Mobo Guide - Power Socket, Motherboard power query

SUSceo684
post May 29 2021, 12:50 AM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

You use heavy machinery (i7 and GPU) combined, of course need to plug in all lah.. if heavy current draw cannot be supported by the cables, it will result in voltage drop.

Nowadays assembling PC very easy got plug and matching socket kasi plug sama dia. Only need to worry if your PSU is too old that it doesn't come with enough/the right plugs.

The reason why need so many plug is because the wattage is high, but voltage only 12V so those tiny cables by its own (from zaman pentium III) cannot sustain. Also they section off the power delivery CPU is CPU power section, GPU is GPU power section (PCIE bottom), probably for less fluctuation and other reason.

This post has been edited by ceo684: May 29 2021, 12:53 AM
SUSceo684
post May 30 2021, 06:52 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(cawan @ May 29 2021, 07:32 AM)
Once plug in all, in avoid motherboard electricity overload,

any step should i take precautions before? Any hardware should i unplug first?

Boot up, and see see if no issue firstĀ  hmm.gif
It won't overload, its like 18 wheeler trailer.. if u fit 18 wheels to run then it will be perfectly within spec (without delving into details).
If you run 18 wheeler only with 6 wheels with fully loaded container the tyres will be so overloaded they will burst in minutes.

So the idea here is if it fits and labelled for correct purpose just use lah.
ie 24pin go to 24pin
4pin to 4pin
etc
Only thing is when it looks the same size but keyed for diff purpose DO NOT FORCE IT IN wrongly - like 8pin CPU NOT equal to 8pin (6+2) PCIE do not plug them in wrongly

QUOTE(cawan @ May 29 2021, 07:39 AM)
If motherboard not enough power, pc will shut off / reboot, or just performance issue?

For pcie pwr1, choosing not plug it, perform stress test would throw results. Correct?
Plugging all available connectors (into the correct sockets) avoid the risk of tyre bursting.
It may be able to boot up BIOS and idle but once you use heavy loads the voltage drop will cause many issues.

This post has been edited by ceo684: May 30 2021, 06:58 PM

0.0183sec    0.41    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 04:35 PM