Chinchilla- Totoro, All are welcome!
11Jan
May 29 2008, 09:44 AM
on your wooden house package, does it state what type of wood is used?
also, the wood should be untreated (i.e. no chemicals etc applied to it) one way to tell whether or not the wood has been treated is to scrape the surface with ur finger nail, see if there anything comes off.. if its treated, most likely you will see some transparent plastic-like flakes when u scrape the wood.
11Jan
May 29 2008, 04:08 PM
actually, since we're on the topic of air-conditioning.. i was wondering, if i allocate 1 room for chinchilla, and air-con the room 24/7, won't it get stuffy and smelly? will it be better to turn on the air-con during the day, and switch to fan at night so that i can open the windows and air the place out? will the chins be ok with fan at night?
11Jan
May 29 2008, 08:14 PM
Helena, did you buy your chinchilla recently from Pet Safari?
11Jan
May 29 2008, 10:50 PM
QUOTE(Chinchillas @ May 29 2008, 05:22 PM) For air cond on a room, you will need a tiny gap of space to let air going out or coming in(personal choise). For me I have few window have small tiny gap that it cant close, when I open the door, air will be suck in or out. Secondly, you need to on a fan as well when the room is with air cond for better ventilation. For me i need to wash the netting every 5-7days. I make sure air is circulate well in the room. netting? in the air con, you mean? hehe too much hair flying around issit
11Jan
May 30 2008, 09:07 AM
QUOTE(shingin @ May 30 2008, 12:09 AM) 11Jan: Yea, I went with my fren on sunday and she got 2 chinchilla (1 male cinamon and 1 female black). Me... I like chinchilla but I still prefer rabbit... >< sorry to say that, chinchilla has to put a lot effort to take care, I think rabbit is a lot easier to handle. Last weekend I just adopted one rabbit from the adoption thread.
Hehe i'm a bunny person for now, too. How many bunnies do you have? I have 2 spoilt bunny brats at home
11Jan
May 30 2008, 03:41 PM
pigs?? hahaha rats maybe, but i've never thought of them as pig-like  whatever it is, they are just too cute and yes, please post more pics all you lucky ppl with chinchillas at home!
11Jan
Jun 1 2008, 01:39 PM
yea i saw them yesterday! there was a mosaic coloured one which i really like! and a couple of chins looked really really young...
11Jan
Jun 2 2008, 08:56 AM
Shingin, they are soooo cute!!! now you make me wanna go buy chins!!
Helena, i saw that mosaic too. very nice, right? i really like mosaics
Chinchillas, is it hard to treat fungus on chins?
11Jan
Jun 4 2008, 09:16 AM
QUOTE(kelvin_faye @ Jun 4 2008, 01:49 AM) Went to petshack in subang to buy things for my gerbils.. then head to PW in MV.. saw 20+ chinchillas there.. normal grey n cream/beige colour.. beige being 2 to 3, the rest being grey.. in a tight display.. n fur getting like tercabut d.. there's one beige chin's ear turn very reddish with red veins.. must be too hot there.. kesian lo.. sumore got ppl book d 2 chins n being kept in another display.. pity pity.. i then tak tahan d.. i say to all ppl there, as if i own chinchillas, ferrets, and sugar gliders, dat the animals there are not properly handled n taken care plus they r underaged... the staffs really terkejut n din do anything as i was in the middle of the crowd.. haha dunno what got into me...  good on you!! we have told many pet shops before that their animals are too young to be sold.. no one cares. it always falls on deaf ears. have you seen the baby rabbits in Pet Safari, Ikano?? they don't look more than 4 weeks to me and baby rabbits should only leave their mothers after 8 weeks. Last week i saw 2 baby chins there which looked underaged as well. And their sugar gliders too.. sad... oh, and Petswonderland at MW actually sells a chin 'package'. you get the chin, a cage and a bag of pellets. clearly they don't know anything about chins cos the cage that comes in the package has plastic ledges and ramps inside. and the pellets they are giving is Sluis crap pellets
11Jan
Jun 4 2008, 04:21 PM
Chinchillas, do u know where these petshops are getting the chins from? i'm also quite surprised to see so many chins suddenly.. previously, i haven't seen chins on sale for a long long time
This post has been edited by 11Jan: Jun 4 2008, 04:22 PM
11Jan
Jun 5 2008, 04:16 PM
Chinchillas, you mean you asked the petshop to help you import? they are so nice??
11Jan
Jun 5 2008, 05:04 PM
oh, tumpang their shipment.. hahaha i thought they imported just for you
11Jan
Jun 8 2008, 04:25 PM
OMG that is so terrible!! they were just simply experimenting with your chin!! i hope your chin is ok, please let us know.. the vets in msia generally only know how to treat cats & dogs. these days, they know a bit more about rabbits, but even before i bring my rabbit to the vet, i will do some research first so i know roughly what is the right treatment, and what is wrong.. i'm not trying to bad-mouth msian vets, i believe they just need time and experience, since chins are still very new to msia. in the meantime, we as the owners will have to do as much as we can to make sure our pets are not given the wrong treatment at the clinics hope to hear good news about ur chin This post has been edited by 11Jan: Jun 8 2008, 04:26 PM
11Jan
Jun 9 2008, 08:55 PM
omg!! its awful that GMC's chin had to die just because of fungus!! the vet is a disgrace!! if anyone knows of any vet who has better knowledge of chins, pls share the information. and also share info on vets who don't know anything about chins! hopefully we can avoid such unnecessary loss in the future. but most importantly is.. research research research Added on June 9, 2008, 9:17 pmQUOTE(kelvin_faye @ Jun 9 2008, 10:42 AM) [attachmentid=492825] Size: 28" x 21" x 51"H Is this cage OK for a chinchilla??? where did you find this cage? This post has been edited by 11Jan: Jun 9 2008, 09:17 PM
11Jan
Jun 10 2008, 10:06 AM
oh, yea i know about petshack. thanks!
11Jan
Jun 11 2008, 02:58 PM
QUOTE(Chinchillas @ Jun 11 2008, 02:00 PM) Sure....  hey!! i am in queue too!! don't forget about me
11Jan
Jun 11 2008, 03:07 PM
yay!! how many different types colours do u have? i'm still learning all the different colours
11Jan
Jun 11 2008, 05:26 PM
tell la  what do u have now and what are u aiming to develop?  i'm interested in colour genetics
11Jan
Jun 11 2008, 06:07 PM
me.. 2 rabbits  but quite a handful! spoiled brats