RM2,300 for fresh grad is inhumane, Why you should ask for 50% increment

Pacmangoku
post Jul 25 2021, 12:34 AM

lë Fantôme
828 posts

QUOTE(soul78 @ Jun 29 2021, 09:41 AM)
i wake up travel by bus 1 1/2 hour everyday for the past 3 years to go to work from one state to another to go to work. wake up at 5am every day to go to bus station to grab a bus.

Then after that still no car and started renting a room when salary was ok and then still took lrt/mrt to work every day for another 4 years..

nowadays flesh glad come out oredi complain earning peanuts and still wanna own a car straight away.

I bought my first car at the age of 30 and it was a Myvi.
nowadays flesh glad also dun want to look at myvi and oredi wanna drive SUV or civic ketamz when they earning peanutz...

work their way up the leddar la.. instead of complaining.. coz nowadays mellinnials sooo sayur... cant stand to slog like the boomers generation...
That's why I have respect for your generation. Just work your way up instead of complaining right from the start. cool2.gif
happy_berry
post Jul 25 2021, 12:31 PM

2,465 posts

First they tell you that rice,vege and egg is enough- no need chicken. Then they tell you rice and egg is already enough - we can survive without vege. Then eventually they tell you eh rice and kicap is good enough - can live until old age. Do you see the fucking trend here?

Some of the replies are made by clowns. Glorifying unnecessary suffering like a badge of honour, here have your trophy.

TomYummy
post Jul 25 2021, 03:28 PM

154 posts

QUOTE(happy_berry @ Jul 25 2021, 12:31 PM)
First they tell you that rice,vege and egg is enough- no need chicken. Then they tell you rice and egg is already enough - we can survive without vege. Then eventually they tell you eh rice and kicap is good enough - can live until old age. Do you see the fucking trend here?

Some of the replies are made by clowns. Glorifying unnecessary suffering like a badge of honour, here have your trophy.
That's why take lowyat with a pinch of salt, where most membbers are lowlife and/or simply blatant liars.

Their definition of "life" is surviving on kicap rice. Also, the crab mentality: Sam had to suffer as fresh grad, Azmin too, Sandeep too so you have to do the same, it's okay, why you complain strawbelly?

Don't even waste your time explaining and educating on this forum.

This post has been edited by TomYummy: Jul 25 2021, 03:30 PM
chromatino_hex
post Jul 23 2022, 08:37 PM

176 posts

This post is ridiculous. I am going to necro this thread. It is impossible to live a healthy lifestyle with RM2,300 salary.

You need to eat 2,400 calories meal (vegetable, meat, fish) + vitamins.
Gym membership also need money.

Unless you are comfortable with eating unhealthy mamak style meals every day (just pour curry on your rice without any nutrients), then of course RM2,300 a month is enough.

This post has been edited by chromatino_hex: Jul 23 2022, 08:39 PM
SUSceo684
post Jul 23 2022, 10:59 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(IBank BeanBag @ Jun 29 2021, 09:06 AM)
RM2,300 pay for graduates in KL has to end! Why fresh graduates should ask for 50% raise after 2 years. Stop enslaving graduates and push them towards “debt bondage”.

It is not right for CEOs like myself to earn so many more times when we try to squeeze you that RM200-400. Some banks and big companies CEOs are earning RM150,000 to RM700,000 a month when your parents need to subsidise you to survive. These figures I have gotten from their companies annual reports. You can verify.

Their expenses to live with dignity in KL is RM3,415.

Car RM500
Petrol RM300
Parking RM100
Room RM600
Parents RM300
Food RM900
Phone bill RM100
Phone cost RM100
Entertainment RM0
Fitness RM0
Wardrobe RM0
Holiday RM0
EPF 11%
Tax 5%

It is only natural that after working for two years, you expect yourself to earn a living wage, RM4,000 in KL.

My full post on LinkedIn: https://lnkd.in/g2xfXsX
Parking in KLCC area mana ada RM100. Unless your counting it as hybrid work arrangement where you park half a month and WFH the other half?
Because I work in Yap Kwan Seng before, easily RM10-12.70 a day coz the RM8 one is a small lot and forever full.
22 working days a month on average.. how to fit in RM100.. unless you work for those smol companies in upstairs shoplots where you can still park DBKL street parking and cheat the parking half the time?
RM100 is inviting saman kind of parking leh, as I remember DBKL season pass is RM160 or 320/mo for street parking

QUOTE(IBank BeanBag @ Jun 29 2021, 01:30 PM)
Business need to plan on efficiency and productivity. We created too many non productive jobs that allow business to earn low margins.

10 years ago auditing firm already offer 2,800 for fresh grad.

Covid-19 aside, 2,300 is really very low.
2006-2007 a decent meal was RM5.10 for nasi ayam and a kopi peng, and mamak usually give 10c discount making it RM5 nett
That time fresh grad earn RM2500

Now inflation of essentials and salary deflated rclxub.gif
Roadwarrior1337
post Jul 23 2022, 11:01 PM

979 posts

I just bought one big bittergourd and 2 tomato

Walaneh 13 bucks and this is from a kedai runcit at my neighbourhood

How the f kids that stay in kl survive with minimum gaji
Roadwarrior1337
post Jul 23 2022, 11:02 PM

979 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ Jul 23 2022, 10:59 PM)
Parking in KLCC area mana ada RM100. Unless your counting it as hybrid work arrangement where you park half a month and WFH the other half?
Because I work in Yap Kwan Seng before, easily RM10-12.70 a day coz the RM8 one is a small lot and forever full.
22 working days a month on average.. how to fit in RM100.. unless you work for those smol companies in upstairs shoplots where you can still park DBKL street parking and cheat the parking half the time?
RM100 is inviting saman kind of parking leh, as I remember DBKL season pass is RM160 or 320/mo for street parking
2006-2007 a decent meal was RM5.10 for nasi ayam and a kopi peng, and mamak usually give 10c discount making it RM5 nett
That time fresh grad earn RM2500

Now inflation of essentials and salary deflated  rclxub.gif
You may park at great eastern mall for 7 ringgit all day and walk over to klcc. Exercise gooding yo
SUSceo684
post Jul 23 2022, 11:03 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(Roadwarrior1337 @ Jul 23 2022, 11:01 PM)
I just bought one big bittergourd and 2 tomato

Walaneh 13 bucks and this is from a kedai runcit at my neighbourhood

How the f kids that stay in kl survive with minimum gaji
Sacrifice by NOT eating veggie, veggies cost too much money.
I was on carnivore diet for many many years until masuk hospital due to tummy bug (totally red inflamed in the endoscope/colonoscope)..doc scared me say I need to eat more veggies.. cry.gif
SUSceo684
post Jul 23 2022, 11:04 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(Roadwarrior1337 @ Jul 23 2022, 11:02 PM)
You may park at great eastern mall for 7 ringgit all day and walk over to klcc. Exercise gooding yo
You need to uprate the extra cost of petrol to go to that far end of Jalan Ampang and potong gaji cost as well.
And anyhow 7*22 also more than 5*20.

This post has been edited by ceo684: Jul 23 2022, 11:05 PM
Murasaki322
post Jul 23 2022, 11:47 PM

452 posts

I hear rumors of Intel offering interns RM2400/month, a steep increase from RM1500 in the past few years.
SUSdattebayo
post Jul 24 2022, 01:05 AM

5,366 posts

the post was created back in 2021, when Covid was at its worst

now economy sectors have all been reopened

which sectors still hiring freshgrads for 2.3k?

i think even chinamans would pay at least 2.8k in KV region?

even being a shop assistant in handphone accessories shop should get above 2k these days

please, name and shame those companies which still offer 2.3k, at least in KV, i am eager to know

This post has been edited by dattebayo: Jul 24 2022, 01:06 AM
thesoothsayer
post Jul 24 2022, 01:51 PM

954 posts

QUOTE(Murasaki322 @ Jul 23 2022, 11:47 PM)
I hear rumors of Intel offering interns RM2400/month, a steep increase from RM1500 in the past few years.
That's almost the starting pay for engineers 20 years ago. Good to see them keeping up with inflation. My internship salary there was 680 22 years ago.
SUSTanahGagal
post Jul 24 2022, 01:58 PM

146 posts

Tak suka?

Vote PH in next GE for a change
ongss
post Jul 24 2022, 02:37 PM

426 posts

QUOTE(TanahGagal @ Jul 24 2022, 01:58 PM)
Tak suka?

Vote PH in next GE for a change
You still believe in this sort of stories?

Honestly, I used to be a PH supporter and went to Bersih protests. I was also a PACA for two general elections. But, to be honest, I don't believe in PH anymore.

Want to earn better wage - work harder. Don't dream of regime change. Look at GST and SST. Did the prices of good and services drop after the abolishment of SST? The answer is no, why?

Anyway, the problem for the current generation is - hoping to get good pay but never think of the contribution. For a fresh graduate to earn 2300 a month, after adding EPF, Socso, EIS, HRD levy, insurance and etc, the direct cost is around 2500. If you add in the work stations, computer, and all other overheads, the cost for a fresh graduate should be around 2700 a month. Can this fresh graduate contribute a profit of 3000 per month? To be frank, I doubt so. Worse, more of the fresh graduates aim for easy tasks, can work in air-cond office, got internet access, many annual leaves for work life balance.

SUSRolexseller123
post Jul 24 2022, 03:23 PM

227 posts

QUOTE(ongss @ Jul 24 2022, 02:37 PM)
You still believe in this sort of stories?

Honestly, I used to be a PH supporter and went to Bersih protests. I was also a PACA for two general elections. But, to be honest, I don't believe in PH anymore.

Want to earn better wage - work harder. Don't dream of regime change. Look at GST and SST. Did the prices of good and services drop after the abolishment of SST? The answer is no, why?

Anyway, the problem for the current generation is - hoping to get good pay but never think of the contribution. For a fresh graduate to earn 2300 a month, after adding EPF, Socso, EIS, HRD levy, insurance and etc, the direct cost is around 2500. If you add in the work stations, computer, and all other overheads, the cost for a fresh graduate should be around 2700 a month. Can this fresh graduate contribute a profit of 3000 per month? To be frank, I doubt so. Worse, more of the fresh graduates aim for easy tasks, can work in air-cond office, got internet access, many annual leaves for work life balance.
2 separate issues la. Yes no matter which party wins it won't have a direct impact to your lifestyle. It does, however have indirect impact in terms of policies and corruption.
ongss
post Jul 24 2022, 03:37 PM

426 posts

QUOTE(Rolexseller123 @ Jul 24 2022, 03:23 PM)
2 separate issues la. Yes no matter which party wins it won't have a direct impact to your lifestyle. It does, however have indirect impact in terms of policies and corruption.
Agree - politic and job/wage are two separate issues. Should not bring in false hope.

Wages should depend on the economy growth, individual performance and demand-vs-supply.

If one fresh graduate could contribution more than RM 5000 profit per month to a company, it is stupid for the employer to continue the monthly RM 2300 salary. I believe 80% of the employers in the job market know this basic principle. The 20% of the employer will not be able to retain their employees - as a result, will not survive in the business world.
rootbeer
post Jul 24 2022, 03:41 PM

223 posts

stop complaining, it is not the company fault, it is the govt fault for keep devalue ing the country currency with supporting corrupted useless MP.

SUSRolexseller123
post Jul 24 2022, 05:52 PM

227 posts

QUOTE(ongss @ Jul 24 2022, 03:37 PM)
Agree - politic and job/wage are two separate issues. Should not bring in false hope.

Wages should depend on the economy growth, individual performance and demand-vs-supply.

If one fresh graduate could contribution more than RM 5000 profit per month to a company, it is stupid for the employer to continue the monthly RM 2300 salary. I believe 80% of the employers in the job market know this basic principle. The 20% of the employer will not be able to retain their employees - as a result, will not survive in the business world.
That's where indirect gov policies affect wages lo

If the gov of the day is corrupted then less companies will want to invest in malaysia which could cause the ringgit value to depreciate hence leading to higher cost of living like you see now

Also if the gov don't have policies to attract value workers to move up into value added economy then we will be stuck will low value low wage kind of economy like you see now lo. Unfortunately fresh grad that are good and can contribute would have already moved to Singapore/Australia/UK/USA.

Brain drain is a real problem and it becomes a chicken and egg problem. Companies can't pay high because there is limited talent and the talents leave to other countries because they are not paid high. And the cycle continues

This post has been edited by Rolexseller123: Jul 24 2022, 05:54 PM
ongss
post Jul 24 2022, 06:42 PM

426 posts

QUOTE(Rolexseller123 @ Jul 24 2022, 05:52 PM)
That's where indirect gov policies affect wages lo

If the gov of the day is corrupted then less companies will want to invest in malaysia which could cause the ringgit value to depreciate hence leading to higher cost of living like you see now

Also if the gov don't have policies to attract value workers to move up into value added economy then we will be stuck will low value low wage kind of economy like you see now lo. Unfortunately fresh grad that are good and can contribute would have already moved to Singapore/Australia/UK/USA.

Brain drain is a real problem and it becomes a chicken and egg problem. Companies can't pay high because there is limited talent and the talents leave to other countries because they are not paid high. And the cycle continues
Let say ringgit appreciate to 1 USD = 1 MYR. Would MNC come over to invest? With this exchange rate, they probably invest in their own country. Why should they come and invest in an expensive country? Of course, you may argue, why can't 1 MYR = 1 USD? Big corporation from other countries also go and invest in US. Yes, that is true, America is still the biggest economy in the world. Malaysia is not.

On the other hand, Malaysia is not the only country that experiences high inflation. The exchange rates for Malaysia against EUR, GBP and JPY are higher since the Russia-Ukraine war. But, is this a good news? Not necessarily. Malaysia is a net export country. Malaysia’s trade surplus continues to rise despite the political instability in 2020. Strong ringgit will not benefit the export market.

Malaysia adopts the Westminster systems. That means, despite high profile corruptions in both camps of politicians, the country’s economical and financial policies are consistently monitored and managed by the civil services such as Bank Negara. So, practically, if the voters place idiots to sit in the parliament (in fact they did), the country will still run as normal because of this civil service.

I don’t deny there are brain drain. This has been an issue long time ago. Many of my classmates remained in Singapore after their graduation – in 1988. However, Malaysia has improved a lot since 70’s. If there is no opportunity or future in this country, you won’t see so many foreign labour coming. You won’t see anyone local bother to book new cars. Malaysia is far away from the status of failed state.

Monthly salary of 2300 is an issue, that is true. But, the employees have to ask themselves, what are their profit contributions to the employers?
SUSRolexseller123
post Jul 24 2022, 07:41 PM

227 posts

QUOTE(ongss @ Jul 24 2022, 06:42 PM)
Let say ringgit appreciate to 1 USD = 1 MYR. Would MNC come over to invest? With this exchange rate, they probably invest in their own country. Why should they come and invest in an expensive country? Of course, you may argue, why can't 1 MYR = 1 USD? Big corporation from other countries also go and invest in US. Yes, that is true, America is still the biggest economy in the world. Malaysia is not.

On the other hand, Malaysia is not the only country that experiences high inflation. The exchange rates for Malaysia against EUR, GBP and JPY are higher since the Russia-Ukraine war. But, is this a good news? Not necessarily. Malaysia is a net export country. Malaysia’s trade surplus continues to rise despite the political instability in 2020. Strong ringgit will not benefit the export market.

Malaysia adopts the Westminster systems. That means, despite high profile corruptions in both camps of politicians, the country’s economical and financial policies are consistently monitored and managed by the civil services such as Bank Negara. So, practically, if the voters place idiots to sit in the parliament (in fact they did), the country will still run as normal because of this civil service.

I don’t deny there are brain drain. This has been an issue long time ago. Many of my classmates remained in Singapore after their graduation – in 1988. However, Malaysia has improved a lot since 70’s. If there is no opportunity or future in this country, you won’t see so many foreign labour coming. You won’t see anyone local bother to book new cars. Malaysia is far away from the status of failed state. 

Monthly salary of 2300 is an issue, that is true. But, the employees have to ask themselves, what are their profit contributions to the employers?
If what you say were true then do you think MNC prefer to invest in Singapore or Malaysia? The fact that there are many more regional HQ in Singapore compared to Malaysia proves my point despite SGD being much stronger than MYR. Again it boils down to having the necessary talent, infrastructure and policies (which SG has and MY don't).

Strong currency will not benefit country who exports non value added goods. There is a difference. Malaysia exports mainly low value raw commodity and/or low value products that is why a strong currency is detrimental to malaysia as customers can always buy somewhere else. Conversely Singapore for example, focus on more intangible, higher value products like services as exports like private banking so they are less susceptible to losing business due to a stronger currency.

Wrong. Its not that malaysia is not improving but other neighbouring countries are improving at a much faster rate than malaysia. And its not about attracting foreign workers per se its about attracting high value, highly skilled foreign workers. Malaysia only attract the low value lowly skilled workers which is not ideal to grow the economy into a higher value economy.

The problem is that the rot starts from above. The politicians are corrupted, the ministers are corrupted hence setting a culture of corruption in the civil service as well over the many years.

This post has been edited by Rolexseller123: Jul 24 2022, 07:42 PM

8 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 >Top

0.0379sec    0.39    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 05:42 PM