QUOTE(Seth Ho @ Jun 18 2021, 11:24 AM)
my area is at kota damansara
still comparing around nearby property to know the average rental.
yup i agree with what you say and i am new to property industry a milennial trying to survive and fight against inflation.
thats why ask sifu sifu at lowyat to give advice.
i put 10K because my condo quite small so just a rough figure
People also give me suggestion to just rent out a bare unit with minimal renovation like water heater etc rather than fully renovate and rent room by room. what do you think?
thank you for your suggestion
Residential property is most headache part to manage. Too many petty things to tackle.
In my opinion, you have to target your tenant.
Renting basic reno to a family .... ceiling fan, lighting, heater, grille & curtain railing suffice. If he needs AC, allow him to install. Normally family tenants dont mind to do some self furnishing than paying a higher rental. He knows when he shift later he can take along.
But your 600sf is small for a family of 2 adults and few kids. A young couple starting out should find it ok but once they have kids, they will move. Space is important for a family tenant as they have more things.
Coming to singles, many would prefer furnished. They prefer to move in with just their luggage. The cost to furnish is much higher and many not willing to pay more for more.
You have more things to handle like ac or fridge not cold, wm cannot spin, heater, tv, squeaking bed and whatever.
Renting by room may only fetch 100 or 200 extra but if both fight, then you have endless headache ....he is dirty, he is noisy, he uses more ac, he never off common light ...all those problems. An existing female tenant may only want to share with the same gender so you only can rent the empty room to females limiting your rental income. What about race issues ? Macam macam problem.
Hope my answers can help in your decision making.