16 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Bottom

Seeking ways to design & renovate your house?, Happy Learning Together!

TSMy Maison
post Dec 18 2021, 01:47 PM

319 posts

Project: Midfield Condominum

Topic :Preparation Work + Lighting Installation

As usual, when starting off with any project, ensure a clean and neat working place, to protect the property as well as for ease while working, reduce risk of accident!! notworthy.gif

Yeap. For this project, we start off with installing lighting conduits below soffit, with designed/required amount of points after discussion with designer/ lighting specialist. In this scenario, we are going to install plaster ceiling in future, to hide all the conduits. Yes, some of your might curious, is it a must to do plaster ceiling, will it cost me alot? Actually it all depends on you, if you dont prefer ceiling as you wanna a higher floor to ceiling height, more sense of space, yes, you may hack slightly a little on your slab, place the electrical wirings inside the gap and plaster it back. It would not spoilt your building structure. However, there will be more works for your worker for sure. And Skills is important!!!!!

Maybe in future, we can talk about how the types of lighting can performed in your house!! Stay tuned.

TSMy Maison
post Dec 19 2021, 08:40 PM

319 posts

QUOTE(IshyKaur @ Dec 14 2021, 03:53 PM)
hi Sifu!

can you share about marble flooring installation?
Roughly how much per square foot?

also, have you heard of marble from gua Musang, Kelantan? I think it's called pallandro grey.

It's a lot cheaper than imported marble but im not sure of the quality.

TIA.
Hi, for marble, it is estimated around around RM100-130 per sqft for supply and installation work
TSMy Maison
post Dec 19 2021, 09:36 PM

319 posts

Topic : Ceiling Installation & Design Possibilities

TSMy Maison
post Dec 19 2021, 09:38 PM

319 posts

a. user posted image

b. user posted image

c. user posted image

d. user posted image

Disclaimer: Photos Source is taken online for learning purpose
TSMy Maison
post Dec 19 2021, 09:57 PM

319 posts

Hi, i believe that from the photos above, you guys would have better understanding on how we actually ceiling for you. Beside from the flat ceiling which is quite common used and highly accepted by most users, there are actually a few design possibilities that can bring your house to another levels or mood.
As usual, we install the metal studs as our framework, with proper spanning and depth as required to secure the plasterboard later. Screw the plasterboard below it and give it a smooth covering to seal up the gaps in between.

Remember that we do need to cut off some locations for the purpose of lighting fixture installation, either downlight/eyeballs selection. In this scenario, we provide circular shape downlight. Hope you enjoy our work on the construction of flat ceiling in this scenario. However, there are actually alot more possibilities that can be explored, please look at the photos i shared above ( Photos credited to online source)

Yes, beside from flat ceiling, there are options such as
(a) Partially constructed plaster ceiling (局部吊顶) Option 1 - (正面灯带效果)- constructed directly next to both sides of the wall, and allow the L-shape pattern as finishing. The lights can be placed on that location, creating lighting effect

(b) Partially constructed plaster ceiling (局部吊顶) Option 2 - (反面灯带效果)- Around the same as flat ceiling, but we leave the L-shape finishing pattern next to the walls. The lights are reflected to the wall, passive lighting

© Partially constructed plaster ceiling (局部吊顶)Option 3 - (分层) - Emphasize box-up ceiling on four corners of the wall, creating layers of ceiling. You may consider to locate your lights to emphasize the are as well.

(d) Flat ceiling with gaps (阴隐缝)- Basically leaving a 20mm gap on the finishing edges between ceiling and the wall, creating more effects with lowest cost. In advance, if there is a big beam protruding, this is a good way to blend the design with big beam.

TSMy Maison
post Dec 21 2021, 10:53 PM

319 posts

Topic : Light Types & Possibilities

TSMy Maison
post Dec 21 2021, 11:07 PM

319 posts

Project: Midfield Condominium

Topic : Light Types & Possibilities

With all of the plaster ceiling getting ready, its time to cut out the holes for your placement of lighting. SO, some of you might curious about the amount of lighting we should be putting in each area. Dont worry, actually you may consult your designer or even the lighting shop owner. They are experienced in this and with only plans provided, they can actually calculate for you.

In this scenario, i would roughly share with you the typical downlight features. It is very durable, easy to install, cheaper compared to eyeball, bright and clear. However, it can only penetrate in one direction, which is downward. Types of installation includes recessed type- using compression clips/ spring clips to hold the lights in the ceiling hole by pushing the springs vertically. For the surface mounted one, it is specially for concrete ceiling, and it can only fixed by supplied bracket. The third types of downlight is called suspended downlight, also specially designed for concrete ceiling, providing a soft, non glaring yet classy lighting.

As a comparison between typical downlight and eyeball, i would say downlight can penetrate up to 4.5 till 5 feet, while eyeball can go up to 3.5 to 4 feet. However, Eyeball is smaller in size, and it can be installed in larger quantity as it looks tiny and not as obvious as compared to downlight. One typical downlight is around RM 17++ while eyeball can go up to RM 25++. However, please refer to your seller, and ID to receive the latest pricing information. Both of them have their own good / bad. And all of this is depending on you. Hope you enjoy our works today. We will share more in future.!!
rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
TSMy Maison
post Dec 24 2021, 12:00 AM

319 posts

QUOTE(iamsobloodysick @ Dec 22 2021, 10:44 PM)
Hi Maison, will a 3-strip timber flooring look better for a small house?
Hi, it depends. You may need to consider its advantage and disadvantage. What kind of mood you would like to create in your house, While you know what you intent to create, there comes the time you choose your material.
TSMy Maison
post Dec 26 2021, 01:12 AM

319 posts

Topic : Wall Finish

TSMy Maison
post Dec 26 2021, 01:13 AM

319 posts

Topic : Wall Finish

There are various of wall finish for you to choose from, from various of paints effect to the usage of wallpaper. I will share with you some of the example, so that you can have better idea when you decide to renovate your home.

When you first received your key from developer, the house will mainly used water-based paint, so called latex paint as the wall finish. This kind of paint will be more easily to peeled off as compared to oil-based paint. No right or wrong, you have to consider which types of paint to use for your home, both has their own advantages. Normally, we will go for easy wash paint which has no added lead and mercury, as they release less VOC in your house.

Talking about types of paint, firstly, you can go for texture paint as shown in our example, and for sure, there will be more pattern and color for you to choose from. Usage of wainscoting is also one of the wall finish that make your wall more textured. Besides, you may also go for simple plain colour emulsion paint, which is simple and clean. Sometimes, simple design can be very popular with just the representation of colour to pop out the mood. There is also paint known as Magnet Paint. This paint is added with tiny particle of iron dust, and it allows your wall to be magnetic.

Besides from the paint, you may also consider wallpaper as your wall finishing, There are various of wallpaper types, from paper base, pvc base to the foam based. Some of them can be glued, some are self adhesive sticker. Easy to applied, and can be even self DIY by you. Hope you enjoy our sharing today, and thanks for your views towards our works and post. Hope we answer your question.

TSMy Maison
post Dec 28 2021, 11:55 PM

319 posts

Topic : Material Selection for Carpentry

TSMy Maison
post Dec 28 2021, 11:55 PM

319 posts

Topic : Material Selection for Carpentry

Carpentry is something very important while designing your home, as a good carpentry work determine the overall sense, looking of your house, and it really takes up a big part of your house. Not only in design, in terms of functionality, we as a users are looking for quality, long lasting material while at the same time, using the lowest budget searching for the best among the best material. Today, Im going to make comparison between two kinds of material that is very common in terms of materials, which is wood & aluminium.

For the wood type kitchen cabinet, it has more colours, patterns and design. At the same time, it costs lesser. The disadvantages would be not resistant to water, thermites and insects, thus if your house area would flood easily, this might be an issue you need to consider with. In terms of aluminium cabinet, it would go in another way round. Aluminium material can withstand with water, dampness. It is also not affected by insects or even thermite, durable and not easily warped. As compared to wood, aluminium will be more expensive, more heavy and might create a little noise.

Some of the aluminium can have imitate wood grain on its surface. However, some supplier doesn't have, which make the choices of selection lesser as compared to wood kitchen cabinet. For designer, with wood texture, they would be more easily to create design for your house.

In details, there are still two kinds of wood for your selection, which is melamine and plywood. We might share more about this in future. Stay tuned.
console.gif console.gif
TSMy Maison
post Jan 1 2022, 10:42 PM

319 posts

Project : Riverville Residence

Topic: 10 Major Steps on Renovation Work (Part 1)

TSMy Maison
post Jan 1 2022, 10:42 PM

319 posts

Topic: 10 Major Steps on Renovation Work (Part 1)

Hi, Happy New Year everyone! Hope that all of you are fine.
Let's keep on learning and continue equip yourself with some ideas on how to renovate your house. Today, I will be sharing some of the major steps ,which should be started first and followed by which steps next. Begin the process with Part 1: Wetwork, wiring & piping work.

Wetwork is all about the structure work, like extension, brickworks, destruction of old walls etc. This is the primary step among the entire process, and the work includes some piping work in between, to conceal from eyesight. This is also due to when you destruct your old walls, you might need to design your piping route again, to suit your new house layout and kitchen sink.

Next, after all the layout done, we move on to the wiring work. This include all of the lighting point, power point and air cond point installation. Before all of this work, we must confirm all of the points location, how many units, what is their height, what is the purpose, so that no mistake happen, and also easier for wireman to work on this. We should also confirm with the designer about the number of lights we proposed, so that the wire circuit can be pulled more accurately.

Above are the two steps all the entire work. We will move to ceiling work etc....... in next sharing. Thanks for your time and enjoy our great works ya!

TSMy Maison
post Jan 3 2022, 12:12 AM

319 posts

Topic: 10 Major Steps on Renovation Work (Part 2)

This post has been edited by My Maison: Jan 3 2022, 12:14 AM
TSMy Maison
post Jan 3 2022, 12:14 AM

319 posts

Topic: 10 Major Steps on Renovation Work (Part 2)

After all of this wiring and points done, its time for us to construct the ceiling in order to hide all of the wiring from exposing. But before this, we have to know what is our ceiling design, whether we need to includes light trough inside, L-box, curtain pelmet etc. or not. These are the things we need to consider with, and of course, we need to know how height our ceiling should be, whether it is comfortable to be designed in this way. You may decide yourself or discuss with your designer and your contractor.

With all of the consideration made, the ceiling works can now proceed.
Please enjoy our works in progress. Hope you learn something here. flex.gif

In coming post, we will be talking about how plasterboard can be used furthermore other from ceiling, and what should you do next thumbup.gif
TSMy Maison
post Jan 3 2022, 11:50 PM

319 posts

Topic: 10 Major Steps on Renovation Work (Part 3)

TSMy Maison
post Jan 3 2022, 11:52 PM

319 posts

Topic: 10 Major Steps on Renovation Work (Part 3)

Getting done with all of the ceiling work & wiring, we move on to the finishing work of the ceiling to give a smooth, neat and pleasant surface. By using suitable grade joint compound and mixed with water, we applied layers and layers of joint compound with paper or fiber joint tape to seal joints between sheets of plasterboard to create a seamless base for paint. Remember to let the compound to dry completely before applying the second coat on it. Some of the joint compound can dry very quickly, and you have to ensure that this kind of dry joint compound (leftover) should be "cleaned" immediately before dried out in the container, as it may forms lot of small hardened particles when being used again.

Do remember that some of the joint compound are sandable while some are not. We prefer sandable joint compound as non-sandable joint compound cannot be smoothen easily later by sander machine if the workmanship is poor. Apply your second coat of finishing coat after all works are done. You may also consider to construct partition wall if your intention is to split up the area into more spaces. The concept of construction remain the same as ceiling.

In today's part 3, we focus on repairing the holes, gaps to give a better finishing looks before any installation of lighting/ furniture start.

Hope you enjoy our works. Thanks.

TSMy Maison
post Jan 7 2022, 01:42 AM

319 posts

Topic: 10 Major Steps on Renovation Work (Part 4)

This post has been edited by My Maison: Jan 7 2022, 01:43 AM
TSMy Maison
post Jan 7 2022, 01:45 AM

319 posts

Topic: 10 Major Steps on Renovation Work (Part 4)

With all of the primary items done as mentioned before, we can now install our lights, fans, aircond in site. You might be curious how about the flooring?
Yes don't worry, the next step is dealing with flooring. The trend are getting used with flooring materials such as vinyl, laminate and spc flooring. Each of them has their own goods and bads, and some of them are glued on floor, which is quite irreversible while some are fixed by interlocking method. Normally for this kind of flooring, we would recommend you to proceed with this steps after all of the wetwork and installation of light etc. were completely done. This is because it reduces the risk of damage from happening, more tidy and more clean. However, if you choose to have floor tiles at your floor finishes, yes you may do it at the beginning of the entire process, which is during the wetwork, as it is not easily damaged and dirtied.

In the next sharing, we will then move on to the carpentry work, and I will share about some of our great works for your reference. Stay tuned.

16 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Top

0.0397sec    0.59    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 10:34 AM