.......and refuses to discuss handover list.
I have prepared a handover list detailing relevant information to assist with transition to colleagues.
What else should I do?
Boss ignoring me after resignation
Aug 13 2021, 10:56 PM, updated 5y ago
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
262 posts Joined: Nov 2005 |
.......and refuses to discuss handover list.
I have prepared a handover list detailing relevant information to assist with transition to colleagues. What else should I do? |
Aug 13 2021, 10:58 PM
Show posts by this member only | Post
71 posts Joined: Jul 2021 |
Just follow the list and pass down accordingly. After every session record down and send email so got black and white.
Aug 13 2021, 11:05 PM
4,552 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
You signed an employment contract, not slavery contract
So just do your part and handover professionally, if they refused to co-operate then I guess your next move is to get help from HR Leave after your notice period |
Aug 13 2021, 11:37 PM
15 posts Joined: May 2015 |
Enjoy your last few day in your company without other expecting too much from you and pressureless mood. Then on your last day just sayonara to them. And expecting a good new start
Aug 13 2021, 11:40 PM
QUOTE(YantoZyrus @ Aug 13 2021, 10:58 PM) Just follow the list and pass down accordingly. After every session record down and send email so got black and white. I have prepared a handover list. The colleagues that are designated to take over don't want to assume the responsibilities because boss is avoiding the matter and hasn't reviewed nor approved the list.QUOTE(coolguy_0925 @ Aug 13 2021, 11:05 PM) You signed an employment contract, not slavery contract Looks like I will have to seek HR's intervention if nothing moves in a week. If HR can't help, then I might just have to run down the clock and leave that handover list on my work desk as I cart my personal belongings after returning all company property and employee tag.So just do your part and handover professionally, if they refused to co-operate then I guess your next move is to get help from HR Leave after your notice period |
Aug 13 2021, 11:41 PM
Aug 13 2021, 11:47 PM
3,666 posts Joined: Oct 2010 |
Email out your hand over list to relevant people.
After that sit back, relax and wait for your last day. By having email you have black and white you have done all you can even though your boss is being unprofessional so they cant say your the asshole instead. Office politics, go figure ..... |
Aug 13 2021, 11:53 PM
QUOTE(COOLPINK @ Aug 13 2021, 11:47 PM) Email out your hand over list to relevant people. That's a reasonable option.After that sit back, relax and wait for your last day. By having email you have black and white you have done all you can even though your boss is being unprofessional so they cant say your the asshole instead. Office politics, go figure ..... |
Aug 14 2021, 09:08 AM
Probation
23 posts Joined: Nov 2020 |
Was in the same situation before.
Just email handover list and cc everybody involved, and state you'd like to discuss the handover before leaving. If no response just chill till last day |
Aug 14 2021, 11:14 AM
14,511 posts Joined: Sep 2017 |
QUOTE(SkyCaptain @ Aug 13 2021, 10:56 PM) .......and refuses to discuss handover list. Boss strategy is to wait for the last day so you dont enjoy your last day. Some bosses are like that. He just want you to look helpless and clueless what is his next move.I have prepared a handover list detailing relevant information to assist with transition to colleagues. What else should I do? This post has been edited by mini orchard: Aug 14 2021, 11:14 AM |
Aug 14 2021, 11:18 AM
QUOTE(noobinvestor @ Aug 14 2021, 09:08 AM) Was in the same situation before. I am thinking if I should email since what mini orchard says could very well be true too.Just email handover list and cc everybody involved, and state you'd like to discuss the handover before leaving. If no response just chill till last day QUOTE(mini orchard @ Aug 14 2021, 11:14 AM) Boss strategy is to wait for the last day so you dont enjoy your last day. Some bosses are like that. He just want you to look helpless and clueless what is his next move. Any idea what I can do to gain the upper hand if this were true, sifu? |
Aug 14 2021, 11:26 AM
QUOTE(SkyCaptain @ Aug 14 2021, 11:18 AM) Nothing much you can do but just cont with your daily work. He is a boss who knows what you are doing and can take over without much problem.On your last day, whatever 'temperature' rises, be cool and dont make it a miserable exit. |
Aug 14 2021, 12:23 PM
818 posts Joined: Dec 2017 From: Krypton |
Find the replacement colleague/new hire and disseminate everything. Do it in black and white also (email) and BCC your own personal email.
If boss ask all of a sudden "Why did you not disseminate handover projects to new hires/colleagues" then you have the email to show. Maybe even better, CC your boss also for ref. This happened to me before and my ex-collegaue still tried to cari pasal. But they can't do much anyway since it's all given in black and white |
Aug 14 2021, 12:27 PM
QUOTE(Redshelf411 @ Aug 14 2021, 12:23 PM) Find the replacement colleague/new hire and disseminate everything. Do it in black and white also (email) and BCC your own personal email. Was hoping I would not have to resort to this measure.If boss ask all of a sudden "Why did you not disseminate handover projects to new hires/colleagues" then you have the email to show. Maybe even better, CC your boss also for ref. This happened to me before and my ex-collegaue still tried to cari pasal. But they can't do much anyway since it's all given in black and white |
Aug 14 2021, 12:32 PM
818 posts Joined: Dec 2017 From: Krypton |
Aug 14 2021, 12:40 PM
779 posts Joined: Jun 2020 |
He is just emo you are leaving him. If you dont have any special connection or loyalty towards your superior, then just leave him be.
Life has to move on. |
Aug 14 2021, 02:15 PM
QUOTE(Redshelf411 @ Aug 14 2021, 12:32 PM) It may not be the best option but sometimes its necessary. Some people just don't want to co-operate. They love looking for problems even though it's not your shit to begin with. Some bosses may find not necessary to an early handover. Is not wrong to do on the last day as long everything is handed to next person or the boss when he leaves.If the handover is completed earlier, what is the resigned guy suppose to do in the office ? Watch the other guy work ? If is sales, the least can go out lepak together. Whatever, as long the handover is done before he leaves, timing is at discretion of the boss for whatever reasons he sees 'right'. |
Aug 14 2021, 02:17 PM
880 posts Joined: Nov 2013 From: Ceres |
it did happens. It happened twice to me personally after I resigned. This is especially true if the boss is the owner himself. No one talk to you, no one ask for handover, no one give a damn. Ooops, should say the boss and managers ignore you
Aug 14 2021, 07:02 PM
2,096 posts Joined: Dec 2011 |
QUOTE(mini orchard @ Aug 14 2021, 11:14 AM) Boss strategy is to wait for the last day so you dont enjoy your last day. Some bosses are like that. He just want you to look helpless and clueless what is his next move. pretty dumb thing to do really. last day is last day, and it's the boss' responsibility to ensure everything's handled over by then, and the person who's leaving can just ignore and chill (if they're smart)QUOTE(mini orchard @ Aug 14 2021, 02:15 PM) Some bosses may find not necessary to an early handover. Is not wrong to do on the last day as long everything is handed to next person or the boss when he leaves. I just show up in office 2 days a week, where the other 3 days I just left a message on Slack saying: 'working from home. drop me a message if I'm needed in the office'. and this was pre covid.If the handover is completed earlier, what is the resigned guy suppose to do in the office ? Watch the other guy work ? If is sales, the least can go out lepak together. Whatever, as long the handover is done before he leaves, timing is at discretion of the boss for whatever reasons he sees 'right'. |
Aug 14 2021, 07:47 PM
QUOTE(malleus @ Aug 14 2021, 07:02 PM) pretty dumb thing to do really. last day is last day, and it's the boss' responsibility to ensure everything's handled over by then, and the person who's leaving can just ignore and chill (if they're smart) My thoughts precisely, but I suppose you live and learn. |
| Change to: | 0.0187sec
5 queries
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 02:54 PM |