5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Anyone Declaring Crypto on LHDN

TSycktech
post May 20 2021, 08:51 AM

210 posts

QUOTE(doraemonkiller @ May 19 2021, 04:36 PM)
Been paying total 6 digits to LHDN for the past 3 years for my crypto trading.
As long as the trading is your active income then the profits is taxable. NOTE: Capital gain is not taxable so as long as you did not convert crypto to fiat money for profits, it is still not consider profit because you still facing risk like exchange hacked, price drop, and others.
If you trade full time, remember record down how much money u invest in crypto. Check how much positive cash flow after you convert to fiat at the end of year.
SO you are filing form B right?
doraemonkiller
post May 27 2021, 12:45 PM

1,128 posts

QUOTE(ycktech @ May 20 2021, 08:51 AM)
SO you are filing form B right?
yes
ShinG3e
post May 31 2021, 11:19 AM

o0o
1,553 posts

planning to meet them and discuss.

yes, planning to declare too.
anon118
post Jun 1 2021, 05:24 PM

216 posts

Excellent thread. Thank you all sifuS.... smile.gif
rpg
post Jun 3 2021, 10:07 AM

317 posts

QUOTE(yklooi @ May 19 2021, 11:11 AM)
Profited from trading bitcoin? Find out if you need to pay taxes
Tan Zhai Yun/The Edge Malaysia
March 01, 2021

https://www.theedgemarkets.com/article/thew...-need-pay-taxes
This one say is like no say. How frequent is frequent. Even blur after reading.
ironman16
post Jun 3 2021, 10:22 AM

2,437 posts

QUOTE(rpg @ Jun 3 2021, 10:07 AM)
I think mostly ppl buy low sell high within a few hour or day is consider active trading.
If ur crypto is accumulate within a few year n sell should b ok.

Can try email lhdn n ask if u berani enough 😁
rpg
post Jun 3 2021, 10:24 AM

317 posts

QUOTE(ironman16 @ Jun 3 2021, 10:22 AM)
I think mostly ppl buy low sell high within a few hour or day is consider active trading.
If ur crypto is accumulate within  a few year n sell should b ok.

Can try email lhdn n ask if u berani enough 😁
But the thing is, how do they know is few hours or months? Not like we can print out transaction buy sell history from binance?

This post has been edited by rpg: Jun 3 2021, 10:24 AM
ironman16
post Jun 3 2021, 10:39 AM

2,437 posts

QUOTE(rpg @ Jun 3 2021, 10:24 AM)
But the thing is, how do they know is few hours or months? Not like we can print out transaction buy sell history from binance?
I oso dun know, 😅

Wait others taiko respond.
SSJBen
post Jun 3 2021, 02:03 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,523 posts

They can request for bank transactions on your personal savings account. If yesterday night you keluar myr10k, then today you receive myr15k, and this happens several times a week, you think they will buat bodo? If you're using a business account, then that's a different story because then they will ask for your annual account audit.

Then you will have declare where that money is coming from and where it is going to.

Of course if you never cash out from binance or any other exchange, then they can't do shit because crypto on an exchange is just paper currency until it becomes fiat.
stockerzzz
post Jun 3 2021, 03:16 PM

425 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Jun 3 2021, 02:03 PM)
They can request for bank transactions on your personal savings account. If yesterday night you keluar myr10k, then today you receive myr15k, and this happens several times a week, you think they will buat bodo? If you're using a business account, then that's a different story because then they will ask for your annual account audit.

Then you will have declare where that money is coming from and where it is going to.

Of course if you never cash out from binance or any other exchange, then they can't do shit because crypto on an exchange is just paper currency until it becomes fiat.
what if i only cash out from exchange after few months or years? will that attract attention ?
SSJBen
post Jun 3 2021, 03:25 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,523 posts

QUOTE(stockerzzz @ Jun 3 2021, 03:16 PM)
what if i only cash out from exchange after few months or years? will that attract attention ?
Don't know, you tell me after few years la. whistling.gif
real55555
post Jun 4 2021, 08:21 AM

309 posts

Well you can actually print out transaction history from binance. Look at the order history. there's a button something like generate statement or smth at the top right.
SUSyklooi
post Jun 4 2021, 02:03 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(rpg @ Jun 3 2021, 10:07 AM)
that is why many in the past had advised contacting the qualified tax consultant companies to determine if your trading activity falls "should" be declared category or not or if an activity is a proper economic activity or just a hobby that also generates some income etc.

in that article had a simple table .....

neuro4869
post Oct 19 2021, 08:34 AM

1,077 posts

QUOTE(doraemonkiller @ May 19 2021, 04:36 PM)
Been paying total 6 digits to LHDN for the past 3 years for my crypto trading.
As long as the trading is your active income then the profits is taxable. NOTE: Capital gain is not taxable so as long as you did not convert crypto to fiat money for profits, it is still not consider profit because you still facing risk like exchange hacked, price drop, and others.
If you trade full time, remember record down how much money u invest in crypto. Check how much positive cash flow after you convert to fiat at the end of year.
What if, say you put say buy 10BNB, and use that 10BNB to buy some coin on PancakeSwap. Then you ended up with over 1million worth of BNB, which you convert for BUSD or USDT. Then you convert some of it, say small amount of 200k BUSD/USDT into XRP and transfer it to Luno for cashing out to MYR.

For example, Safemoon(crypto) > BNB(crypto) > USDT(stablecoin crypto) > >XRP(crypto) > MYR(actual FIAT)

Do you get taxes for the 1m (in USDT crypto) or you only get taxes on the 200k that you converted from BNB(crypto) to XRP(crypto) to MYR(fiat)?

Does converting to stablecoin(USDT, BUSD etc) count as getting FIAT profits that eligible for taxes?

This post has been edited by neuro4869: Oct 19 2021, 11:17 AM
prozfromhell
post Oct 19 2021, 05:23 PM

362 posts

personal income taxing it sounds so wrong lar

We are just gambling crypto as hobby lor
jack2
post Oct 19 2021, 08:27 PM

Mr
15,192 posts

who is bodoh to pay tax?
neuro4869
post Oct 20 2021, 05:49 AM

1,077 posts

QUOTE(jack2 @ Oct 19 2021, 08:27 PM)
who is bodoh to pay tax?
People who made over million and need to cash out huge amount to buy a house/cars i guess. Cashing out using p2p binance 4-5 digit is fine without declaring taxes for most people
Vodoo2k
post Oct 20 2021, 05:52 AM

1,365 posts

even that najib scoundrel and his minions didn't pay taxes.
mirakurumimagic
post Oct 21 2021, 11:59 AM

18 posts

This post has been edited by mirakurumimagic: Dec 28 2021, 05:01 AM
neuro4869
post Oct 21 2021, 12:52 PM

1,077 posts

QUOTE(mirakurumimagic @ Oct 21 2021, 11:59 AM)
Zero capital gains tax is basically a hoax because you need to HODL for more than 1 year or even 5 years, and it's all up to the taxman.
If you big fish they definitely will say you fall under the badges of trade and want to charge income tax on all your capital gains.
So in your case, you will owe (1million - the cost of the initial 10 BNB) * 30% tax rate when you converted to stablecoin even no MYR is involved.
Any crypto-crypto transactions, crypto-fiat transactions, airdrops, hardforks, staking are all subjected to income tax.
Don't easily show your crypto trading transactions and do full opsec when interacting with the local regulated watchdog exchanges.
You'd rather pay tax on what you cash out on zero-cost basis than the taxman going through all your crypto transactions and want to tax it all.
But wouldn't it be worse when you need to cash out more, eg:

2020 : cash out 100k, left 900k in stablecoin crypto, declared 100k profits
2021: you use that leftover 900k stablecoin to 2-3x, and you have 2.7m and now you're planning to cash out 2.7m now. They would see that your record shows you made that 2.7m from 900k undeclared in 2020. Wouldn't it be considered breaking the "taxes law" now?

This post has been edited by neuro4869: Oct 21 2021, 12:54 PM

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0382sec    0.53    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 07:48 AM