Kurang ajar tenant upstairs pulling chair

duplicated
post Jun 17 2021, 02:52 AM

653 posts

Most condos now want to save costs, so they floor it very thin. Old condos rarely will experience this because thick ceiling/floor.

So everytime you neighbour goes to toilet or move away from his pc, he will drag the chair, hence the noise.

Next time stay in terrace house. Or check the condo floor thickness before renting.
duplicated
post Jun 17 2021, 03:37 PM

653 posts

This happens in Condos especially when there kids running around. Thin floored condos, you can hear the kids running upstairs. Sometimes they will pull the chair or table.

Adults also will make noise when they get up from the PC chair, get up from makan table. and so on.

Rent a terrace house. Only rent a condo when the unit above you is empty or less occupied.

The water pump sound and water hose sound is still bearable, but the furniture pulling is irritating.

This post has been edited by duplicated: Jun 17 2021, 03:37 PM
duplicated
post Jun 18 2021, 01:35 AM

653 posts

QUOTE(chimpeny @ Jun 17 2021, 11:07 PM)
Some like to have a mid-day nap and active all night. My case not so serious but he's MR DIY, likes to drop hammer, nuts n bolts around 10AM. Then walks with heavy feet and also moves furniture around... I have to counter it by playing music so at least the noise made by him won't affect me much.
A DIY guy is the worst. They will constantly doing something and dropping stuff on the floor. And they will be constantly pulling furniture.
Especially those that work at home doing DIY stuff and selling online.
duplicated
post Sep 28 2021, 02:57 PM

653 posts

Those here who said ghosts probably said that because of self-guilt denial. Meaning they got complaints on them before, so they try to blame the ghosts. Guilt denial.

If you want to stay in a condo, try to stay in a place where the flooring is thick. Some condos have thick flooring. But the newer ones are thin because they want to save costs.

That's why most want to stay in landed property, don't have to worry about above tenants noise. Some bought the top floor or pent house because of this too.

duplicated
post Oct 7 2021, 12:44 AM

653 posts

Next time buy/rent a condo that has thick flooring. I have stayed a few condos that have thick flooring, no upstairs noise. A little older condos.
duplicated
post Oct 7 2021, 01:46 AM

653 posts

QUOTE(blackamikaze @ Oct 7 2021, 01:29 AM)
Its called water hammer..learn some science will you.
People said its a ghost as a joke. No one dragging chair after 12 am for no reason everyday.
Why not?

Some people use their laptop till very late. Everytime they go to toilet, drink water or go somewhere, they will move their chair to get up, then will move again when they come back to sit.
duplicated
post Oct 7 2021, 02:13 PM

653 posts

I avoid houses with kids above. They like to drag furniture, run around, very noisy.

Always check before renting if the above house got kids (if the flooring is thin). Best if the above house is empty.
duplicated
post Oct 7 2021, 02:57 PM

653 posts

QUOTE(blackamikaze @ Oct 7 2021, 01:31 PM)
u both leaving at ppr is it? that is why floor so thin.
Not only ppr, nowadays most new condos are like that because they want to save costs.
duplicated
post Oct 8 2021, 03:19 PM

653 posts

QUOTE(NekoMomo @ Oct 8 2021, 10:59 AM)
Yes already did, the very first day I moved in this April, they already drag from morning till night walking nonstop dont know doing what, out of kindness, we decided to go up and talk to them nicely, what they replied was just "ok we'll try" then continue doing so.

After that one of the tenant brought guest over. they were like keep dragging the chair I dont know why, I went up around 3AM and their door was open wide and chit chatting loudly there.

But after numerous of complaints, they're still like that. Management also cant do anything, what management told us was "We already told them not to make noise, if they're doing still, what more can we do?"

I even met with their owner, turns out to be their friend, with super arrogant tone and told us "As you know this place only cost 300k so the flooring is very thin one" So what?? That doesnt mean you can make noise like that right?? I even showed them the sound recording, and promised that will buy the chair pad but they didnt!!
Then I think the flooring is really thin. Try to move to other place. If possible find with empty unit above.
Or some unit owner will come once in a while. You are lucky if you get such unit on top.

And try to avoid agreement that is 1 year fixed contract. Meaning you have to forfeit your deposit if you move out within the year. Sometimes the house got problem that's why they implement such a term.

Try to find for contracts that give you one or two months notice. With that, you can move out easily. Deposit will be given back.

This post has been edited by duplicated: Oct 8 2021, 03:23 PM
duplicated
post Oct 11 2021, 01:56 AM

653 posts

How do we encourage the developers to make thick floor again?

Seems like all newly built condos, even the pricier ones, are cutting costs by making the floor thin.

I think condos built around year 200x should still be fine. But later ones mostly have thin floors.
duplicated
post Oct 11 2021, 02:44 PM

653 posts

QUOTE(NekoMomo @ Oct 11 2021, 10:39 AM)
I agree, but developers just dont care, they want to build it fast and with low cost, they dont even care about parking space d (condos nowadays comes with only 1 carpark). So I doubt they will make flooring thick  mega_shok.gif
So just pray that we get civilized neighbors. Like I said, we quiet people, past dinner time usually sit down watch tv or laying on bed etc, but I just dont know why some people gets so active at night, so inconsiderate.
Sometimes there's this kind of people, MR DIY kind of guy. He cannot sit quietly, he has to do something, hammering the wall, doing some DIY stuff all the time.
If you get this kind of guy as your upstairs neighbor then you are really unlucky.

Another kind is those who do online business. So they will prepare the parcels, goods arriving, arranging goods, assembling goods, etc. So, expect a lot of noise from these guys constantly.

0.0194sec    1.13    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 08:06 PM