QUOTE(Yggdrasil @ Jul 8 2021, 10:29 PM)
Bro, tbis one where got list b4? Previously listed was Hock Sin Leong or HSLeong. With a 4 ekor number of 5046.
Senheng New Retail Berhad (5305), Main Market
Aug 9 2021, 07:01 PM
Return to original view | IPv6 | Post
15,942 posts Joined: Jun 2008 |
Jan 26 2022, 10:55 AM
QUOTE(Davidtcf @ Jan 26 2022, 10:50 AM) thing I dont get is, during IPO listing it was oversubscribed by 10.4 times: IPO price should never be used as a yardstick indicator.https://www.theedgemarkets.com/article/senh...ibed-1044-times But after launch, its price is now stuck at 0.88 per share. Baffling. I thought oversubscribed usually means the stock price will go up on opening day? This one opposite happened. Got people buy the IPO and later sell it at a loss just to sabotage the company's stock price? Gilaa.. One of the best example is.... LC Titan. Go check out the IPO price....and look at it today. |
Jan 26 2022, 12:06 PM
QUOTE(Davidtcf @ Jan 26 2022, 11:46 AM) then why so many ppl interested in the IPO? Only to sell on day one with losses. If after many days or months see stock price go down understood la. This one day 1 already do this. Might as well don't register for the IPO to begin with. There is no benefit for such buyers. Why do many ppl interested in IPO?right now see it stable at 0.88 I'm happy.. hope dont go any lower after this. Hold for sometime see how it goes. That's beside the point, isn't it? I am merely pointing out the fact that events like Seng Heng's poor listing day performance happens. A more recent listing, Swift Haulage also saw the stock ending much lower. Proof: https://www.theedgemarkets.com/article/swif...-malaysia-debut |
Jan 26 2022, 12:14 PM
Or if you research more...
https://www.theedgemarkets.com/article/ipos...gs-fail-impress See the table included the article....see how some of the big name ipos closed much lower on listing day. |
Jan 27 2022, 03:03 PM
QUOTE(Cubalagi @ Jan 27 2022, 02:58 PM) One important point is that one must understand that an IPO could always fall below its IPO offer price. After understanding that point, hell... hantem saje lo ... see if got good luck or bad cow luck! |
Jan 27 2022, 03:06 PM
And if bad cow luck...
just understand that there's a real possibility that the stock would never even go back up to its ipo offer price. Waiting forever will not help either. |
Jan 27 2022, 04:53 PM
Jan 27 2022, 05:19 PM
QUOTE(Davidtcf @ Jan 27 2022, 04:56 PM) my pro investor friend told me this: Your pro investor doesn't sound so pro. [4:47 pm, 27/01/2022] <name removed>: since buy ady just hold for long-term [4:47 pm, 27/01/2022] <name removed>: unless SenHeng biz model fails agree. I didn't buy that much ya its IPO.. for those that buy a lot and if need money, then maybe different story. As it is, it's just a retailer which is trading at a rather high valuation. Such a business model, the growth ain't easy. It's not easy and not profitable using the growth of new stores strategy.... Hence holding long term, might not help. For example, that article again... https://www.theedgemarkets.com/article/ipos...gs-fail-impress That table... ![]() see some of the BIG names... Malakoff... that listing is since 2015... IPO price 1.80. Today 27/1/2022 price is 72 sen. Is Malakoff a bad company? Maybe not... but holding on to the stock since listing hasn't done the investor any favors... and ya... it pays decent dividends but even if you total it up.... ![]() it's still an investment lost since 2015.... how? Hold another 5 years? See the point is... telling someone hold long term sounds so pro... so easy.... sometimes.... it just doesn't work. So what you need to do is consider... how long do you want to hold? 5 years? 10 years? What if after 5 years... and you find out that... holding this long term is not a good idea... and ya... the worst thing about this when it happens is, what if come 5 years, the stock is only worth 'say' 50 sen? Then how? Same decision time once again... but only difference is that you could be holding on to an even bigger paper loss! That's the worst case... of course... if nasib good.... who knows.... maybe in 5 years, this stock could be trading at 2 bucks! cklimm liked this post
Jan 28 2022, 10:23 AM
QUOTE(Davidtcf @ Jan 28 2022, 09:25 AM) thanks.. after found the below video decided to sell this morning. Won't go into IPO ever again The eps is supposedly just for the quarter Q3 2021. So the PE displayed on the screen isn't accurate and furthermore, that quarter is usually considered pre-ipo numbers (earnings before listing) and usually they tend to differ post ipo... https://youtu.be/OMxxjBE8rFA?t=1000 Such a high P/E ratio for a new IPO not a good sign also. Good P/E ratio is around 20-30. This is around 6 times of a good PE. Looks like plans of the Senheng bosses worked, mark up IPO, get quick cash.. profit. ![]() Ya... one of the many other dangers of ipo 'investing'... |
Jan 28 2022, 11:49 AM
QUOTE(Davidtcf @ Jan 28 2022, 10:49 AM) thing is I saw the 3 SenHeng brothers keep buying up shares at the news section.. haha they gonna get burnt real bad themselves Not as straight forward... One of the son is buying, the other the wife is buying but the other son is selling... And the thing for me is... I will ask myself is following insider buying a good investing/trading strategy? If one says is good then the opposite comes from the biggest insider buying of a local stock recently was Top Glove boss... That was multi million ringgit disaster. Those who followed died. Yup.. again it's a flip of a coin. Hence I for one would never be my own making of a water fish and buy a stock cos the boss is buying. As proven many, many times before insiders aren't any superinvestor... Davidtcf liked this post
Jan 28 2022, 03:24 PM
QUOTE(EvOliver @ Jan 28 2022, 03:18 PM) Can we say the price drops because of their own people come into the share market to influence to pull the price down? I wouldn't know but one thing I know in the stock market is, try to reason out by yourself, don't over complicate things by overthinking and mixing conspiracy theories.... esp those you hear from media/social media. It just doesn't help.One thing I would ask, for a company like SenHeng, a retailer in the electronics market, where profit margins are super thin, I would ask where do I see SenHeng in 5 times. Do I envision the company making much more money? If I don't, then why would others get excited over the stock? |
Jan 28 2022, 04:17 PM
QUOTE(Davidtcf @ Jan 28 2022, 03:55 PM) yes see their net profit for 2021. High revenue but cost of doing biz is high also: This is from Bursa website... https://www.bursamalaysia.com/market_inform...?ann_id=3223602 ![]() that's for for Q3 fy 2021. ![]() but like I said... that's pre IPO performance... hence take it with a pinch of salt. |
Jan 28 2022, 04:22 PM
QUOTE(EvOliver @ Jan 28 2022, 04:07 PM) SENHENG/SENQ gains confidence level from traders due to its own well known name in the country. Their decision to enter share market is not simple too. Must watch how their finance manager takes care of their cash. Also what kind of care they have for share holders. They are new and we need to understand their business mindset after entering share market. Traders trade because of the reputation of the name?Share price depends largely on who the traders are in the trading field. So, still a valid concern to know who, which groups of traders, are trading SENHENG now. Wow. First time hearing such stuff. Well, if you believe it so, so be it. |
Jan 28 2022, 04:32 PM
QUOTE(Davidtcf @ Jan 28 2022, 04:07 PM) yeah could fall down to around there.. thats why just now I fast2 sell after watched that youtube taikor talk about Senheng https://youtu.be/OMxxjBE8rFA?t=1000 Like that also a youtube taikor meh? He's basically reading a news link only, which was an article posted on NST. https://www.nst.com.my/business/2022/01/765...but-early-trade Man, I would stay away from all those youtubers la.... |
Jan 28 2022, 05:01 PM
QUOTE(EvOliver @ Jan 28 2022, 04:40 PM) Not so simple. Just a discussion. Don't underestimate that some really buy it just because of the brand name. Okay let's focus on what you are saying....Buy because of a brand name. Right? What if with the help historical data, it can be proven that big brand name stocks can fail right from IPO..... how then? would you still trade a stock just because of a brand name? |
Jan 28 2022, 05:24 PM
QUOTE(EvOliver @ Jan 28 2022, 05:09 PM) I did NOT say "solely" buy because of brand name. It's just a component of consideration. Fact is big name ipos have failed b4. Every brand has its own characteristics and fortune. Is SENHENG a "big" brand name? I don't know how to classify "big" brand name here for SENHENG. You can share your thoughts. How about MRDIY? Can compare? Gotta ask you, were you an ipo investor for senheng? |
Jan 28 2022, 05:26 PM
QUOTE(Davidtcf @ Jan 28 2022, 05:08 PM) Ok la what he said true what use chart analysis and saying IPO best play short term. If price drop better to sell unless if it breakthrough its support level.. Well yes. Ipos are nothing but a gamble. He himself also investor/trader lai de if check his other videos. If ppl advise make sense then I will accept lor. If Senheng has good biz model, unique product or service then can consider to hold. What they selling also nothing unique. Profit margin also razor thin. Somemore price IPO so high. Fail la whoever advise them to set such a high price. Didnt think about impact of doing this? |
Jan 28 2022, 05:37 PM
Feb 2 2022, 09:19 AM
QUOTE(hedfi @ Feb 2 2022, 08:20 AM) Yup, simple web search would show that what was listed was Hock Sin Leong. It was listed 2002 and delisted on 2011.https://www.theedgemarkets.com/article/hock...listed-thursday |
| Change to: | 0.0407sec
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 08:29 PM |