Enquiries/Recommendations Notebook Recommendation Thread v.34, Need To Buy Laptop..? Please Come In
phoenixxx
Oct 10 2021, 08:00 PM
Hi, looking for suggestion to help me on my next purchase. Looking for a gaming laptop to act as my secondary laptop when I am travelling.
I've lurked some of the pages here and it seems Lenovo Legion 5 Pro is the recommended way to go (in general), but would like to see if other alternatives come up.
I mainly play an old game called Guild Wars 2, it needs to have good "single core performance" on CPU especially in crowded areas with many players around. GPU will become a bit more important soon though, as the game is getting a DX11 upgrade and will utilize more GPU moving forward.
Apart from that, bonus if it can play new games like Cyberpunk etc. I am not a competitive gamer (mainly play RPGs, etc) so I'm fine even with low refresh rate screen. For the record, I am currently using a 60 Hz screen. I'm sure higher refresh rates will be "smoother" but I value thermal performance > refresh rate especially in a laptop. Might extend its lifespan too.
If at all possible, I don't want the laptop to be too heavy or "gamery" as I will be taking it around. I have an existing Asus G53SX which has unfortunately died (GPU chip rosak? Weird pixels come up and the screen will freeze up / hang) and that thing + the adapter is a pain to carry around. Think I would like to limit this to a smaller laptop and not the 17" gaming sizes.
Can anyone suggest: 1. The best choice assuming there's xx wait time 2. Second choice with lower waiting time / instant stock availability?
TL;DR 1. Budget : RM5-6k? Can adjust to best bang for buck but hoping it stays in RM6k range 2. Usage : Gaming 3. Requirements (display size, battery life, weight etc) : smaller form factor (less than 17") , 16-32GB RAM. Battery is not important. Will be plugged in most of the time.
Thanks sifus.
This post has been edited by phoenixxx: Oct 10 2021, 08:07 PM
phoenixxx
Oct 12 2021, 02:40 PM
QUOTE(ZM Fong @ Oct 12 2021, 12:26 PM) 1. Lenovo Legion 5 Pro 3060 customize 2. Gigabyte Aorus 15P KC-8MY2130GH or Lenovo Legion 5 82JU00HNMJ (from shopee) Thanks Fong for your recommendation. Am trying to find a physical shop to see the gigabyte laptop, honestly haven't seen a gigabyte laptop before. Also, I did some extra survey, would you mind sharing your thoughts on these nitro 5 laptops.. Am thinking to go lower budget a bit since I will be playing that one game most of the time on laptop (separately build a main pc when prices are less crazy in the future) I5- 11400h 8gb ram 512gb 144hz 3050 ti rm4399 3060 rm4799 I7- 11800 16gb ram 512gb 144hz 3060 rm5700 ryzen 7 5800h 3060 16gb ram 512gb rm5350 Are these worth considering? If so, which one would be the best choice?
phoenixxx
Oct 12 2021, 07:06 PM
QUOTE(ZM Fong @ Oct 12 2021, 05:05 PM) only the i5+3060 is worth considering, however it has low TGP (95w vs 130w) and no MUX - u get what u pay Am almost going for the nitro 5 i5 +3060 like u suggested, with additional 8gb ram (=16gb) it's around rm5k. Then chanced upon msi models, didn't really see any of them in your gaming laptop approval list but thought its worth asking your opinion. Here are the specs: Msi katana gf66 I7-11800h 16gb 512gb 3069 Rm6299 Msi pulse gl66 Same as above but with 1tb and qhd 165hz Rm6799 Pricing seems to be in the legion 5/ 5 pro range EDIT: nevermind, just checked out the tgp seems to be only 85w This post has been edited by phoenixxx: Oct 12 2021, 07:49 PM
phoenixxx
Sep 22 2022, 11:50 PM
Hi sifus, looking for laptop recommendation for young teenager..
Budget: 3-3.5k (lower better)
Uses: gaming (Roblox for now, next time dunno like what game), possibly school work and general use
Since it is for a kid probably looking for the best bang for buck, don't really need extra bells and whistles.
Any advice will be appreciated!
phoenixxx
Jan 7 2024, 12:36 PM
Looking for recommendation for laptop: Usage mainly for gaming and school work Budget max 5k. Lightweight would be a plus (due to school) but at this price not sure if can get..
Any possibility for legion 5 pro? Previously got mine during pandemic for 5k+.