Need a little marriage advice, Wife is asking for monthly allowance

LaiN87
post Jun 12 2021, 12:28 PM

Nom nom nom...
1,320 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Jun 12 2021, 12:09 PM)
[12/06, 11:56] : I'm open to discussion
[12/06, 11:56] : I'm opening up now
[12/06, 11:56] : And I don't mind discussing
[12/06, 11:57] : You shut me down now then you suppress it
[12/06, 11:57] : Next time we fight you bring it up again
[12/06, 11:57] is that fair to me?
[12/06, 11:59] Other ppl don't even need to hv this kinda discussion
[12/06, 11:59]  The husband just give
[12/06, 12:00]  Cos it just be a biz transaction
[12/06, 12:00] No different from a hooker and her client
Both of you are on the same team.
I'm not sure if you're trolling or not, if it's copy paste from another place, all of the message log should have the same format [12/06, xx:xx] : , however some have ":" and some don't. But lets give you the benefit of the doubt.

Financials goals, same life goals are important in a marriage.
I wonder how come this was not talked / surveyed before marriage.

I suggest you can give some money to cover daily meals / spendings that can be in a joint account.
If can teach her to do budgeting will be better.

In the end if fight and both unable to see eye to eye and later divorced? You have to pay alimony also same.
LaiN87
post Jun 12 2021, 12:39 PM

Nom nom nom...
1,320 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Jun 12 2021, 12:33 PM)
I'm the last person you think will troll on kopitiam serious section. I removed our names from the texts. When I copied paste our full names appear.
Because we married thinking the husband pays for everything which I accepted. This hit me like a lorry when she said I didn't give her allowance like other husbands.
Ah sorry. What you said make sense now you mentioned.
So in the end make her understand that her money is hers. She can do what she want with it.

Your money is your family's money. She have to understand that as well.
- Savings for future.
- Savings for rainy day.
- For kids in future. (if in plan / pipeline)

If budget RM40 per day for meals and roof all covered by you.
About RM1'500-2'000 for her to cover any house improvements / meals together sounds fair?

Hope you can resolve this happily among both parties in the end.
Wish you luck.

0.0361sec    0.55    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 06:41 PM