7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

Chinchilla- Totoro, All are welcome!

11Jan
post Jun 18 2008, 09:49 PM

584 posts

yea, i just saw many many packs of alfalfa hay at pet safari, all sorts of brands, kool bunny, kaytee, oxbow etc etc. u can find it in the isle next to the rabbit/chin pellets

cute video, chinchillas! what is his/her name??

This post has been edited by 11Jan: Jun 18 2008, 10:13 PM
11Jan
post Jun 19 2008, 05:30 PM

584 posts

QUOTE(Chinchillas @ Jun 18 2008, 10:48 PM)
His name call VioletStar! biggrin.gif heng actuall looking for timothy, there is plenty at pet safari.
oops sorry, i meant timothy hay! hahaha.. they have lots of it at pet safari

nice name!! sounds like a big time superstar!!
11Jan
post Jun 20 2008, 10:20 PM

584 posts

so cute!!! is chocalten's colour violet?? how old is he/she?
11Jan
post Jun 21 2008, 05:23 PM

584 posts

QUOTE(chiensey @ Jun 21 2008, 12:16 PM)
hmm...how long can chincilla live?
generally, around 10-15 years. but some have lived to 20 years and a bit more than that.

Added on June 21, 2008, 5:30 pm
QUOTE(heng84 @ Jun 21 2008, 12:53 PM)
i went there too, before u chiensey, maybe a week before u when theres 4 chinchilllas there, got 1 from there, their price is 650-850, only got 1 chin there is 850 and the girl was honest enough to tell me that the 850 one mata sakit, maybe bcos still got few chins that time. now left the last one dont know she will say or not but hopefully some experienced in chins can rescue it. as for newbies like me watch out pls.

i want to ask, how old is my chin. its about 5.5-6inches from head to toe without the tail in a standing position (salesperson told me 1month), and how big can it grow and takes how long?? if assume all petshop import from same country.

at night i bring the cage to my room at 18c not direct blow is that ok or too cold?.  but working hours i bring it down to the living room with airconditioned  in open area i assume about 25c cos my mom will be at living room watching tv most of the time during afternoon. is that ok?  (i read that its recommended to keep the chinchilla in one spot, yes i know but i cannot afford to on aircond when the area is not occupied so is that ok for me to give him 2 spots one morning and one night? i have no choice family sure complain waste electricity summore now tnb wanna increase bills)
chinchillas like routine, which is why it is preferable that they have a fixed spot. but i understand your point about electricity bills! everything's just costing more and more these days! i think if you consistently only put your chin in your room at night, and living room during the day (and in the same area within both rooms), soon your chin might get used to this routine and it will not be such a bad thing. keep an eye on your chin to see how it is reacting to this change of spot. most importantly is that the area where you put your chin in the living room must be quiet, as they sleep during the day. if its noisy, and they can't get good sleep, they will get stressed.

btw, does your chin make a lot of noise in your room at night? i have read some ppl's experience, and they say their chins make so much noise playing at night that they have to move the chin out of the bedroom biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by 11Jan: Jun 21 2008, 05:30 PM
11Jan
post Jun 22 2008, 03:45 PM

584 posts

chinchillas, no more baby chin pics??? tongue.gif
11Jan
post Jun 25 2008, 12:47 PM

584 posts

haha so cute that video! your chin's face is like: 'what do u want?!!'
11Jan
post Jul 1 2008, 02:54 PM

584 posts

wah, lovely pics of poop too hahaha

just kidding tongue.gif she's got a very firm belly, and flat too wink.gif

what camera are you using, btw?
11Jan
post Jul 3 2008, 04:08 PM

584 posts

hahahah, that would be nice! my bed will be full of chinchillas then tongue.gif

Chinchillas, for male chins which are NOT used for breeding.. will we have to remove hair ring often for them? from what i have read, we need to check about once every 1-2 months... but in reality, is that the case? just wondering if its more frequent or less frequent...

my husband is very uncomfortable with the idea of doing the hair ring removal hahahahahaha he says he doesn't want to violate the chin, even tho i've told him that it is necessary to make sure the chin is healthy, no blood circulation problem or infection etc..
11Jan
post Jul 3 2008, 05:14 PM

584 posts

hmm..that means still have to check that area.. hahaha he's really uncomfortable with the thought of having to do it

do chins always sleep in that position?? bunnies do it too, ppl call it 'meatloaf' tongue.gif is there a term for chins when they sleep like that?
11Jan
post Jul 3 2008, 07:59 PM

584 posts

the chin will not struggle when you pull it out?? o_O

i know what you mean! very difficult for me to get the bunnies' pictures too.. and chins are even faster than bunnies haha

do you have a picture of your pregnant chin?? i want to seeeee!!!
11Jan
post Jul 4 2008, 08:59 AM

584 posts

ya lor, quite afraid of pulling too hard, and then i read that we must be careful not to pull out too much, if not then it cannot go in again hahah i think that's why he is scared of doing it.. because of that he is thinking better get female chin haha

she is pregnant? she must have a very firm tummy!! hehe
11Jan
post Jul 4 2008, 05:20 PM

584 posts

any idea where to get the flying saucer wheel, without ordering direct from US/UK? anyone knows if its available in SG??

This post has been edited by 11Jan: Jul 4 2008, 05:32 PM
11Jan
post Jul 4 2008, 09:49 PM

584 posts

not a problem.. aircon 24hours smile.gif
11Jan
post Jul 5 2008, 05:59 PM

584 posts

i just saw 1 poor chin in a pet shop, no air con and that shop is so warm.. poor thing looks very lethargic already sad.gif
11Jan
post Jul 6 2008, 01:04 AM

584 posts

these places really make me sick.. they don't care about the animals at all and when we give them advice, instead of trying to learn, they just get angry at us for being 'keipo'

11Jan
post Jul 8 2008, 03:01 PM

584 posts

CUTE!!!
11Jan
post Jul 8 2008, 10:54 PM

584 posts

umm, no offence vincent, just concerned for your chins.. i don't think the plastic box is suitable as they may chew on it and swallow the plastic, and the wheel is too small.. chinchilla wheels must be at least 15inch in diameter. if its too small, the chin's back will arch (bend) when the chin is in the wheel and this will hurt its spine.. just my 2 cents smile.gif cute chins and sugar gliders u have there smile.gif

This post has been edited by 11Jan: Jul 8 2008, 10:59 PM
11Jan
post Jul 9 2008, 01:59 PM

584 posts

Wah, such a beautiful boy!! that's a boy, right?
11Jan
post Jul 14 2008, 06:04 PM

584 posts

Bebee, how about getting some storage shelves from Ikea? these types: http://www.ikea.com/us/en/catalog/categori...condary_storage

you can adjust the height of the shelves, and then slot in your cages.. you can probably have 3 cages per shelve.. only thing is that u have to prevent the pee from spilling over to the shelves, might spoil the wood..

think its cheaper than NIC panels, plus price of steel going up now.. i think the panels will get more expensive
11Jan
post Jul 14 2008, 07:44 PM

584 posts

hey, if anyone wants to get the flying saucer wheel, let me know.. i want to get one, too.. for my future chins haha.. maybe we can save a bit on postage if we order all-together..

7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0483sec    0.44    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 02:32 PM