM you
TSKLKN_Views
post Oct 13 2021, 11:36 AM

116 posts

Finally complete with DIY 3D model...easier to discuss with vendors showing 3d render.

its not a perfect 3d, tried my best with zero knowledge. feel free to comment sifuss... sweat.gif sweat.gif
TSKLKN_Views
post Oct 20 2021, 11:42 AM

116 posts

#NeedAdvice

sifus, planning to do wood decking for patio area. but not sure if I should go with natural wood or composite wood.

i personally like natural wood's look & feel. however I heard maintenance can be tricky for long term. my concern is look vs price vs maintenance

kindly share inputs. unsure.gif
yuen300
post Oct 21 2021, 01:14 PM

163 posts

QUOTE(KLKN_Views @ Oct 20 2021, 12:42 PM)
#NeedAdvice

sifus, planning to do wood decking for patio area. but not sure if I should go with natural wood or composite wood.

i personally like natural wood's look & feel. however I heard maintenance can be tricky for long term. my concern is look vs price vs maintenance

kindly share inputs.  unsure.gif
Depend on the wood materials you are using. And Natural wood require higher maintenance compared to composite wood if not wrong.
For look wise, think composite wood nowaday looks quite like real unless you are particular with the details such as the wood pattern in each need to be different to feel more aesthetic.
Texture wise, it can tell the difference, just that composite wood is not that slippery when wet.

Between,saw you are doing side extension for corner, can ask how much is the cost and do you do any piling? Was trying to do some side extension as well since cannot bear the grass growing crazily at the side.
TSKLKN_Views
post Oct 22 2021, 03:23 PM

116 posts

QUOTE(yuen300 @ Oct 21 2021, 01:14 PM)
Depend on the wood materials you are using. And Natural wood require higher maintenance compared to composite wood if not wrong.
For look wise, think composite wood nowaday looks quite like real unless you are particular with the details such as the wood pattern in each need to be different to feel more aesthetic.
Texture wise, it can tell the difference, just that composite wood is not that slippery when wet.

Between,saw you are doing side extension for corner, can ask how much is the cost and do you do any piling? Was trying to do some side extension as well since cannot bear the grass growing crazily at the side.
indeed, both have equal pros and cons. kinda difficult to make up mind on this. i personally like the look of natural wood, but worried about the maintenance part.

" just that composite wood is not that slippery when wet" - this is a new info. I thought composite wood will be more slippery compare to natural wood. will take note on that.

regarding the cost - will share all the quotes i received from few contractors on my blog soon. it will be helpful for those need ideas for renovation. will share it here once i publish the article.

thanks for the info sifu.
yuen300
post Oct 22 2021, 03:39 PM

163 posts

QUOTE(KLKN_Views @ Oct 22 2021, 04:23 PM)
indeed, both have equal pros and cons. kinda difficult to make up mind on this. i personally like the look of natural wood, but worried about the maintenance part.

" just that composite wood is not that slippery when wet" - this is a new info. I thought composite wood will be more slippery compare to natural wood. will take note on that.

regarding the cost - will share all the quotes i received from few contractors on my blog soon. it will be helpful for those need ideas for renovation. will share it here once i publish the article.

thanks for the info sifu.
That is what I am being told by the seller. Maintenance part for natural wood, I guess it will come to the wood material used. But heard that it will require us to do annual coating to enhance its lifespan, not sure how true is that.
For composite wood, another downside is, it is rather hot when it is hot sun. With the hot weather in here, I am unsure whether will it affect its lifespan as well.
I am under dilemma whether to choose from these three materials: tiles with wood pattern, composite wood or real wood, and all got its down and up side as well.
kengseng
post Oct 26 2021, 11:52 AM

165 posts

Hi Bro,

How is your defect repair been going?? Submitted mine but no news from the main contractor..
TSKLKN_Views
post Oct 26 2021, 03:38 PM

116 posts

QUOTE(kengseng @ Oct 26 2021, 11:52 AM)
Hi Bro,

How is your defect repair been going?? Submitted mine but no news from the main contractor..
they finished 80% of repair works last month itself, the balance 20% was tile works, which I had to really push them, they are mid of repairing it (I think they will complete it in a day or two).

once you submit defect report, they will have 30 days to complete it. if the main con doesn't respond, you just call Setia customer care and scold them. That's what I did.

Chris_Inch
post Oct 27 2021, 10:37 AM

81 posts

Do you engage any ID firms for your design and renovation?
TSKLKN_Views
post Oct 28 2021, 09:08 PM

116 posts

QUOTE(Chris_Inch @ Oct 27 2021, 10:37 AM)
Do you engage any ID firms for your design and renovation?
no bro. I did approach ID at first, but its beyond my budget. so Im just doing the planning and 3d design myself.
kimzee
post Oct 29 2021, 10:38 AM

411 posts

QUOTE(KLKN_Views @ Oct 13 2021, 11:36 AM)

Finally complete with DIY 3D model...easier to discuss with vendors showing 3d render.

its not a perfect 3d, tried my best with zero knowledge. feel free to comment sifuss... sweat.gif sweat.gif
Congrats on your new home. I am also trying to do my DIY id to save some mollah. What program you use for your 3d render? Looks good.
TSKLKN_Views
post Nov 3 2021, 11:57 AM

116 posts

QUOTE(kimzee @ Oct 29 2021, 10:38 AM)
Congrats on your new home. I am also trying to do my DIY id to save some mollah.  What program you use for your 3d render? Looks good.
Thanks bro. True, you can DIY if you have the time and dont mind dealing with all these suppliers.

For 3D, Im using Homestyler bro. I wrote an article, you can check it out:

DIY 3D Rendering with Homestyler

hope this helps.

TSKLKN_Views
post Nov 9 2021, 01:33 PM

116 posts

Updates:

After a month finally got MBSA approval last week. (Submitted first week of Oct, approved on 2 Nov 21). Renovation works just started. Those who are planning to do renovation, suggest to apply for MBSA permit asap - esp those who submit with drawings. Will share videos/pictures soon.

Carpentry works:
Finally decided on vendors for carpentry works. Got quotations from:
- Signature Kitchen - looks very class but extremely expensive compared to other vendors. price almost double. eventhough they have promotions, the price after discount is still expensive rclxub.gif
- MKA Kitchen - design looks modern. sales team is really good. price is reasonable for the quality.
- Homa Kitchen - design looks alight. sales team is not friendly, not getting proper answer for questions. they have packaged price with lots of freebies. however, the add-ons to their standard package, is very expensive.
- Avenue Kitchen, Kelana Jaya - designs look very old school. price is average.

I will share the quotations on my blog soon.

utellme
post Nov 9 2021, 10:12 PM

919 posts

QUOTE(KLKN_Views @ Nov 9 2021, 01:33 PM)
Updates:

After a month finally got MBSA approval last week. (Submitted first week of Oct, approved on 2 Nov 21). Renovation works just started. Those who are planning to do renovation, suggest to apply for MBSA permit asap - esp those who submit with drawings. Will share videos/pictures soon.

Carpentry works:
Finally decided on vendors for carpentry works. Got quotations from:
- Signature Kitchen - looks very class but extremely expensive compared to other vendors. price almost double. eventhough they have promotions, the price after discount is still expensive  rclxub.gif
- MKA Kitchen - design looks modern. sales team is really good. price is reasonable for the quality.
- Homa Kitchen - design looks alight. sales team is not friendly, not getting proper answer for questions. they have packaged price with lots of freebies. however, the add-ons to their standard package, is very expensive.
- Avenue Kitchen, Kelana Jaya - designs look very old school. price is average.

I will share the quotations on my blog soon.
You are doing the side extension on your end lot house right ? Do you need to pay 20x processing fee Saman.
TSKLKN_Views
post Nov 10 2021, 01:48 PM

116 posts

QUOTE(utellme @ Nov 9 2021, 10:12 PM)
You are doing the side extension on your end lot house right  ? Do you need to pay 20x processing fee Saman.
i got permit from MBSA for the renovation. thats why it took so long to start the reno.

hmm, sorry but i dont understand about the 20x processing fee saman?

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0317sec    0.40    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 01:32 AM