House Renovation Journal, sharing our house renovation journey...

yuen300
post Oct 21 2021, 01:14 PM

163 posts

QUOTE(KLKN_Views @ Oct 20 2021, 12:42 PM)
#NeedAdvice

sifus, planning to do wood decking for patio area. but not sure if I should go with natural wood or composite wood.

i personally like natural wood's look & feel. however I heard maintenance can be tricky for long term. my concern is look vs price vs maintenance

kindly share inputs.  unsure.gif
Depend on the wood materials you are using. And Natural wood require higher maintenance compared to composite wood if not wrong.
For look wise, think composite wood nowaday looks quite like real unless you are particular with the details such as the wood pattern in each need to be different to feel more aesthetic.
Texture wise, it can tell the difference, just that composite wood is not that slippery when wet.

Between,saw you are doing side extension for corner, can ask how much is the cost and do you do any piling? Was trying to do some side extension as well since cannot bear the grass growing crazily at the side.
yuen300
post Oct 22 2021, 03:39 PM

163 posts

QUOTE(KLKN_Views @ Oct 22 2021, 04:23 PM)
indeed, both have equal pros and cons. kinda difficult to make up mind on this. i personally like the look of natural wood, but worried about the maintenance part.

" just that composite wood is not that slippery when wet" - this is a new info. I thought composite wood will be more slippery compare to natural wood. will take note on that.

regarding the cost - will share all the quotes i received from few contractors on my blog soon. it will be helpful for those need ideas for renovation. will share it here once i publish the article.

thanks for the info sifu.
That is what I am being told by the seller. Maintenance part for natural wood, I guess it will come to the wood material used. But heard that it will require us to do annual coating to enhance its lifespan, not sure how true is that.
For composite wood, another downside is, it is rather hot when it is hot sun. With the hot weather in here, I am unsure whether will it affect its lifespan as well.
I am under dilemma whether to choose from these three materials: tiles with wood pattern, composite wood or real wood, and all got its down and up side as well.

0.0130sec    0.32    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 01:30 AM