I touched a chin before... almost 5-6 years ago. But i still remember the feeling when i touch it. So soft... so comfy to have it in my arms... Hope one day i will have my own chin...
Chinchilla- Totoro, All are welcome!
Jun 5 2008, 01:14 PM
482 posts Joined: Jan 2008 From: kluang, johore |
I touched a chin before... almost 5-6 years ago. But i still remember the feeling when i touch it. So soft... so comfy to have it in my arms... Hope one day i will have my own chin...
Jun 5 2008, 01:27 PM
1,380 posts Joined: Jan 2007 From: Kuala Lumpur |
Ya,part is from through local pet shop to get from Holland and germany but with specific request to them, some is from singapore breeder, some is from the State.
Added on June 5, 2008, 1:28 pm QUOTE(nicoty_yne @ Jun 5 2008, 01:14 PM) I touched a chin before... almost 5-6 years ago. But i still remember the feeling when i touch it. So soft... so comfy to have it in my arms... Hope one day i will have my own chin... Soon you will have, save money!!! This post has been edited by Chinchillas: Jun 5 2008, 01:28 PM |
Jun 5 2008, 02:05 PM
2,979 posts Joined: Jun 2006 From: www.twitter.com/bebeelim |
Jun 5 2008, 03:50 PM
1,256 posts Joined: Dec 2006 From: USJ Subang Jaya |
I think everyone wants a chin.. the problem is CAN WE MEET THEIR BASIC REQUIREMENTS AS A CHINCHILLAs???
haha Chinchillas : so, among Holland, Germany, Singapore and States, which of these provides the ultimate chinchilla?? their adaptation to Malaysia, their behavior n etc.. or izit individual personalities?? |
Jun 5 2008, 04:16 PM
584 posts Joined: Apr 2007 From: PJ |
Chinchillas, you mean you asked the petshop to help you import? they are so nice??
Jun 5 2008, 04:19 PM
Difference country have their difference unique look of chinchilla, but due to chinchilla hv 2 species, so it will hv a bit of difference in look, shape and fur.
separate species: Chinchilla lanigera and Chinchilla brevicaudata.(Note from chincare.com) Chinchilla Brevicaudata, The Short-Tailed Chinchilla Brevis, as they are often referred to, were once plentiful in the high altitudes of the Andes Mountains, where they occupied very barren and inhospitable areas such as those that the remaining brevis still inhabit in the north of Chile: Llullaillaco Volcano, Salar Punta Negra. C. brevicaudata, besides having a short tail, is distinguished from C. lanigera by having smaller and rounder ears, a puggish face and broader head, thick neck, and a body shape that is blocky, stout, and usually larger and heavier than C. lanigera (photo of brevi traits in domestic chin). The coat of purebreds was said to have a brownish cast and wavy texture. The gestation period of brevis is slightly longer than that of lanigeras, lasting 128 days. Chinchilla Lanigera, The Long-Tailed Chinchilla C. lanigera once commonly populated the mid and lower range of the Andes. They are presently known to reside only in Chile, populations exist both in and near the Las Chinchillas National Reserve. Lanigeras have a long tail, longer and larger ears than C. brevicaudata, a face that is more pointed and a body shape that is narrow, slender, and usually smaller and lighter than C. brevicaudata (photo of lanigera traits in domestic chin). Their coat is said to have ranged in color from deep bluish hues to brown. The gestation period for lanigeras is 111 days, this is also the usual gestation period for domestic chinchillas, which are a result of cross-breeding between C. brevicaudata and C. lanigera. I found that Holland or Europe chinchilla fur texture is better then South American, I may wrong. Size is definately South American, cause bigger in size, nice to whole, touch, play with. Hand will be faster tired... Actually, if you getting a chin, first thing you must know weather you can provide the air con or not, if cant then you need to get those is thiner in coat, or even is thick coat at begining stage, after you hv that chin few months, the coat will become thiner and change of fur strenght due to release of the heat. BUT no matter how, chinchilla in nature is lots of fur, can growth up to 60-100 per hair single Follik, human hair only have 1-4 hairs in single follik. Chinchilla can reach an extremely dense coat - with more than 20,000 hairs per sq. cm. So you can imagine if you place them in so call our comfortable temperature, for them it may be very hot. Due to that you wont hv thick fur chin if you are having it in room temperature, but you will hv a chinchilla in or climate. Added on June 5, 2008, 4:21 pm QUOTE(11Jan @ Jun 5 2008, 04:16 PM) Ya, cause they import to sell as well.This post has been edited by Chinchillas: Jun 5 2008, 04:21 PM |
Jun 5 2008, 05:04 PM
584 posts Joined: Apr 2007 From: PJ |
oh, tumpang their shipment.. hahaha i thought they imported just for you
Jun 5 2008, 05:10 PM
i wonder how much is per chin if import with them
Jun 5 2008, 05:53 PM
So your have visited all the store that have chins recently? Any photos to show? I hv no time to go...
Jun 7 2008, 05:36 PM
Validating
124 posts Joined: Apr 2008 |
Jun 7 2008, 06:04 PM
1,256 posts Joined: Dec 2006 From: USJ Subang Jaya |
Nice pictures Helena!!
Where u get it? How much? What cage u use? Air cond room la?? |
Jun 7 2008, 07:26 PM
145 posts Joined: Mar 2008 From: PJ |
Added on June 7, 2008, 7:27 pm QUOTE(Helena1509 @ Jun 7 2008, 05:36 PM) Here's my chin's photo,as i promised wow... so nice you put your chin on your bed/in your room. your chin got poopoo on ur bed ar? my housemate's chins keep on poopoo here and there when I put them outside the cage >< so u mange to get a new cage for your chin? Btw, what is ur chin's name?Being notty Get ur hands off from me! I hate the flash! Presenting u ms blossom! It's so damn hard for me 2 chase after her up n down in da room jz to take some pics.LOL This post has been edited by shingin: Jun 7 2008, 07:30 PM |
Jun 7 2008, 07:52 PM
Validating
QUOTE(kelvin_faye @ Jun 7 2008, 06:04 PM) Nice pictures Helena!! I get it from ikano.Jz use normal cage.I duno wat cage is dat for.Da ppl working thr intro 2 me 1.I place a wooden house inside da cage for her.I din put her in air cnd room.Jz dat at nite when i slp,i'll move her in da room.Where u get it? How much? What cage u use? Air cond room la?? |
Jun 7 2008, 07:53 PM
1,356 posts Joined: Oct 2007 From: Kuala Lumpur |
QUOTE(Helena1509 @ Jun 7 2008, 05:36 PM) Here's my chin's photo,as i promised uwah.. Being notty Get ur hands off from me! I hate the flash! Presenting u ms blossom! It's so damn hard for me 2 chase after her up n down in da room jz to take some pics.LOL Why u poison me... Chinchillas help me, give me ur chin so i can stop crying This post has been edited by sharil_routh: Jun 7 2008, 07:54 PM |
Jun 7 2008, 07:56 PM
Validating
QUOTE(shingin @ Jun 7 2008, 07:26 PM) Added on June 7, 2008, 7:27 pm wow... so nice you put your chin on your bed/in your room. your chin got poopoo on ur bed ar? my housemate's chins keep on poopoo here and there when I put them outside the cage >< so u mange to get a new cage for your chin? Btw, what is ur chin's name? cz 2day my dog out for groomin,so i can let my chin move around in da room. Regarding to da cage,stil in process.Haha Her name is bloosom!I wish 2 hv 2 more female chin,v their name buttercup n bubbles!So dat will makes them 'the power puff gals'!Hahahahahaha |
Jun 7 2008, 09:56 PM
QUOTE(Helena1509 @ Jun 7 2008, 05:36 PM) Here's my chin's photo,as i promised You chin finally appear to us, lovely! Being notty Get ur hands off from me! I hate the flash! Presenting u ms blossom! It's so damn hard for me 2 chase after her up n down in da room jz to take some pics.LOL Added on June 7, 2008, 9:58 pm QUOTE(shingin @ Jun 7 2008, 07:26 PM) Added on June 7, 2008, 7:27 pm wow... so nice you put your chin on your bed/in your room. your chin got poopoo on ur bed ar? my housemate's chins keep on poopoo here and there when I put them outside the cage >< so u mange to get a new cage for your chin? Btw, what is ur chin's name? Added on June 7, 2008, 9:58 pm QUOTE(sharil_routh @ Jun 7 2008, 07:53 PM) Give you my chin, how about my self! This post has been edited by Chinchillas: Jun 7 2008, 09:58 PM |
Jun 7 2008, 10:07 PM
145 posts Joined: Mar 2008 From: PJ |
QUOTE(Helena1509 @ Jun 7 2008, 07:56 PM) Surprisingly,she din poo on my bed.Haha Wah... I so so so jeolous... your chin so nice cz 2day my dog out for groomin,so i can let my chin move around in da room. Regarding to da cage,stil in process.Haha Her name is bloosom!I wish 2 hv 2 more female chin,v their name buttercup n bubbles!So dat will makes them 'the power puff gals'!Hahahahahaha Blossom is a very lovely name... hope your dream will come true "Power Puff Chins" [quote=Chinchillas,Jun 7 2008, 09:56 PM] A good sign of chinchilla health is the chin MADE A LOT OF PELLETED POO, the much the better, it show that your chin digestive system is working normally. Digestive system 1 of the more important part of chin. today I told my housemate that may be we need to get a hand held vacuum cleaner when we got money (to vacuum the poopoo). The two chin poopoo and weewee a lot... nearly everyday or 2 days have to change the news paper once, now my house is lacking of newspaper. now 1 chin staying upstair and 1 chin staying downstair, if two of them staying together... wah... I think they will end up sleep on their poopoo and weewee. Today is the 1st time we intro treats to the chins. Each one got half a grape... we so excited & happy to see (more like can't stop staring) the chins holding the grape and makan and dowan to let go. We even try to steal the grape away (buat kacau abit)... but they end up grab the grape and run into their house. Chin are soooooooooo cute and adorable when they holding their food This post has been edited by shingin: Jun 7 2008, 10:27 PM |
Jun 7 2008, 10:44 PM
Jun 7 2008, 10:59 PM
[quote=shingin,Jun 7 2008, 10:07 PM]
Wah... I so so so jeolous... your chin so nice Blossom is a very lovely name... hope your dream will come true "Power Puff Chins" [quote=Chinchillas,Jun 7 2008, 09:56 PM] A good sign of chinchilla health is the chin MADE A LOT OF PELLETED POO, the much the better, it show that your chin digestive system is working normally. Digestive system 1 of the more important part of chin. today I told my housemate that may be we need to get a hand held vacuum cleaner when we got money (to vacuum the poopoo). The two chin poopoo and weewee a lot... nearly everyday or 2 days have to change the news paper once, now my house is lacking of newspaper. now 1 chin staying upstair and 1 chin staying downstair, if two of them staying together... wah... I think they will end up sleep on their poopoo and weewee. Today is the 1st time we intro treats to the chins. Each one got half a grape... we so excited & happy to see (more like can't stop staring) the chins holding the grape and makan and dowan to let go. We even try to steal the grape away (buat kacau abit)... but they end up grab the grape and run into their house. Chin are soooooooooo cute and adorable when they holding their food [/quote] A big NO to this action. Grapes/dried grapes/other sweety contain to much of sugar, and is not suitable at all to feed adult chin, somemore your chin is just a baby chin. Chin's diet is LOW fat, LOW sugar, HIGH energy food. Hay provided the energy, pellet is the best for them. You no need anything extra to feed your chin. Chinchilla cannot digest sugar, so all the extra sugar will easily store in kidney, in a short moment of time, your chin will start have health problem and can be fatal. Your pocket also will become fatal. They also cannot take fresh vege as other pet can. Just remember, simple diet make a healthy happy chin. Chinchilla is a junk food freak! |
Jun 8 2008, 01:34 PM
20 posts Joined: Dec 2006 |
Yo bro Chinchilla..
I need your help.. I bring my pet to see a vet in Jln Tun Razak - Met up with Dr. Sivan.. The vet name is Animal Medical Centre.. Problem: Ringworn/Fungus on nose and tail.. After checking my chinchilla, the doctor asked the male nurse to wash the face(nose area) and the tail.. After waiting for like 30 minutes.. outside.. We went in to check out the chinchilla and found out that he CANT EVEN STAND on its HIND legs.. He keep on choking and it seems to be like FAINTING.. I saw him using a hair dryer to blow the chin dry.. I dont know what to do.. the chin is still at the vet.. I am very afraid that he might be gone.. If you are free today.. would you mind calling me @ 016-9876823 .. ? I am from Kepong btw and if you are free, we can met up at the vet.. *sigh* Btw, im Andy here.. Thanks alot.. |
| Change to: | 0.0182sec
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 11:37 AM |