Boss ignoring me after resignation

mini orchard
post Aug 14 2021, 11:14 AM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(SkyCaptain @ Aug 13 2021, 10:56 PM)
.......and refuses to discuss handover list.

I have prepared a handover list detailing relevant information to assist with transition to colleagues.

What else should I do?
Boss strategy is to wait for the last day so you dont enjoy your last day. Some bosses are like that. He just want you to look helpless and clueless what is his next move.

This post has been edited by mini orchard: Aug 14 2021, 11:14 AM
mini orchard
post Aug 14 2021, 11:26 AM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(SkyCaptain @ Aug 14 2021, 11:18 AM)
Any idea what I can do to gain the upper hand if this were true, sifu?
Nothing much you can do but just cont with your daily work. He is a boss who knows what you are doing and can take over without much problem.

On your last day, whatever 'temperature' rises, be cool and dont make it a miserable exit.
mini orchard
post Aug 14 2021, 02:15 PM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(Redshelf411 @ Aug 14 2021, 12:32 PM)
It may not be the best option but sometimes its necessary. Some people just don't want to co-operate. They love looking for problems even though it's not your shit to begin with.
Some bosses may find not necessary to an early handover. Is not wrong to do on the last day as long everything is handed to next person or the boss when he leaves.

If the handover is completed earlier, what is the resigned guy suppose to do in the office ? Watch the other guy work ? If is sales, the least can go out lepak together.

Whatever, as long the handover is done before he leaves, timing is at discretion of the boss for whatever reasons he sees 'right'.

mini orchard
post Aug 14 2021, 08:52 PM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(malleus @ Aug 14 2021, 07:02 PM)
pretty dumb thing to do really. last day is last day, and it's the boss' responsibility to ensure everything's handled over by then, and the person who's leaving can just ignore and chill (if they're smart)
QUOTE(malleus @ Aug 14 2021, 07:04 PM)
I just show up in office 2 days a week, where the other 3 days I just left a message on Slack saying: 'working from home. drop me a message if I'm needed in the office'. and this was pre covid.
Do whatever you like ....is your problem to solve.
mini orchard
post Aug 14 2021, 10:27 PM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(malleus @ Aug 14 2021, 09:28 PM)
whatever problems is no longer my problem to solve.

my point is quite simple in the context of the original question from the TS. if the boss ignores whatever handover efforts that the TS tries to initiate, then it's the boss' problem later. he's not obliged to finish everything if everything gets dumped on him on the last day.
Is a fact that once a person resigned, whatever problems later is the boss problem.

If TS boss wants it be done on his last day, so be it.

Maybe the boss doesnt need the handover.

Btw, if that is the way you want to resign, is not wromg. Some bosses also dont give a dame.

This post has been edited by mini orchard: Aug 15 2021, 08:54 AM
mini orchard
post Aug 15 2021, 09:23 AM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(HalseyFrangipane @ Aug 15 2021, 06:54 AM)
Sorry as I may be lacking work experience, but I'm curious as to why is this a problem?

Based on how some people are replying, it seems that emailing to the next PIC and having black and white proof is not a good idea? I thought that's actually the best case scenario. And if the superior remains unreasonable, it has nothing to do with you anymore as you'll be leaving anyway, in which the mess is not yours to clean up.

Please do enlighten me, maybe I'm still too young to understand different perspectives and factors in workplace conflict.
In the Appointment Letter, seldom will it mentioned about handing over of work upon resignation. Even if it does, just follow instructions. Dont have to go overboard to make it happen.

The common will be the return of company's assets entrusted to the resigned employee.

If the company wishes to have continuity, they will initiate one. Otherwise, do not have to fret if it doesnt happen.

If the employee wants to be nice or helpful to the next person, leave a note on the table detailing the outstanding job on his last day.

0.0180sec    0.34    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 11:42 AM