MI PAD 5 Discussion, Come and share your opinion

ben3003
post Oct 1 2021, 08:07 PM

10,859 posts

QUOTE(andrewyeak83 @ Oct 1 2021, 05:51 PM)
The colour like very saturated kind. In the setting they recommend set to vivid. So I'm using vivid as default
I think the screen slight better ipad pro becos is dolby vision optimized. Probably ipad screen more real color lol. Probably shud not set to vivid, set natural better.
ben3003
post Oct 2 2021, 01:11 AM

10,859 posts

QUOTE(andrewyeak83 @ Oct 1 2021, 09:10 PM)
After sometime the lag is gone. Maybe haven't warm up the device lol. About the colour I set to to standard. The vivid colour is too strong and I cannot take it. About comparison with ipad pro, somehow I prefer ipad colour. Ipad more cool the colour
Probably ur eyes prefer cooler color. More accurate color is owes warmer abit. Ya vivid mode not for normal use one, can use for presentation purposes lol.

Cant wait for mine to arrive but i guess might miss the window as i going outstation next monday sad.gif
ben3003
post Oct 2 2021, 12:24 PM

10,859 posts

QUOTE(theGOne @ Oct 2 2021, 12:04 PM)
Received my unit yesterday.

Initial impression - Found there's some lag occasionally.  Also sometimes it's not smooth when scrolling (e.g. settings page or in webpage in chrome)

Tried Netflix Dolby Vision video, the subtitles are huge and with shadow effects  sweat.gif 

Btw, any media player app that can support Dolby Vision? I tried VLC and it doesn't support
Netflix subtitle is can sendiri change at the webpage one lo.. is not device dependent one. Mplayer pro shud can support but there is non DV mkv yet. Even tvbox also cannot play download DV video properly.
ben3003
post Oct 2 2021, 02:09 PM

10,859 posts

QUOTE(miyakochan89 @ Oct 2 2021, 01:37 PM)
which logistic company worrr.. you mean poslaju ah?  shakehead.gif
ya poslaju 😂
ben3003
post Oct 2 2021, 04:18 PM

10,859 posts

QUOTE(theGOne @ Oct 2 2021, 04:16 PM)
Thanks for the info. Didn't know can change at the webpage haha. With current subtitles settings, it doesn't look that way on mobile phone or iPad
Maybe android diff lol. Or probably iphone de subtitle is based on app one. Cos i use LG TV or shieldtv need to sendiri set to own preference
ben3003
post Oct 2 2021, 04:19 PM

10,859 posts

QUOTE(miyakochan89 @ Oct 2 2021, 02:14 PM)
other semi-gov/gov companies can expand overseas and yet here..........................
oh well. story for another day.....
Lol say also no use tat one. Just have to live with it. But then, poslaju actually among the better one malaysia can offer, ninjavan those really cock shit, the update system is so lousy and slow.
ben3003
post Oct 5 2021, 12:25 PM

10,859 posts

QUOTE(ahmadelinz @ Oct 5 2021, 12:15 PM)
this seller quite new and the title, xiaomi inspired stylus lol, altho more than 10% cheaper than the one i bought lol.. now on the way from china tho, probably gonng wait long cos is golden week in china.

This post has been edited by ben3003: Oct 5 2021, 12:26 PM
ben3003
post Oct 5 2021, 02:55 PM

10,859 posts

QUOTE(jhleo1 @ Oct 5 2021, 02:52 PM)
I just ordered Mi Pad 5 6+256 from Senheng Shopee. Use Standard Chartered RM50 + RM30 coins + Senheng RM3 discount. Final RM1,516. You can use ShopeePay to buy and get 10% coins which 150,000 equivalent to RM150. I did not use shopeepay to buy because dunno how to utilize the RM150 coins which got expired date less than 3 months.

https://shopee.com.my/Xiaomi-Pad-5-i.12482371.13921473089
din know senheng also got sell xiaomi stuff lolz. good price. mine lazada no discount rm1599 bangwall.gif
ben3003
post Oct 5 2021, 03:39 PM

10,859 posts

QUOTE(ccsmka @ Oct 5 2021, 03:36 PM)
has anyone who buys on 24/9 didn't get their tablet yet?..mine is still stuck somewhere on delivery..
me, mine still stuck with knnccb ninjavan, maybe kena ninja'ed already.

me is at sarawak.
ben3003
post Oct 5 2021, 09:52 PM

10,859 posts

QUOTE(kuci_mayong @ Oct 5 2021, 09:29 PM)
If you didn't mention it I would have never noticed. But now I can see what you mean. It does look darker on the Xiaomi Pad 5. Not sure why. Have included sample images. Updating the YouTube app made it slightly better.

Also playing in via chrome seemed brighter (but limited to 720p)

Xiaomi Pad 5

Realme X3

Ipad Pro 10.5

The photo u took, is screenshot from app?
ben3003
post Oct 5 2021, 10:20 PM

10,859 posts

QUOTE(kuci_mayong @ Oct 5 2021, 10:05 PM)
Screenshot from YouTube app, except ipad I included both app and safari screenshots, just forgot which was which so didn't label there.
ohh ok. probably youtube not yet optimize for the xiaomi pad 5, they already whitelist xiaomi pad 5 for hdr? anyway dark is not always bad, we owes perceived that brighter is always good but sometimes it can be over exposed. cant judge because no see real thing lol. I think just have to adjust the brightness to suit your eyes at comfortable level.

dolby vision content actually is darker as intended by the studio. important is not over exposing the scene or crushing black which normal hdr10 does. This is also because native dolby vision content is mastered at dark room with total no ambient lighting.
ben3003
post Oct 6 2021, 06:35 AM

10,859 posts

QUOTE(giovanni @ Oct 5 2021, 10:48 PM)
Netflix oso the same experience. I played it side by side with my standard iPad. Colour reproduction is so much better but u tend to lose out on the details in dark scene
i see, dolby vision is actually more about better color and proper brightness, because HDR10 is always overblown on light area. As i said, we might have been looking at overexposed video for too long that actually at dark scene, some details shouldnt be seen lol. Try search google dolby vision always ppl complain abit too dark for their liking. U can see more sparkle with HDR10, but less with dolby vision unless the director intended to make it bright because it can have dynamic metadata on the each frame profile.

But anyway, can always turn up backlight as you see fit. for me i would always keep everything as close to original as possible. And you said standard iPad right? standard iPad doesnt really support HDR at all. Of cos brightness wise it will be much brighter but no tonal at all.

"Why does Dolby Vision look dark?
So why is so much new TV so dark? In part, because filmmakers are making the most of the expanded contrast that HDR (High Dynamic Range) allows, grading content with the dark depth they see fit."
ben3003
post Oct 7 2021, 01:19 PM

10,859 posts

i received my pad 5 at home.. but then i am at offshore :'( thinking asking me fren to handcarry out lol. seems like im more excited to get my hand on this than 13 pro max.
ben3003
post Oct 7 2021, 01:19 PM

10,859 posts

QUOTE(jhleo1 @ Oct 7 2021, 11:47 AM)
Sideload Astro go.... this is not new issue.....
sideload wont have problem? i heard macam sideload one cannot load.
ben3003
post Oct 7 2021, 03:23 PM

10,859 posts

QUOTE(jhleo1 @ Oct 7 2021, 03:00 PM)
Have to find the right version for Astro on go too... However sideload for bank apps is not advisable at all.
yeah, why need bank app on tablet lol. cos nowadays bank app need secure2u, better just set on 1 device which is ur phone, better security.

i dont use astro so no comment. and yeah, astro on the go not available for android tv also.

This post has been edited by ben3003: Oct 7 2021, 03:24 PM
ben3003
post Oct 8 2021, 12:26 PM

10,859 posts

i think my casing and stylus arrived too.
ben3003
post Oct 8 2021, 02:01 PM

10,859 posts

QUOTE(ahmadelinz @ Oct 8 2021, 01:39 PM)
mine too. What case did you order. Can see?
i shared before the link oh. keyboard case. i no photo cos still outstation lol. only back november, tot pad 5 can arrive before i offshore, but calculate wrong lol. should have waited and opt for 128gb.

oh well, 256gb i wont ever need to worry about storage space lol.
ben3003
post Oct 8 2021, 02:08 PM

10,859 posts

QUOTE(ahmadelinz @ Oct 8 2021, 01:42 PM)
well, yesterday i was using it to watch netflix squid game...quite tiring and the feel of naked made the experience not enjoyable. I just got to know it actually more heavy than ipad 10.2 with case.

maybe getting a keyboard case might make sense. Like the pc mode. i'm waiting my case arriving today and my pen, should be somewhere next week. I still dont know whether should pay 499 for a keyboard case...
around 30g diff, shouldnt be too much eh lol. i guess probably the weight distribution feel cos ipad is 4:3 this is 16:10, which is longer and if u hold the edge 1 side, the weight definitely pulling down more at the other side (bending moment).
ben3003
post Oct 8 2021, 03:26 PM

10,859 posts

hopefully xiaomi keep update their pad 5 software and further optimize the stylus. i saw palm rejection not as good like apple or samsung for drawing, but then, should be good enough for jotting down notes etc.

ben3003
post Oct 8 2021, 05:07 PM

10,859 posts

will give personal opinion on this as ppl need to expect dolby vision is different kind of thing than what we used to is overexposed video.

if u ever watched TV like OLED TV with dolby vision, u will definitely welcome the darker scene. When black is true black. But mi pad is not oled so, probably the presentation isnt perfect. This make me cant wait to get my hands on pad 5 at home lol.

probably developer or xiaomi would need to tweak abit on the exposure or how.

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0756sec    1.33    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 05:15 AM