Laptop for coding, Need Advice

TSbibirbieber
post May 23 2021, 10:59 PM, updated 3y ago

133 posts

Hi, I'm a web application developer using JAVA.
Currently I'm using Thinkpad L480 for my development and I'm not that happy with the laptop and planning to buy a laptop for coding purposes.
I encountered posts online some saying that Ryzen is the way to go for coding and some say Intel is good enough for coders.
Im confused whether to buy Thinkpad T14 gen 2(Intel) or gaming laptops thats comes with Ryzen cpu such as Asus G14
Can sifus here advice me on this?

This post has been edited by bibirbieber: May 23 2021, 11:00 PM
waghyu
post May 23 2021, 11:04 PM

3,389 posts

What issue you had? Both works well but I would prefer intel. Just need ssd/nvme based. To test xeon system is the best.
TSbibirbieber
post May 23 2021, 11:06 PM

133 posts

My current laptop (Thinkpad L480) taking long time to compile the code and deploying it to local web server. It does lag time to time which I find annoying while have the idea and mood to code. LOL.
danieln
post May 23 2021, 11:33 PM

1,249 posts

What is your current laptop specs?
TSbibirbieber
post May 23 2021, 11:39 PM

133 posts

QUOTE(danieln @ May 23 2021, 11:33 PM)
What is your current laptop specs?
Thinkpad L480
CPU: intel i5 8th gen
RAM : 16gb
SSD : Samsung 860
ketnave
post May 23 2021, 11:39 PM

850 posts

QUOTE(bibirbieber @ May 23 2021, 11:06 PM)
My current laptop (Thinkpad L480) taking long time to compile the code and deploying it to local web server. It does lag time to time which I find annoying while have the idea and mood to code. LOL.
How long does it takes to compile ?
Are you running on SSD ?
TSbibirbieber
post May 23 2021, 11:41 PM

133 posts

QUOTE(ketnave @ May 23 2021, 11:39 PM)
How long does it takes to compile ?
Are you running on SSD ?
Sometimes around 2-3 minutes. Compiling the same code on my gaming PC took around 1 minute max.
Yes ssd
Imaizumi
post May 24 2021, 02:52 PM

264 posts

Depending how you set up your environment. If you use heavily docker or test container, the memory is more important factor.

Number of cores. How many Intel vs Amd?
TSbibirbieber
post May 24 2021, 10:21 PM

133 posts

QUOTE(Imaizumi @ May 24 2021, 02:52 PM)
Depending how you set up your environment. If you use heavily docker or test container, the memory is more important factor.

Number of cores. How many Intel vs Amd?
Intel 4-6 core.
Ryzen 6-8 core
Imaizumi
post May 26 2021, 02:38 PM

264 posts

With memory being equal, take ryzen. GPU might be needed if you are into ML but then depends if you want to use CUDA vs not.

This post has been edited by Imaizumi: Jun 1 2021, 06:54 AM
sheerwin
post May 29 2021, 09:16 PM

85 posts

go for a laptop that can coding n gaming as well, acer nitro 5 with the new ryzen series pair with RTX 3060 would be the best choice
TSbibirbieber
post May 31 2021, 08:22 AM

133 posts

Will take a look at it. I kind of interested in thinkpad because of they warranty support. biggrin.gif

QUOTE(sheerwin @ May 29 2021, 09:16 PM)
go for a laptop that can coding n gaming as well, acer nitro 5 with the new ryzen series pair with RTX 3060 would be the best choice
lifeofkuli
post Jun 7 2021, 04:53 PM

97 posts

MBA M1
MaGNiFiCo
post Jun 7 2021, 10:43 PM

weeeeeeeeeeeee
1,602 posts

L480 is 8th gen Intel CPU right? I guess that just java being java. HAHA! Not just compiling, the IDE itself is bloated. I try to avoid any java based IDE when coding.

But to maximize the performance for your next laptop maybe you can get i7 11t gen for your next purchase with at least 16GB ram. SSD is a must
TSbibirbieber
post Jun 8 2021, 06:48 AM

133 posts

QUOTE(lifeofkuli @ Jun 7 2021, 04:53 PM)
MBA M1
That M1 is awesome.
Unfortunately its kind of troublesome to use Mac when all other colleagues use windows. Its hard to get guide or to guide other when there is an issue.
TSbibirbieber
post Jun 8 2021, 06:50 AM

133 posts

QUOTE(MaGNiFiCo @ Jun 7 2021, 10:43 PM)
L480 is 8th gen Intel CPU right? I guess that just java being java. HAHA! Not just compiling, the IDE itself is bloated. I try to avoid any java based IDE when coding.

But to maximize the performance for your next laptop maybe you can get i7 11t gen for your next purchase with at least 16GB ram. SSD is a must
Yes it's 8th gen intel CPU. I'm stuck with eclipse for the IDE. Will try to check for i7 processor. Some claim the higher the clock speed of processor the faster the battery drain 😅
Kairyu
post Jun 8 2021, 03:15 PM

226 posts

I seconded sheerwin on Acer Nitro 5. My bro has been using Acer Nitro 5 for his work as a Software application developer. So far he seems ok with it. Affordable and good performance. Gaming and working no problem he said! thumbup.gif

TSbibirbieber
post Jun 8 2021, 04:37 PM

133 posts

QUOTE(Kairyu @ Jun 8 2021, 03:15 PM)
I seconded sheerwin on Acer Nitro 5. My bro has been using Acer Nitro 5 for his work as a Software application developer. So far he seems ok with it. Affordable and good performance. Gaming and working no problem he said!  thumbup.gif
Will check the laptop. Thanks
MaGNiFiCo
post Jun 8 2021, 09:36 PM

weeeeeeeeeeeee
1,602 posts

QUOTE(bibirbieber @ Jun 8 2021, 06:50 AM)
Yes it's 8th gen intel CPU. I'm stuck with eclipse for the IDE. Will try to check for i7 processor. Some claim the higher the clock speed of processor the faster the battery drain 😅
Yes. When it comes to compiling, higher clock will justify the speed. Of course, with great power comes great drawback. Especially on battery biggrin.gif

Is it a must you use eclipse? Try other ide like Netbeans and intelliJ IDEA. But both still java based. If you want a lighter option you can try vs code. It is not an IDE. But there are multiple plugin that can fulfill all your needs. Like debugger, compiler for java. Give it a try.

This post has been edited by MaGNiFiCo: Jun 8 2021, 09:37 PM
aazisback P
post Jun 9 2021, 09:50 PM

Probation

MBP M1 16GB RAM

No regrets

0.0155sec    0.15    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 09:22 PM