Question about hob size w/ existing SSteel cutout

TScontestchris
post Jul 3 2021, 08:51 PM, updated 5y ago

5,584 posts

Hi folks,

I'm looking to buy a gas hob for my kitchen in my new place.

Cutout size -> 43x71.5cm (with stainless steel frame) / 47.5x83.8cm (original size)

I believe the owner purchase the stainless steel frame to get a smaller hob (the original hole is pretty wide!).

My question is, what size of a hob must I purchase to fit the stainless steel frame? Must the top of the hob completely cover the stainless steel frame?

Also, with a stainless steel frame, is it a must to buy a stainless steel gas hob? Will it be okay to buy a tempered glass gas hob?

Thanks!

This post has been edited by contestchris: Jul 3 2021, 08:52 PM
chamelion
post Jul 3 2021, 08:56 PM

Back to Bricking
2,755 posts

Any hob that can fit will do.

Most newer model have wide top plate but small internal so they can fit most cut out.

Go for highest watt if you can affort.
mini orchard
post Jul 3 2021, 09:00 PM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(contestchris @ Jul 3 2021, 08:51 PM)
Hi folks,

I'm looking to buy a gas hob for my kitchen in my new place.

Cutout size -> 43x71.5cm (with stainless steel frame) / 47.5x83.8cm (original size)

I believe the owner purchase the stainless steel frame to get a smaller hob (the original hole is pretty wide!).

My question is, what size of a hob must I purchase to fit the stainless steel frame? Must the top of the hob completely cover the stainless steel frame?

Also, with a stainless steel frame, is it a must to buy a stainless steel gas hob? Will it be okay to buy a tempered glass gas hob?

Thanks! 

Smaller size.

A tempered glass will give the hob with a border appearance.

If the hob need to cover the stainless steel frame, then the frame doesnt serve its purpose and just buy the bigger size hob and remove the frame.
TScontestchris
post Jul 3 2021, 09:02 PM

5,584 posts

QUOTE(chamelion @ Jul 3 2021, 08:56 PM)
Any hob that can fit will do.

Most newer model have wide top plate but small internal so they can fit most cut out.

Go for highest watt if you can affort.
Lets say a model says cutout is 35x65cm, and the top size is 45x75cm. Should it fit?

I'm thinking of either 4.2kWh or 5.0kWh. Should that be sufficient?

This post has been edited by contestchris: Jul 3 2021, 09:02 PM
SUSceo684
post Jul 3 2021, 09:51 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(contestchris @ Jul 3 2021, 09:02 PM)
Lets say a model says cutout is 35x65cm, and the top size is 45x75cm. Should it fit?

I'm thinking of either 4.2kWh or 5.0kWh. Should that be sufficient?
SS frame can be removed if you buy a big (full sized) hob.
Go for 5kW total, you need to aware of output per burner, 3L engine capacity made up by 5x kancil 660 is not useful, as a single kancil 660 is slow. But 1 car of 3L engine capacity from a single engine is useful otherwise every meal will take ages.

Go for hob with 2x 4.5kW (or higher) burner.
Big size hob better for cooking. The wok might overhang into the space of the other burner if your burners are squashed too tightly together unless all you do is cook maggi in small pot.

This post has been edited by ceo684: Jul 3 2021, 09:56 PM
TScontestchris
post Jul 3 2021, 10:00 PM

5,584 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ Jul 3 2021, 09:51 PM)
SS frame can be removed if you buy a big (full sized) hob.
Go for 5kW total, you need to aware of output per burner, 3L engine capacity made up by 5x kancil 660 is not useful, as a single kancil 660 is slow. But 1 car of 3L engine capacity from a single engine is useful otherwise every meal will take ages.

Go for hob with 2x 4.5kW (or higher) burner.
Big size hob better for cooking. The wok might overhang into the space of the other burner if your burners are squashed too tightly together unless all you do is cook maggi in small pot.
I'm looking at 4.2kWh x 2 minimum. Probably 4.5kWh x2 or 5.0kWh x 2.

The problem is, the full size hobs are pretty expensive. At home, my mother has a 75cm wide two burner hob, it's very comfortable for cooking. And she cooks every day.
SUSceo684
post Jul 3 2021, 10:19 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(contestchris @ Jul 3 2021, 10:00 PM)
I'm looking at 4.2kWh x 2 minimum. Probably 4.5kWh x2 or 5.0kWh x 2.

The problem is, the full size hobs are pretty expensive. At home, my mother has a 75cm wide two burner hob, it's very comfortable for cooking. And she cooks every day.
full size ones come with 5.5kW but probably overkill laugh.gif

Well generally I would say within its class, a 2-burner with 4.5kW you can get it for 8xx or so
RB-2HG - 4.5kW 2 Burner, glass - 839
RB-712N-G 3.7kW 2-Burner glass - 731
RB-712N-S 3.7kW 2-Burner Stainless Steel - 653

--the bigger burner + glass aesthetics cost more. It depends on your cooking style as well.. if you don't mind waiting a couple mins more per operation the cheaper one will also work; but bigger burner is worth the money for speed.
--it should cost roughly around there but burner tech also important.
--the not-so-hot ones come with normal pot stand (and hot ones usually come with cast iron stands); cast iron tougher durability but if you get a common brand you can still get replacement online.

--whether SS or glass top ones the bottom chassis is still metal, the decision between them is largely on aesthetics

Also below pic is pot/wok clearance which normally affect 3-burner hobs (yes I had this problem before) coz it came with the preloved house so we just use it till it fails and changing to a 2-burner soon.

This post has been edited by ceo684: Jul 3 2021, 10:27 PM

chamelion
post Jul 3 2021, 11:32 PM

Back to Bricking
2,755 posts

For size, best is double check the item’s website or SA for actual sizing. Better brand hob do come with sizing drawing and normally downloadable from their site.

Stainless steel is more forgiving.
Glass may break if knocked by something or someone carelessly put hot pot on it. That is why most work kitchens use SS.

Cleaning wise, both stainless steel and glass is about same.

Just get highest watt per burner you can afford. You can reduce the heat but cannot make it hotter than rating. IF one day someone become interest with cooking, at least the hob is flexible. Is not about wait a bit longer but some dish or cooking method need the sufficient heat to make it work.
TScontestchris
post Jul 6 2021, 02:55 AM

5,584 posts

Guys I'm still unclear about the size.

See my cutout (without the stainless steel frame) below.

It measures 83cm (length) x 47cm (width).

Must I get one with the EXACT SAME cutout?

Obviously the top measurements has to exceeded the countertop cutout (else it won't sit), but I'm really confused by the bottom cutout of the hob.

Some hobs seem to have a fixed cutout. Some flexible.

Please help me here.

Thanks!

https://i.ibb.co/QJww8PW/20210705-202505.jpg

0.0190sec    1.08    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 06:27 AM