12 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Astro : Android TV boxes is illegal

TStheberry
post May 26 2021, 08:19 AM, updated 5y ago

OK!
3,514 posts

In a landmark case, the Intellectual Property High Court in Kuala Lumpur has stated that anyone selling, offering to sell, supplying and/or distributing illicit streaming devices (ISDs) like illegal Android TV boxes is committing copyright infringement under the Copyright Act 1987.

This comes following a case brought on by Astro’s service provider Measat Broadcast Networks Sdn Bhd against a seller of these TV boxes that came with programs to access websites and servers for streaming pirated content. It’s believed to be the first judgement by the Intellectual Property High Court and has been well received by both authorities and major industry players like Astro themselves.

According to AskLegal, anyone charged and found guilty under the Copyright Act 1987 with regards to selling ISDs would potentially have to:

Pay the copyright holder any damages from lost revenue
Payment of statutory damages
Return any profit made back to the copyright holder
Receive an injunction to stop selling and distributing the ISDs

“The declaration by the High Court that sale of ISD which allows access to unauthorised copyright content amounts to copyright infringement sets a precedent for future civil claims on copyright infringement against ISD sellers in the market, including those on e-commerce platforms.

We will continue to work with authorities and content partners to send a strong message that content piracy is theft, illegal and punishable by law,” – Laila Saat, Director, Regulatory

The Malaysian Communications and Multimedia Commission (MCMC) have also responded to the court judgement, with Zulkarnain Mohd Yasin, Chief Regulatory Officer of the MCMC saying:

MCMC welcomes the court`s decision, this will strengthen the legal aspects in protecting copyright infringement and battle against piracy, especially in digital and networked forms,” – Zulkarnain Mohd Yasin, Chief Regulatory Officer of the MCMC

According to Astro, the industry suffers an estimated loss of over RM3 billion annually due to piracy alone, while costing the industry another RM500 million in taxes as well as putting thousands of jobs at risk.
SEE ALSO: You can ‘NJOI’ a pack of 10 HD Astro channels for just RM15 a month, EURO 2020 pass for RM70

This latest ruling also makes it the potentially the third law that sellers and suppliers of ISDs are breaking; prior to this, both the Communications and Multimedia Act 1998 and the Communications and Multimedia (Technical Standards) Regulations 2000 having been used against ISD sellers in the past.

While this decision by the IP High Court is targeting those selling and distributing illegal TV boxes, it doesn’t seem to cover those who own such ISDs. That being said, if you do own a TV box to stream illegal content, there is still a chance that you may be breaking the law under the Multimedia and Communications Act 1998.

According to Section 239 of the Act, a person who:

(a) uses any non-standard equipment or device;

(b) has in his possession any non-standard equipment or device that he knows or has reason to believe is a non-standard equipment or device for the purpose of installing, working, operating or using the equipment or device;

would be committing an offence which may result in either being fined of up to RM100,000, jailed for up to two years, or both.

As such, if you are interested in using an Android TV box, remember to make sure that it’s approved for use by the authorities and that you only consume content from legit sources like YouTube, Netflix and the like.

This post has been edited by theberry: May 26 2021, 08:21 AM
Seager
post May 26 2021, 08:20 AM

Sick my duck
1,514 posts

If like that, Android phones should be illegal too.
What if I connect phone to TV then how?

Bodoh
p4n6
post May 26 2021, 08:20 AM

5,975 posts

Lowyat and Digital mall still selling like hot cakes … yes illegal. so?
grumpydrive
post May 26 2021, 08:21 AM

173 posts

Damn you astro! .. oh wai
StupidGuyPlayComp
post May 26 2021, 08:21 AM

Kenny Is Here
13,681 posts

QUOTE(Seager @ May 26 2021, 08:20 AM)
If like that, Android phones should be illegal too.
What if I connect phone to TV then how?

Bodoh
tvbox contain Astro contents inside, your phone dont have
Seager
post May 26 2021, 08:22 AM

Sick my duck
1,514 posts

QUOTE(StupidGuyPlayComp @ May 26 2021, 08:21 AM)
tvbox contain Astro contents inside, your phone dont have
You sure about that?
desmond2020

911 posts

Astro, your struggle is futile

You will be in muzeum soon
Boom Mortar

227 posts

harga yahoodie ofcos ppl went to tvbox
O-haiyo
post May 26 2021, 08:23 AM

857 posts

astro dying...bye bye
WhatMan
post May 26 2021, 08:25 AM

1,623 posts

But astro has the right to go after these seller who almost always promote "free" astro channels.

LamboSama
post May 26 2021, 08:25 AM

769 posts

I wonder why still got people support astro.

Smart TV how? If issue is piracy then even PC is illegal then.
yongku
post May 26 2021, 08:26 AM

125 posts

As if people care.... tongue.gif tongue.gif tongue.gif
TStheberry
post May 26 2021, 08:26 AM

OK!
3,514 posts

QUOTE(LamboSama @ May 26 2021, 08:25 AM)
I wonder why still got people support astro.

Smart TV how? If issue is piracy then even PC is illegal then.
ahma ahpek doesnt know how to use tvbox
StupidGuyPlayComp
post May 26 2021, 08:27 AM

Kenny Is Here
13,681 posts

QUOTE(Seager @ May 26 2021, 08:22 AM)
You sure about that?
I using tvbox
katijar

2,294 posts

Mane mane pun ade

Cakap illegal ape gune
DarkNite

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,058 posts

Android TV how?
TStheberry

OK!
3,514 posts

QUOTE(DarkNite @ May 26 2021, 08:27 AM)
Android TV how?
pending banhammer
Seager

Sick my duck
1,514 posts

QUOTE(StupidGuyPlayComp @ May 26 2021, 08:27 AM)
I using tvbox
And your point is?
You do understand that these shady apps can be installed on almost any other android device, right? Be it android tv directly, or even an Android phone?
p4n6
post May 26 2021, 08:30 AM

5,975 posts

QUOTE(DarkNite @ May 26 2021, 08:27 AM)
Android TV how?
Those with mcmc logo can sell …
They refering to those non MCMC approved and loaded with hacked channels …
Which selling like hotcakes in shopping malls and lazada/shopee

ZeroSOFInfinity
post May 26 2021, 08:32 AM

3,703 posts

QUOTE(theberry @ May 26 2021, 08:26 AM)
ahma ahpek doesnt know how to use tvbox
Well, we wanna use Andriod boxes for our commercial areas. But.... you know lar..... if someone complain.... habis.... so have to stick with Astro.

12 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0206sec    0.82    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 05:38 PM