Jul 8 2008, 08:39 PM
37 posts Joined: Jul 2008 |
QUOTE(Chinchillas @ Jul 8 2008, 07:13 PM) vincent your chin is cute chinchillas..thanks to inform me....! erm....but i open the top cover woh....did u see i putting the wire on top.... couse my "bet bet"(tan male) always jump out..hahah.... The cover is open always and i suit on fan at night (cause i can not tahan sejuk) but afternoon untill midnight i on Air-con and fan together... If the cover open and the air can go in and out...is it ok if i put them in aquarium? hehe...chinchillas.... if putting her with a male chin?hehehe... why my chins put them about 6 month got no pregnant woh.. cause i just want to know the reason only....maybe one of then got problem... thank.... |
Jul 8 2008, 08:57 PM
1,380 posts Joined: Jan 2007 From: Kuala Lumpur |
QUOTE(vincent_cbl @ Jul 8 2008, 08:39 PM) chinchillas..thanks to inform me....! erm....but i open the top cover woh....did u see i putting the wire on top.... couse my "bet bet"(tan male) always jump out..hahah.... The cover is open always and i suit on fan at night (cause i can not tahan sejuk) but afternoon untill midnight i on Air-con and fan together... If the cover open and the air can go in and out...is it ok if i put them in aquarium? hehe...chinchillas.... if putting her with a male chin?hehehe... why my chins put them about 6 month got no pregnant woh.. cause i just want to know the reason only....maybe one of then got problem... thank.... QUOTE(vincent_cbl @ Jul 6 2008, 03:10 PM) erm....i do a lot of research already.... [/color] |
Jul 8 2008, 10:54 PM
584 posts Joined: Apr 2007 From: PJ |
umm, no offence vincent, just concerned for your chins.. i don't think the plastic box is suitable as they may chew on it and swallow the plastic, and the wheel is too small.. chinchilla wheels must be at least 15inch in diameter. if its too small, the chin's back will arch (bend) when the chin is in the wheel and this will hurt its spine.. just my 2 cents
This post has been edited by 11Jan: Jul 8 2008, 10:59 PM |
Jul 8 2008, 11:25 PM
QUOTE(11Jan @ Jul 8 2008, 11:54 PM) umm, no offence vincent, just concerned for your chins.. i don't think the plastic box is suitable as they may chew on it and swallow the plastic, and the wheel is too small.. chinchilla wheels must be at least 15inch in diameter. if its too small, the chin's back will arch (bend) when the chin is in the wheel and this will hurt its spine.. just my 2 cents Actually i have four in my room .... erm....the pet shop say the wheel is for chinchilla 1....maybe that time i bought it my chin(female) was small..... heheh....then i looking the big wheel for them ..... Then the plastic the my chin didt chewing it...maybe i gave them the chewing block( look like cement block very hard)... anywhere thank a lot 11Jan..... Added on July 8, 2008, 11:50 pm QUOTE(Chinchillas @ Jul 8 2008, 09:57 PM) I saw the top is cover with wire, weather or not, the tank is not suitable for chinchilla. Vincent, I can only advice you study what chinchilla is and need before you go into breeding. Your whole tank setting speak to me you didnt do enough research or not reading of what the article is saying from the website you visited, not even need to talk about breeding. From what you reply, no matter what i advice you, you still will put your chin together and breed them. heheh...oh sorry....cause i need to learn much.....but i already read the article from wedsite erm....it my false and careless to take care of them.... thank you "chinchillas" ..... anywhere ....i didt decide to breed them.... but i putting them together about 6 month then no pregnant ... so ....i just want to no the reason only...hehe.... i bought the male chinchillas because he so charming.... i like it so much.... some of my friend(chinchillas owner) scare me that one of my chins was "cut"... Actually i got the cages for chinchillas...because i put them in my room ...the sand and the bedding blow the whole room.... then i sleep on my own bed i feel the sand...hahaha... that why i porposely go and buy aquarium so i need to change it to the previous cage.... but the chin's cage i only got one...other is dog's cage... erm....let me think how separate them 1st... thank you "chinchillas.... Added on July 9, 2008, 12:01 amhey..."chinchillas"....other than the aquarium and plastic right....what else shall i remove it? thank for help....... thank to 11 jan too..... This post has been edited by vincent_cbl: Jul 9 2008, 12:01 AM |
Jul 9 2008, 07:59 AM
454 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Muar-Melacca-KL |
maybe u can go midvally pet's wonderland .
i bought my chin cage there. rm 360. the cage is big enough for ur chin to jump here jump there. here is a clip showing my chin eating hay . he is eating while standing .
Video_014_.zip ( 662.03k )
Number of downloads: 33This post has been edited by stardust: Jul 9 2008, 08:24 AM |
Jul 9 2008, 12:34 PM
QUOTE(stardust @ Jul 9 2008, 08:59 AM) maybe u can go midvally pet's wonderland . i got one same with you...i bought my chin cage there. rm 360. the cage is big enough for ur chin to jump here jump there. here is a clip showing my chin eating hay . he is eating while standing .
Number of downloads: 33hehe....but i bought it with food and bedding.... about rm 400+++at taman megah petshop.... |
Jul 9 2008, 12:51 PM
QUOTE(vincent_cbl @ Jul 8 2008, 11:25 PM) Actually i have four in my room .... I am very glad you willing to remove something that is not suitable for chinchilla to use and I am glad you does not like others chin owner who when ppl give advice they feel offended and run away. erm....the pet shop say the wheel is for chinchilla 1....maybe that time i bought it my chin(female) was small..... heheh....then i looking the big wheel for them ..... Then the plastic the my chin didt chewing it...maybe i gave them the chewing block( look like cement block very hard)... anywhere thank a lot 11Jan..... Added on July 8, 2008, 11:50 pm heheh...oh sorry....cause i need to learn much.....but i already read the article from wedsite erm....it my false and careless to take care of them.... thank you "chinchillas" ..... anywhere ....i didt decide to breed them.... but i putting them together about 6 month then no pregnant ... so ....i just want to no the reason only...hehe.... i bought the male chinchillas because he so charming.... i like it so much.... some of my friend(chinchillas owner) scare me that one of my chins was "cut"... Actually i got the cages for chinchillas...because i put them in my room ...the sand and the bedding blow the whole room.... then i sleep on my own bed i feel the sand...hahaha... that why i porposely go and buy aquarium so i need to change it to the previous cage.... but the chin's cage i only got one...other is dog's cage... erm....let me think how separate them 1st... thank you "chinchillas.... Added on July 9, 2008, 12:01 amhey..."chinchillas"....other than the aquarium and plastic right....what else shall i remove it? thank for help....... thank to 11 jan too..... 11 Jan have give you very good pointer there to remove something. The plastic house, the wheel, and the stick is not the right material to place in your chin 'tank', so all have to remove. You can look for the right material and decorate it as you desire, but make sure ALL IS SAFE FOR YOU GORGEOUS CHINCHILLA. Your can get a ceremic house or wooden house.(save wood house for your chin, if you can't get a untreated Pine wood house, PM me, you can purchased from me.) For the wheel, min 15" is the suggestion for chinchilla, actually is also too small, you need at least 18" wheel with SIDE COVER. For the 'stick', you can get some jumping platform from pet store, look around Pet safari, you should get some there. For the cage, you can get quality Tommy cage from Marchioro, is very good cage for keeping chinchilla, need to spend a bit tho. When you have proper CAGE, you can do a lot of thing in it with the space available, why not get a 2 storey cage and do a nice mention, some toys, hammock, some chew block for your chins? They can hv lots of fun living in it. The block if it is too hard, hard like cement, mean you get the wrong type, dont use, you will spoil your chin teeth, get some chew block like Sluis or Puik. You can also do a search on google image, 'chinchilla cage', you can get lot of ideal how ppl place item in they chin cage. For the pregnant part of your chin, some chin doesnt get pregnant at all, no matter how you place them, they can stay together for years and not have kits. Secondly is the health of the female, if she know she is not in good shape, she will not pregnant, even she had, she will abort it. You need to check the weight of your chin, min weight of 600gram-650gram to be a guide line for female to place in breeding and the chin quality(fur and shape) is up for breeding. POOR chin + POOR chin = VERY POOR CHIN. To seperate the 2 chins, you can get 2 smaller cage with your budget, not too small that they cannot run and jump and place them side by side. Added on July 9, 2008, 12:55 pmI am growing big~! ![]() This post has been edited by Chinchillas: Jul 9 2008, 12:55 PM |
Jul 9 2008, 01:59 PM
584 posts Joined: Apr 2007 From: PJ |
Wah, such a beautiful boy!! that's a boy, right?
Jul 9 2008, 02:11 PM
Ya is a Boy!
![]() |
Jul 9 2008, 05:42 PM
QUOTE(Chinchillas @ Jul 9 2008, 03:11 PM) your chin is so cute...hehe....his color look like my male chin... "chinchillas" is it the same color with my chin(male)...? i seperate my chin alraedy...but the female chins look sad and not active at all....because i put her into the previous chinchilla's cage. The male chin i still put him in the aquarium cause i haven find a floor tile and put at the bottom of the dog's cage... is it ok if i put the floor tile at the bottom...?they say the wire cage will cause the chin bumble leg ... i thought i give them balance food,avoid those fresh fruit and some thing for them to chew(avoid their theeth over grow), check the hair ring , gave them dust bath every 3 day, provide Air-con is consider take care..hahah... actully not that easy.... :cry: have to learn much ...heheh... because i remove everything from the cage and aquarium,the cage just left food and water only...heheh..... somemore i separate them already.... are they feel lonely?for me...sure ! cause i need friend and family so much.... if i alone i will keep calling friends...but they cant...! exchange with my friend ... i like so them..... next year move new house ,plan to buy one female chin for my "chin chin" female chin. |
Jul 9 2008, 06:03 PM
2,979 posts Joined: Jun 2006 From: www.twitter.com/bebeelim |
Dear vincent_cbl,
u can buy the wood stuff from 11Jan to let ur chin chin play |
Jul 9 2008, 06:41 PM
Vincent, when a chin begin move to a new place, they will need time to get use to the new place again, that will make them more calm. Chinchilla hv no problem staying alone. The tank still not the right place to keep any of them, save some money buy a proper cage.
What kind of balance food you feed them? and if you use tank, how you put your water bottle? feed them from bowl will cause them to jump on it and over turn it. Lastly, i suggest you continue to do what ever reading you think you lack, is good for you and your chin. Here have 2 links for you to read. http://www.petmag.co.uk/chinchilla/care.html http://www.huggablepets.com/huggablepets/chininfo.shtml You can get a proper chew toy from 11jan. PM her. This post has been edited by Chinchillas: Jul 9 2008, 06:41 PM |
Jul 10 2008, 12:07 AM
1,298 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: utopia |
any1 know where can i get at penang?
Jul 10 2008, 01:28 AM
hey...."chinchillas"...
food balance?erm...i dont know...correct or not la.... when my chins was small i feed my chin in the morning with timothy with alfalfa.. and evening i gave my chin with food which i bought it at petshop...(is red in color packaging,the brand selling guine pig, rabbit , and chinchilla food) , then i pick the chinchilla's food for my chin... i saw the "brand" at almost all the petshop...but the packaging i throw already.. normaly i put the food, alfalfa and timothy at different tasks... but the petshop seller say the brand quite good woh... (haiz....cause earn money mah...if say not good i wont buy rigth!) haha.... my friend told me, when my chin about 5 months then cannot give too much of alfalfa for them.. but i just follow what she told me...heheh.... So now in the morning i give them timothy and evening with the food ... alfalfal(King compress)?...yes....!accasionally... is it correct...heheh...just give me some ideal.... than u said the 2 storey cage right.... my friend's friend say ....his chinchilla leg hang at first floor before,haha.... (let me imagine how to hang ?) they ask me to buy the cage like "stardust's cage"... then i follow the instruction to but it at taman megah previously... that time no promotion about rm 435 like that..heheh... i will temporary put the male chin in dog's cage with floor tile base ... cause next year marry need some money and move to condo,need to save money to buy furniture too.... maybe that time only buy a cages for sugar glider and male chin..... water and food i put it in bowl (separate), ok or not?the bowl didt turn (maybe is heavy).. water i change daily because the bedding drop in... i got chinchilla bottle...my friend ask me to buy dog bottle or put water in bowl... they gave example....that..like adult drinking "susu bottle", can not suck woh....hahah.... do not knowbut they told me ...kekek....i feel funny...very funny.... Added on July 10, 2008, 1:38 am QUOTE(bebee @ Jul 9 2008, 07:03 PM) thank bebee...what wood stuff you refer to... hehehe....what is that ....like me PM her later... This post has been edited by vincent_cbl: Jul 10 2008, 01:38 AM |
Jul 10 2008, 11:19 AM
Vincent, If the food with lots of colouring 'food' inside if yes, you can throw away right away. You need to change to plain pellet, no other colouring stuff in there. You shouldn't listen to your friend who did not have any chinchilla or listen to any of the pet shop ppl, this will show if you do research and study properly on care fact of chinchilla.
Look for PLAIN pellet brand like kaytee, you can get easily from pet shop. You no need to control feeding toward chinchilla, they wont over eat, just fill the bowl with pellet, a handful of timothy hay, a little bit of alfalfa hay, clean water, that's all. The dog drinking bottle is suitable, those that can fit in any mineral bottle. Please BROWSE through this thread , and read the conversation, you sound very raw. Added on July 10, 2008, 11:20 am QUOTE(chickenducksoup @ Jul 10 2008, 12:07 AM) Do you willing to travel down to KL to get a good one 1 day?This post has been edited by Chinchillas: Jul 10 2008, 11:20 AM |
Jul 10 2008, 10:59 PM
[COLOR=blue]today....i go petshop and look for the kaytee brand the package just left 2lb only...
the 5lb sold out....so tomorrom go midvalley to buy! i remember i read a article from wedsite.. they said can not simply change the food,must mix with the previously one about 7 to 10 days, then only can feed the new food ...it is true? "chinchillas" where you put your chins ? i put them in my room in cages right....i feel the sand or bedding on my bed.... quite itchy.... any suggestion?kekeke... |
Jul 10 2008, 11:27 PM
Kaytee plain pellet dont hv any other size but 2lb. My chin is in their own room.
Jul 11 2008, 03:16 PM
2,979 posts Joined: Jun 2006 From: www.twitter.com/bebeelim |
Jul 11 2008, 06:11 PM
QUOTE(stardust @ Jul 9 2008, 07:59 AM) maybe u can go midvally pet's wonderland . Leo looking great! The video kind of dark.... i bought my chin cage there. rm 360. the cage is big enough for ur chin to jump here jump there. here is a clip showing my chin eating hay . he is eating while standing .
Number of downloads: 33 |
| Change to: | 0.0308sec
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 06:52 AM |