Engineer credit cards billed to the tune of RM40k

kons
post Aug 20 2021, 09:04 AM

Конс
6,181 posts

use only prepaid cc on the online shopping i.e. big pay, same goes for grab/foodpanda and others, all only prepaid cc

topup only when we need to buy something.

keep cc out of the online shopping platform.
TSken431256
post Aug 20 2021, 09:06 AM

255 posts

QUOTE(kons @ Aug 20 2021, 09:04 AM)
use only prepaid cc on the online shopping i.e. big pay, same goes for grab/foodpanda and others, all only prepaid cc

topup only when we need to buy something.

keep cc out of the online shopping platform.
some deals / CC offers do need to link CC tho...i guess just rmbr to delete after
apieh23
post Aug 20 2021, 09:07 AM

148 posts

can claim dispute ma...

however need to always check your CC statement. if not mistaken got limit how long after statement can dispute
kons
post Aug 20 2021, 09:13 AM

Конс
6,181 posts

QUOTE(ken431256 @ Aug 20 2021, 09:06 AM)
some deals / CC offers do need to link CC tho...i guess just rmbr to delete after
dont save the card.
MGM
post Aug 20 2021, 09:14 AM

18,441 posts

He said: “I did not perform the transactions. All my online shopping apps also do not reflect the amounts in the transactions using my credit cards,” he said, adding that he cancelled all three cards and lodged a police report after that.

The fraudulent transactions were not done in his shopping apps so cc were used on scammers accounts?
Nothing to do with saved cards in his shopping app right?
aspartame
post Aug 20 2021, 10:00 AM

3,165 posts

QUOTE(HokkienMee_Lover @ Aug 20 2021, 01:21 AM)
Conlanfirm put credit card info into shopee
But even if put credit card details into Shopee, someone must be able to access his phone to use Shopee right?
TSken431256
post Aug 20 2021, 10:04 AM

255 posts

QUOTE(aspartame @ Aug 20 2021, 10:00 AM)
But even if put credit card details into Shopee, someone must be able to access his phone to use Shopee right?
That's what I'm thinking
swanlover
post Aug 20 2021, 10:06 AM

739 posts

Only cheapo android user have this scam issues, some fake e-wallet provider will attach apk for you to install their apps prior to that...

The installed apk will intercept all OTP...

You have to be very smart to use android..

iPhone you can’t do that...100x safer..

This post has been edited by swanlover: Aug 20 2021, 10:08 AM
aspartame
post Aug 20 2021, 10:06 AM

3,165 posts

QUOTE(koraget @ Jun 24 2021, 01:48 PM)
Its seems that some of the vendor can activate without having any OTP.
I think must put law transactions without OTP is invalid.

Second, OTP is outdated. Should use token generated by bank apps. Double protected by your hand phone password. E.g Maybank has it.
Jenn77
post Aug 20 2021, 10:11 AM

Look Ma' Im Flyin! Gee~
3,121 posts

QUOTE(swanlover @ Aug 20 2021, 10:06 AM)
Only cheapo android user have this scam issues, some fake e-wallet provider will attach apk for you to install their apps prior to that...

The installed apk will intercept all OTP...

You have to be very smart to use android..

iPhone you can’t do that...100x safer..
I concur. Sometimes my mother will ask me about those repeating SMS/Whatsapp in her android phone asking for approval. dry.gif
s3iryu
post Aug 20 2021, 10:13 AM

158 posts

My cc also kena last month, 380 Euros charged buying some fake hair from a Finland website. No notification, no OTP sent to me.

I caught it on the same day because there is another unauthorized transaction, RM 3 from Steam. This prompted an notification and I was like WTH and go and check my online banking then discovered the 380 Euros. God bless Gaben for helping me out
HokkienMee_Lover
post Aug 20 2021, 10:19 AM

157 posts

QUOTE(aspartame @ Aug 20 2021, 10:00 AM)
if his shopee account got hacked, but i would go with some other replies here saying the apk installed from unknown sources
TSken431256
post Aug 20 2021, 10:27 AM

255 posts

QUOTE(HokkienMee_Lover @ Aug 20 2021, 10:19 AM)
if his shopee account got hacked, but i would go with some other replies here saying the apk installed from unknown sources
so many pop up nowadays on phone, kesian those old ppl dunno what is fake or real
The Residences
post Aug 20 2021, 01:08 PM

116 posts

QUOTE(pakmulau @ Aug 20 2021, 01:45 AM)
Yesterday my maybank visa cc got unauthorized transaction. luckily i happen to hold my phone. got notification on m2u aps.

steam purchase YEN 125. Terus call CS. 20 minit baru dapat cakap. so they blocked my card.

after hang up i noticed another notification steam purchased with time stamp 7 minutes after the first one. this time HKD550. 

i call CS again. they just told me to sent dispute form if it reflected in statement. but MAE apps got receipt for both purchase.

last time my maybank visa cc also kana itunes card purchase USD100. my amex also kan euro train purchase EUR400.
Damn, this is scary.

Did you actively purchased from steam before this?

It's kinda scary when you read this news that the bank won't even responsible and the engineer to pay the 40k debt.
The Residences
post Aug 20 2021, 01:11 PM

116 posts

QUOTE(apieh23 @ Aug 20 2021, 09:07 AM)
can claim dispute ma...

however need to always check your CC statement. if not mistaken got limit how long after statement can dispute
Did you even read?

that engineer guy already dispute with the bank and the bank won't even responsible because it's his own fault
now he needs to pay the 40k debt
TSken431256
post Aug 20 2021, 02:11 PM

255 posts

QUOTE(The Residences @ Aug 20 2021, 01:11 PM)
Did you even read?

that engineer guy already dispute with the bank and the bank won't even responsible because it's his own fault
now he needs to pay the 40k debt
Had a feeling was sendiri purchase and realized can't pay up, so report to get free waiver . Lol
pakmulau
post Aug 20 2021, 04:56 PM

589 posts

QUOTE(ken431256 @ Aug 20 2021, 08:53 AM)
Damn did u get the refund?
that yen 125 already refund but for hkd 550

bank ask me to wait for statement before email the dispute form to them
pakmulau
post Aug 20 2021, 05:00 PM

589 posts

QUOTE(The Residences @ Aug 20 2021, 01:08 PM)
Damn, this is scary.

Did you actively purchased from steam before this?

It's kinda scary when you read this news that the bank won't even responsible and the engineer to pay the 40k debt.
no i never have steam account

this cc i only use in shopee/sogo for online purchase

but few days ago i received shopee scam whatsapp message which offer you part time job

i replied hahaha then delete the message

this is second time my maybank visa got unauthorized transaction

8 Pages « < 6 7 8Top

0.0225sec    0.45    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 08:49 PM